Galway Hurling thread

The lad criticising Joe Canning's record in big games should be embarrassed

Claretandblue (Westmeath) - Posts: 1477 - 05/06/2022 16:43:54    2422466

Replying To tommy k:  "I think you're mixing up Davy Glennon with his brother Ronan as Davy is now playing with Westmeath and Ronan only established himself with Galway this year but has been hampered with a hamstring injury he picked up at the end of the league. Niall Burke is no longer on the panel. I thought Joe and Glynn were needed yesterday actually as it was a dogfight like KK like it to be and those 2 would be well able for that type of game."
No, what I meant was that these lads were on the panel for many years. I'm aware glennon and burke are gone. My point being that they were kept on for years while their places may have been better if given to younger up and coming talent.

tiobraid (Tipperary) - Posts: 4119 - 05/06/2022 16:45:46    2422467

Replying To Waveitwide:  "Can't see where your point is.You stated that the Leinster championship winners are not worthy of a place in the all Ireland semifinal because you think that the Munster series is superior and poor old Waterford are out,they weren't good enough.You can only play what's in front of you.If Munster is so superior why don't they let Kerry in,they can't compete in Munster but can compete in the McCarthy cup.Same could be said with the Dublin footballer's,6 in a row and know one to give them a game in Leinster,were they not worthy of their place in the all Ireland series after coming through a one sided provincial championship."
My point is that the Leinster champions Kilkenny are straight in to an All Ireland semi final whereas Waterford are out. If Kilkenny played Waterford next week, I'd expect Waterford to win. There's an inequity in tying the All Ireland series into the provincial championships. Exactly the same in football where Ulster teams lose out while Kerry and Dublin waltz through their province and in to an All Ireland quarter final. The All Ireland championship should be stand alone and not linked to the provincials. Disagree if you wish but my point is clear.

endgame (Roscommon) - Posts: 2154 - 05/06/2022 16:46:09    2422468

Replying To Waveitwide:  "Watched the incident,it was stupid and lucky to get away with it.Don't know if the referee can revisit it if he didn't see it."
We'll see, if seen at the time, deffo a red, so very silly, was little or no force behind it, almost as if he realised, no, bad idea, the KK player showed no reaction, just didn't look good tho, probably will be revisited tho, specifically because the ref didn't see it,

sligo joe (Dublin) - Posts: 673 - 05/06/2022 16:50:36    2422470

Omg. I'm astounded reading some of the posts. As I stated a number of weeks back the Galway V Kilkenny game in Salthill was just a smoke screen of what was to come. Kilkenny were poor that day and Galway just beat them. As usual alot of Galway supporters drive the hype of the team and when the shit hits the fan its everyone else's fault bar the team. Too many players not interested in winning the hard ball. It's laughable to watch players going half hearted for high balls. I was in the cusack stand watching it. Stop being so defensive when your team is well beaten by a team who out fought and out played yours. Too many of these players are tried and tested and not produced. It's will be a long time before Liam resides in the West again.

Armchairreporter (Galway) - Posts: 76 - 05/06/2022 17:24:09    2422479

Replying To endgame:  "My point is that the Leinster champions Kilkenny are straight in to an All Ireland semi final whereas Waterford are out. If Kilkenny played Waterford next week, I'd expect Waterford to win. There's an inequity in tying the All Ireland series into the provincial championships. Exactly the same in football where Ulster teams lose out while Kerry and Dublin waltz through their province and in to an All Ireland quarter final. The All Ireland championship should be stand alone and not linked to the provincials. Disagree if you wish but my point is clear."
In the name of god do you want them to be playing all year long.How could you not want a provincial championship after watching the Munster final today now heading for extra time.Just because a team can't compete at provincial level you want to scrap it.You're talking about another competition,let's play it over the Christmas.You brought up the football championship not me.

Waveitwide (Galway) - Posts: 137 - 05/06/2022 17:49:53    2422491

Replying To Armchairreporter:  "Omg. I'm astounded reading some of the posts. As I stated a number of weeks back the Galway V Kilkenny game in Salthill was just a smoke screen of what was to come. Kilkenny were poor that day and Galway just beat them. As usual alot of Galway supporters drive the hype of the team and when the shit hits the fan its everyone else's fault bar the team. Too many players not interested in winning the hard ball. It's laughable to watch players going half hearted for high balls. I was in the cusack stand watching it. Stop being so defensive when your team is well beaten by a team who out fought and out played yours. Too many of these players are tried and tested and not produced. It's will be a long time before Liam resides in the West again."
i couldnt agree more with you..
there are players on that team i feel there best days are well behind them.,
time after time alot of these players have not performed since 2019 and
yeat we persist with them..the talent in the county clearly isent there..
the lack of fight and general work ethic in some parts of the pitch yesterday i couldnt believe..
the line also where too slow to make changes not that they made much difference but still!!
are we expecting too much from this current team!!
is this team really capable of matching the top teams like we seen today in munster!!

