Roscommon GAA thread

Letsgetgoing- we can't draw Galway in a Qtr Final as Provincial Final repeats aren't allowed.
I'm hoping (clutching straws) that getting an intense Championship game after 8 weeks of training, challenges and a non contest in Markievicz will have brought us on a long way.
Also management will see where they went wrong with game plan etc and what changes are needed to starting 15.
We live in hope that the best is yet to come.

We also fear that this team hit the glass ceiling in 17/18/19 and won't be getting any better........

Seanfanbocht (Roscommon) - Posts: 1417 - 01/06/2022 10:24:48    2421515

Replying To Yondu:  "I attended the game and watched it back last night.

Striking features was one how good and clinical (just three wides) Galway are going forward when given the room to cause damage and two how open Roscommon left themselves especially on turnovers and at no stage corrected that issue.

A positive for Roscommon was fighting to the end and scoring 2-16 against a Galway defence that set up to hold Roscommon to a low score but its the defensive issues that requires the most work not just for two weeks time but for division 1 next year also."
Probably because Roscommon fans started cheering the first 2 wides. Only a single wide thereafter. What are ye like cheering for wides - like them across the water. Disgrace.

The_DOC (Galway) - Posts: 706 - 01/06/2022 10:47:49    2421521

Replying To Vish:  "Rossie fans sometimes come across as aggressive verbally , but their football teams over the years are just too nice.,"
That's true. Up to the early 2000s there was always a bite to Roscommon teams, even when doing badly, but since then we've lost that bit of a tough streak.

MachaireConnacht (Roscommon) - Posts: 784 - 01/06/2022 11:03:51    2421529

Replying To letsgetgoing:  "Assuming that the bookies are right again next week and that Cork, Mayo, Meath and Tyrone win their Round 1 in the qualifiers, I presume Roscommon would play one of the winners in Round 2 at a neutral venue in two weeks time.
If we were to win that round 2 game could we be drawn against any of the four provincial winners (Kerry, Dublin, Derry, Galway) in the quarter final?
Could we be possibly be drawn against Galway again in the quarter final? If so, would it have to be a neutral venue of would the Rossies have home advantage.
I know that Galway having won Connacht will avoid Kerry & Dublin until the final if they get there, but can Roscommon also avoid Kerry & Dublin, if round 2 and the quarter final draw goes well for them? (Drawn again against Galway perhaps ???)
I am aware that if the provincial winners win all their games, it is Connacht v Ulster and Leinster v Munster in the semi - final."
Roscommon CANNOT be drawn against Galway in the QF. However if they were drawn against Derry in the QF then they WOULD play Galway in the semi , should both teams win their QFs.

anotheralias (Galway) - Posts: 840 - 01/06/2022 11:07:59    2421530

Replying To Yondu:  "I attended the game and watched it back last night.

Striking features was one how good and clinical (just three wides) Galway are going forward when given the room to cause damage and two how open Roscommon left themselves especially on turnovers and at no stage corrected that issue.

A positive for Roscommon was fighting to the end and scoring 2-16 against a Galway defence that set up to hold Roscommon to a low score but its the defensive issues that requires the most work not just for two weeks time but for division 1 next year also."
Defense definitely the main issue. That slow ponderous attacking play needs addressing as well. Some urgency and aggression in both departments needed.

There seems to be a lot of talk about Galway, and Derry for that matter, being AI contenders but looking back on that game I'm not convinced. I have a soft spot for Galway and would like to be proved wrong but they still have a lot of work to do. Great forwards but I can't see them beating Dublin, Kerry, Tyrone or Mayo if they met any of them in the quarters. Derry likewise.

