Galway Hurling thread

Replying To Viking66:  "Bizarre negative post ok after a 1st defeat in 6 championship games. Likely be Cork next up for you. If you play with the same intensity as ye did against Kilkenny ye have every chance. If you give them space it might go very badly."
Eh? If we play with the same "intensity" as we did against Kilkenny we'll be beaten out out the gate! Our performance needs to be 20-30% better than it was in the Leinster final, otherwise we can forget about it.

PoolSturgeon (Galway) - Posts: 1903 - 06/06/2022 12:32:22    2422742

Replying To PoolSturgeon:  "Eh? If we play with the same "intensity" as we did against Kilkenny we'll be beaten out out the gate! Our performance needs to be 20-30% better than it was in the Leinster final, otherwise we can forget about it."
Thought your lads intensity was good and they chased and closed down well. They kept Kilkenny to just 10 points from play for the whole game. Discipline was a problem. And like I suggested on this thread last week you needed a couple of goals. You didn't get them. Hard to win a modern hurling game when you only score 17 points and no goals.

Viking66 (Wexford) - Posts: 11841 - 06/06/2022 12:56:30    2422753

Replying To katser:  "No place for one of our most important players Cathal Mannion?"
what has he done the last two games.!!
i was at both and he was very poor..
do you think he would of ben left on the field of cody was on the side line!!
him and a few more would of ben takin off 5 mins into the second half without question..

time for changes...

gbay (Galway) - Posts: 246 - 06/06/2022 13:22:32    2422761

Replying To togoutlads:  "Drivel and cliched, unknowledgeable comments from you about 'boring' football. We're playing both and support both codes and I'm sick of hearing some hurling people running down our other game like this when they clearly have a massive bias and don't know what they're talking about. Once again, the footballers outscored the hurlers. Having a defensive structure and kicking 2-16 from play of the footballers 2-19 against Div 1 opposition in a provincial final was actually a case of top class fast transition play and brilliant score taking. What's more, it's exciting to watch, if you ever cared to go and see in person what the likes of Shane Walsh, Paul Conroy, John Daly and others are actually doing on the field.
Scoring with a sliotar that's seems only a little heavier than a tennis ball now should be easier, right?!"
You obviously can't read.I never ran any Galway player down or there playing structure if you took the time to read my comments,I was saying that they didn't play like that.I also said I would support the Galway footballer's,it's not my fault you think you play second fiddle to the Galway hurlers.Telling us to forget the Galway hurlers just because we lost a Leinster final and throw all resources behind the footballer's and that came from the football side of the fence.You hit the nail on the head saying you are a dual club,you are the ones that hold every championship up in Galway hurling to accommodate both codes.Try hitting a hurling ball with a tennis racket and see how you get on.There's a place for you boys it's the footballer's page.

Waveitwide (Galway) - Posts: 137 - 06/06/2022 13:56:25    2422774

Replying To gbay:  "what has he done the last two games.!!
i was at both and he was very poor..
do you think he would of ben left on the field of cody was on the side line!!
him and a few more would of ben takin off 5 mins into the second half without question..

time for changes..."
C.Mannion hasn't been playing well but he is being moved around out of position, playing as a corner forward, half forward, midfield, sweeper in half back line. Leave him in the forwards where he is best. He definitely offers alot more than J.Flynn who you picked.

katser (Galway) - Posts: 2193 - 07/06/2022 08:41:07    2422822

Replying To katser:  "I can nothing less than a Galway win....its a matter of how much we win by"
stick to your camogie. you have demonstrated time and again you know nothing about hurling.

clare_sparrow (Galway) - Posts: 425 - 07/06/2022 08:50:33    2422826

Replying To AnCrúiscínLán:  "Leinster hurling is dour.. Galway not up to it. They should exit and leave the scant resources to the footballers, who are finally showing promise.."
gaylick football is an inferior sport, has a different set of fans and should be kept as seperate as connacht rugby is from hurling. anyway thankfully for hurling in galway the county is more or less split in 2 between the 2 sports as we all know.

clare_sparrow (Galway) - Posts: 425 - 07/06/2022 09:16:43    2422831

We wont handle corks running game, will we :(

CillTormoir (Galway) - Posts: 487 - 07/06/2022 09:46:25    2422842

Replying To Past hurler:  "I presume this is a wind - up.

Galway football don't make me laugh."
Surely though that is the problem. Two wrongs don't make a right. I love both games but more importantly see the pride of Galway above that. The great Joe Connolly the best exhibitor of all that is Galway. A fine hurling person but will always support our footballers. By having a laugh at our footballers shows unfortunately how small minded it can appear no more than what Cruiscin said. You have to look beyond that even if hurling is your passion. I mean some gaa fans (and most are hurling tbf) would watch soccer before the other gaa code. Wtf. Remember we have an equally strong and well respected tradition in football no more than we have in hurling thank god. If you watched a guy like Shane Walsh play big ball it would reinforce the quality that can be in that game. A pure joy to behold no more than JC was in hurling.

kiloughter (Galway) - Posts: 1946 - 07/06/2022 09:51:44    2422849

Any word on suspension for Fahy? Presume he'll get one. I wouldn't go over the top on him, rush of blood, deserves suspension but not the end of the world. I hope we accept it and don't appeal if he is suspended.