what exactly is our gameplan!! hit whelo everytime with long high balls and is continuously
out numbered!!
quality of ball going into him was pathetic!
when do we ever run with the ball and try and break the lines.!!
had 5 good opportunities for goal chances and butchered 2 if not 3 of them..

its cork in two weeks time and after yesterday there will be only one winner..
he needs to make changes after this display., surely to god he cant go with the same 15..

for me its time to introduce glennon from the beginning and id give tom Monahan a run beside..

mullen got 4 points on gmac yesterday..
for me there needs to be a change there..
either move fintan or mannion to 6 or drop back joe cooney..unreal there for the club..

team id go with v cork
1.murphy
2.grealish
3.burke.
4.morrissey
5.t.j brennan
6.mannion
7.f.burke
8.glennon
9.monaghan
10.cooney
11.cooney
12.fahy
13.concannon
14.whelan
15.flynn

id go with this team..
ive no idea what eanna burke has to do to get a game..
best club hurler in galway last few years..
not sure why donal o shea was named on the bench when he has barely played all year..
strange decisions for me anyway..
throwing in young lee at 18 i think its too much along with tiernan and donal..
anyways roll on two weeks time and lets see what happens..

gbay (Galway) - Posts: 246 - 05/06/2022 19:03:41    2422537

Replying To Viking66:  "Leinster was probably stronger than Munster in the 80s and 90s. But for most of that there was no back door."
Leinster hurling is dour.. Galway not up to it. They should exit and leave the scant resources to the footballers, who are finally showing promise..

AnCrúiscínLán (Galway) - Posts: 87 - 05/06/2022 19:16:28    2422543

Replying To AnCrúiscínLán:  "Leinster hurling is dour.. Galway not up to it. They should exit and leave the scant resources to the footballers, who are finally showing promise.."
Don't start that. I agree our footballers don't get the same attention as our hurlers and have to have a really good team to capture the hearts and minds of the casual Galway fan when you take core support for both codes out of it. My feeling though is both merit good strong support even when things are not going well. One Galway and all that.

kiloughter (Galway) - Posts: 1946 - 05/06/2022 19:38:52    2422556

Replying To gbay:  "i couldnt agree more with you..
there are players on that team i feel there best days are well behind them.,
time after time alot of these players have not performed since 2019 and
yeat we persist with them..the talent in the county clearly isent there..
the lack of fight and general work ethic in some parts of the pitch yesterday i couldnt believe..
the line also where too slow to make changes not that they made much difference but still!!
are we expecting too much from this current team!!
is this team really capable of matching the top teams like we seen today in munster!!

what exactly is our gameplan!! hit whelo everytime with long high balls and is continuously
out numbered!!
quality of ball going into him was pathetic!
when do we ever run with the ball and try and break the lines.!!
had 5 good opportunities for goal chances and butchered 2 if not 3 of them..

its cork in two weeks time and after yesterday there will be only one winner..
he needs to make changes after this display., surely to god he cant go with the same 15..

for me its time to introduce glennon from the beginning and id give tom Monahan a run beside..

mullen got 4 points on gmac yesterday..
for me there needs to be a change there..
either move fintan or mannion to 6 or drop back joe cooney..unreal there for the club..

team id go with v cork
1.murphy
2.grealish
3.burke.
4.morrissey
5.t.j brennan
6.mannion
7.f.burke
8.glennon
9.monaghan
10.cooney
11.cooney
12.fahy
13.concannon
14.whelan
15.flynn

id go with this team..
ive no idea what eanna burke has to do to get a game..
best club hurler in galway last few years..
not sure why donal o shea was named on the bench when he has barely played all year..
strange decisions for me anyway..
throwing in young lee at 18 i think its too much along with tiernan and donal..
anyways roll on two weeks time and lets see what happens.."
No place for one of our most important players Cathal Mannion?

katser (Galway) - Posts: 2192 - 05/06/2022 19:44:38    2422558

Replying To kiloughter:  "Don't start that. I agree our footballers don't get the same attention as our hurlers and have to have a really good team to capture the hearts and minds of the casual Galway fan when you take core support for both codes out of it. My feeling though is both merit good strong support even when things are not going well. One Galway and all that."
As I have already stated earlier on this Forum following for the football in galway is in a minority and has been for a few years I see it in my work place where the vast majority wouldn't even know the footballers were playing unless they got to a final or semifinal there's more interest in premier league football the hurlers on the other hand would have much more casual followers a lot of this is due to how boring football is

minor77 (Galway) - Posts: 223 - 05/06/2022 21:03:54    2422603

Replying To endgame:  "My point is that the Leinster champions Kilkenny are straight in to an All Ireland semi final whereas Waterford are out. If Kilkenny played Waterford next week, I'd expect Waterford to win. There's an inequity in tying the All Ireland series into the provincial championships. Exactly the same in football where Ulster teams lose out while Kerry and Dublin waltz through their province and in to an All Ireland quarter final. The All Ireland championship should be stand alone and not linked to the provincials. Disagree if you wish but my point is clear."
My good man climb down off that bar stool.