MachaireConnacht (Roscommon) - Posts: 784 - 01/06/2022 11:11:42    2421532

Replying To anotheralias:  "Roscommon CANNOT be drawn against Galway in the QF. However if they were drawn against Derry in the QF then they WOULD play Galway in the semi , should both teams win their QFs."
Thanks for the feedback anotheralias. If we win our qualifier in two weeks time, it would be some crack if we drew Derry in the quarter final (now a 1 in 3 chance) and thereafter Galway (100%) in the semi final. (Assuming Galway also win their quarter final match)
The Rossies have still a lot to play for based on the above, and the prospect of getting to play in an All Ireland Final still remains a possibility as far as I am concerned, if we play up to our full potential!!!
Maybe I am being a bit too optimistic, but I do believe that there may be still a kick left in the team this year, if they get their shooting boots back on, and devise a better defensive plan. I do not believe that major surgery is required and it is a bit unfair to be too critical of management. The bottom line is that some of the players did not play up to their potential and I would expect to see a couple of changes for the next match. However I will refrain for blaming individual players in an open forum, as all of them tried their level best and did not throw in the towel last Sunday, even when we went 8 or 9 points down and playing against the wind.

letsgetgoing (Roscommon) - Posts: 506 - 01/06/2022 14:28:43    2421584

Replying To MachaireConnacht:  "Defense definitely the main issue. That slow ponderous attacking play needs addressing as well. Some urgency and aggression in both departments needed.

There seems to be a lot of talk about Galway, and Derry for that matter, being AI contenders but looking back on that game I'm not convinced. I have a soft spot for Galway and would like to be proved wrong but they still have a lot of work to do. Great forwards but I can't see them beating Dublin, Kerry, Tyrone or Mayo if they met any of them in the quarters. Derry likewise."
Galway cant meet Mayo in Quarters.
And I'm really struggling to see the logic that Mayo would beat Galway.
Galway are no world beaters , but they have proven themselves to be the best team in Connacht ( and by more of a margin than the 1 and 3 point victories would suggest).
I see no reason why we wouldn't beat Mayo , Tyrone or anyone apart from Kerry or Dublin. By that logic reaching an All Ireland is a realistic aspiration.... not guaranteed by any means , but definitely possible.

anotheralias (Galway) - Posts: 840 - 01/06/2022 14:34:44    2421588

Watched the game back last night and it wasn't easy.. I knew our defence was poor and we set up wrong but I couldn't believe how bad we were until I watched it back. We actually didn't lay a hand on them for the full game.. it was an absolute shambles. Heneghan and Murtagh got back but they don't know how to tackle or defend. Eddie Nolan tried to chase down a Galway player running through from midfield and it was shocking to see the difference in speed. You could tell from being at the game Harney was brilliant but apart from that we had nothing. I actually don't think management see our defensive issues. Players running through us all year and they are average teams. You can't just try outscore a division one team without having a solid defense. IL never understand it. McStay tried it and was found out

dave1988 (Roscommon) - Posts: 1055 - 01/06/2022 14:46:42    2421592

Replying To letsgetgoing:  "Assuming that the bookies are right again next week and that Cork, Mayo, Meath and Tyrone win their Round 1 in the qualifiers, I presume Roscommon would play one of the winners in Round 2 at a neutral venue in two weeks time.
If we were to win that round 2 game could we be drawn against any of the four provincial winners (Kerry, Dublin, Derry, Galway) in the quarter final?
Could we be possibly be drawn against Galway again in the quarter final? If so, would it have to be a neutral venue of would the Rossies have home advantage.
I know that Galway having won Connacht will avoid Kerry & Dublin until the final if they get there, but can Roscommon also avoid Kerry & Dublin, if round 2 and the quarter final draw goes well for them? (Drawn again against Galway perhaps ???)
I am aware that if the provincial winners win all their games, it is Connacht v Ulster and Leinster v Munster in the semi - final."
There is no repeat of the provincial finals in the Quarter final stage.

Gaa_lover (USA) - Posts: 3347 - 01/06/2022 15:06:47    2421597

Replying To anotheralias:  "Galway cant meet Mayo in Quarters.
Galway are no world beaters , but they have proven themselves to be the best team in Connacht ( and by more of a margin than the 1 and 3 point victories would suggest).
I see no reason why we wouldn't beat Mayo , Tyrone or anyone apart from Kerry or Dublin. By that logic reaching an All Ireland is a realistic aspiration.... not guaranteed by any means , but definitely possible."
You can't see the logic seriously? If Mayo are to play Galway again they'll have momentum under their sails again. With the motivation from already losing to Galway and with the rematch in Croke Park whereby they play their best football in outside of All-Ireland finals.