I thought that incident was symptomatic of how we played. We made a lot of bad decisions from the high hands in the tackle, the poor team work and our goal attempts. There was a lot of effort from us so cannot fault that. Just think that when we are under pressure we revert to the hail mary efforts and make bad decisions.

Mayonman (Galway) - Posts: 1829 - 07/06/2022 09:54:36    2422850

Back to the Leinster Hurling Final, at least 5 Galway players played well below par for intercounty i.e. GMac (must be under serious pressure now to hold his place), Cathal Mannion, Brian Concannon, Joseph Cooney and Tom Monaghan. The latter 2 in fairness had been excellent up to now and Cooney in particular was having his most consistent year since 2017 as he was always a player that could fade in and out of games so I really hope he is not starting that trend again. Of course Conor Cooney's wides in particular from play / frees certainly didn't help but unless all those players mentioned were firing there was no way Galway were going to win. Also I heard that their shot / score ratio was less about 45% which is truly awful at this stage of the championship. KK were no great shakes either (apart from working like dogs as they always do) but they didn't have to be as Galway fed right into their hands.

tommy k (Galway) - Posts: 3322 - 07/06/2022 10:15:02    2422866

Cody outfoxed Henry big time
Heny tried to play kilkenny at their own game didnt work
Galway had so many players sitting deep
Kilkenny just bypassed them making that tactic futile
Killkenny took long range scores at their ease or went over the top with ball
Players like Cathal mannion and Tom monaghon were always good for a few scores
They were severly restricted by the game plan as were others
Galway should play with more freedom next time

rhudson (Galway) - Posts: 1478 - 07/06/2022 10:52:42    2422897

Replying To clare_sparrow:  "stick to your camogie. you have demonstrated time and again you know nothing about hurling."
From the lad who said we should double mark Cody and Reid. I see your Clubman J.Grealish was responsible for giving away 5 scored frees

katser (Galway) - Posts: 2193 - 07/06/2022 10:58:24    2422901

Replying To CillTormoir:  "We wont handle corks running game, will we :("
You will have to nip it in the bud. Don't concede the short puckouts and try to crowd midfield. Play like demons and don't give them any clean possession. You did all these things against Kilkenny no need to think you can't against Cork. You will need to take your own goal chances also. You have every chance though they will be favourites.

Viking66 (Wexford) - Posts: 11841 - 07/06/2022 11:49:13    2422936

I see rte are showing both games next week, so a doubleheader in thurles it will be? or Croker?

CillTormoir (Galway) - Posts: 487 - 07/06/2022 12:04:23    2422946

Replying To katser:  "From the lad who said we should double mark Cody and Reid. I see your Clubman J.Grealish was responsible for giving away 5 scored frees"
Galway didnt lose the Leinster final in the full-back line. It was lost in the middle third. The full-back line was probably the most solid line in the Galway team on Saturday. Grealish is a 100% nailed on starter for Galway right now.

This may sound harsh on Henry but I would fault him here. There were 3 or 4 below par performances on Saturday. Concannon who is usually on fire didnt look himself at all. and Monaghan who was playing well up to now wasnt consistent enough. Joseph Cooney was going fine until he got the yellow (which was harsh) and didnt touch a ball after it. If Limerick had 3 or 4 below par performances they would also struggle. This shouldnt happen, I would put it down to management for that many poor performances. The thing is though it isnt the first time this has been the issue with Galway over the years.

clare_sparrow (Galway) - Posts: 425 - 07/06/2022 12:16:35    2422959

Replying To CillTormoir:  "I see rte are showing both games next week, so a doubleheader in thurles it will be? or Croker?"
There will be a big Rugby match in Dublin the same day we play Cork. I want Galway v Cork played in limrik halfway for both!
But it could be a double header in Thurles Galway v Cork, Clare v Wexford

katser (Galway) - Posts: 2193 - 07/06/2022 12:47:22    2422977

Replying To CillTormoir:  "I see rte are showing both games next week, so a doubleheader in thurles it will be? or Croker?"
Double-header would suit me. I'd love to see both games.

Viking66 (Wexford) - Posts: 11841 - 07/06/2022 12:50:32    2422979

Replying To katser:  "There will be a big Rugby match in Dublin the same day we play Cork. I want Galway v Cork played in limrik halfway for both!
But it could be a double header in Thurles Galway v Cork, Clare v Wexford"
Maybe it will be Galway Antrim in Clones?

Viking66 (Wexford) - Posts: 11841 - 07/06/2022 13:01:18    2422985

Replying To Viking66:  "Double-header would suit me. I'd love to see both games."
Hoping of course that we beat Kerry

Viking66 (Wexford) - Posts: 11841 - 07/06/2022 13:01:51    2422986