Did you see Waterford play v Clare in the last round robin game, I'd say Kerry would have beaten Waterford that day they were so septic.

Kilkenny would eat them without salt if they played them at the minute in championship.

Past hurler (None) - Posts: 709 - 05/06/2022 21:24:09    2422608

Replying To AnCrúiscínLán:  "Leinster hurling is dour.. Galway not up to it. They should exit and leave the scant resources to the footballers, who are finally showing promise.."
I presume this is a wind - up.

Galway football don't make me laugh.

Past hurler (None) - Posts: 709 - 05/06/2022 21:30:51    2422609

I would not go to a football/handpass match if it was in the back garden. Yes the match was bad yesterday but still better than a good football match. I would be better for you if you give up going to the football and go to a few more hurling ones.

ecad123 (Galway) - Posts: 272 - 05/06/2022 21:39:09    2422611

What do you mean they are "not up to it"? They finished top of the round robin and lost the final by a few points. By your logi, every team that does not end up winning a competition outright should just pack it in altogether.

Gaillimh_Abu (Galway) - Posts: 996 - 05/06/2022 21:58:45    2422614

Replying To Gaillimh_Abu:  "What do you mean they are "not up to it"? They finished top of the round robin and lost the final by a few points. By your logi, every team that does not end up winning a competition outright should just pack it in altogether."
Bizarre negative post ok after a 1st defeat in 6 championship games. Likely be Cork next up for you. If you play with the same intensity as ye did against Kilkenny ye have every chance. If you give them space it might go very badly.

Viking66 (Wexford) - Posts: 11693 - 06/06/2022 08:25:11    2422629

Replying To Gaillimh_Abu:  "What do you mean they are "not up to it"? They finished top of the round robin and lost the final by a few points. By your logi, every team that does not end up winning a competition outright should just pack it in altogether."
Bizarre negative post ok after a 1st defeat in 6 championship games. Likely be Cork next up for you. If you play with the same intensity as ye did against Kilkenny ye have every chance. If you give them space it might go very badly.

Viking66 (Wexford) - Posts: 11693 - 06/06/2022 08:25:18    2422630

What's this scant resources quote,both football and hurling panels get whatever they ask for,their financial packages are agreed at the start of the year.The reason nobody wants to watch a football match is because it has become the most boring over tactical game played.At least in hurling players are aloud to express themselves and take a shot on.In football the players remind you of a cow hitting an electric fence when they reach the 30 yard mark they turn around at play the ball out the field.The goalposts are in the wrong place they should be on the touch lines because that is where the ball goes backwards and forwards across the field.Thay are afraid to take a shot from 40 yards out.Padraig Joyce thank god doesn't have Galway playing so negative and in the Connacht final most of our scores came from play.We'll be cheering for our footballer's no matter what,why,because we are Galway supporters.

Waveitwide (Galway) - Posts: 137 - 06/06/2022 11:24:54    2422714

Replying To Waveitwide:  "What's this scant resources quote,both football and hurling panels get whatever they ask for,their financial packages are agreed at the start of the year.The reason nobody wants to watch a football match is because it has become the most boring over tactical game played.At least in hurling players are aloud to express themselves and take a shot on.In football the players remind you of a cow hitting an electric fence when they reach the 30 yard mark they turn around at play the ball out the field.The goalposts are in the wrong place they should be on the touch lines because that is where the ball goes backwards and forwards across the field.Thay are afraid to take a shot from 40 yards out.Padraig Joyce thank god doesn't have Galway playing so negative and in the Connacht final most of our scores came from play.We'll be cheering for our footballer's no matter what,why,because we are Galway supporters."
Drivel and cliched, unknowledgeable comments from you about 'boring' football. We're playing both and support both codes and I'm sick of hearing some hurling people running down our other game like this when they clearly have a massive bias and don't know what they're talking about. Once again, the footballers outscored the hurlers. Having a defensive structure and kicking 2-16 from play of the footballers 2-19 against Div 1 opposition in a provincial final was actually a case of top class fast transition play and brilliant score taking. What's more, it's exciting to watch, if you ever cared to go and see in person what the likes of Shane Walsh, Paul Conroy, John Daly and others are actually doing on the field.
Scoring with a sliotar that's seems only a little heavier than a tennis ball now should be easier, right?!

togoutlads (Galway) - Posts: 897 - 06/06/2022 11:58:38    2422728

Replying To Claretandblue:  "The lad criticising Joe Canning's record in big games should be embarrassed"
Your knowledge of the subject matter seems to be more of an 'embarrassment', imo. If I can presume that you're a Brummie exiled in Westmeath, maybe that's not too surprising.

I didn't see any criticism of Joe Canning's record in big games actually. You misrepresented a post, to reach that false conclusion yourself. The specific comment was made about Joe's record in 'dogfights' with KK, iirc.

Pope_Benedict (Galway) - Posts: 3410 - 06/06/2022 12:06:15    2422732