Gaa_lover (USA) - Posts: 3347 - 01/06/2022 15:14:15    2421600

Replying To The_DOC:  "Probably because Roscommon fans started cheering the first 2 wides. Only a single wide thereafter. What are ye like cheering for wides - like them across the water. Disgrace."
Don't have to go across the water when your own Galway fans loudly cheered and jeered all of our 9 wides.

The_analyser (Roscommon) - Posts: 3755 - 01/06/2022 15:19:19    2421601

Replying To letsgetgoing:  "Thanks for the feedback anotheralias. If we win our qualifier in two weeks time, it would be some crack if we drew Derry in the quarter final (now a 1 in 3 chance) and thereafter Galway (100%) in the semi final. (Assuming Galway also win their quarter final match)
The Rossies have still a lot to play for based on the above, and the prospect of getting to play in an All Ireland Final still remains a possibility as far as I am concerned, if we play up to our full potential!!!
Maybe I am being a bit too optimistic, but I do believe that there may be still a kick left in the team this year, if they get their shooting boots back on, and devise a better defensive plan. I do not believe that major surgery is required and it is a bit unfair to be too critical of management. The bottom line is that some of the players did not play up to their potential and I would expect to see a couple of changes for the next match. However I will refrain for blaming individual players in an open forum, as all of them tried their level best and did not throw in the towel last Sunday, even when we went 8 or 9 points down and playing against the wind."
Just a bit too optimistic. Realistic view point is a quarter final is as good as it gets for this championship now and will hopefully be competitive in that match if we get there.

Round 2 game up first as already said here two weeks won't be enough time to fix the issues. It's structure damage to the team, they'll likely be the odd change here and there but it will be like filling external wall cracks with a bit of plaster.

The_analyser (Roscommon) - Posts: 3755 - 01/06/2022 15:36:01    2421606

Replying To anotheralias:  "Galway cant meet Mayo in Quarters.
I see no reason why we wouldn't beat Mayo , Tyrone or anyone apart from Kerry or Dublin. By that logic reaching an All Ireland is a realistic aspiration.... not guaranteed by any means , but definitely possible."
I didn't realise they couldn't meet Mayo. They could reach an AI but should Mayo win their qualifiers I think Mayo will find their groove in that business end of things, if they have the likes of Durkan, Mullin, Hennelly back I find it hard seeing them being turned over a second time. It's always tough to beat Mayo once but twice is a mammoth task. Maybe I'm being too generous to Mayo. Now a big if, but if Tyrone do beat Armagh and regroup, I think that they will be too physical for Galway and will not allow Galway the freedom Mayo and Roscommon previously gave them to play. I also think if Derry were to meet Tyrone in the latter stages, that they would not beat them a second time. It is possible and if Galway beat the likes of Tyrone in the quarters then I would change my tune but at the moment I think those four are still a cut above the rest when it comes to intensity, cuteness, defensive shape (Mayo maybe less so) and knowing how to grind out a win. I'm basing that on if Tyrone and Mayo win their qualifiers and reach the latter stages. But one or both could be out after this weekend! So Tyrone are the strongest team Galway could meet in the quarters? Is the draw for the semis random?

MachaireConnacht (Roscommon) - Posts: 784 - 01/06/2022 15:39:52    2421610

Replying To letsgetgoing:  "Thanks for the feedback anotheralias. If we win our qualifier in two weeks time, it would be some crack if we drew Derry in the quarter final (now a 1 in 3 chance) and thereafter Galway (100%) in the semi final. (Assuming Galway also win their quarter final match)
Maybe I am being a bit too optimistic, but I do believe that there may be still a kick left in the team this year, if they get their shooting boots back on, and devise a better defensive plan. I do not believe that major surgery is required and it is a bit unfair to be too critical of management. The bottom line is that some of the players did not play up to their potential and I would expect to see a couple of changes for the next match. However I will refrain for blaming individual players in an open forum, as all of them tried their level best and did not throw in the towel last Sunday, even when we went 8 or 9 points down and playing against the wind."
I'd agree, a bit of tweaking needed. There are still positive elements there. We have very good forwards, midfield has come on in leaps and bounds and kick outs seemed to have improved as well. A better defensive plan and increased urgency and aggression across the field is required. Roscommon have just as talented a pool of players as Derry, Armagh and I also think Monaghan.

MachaireConnacht (Roscommon) - Posts: 784 - 01/06/2022 15:59:39    2421619

Replying To The_DOC:  "Probably because Roscommon fans started cheering the first 2 wides. Only a single wide thereafter. What are ye like cheering for wides - like them across the water. Disgrace."
Across the border morelike it....
The Mayos love cheering opposition wides..
And booing freetakers..

Belclare (Galway) - Posts: 904 - 01/06/2022 16:14:39    2421627

Replying To Gaa_lover:  "SmokieRoss

No home game. Round 2 qualifier will be played in neutral venue and if you reach the Quarter final its a trip to Croke park. I doubt Cunningham will be manager again next year regardless of how this championship finishes for Roscommon.

From watching that Brian Stack incident Joe Mcquillan clearly states to Galway players that defenders was covering and it was a slight tug of the Jersey than a pull down.

On the foot block I've seen those given more often than not. The ref missing it was probably why it wasn't given.

Big turning point in that match was on 17 minutes. Evenly match game score for score. Roscommon had the opportunity to score a goal Enda Smith opted to shoot himself than lay it off to the unmarked Eddie Nolan. From the resulting Galway kick out Galway got their 1st goal.

The 2nd goal a lucky break coming off the post gave Galway cushion to continue their counter attacking game with numbers back something they would have to change if the margin was less or had to chase the game like Roscommon."
'Seen those given more often than not'? Really? Any time you 'seen' one of 'those' given, you 'seen' a refereeing mistake so. Footage clearly shows the defender placing his foot over a yard away from the ballstriking area. That is NOT a 'footblock'. Ger Canning corrected Eamonn Fitzmaurice on this very issue at the time. Raised eyebrows that I'm sure, as we're led to believe that Kerry lads know their football.

Pope_Benedict (Galway) - Posts: 3422 - 01/06/2022 17:14:00    2421649

Replying To Pope_Benedict:  "'Seen those given more often than not'? Really? Any time you 'seen' one of 'those' given, you 'seen' a refereeing mistake so. Footage clearly shows the defender placing his foot over a yard away from the ballstriking area. That is NOT a 'footblock'. Ger Canning corrected Eamonn Fitzmaurice on this very issue at the time. Raised eyebrows that I'm sure, as we're led to believe that Kerry lads know their football."
It there was a yard away there would be no debate but that wasn't the case for that incident. how close were you to the kicker is in the refs minds If you were right on top of him the ref more often than not deems it as a foot block especially for slide tackles. I think Joe Mcquillan missed it and left it up to his umpires to decide for him

Gaa_lover (USA) - Posts: 3347 - 01/06/2022 17:46:23    2421661

Replying To The_analyser:  "Don't have to go across the water when your own Galway fans loudly cheered and jeered all of our 9 wides."
Oh ffs let the fans cheer a wide for the opposition if they so wish.
I've always found there to be something very fake and ostentatiously self righteous about the rugby fans going quiet for an opposition place kicker.

A bit of needle adds to the atmosphere.

Galway9801 (Galway) - Posts: 1708 - 01/06/2022 18:29:32    2421677

Wasn't a penalty.
As for them being given we had one given against us v Dublin in May 21 for a similar block a foot away from the kick.

Seanfanbocht (Roscommon) - Posts: 1417 - 01/06/2022 18:51:45    2421683

RTE panelists just explain losing as "They were off the pace" Comical.
Hard luck Roscommon, a very decent effort in Salthill.

suckvalleypaddy (Galway) - Posts: 1669 - 01/06/2022 21:27:09    2421702