Galway Hurling thread

The same Westmeath poster objects when posters post reasonable comments about our own hurlers but feels it's ok to slate our footballers and Galway hurlers. Bad form.

Claretandblue (Westmeath) - Posts: 1478 - 05/06/2022 11:50:28    2422360

Replying To Waveitwide:  "Waterford are gone from the championship because they finished second from bottom of a 5 team group and you think they should still be in the championship,all because we didn't perform yesterday.To many counties sticking the knife in here because we lost."
You miss my point. Currently Leinster and Munster are deemed on a par for the purposes of the All Ireland hurling series. That shouldn't be so. Munster is a lot stronger than Leinster at present. Waterford weren't good enough in Munster this year but they'd still beat most if not all of the Leinster teams that have advanced to the All Ireland series. Is that good tournament structure. Again caused by the primacy in gaa of the outdated provincial championships.

endgame (Roscommon) - Posts: 2154 - 05/06/2022 11:56:45    2422361

Replying To tiobraid:  "They're generally favourites or joint favs for leinster which puts them within touching distance of a final.
For me galway have had players that are hanging around the panel for years and have never nailed down a starting position. A few are gone at this stage but there was a few playing yesterday. There's something wrong in Galway that they can't bring through more players. Kk only had 6 of their 2019 team playing and by my calculations Galway had 9/10 of their 2017/2018 team playing and if the likes of Joe and glynn were around they'd be playing as well. It has cost Tipp badly not bringing through players and I think the same has happened Galway. Hardly any make it through. Galway seem to have very little to come off the bench yet have always strong underage teams. Morrissey and Grealish were probably brought in more as a necessity than anything else and they are two fine players who have developed quickly once given the chance. The likes of Glennon, N. Burke, Flynn and Cooney have had plenty of chances over the years but because of that surely some players have slipped through the net."
A lot of truth in that. However for the most part the players holding down places are the ones that are consistently showing up well in the county club championship. Which does beg the question, is the quality of our club championship as good as we would like to think it is? I dont think so based on last year's club championship , and Henry after being appointed and watching the latter stages of it must have been thinking " what have I let myself in for here?" It was a bad sign when a team like St Thomas's, which are 3 to 4 years past their best were able to dominate and comfortably win our county championship last year. Being new and unfamiliar with the club scene I dont think Henry had much choice but to go with the evidence of his eyes in those latter stages of the club championship and with the advice of his locally based backroom management. But this loss crystallizes a lot and the big clear out and drafting in of younger talent that is so badly needed will happen in the next campaign. That said, raw talented youngsters like Tiernan Killeen and Gavin Lee were brought into the panel this year at least a year too soon when they would have better utilised playing at U20 level.. Totally agree with you on the elder Glennon (now with Westmeath), N. Burke, and Flynn. The latter 2 made their most valuable contributions as cameo roles in the 2017 final and ideally they should have been thanked for their contributions after that final and let go. The cult status that Flynn in particular holds among a certain section of Galway hurling supporters has always baffled me because when the players around him are playing well he can look half decent but if the chips are down and you need a leader to dig you out of a hole he is most definitely not a player to rely on to improve things.

PoolSturgeon (Galway) - Posts: 1902 - 05/06/2022 12:02:55    2422363

Congratulations Kilkenny. I'm disappointed of course but we're still alive and will hopefully learn from this defeat. I still believe we have enough talent to challenge anyone but they have to learn how to win first. Galway Abu.

Trump2020 (Galway) - Posts: 2113 - 05/06/2022 12:05:53    2422365

Replying To Viking66:  "Doubt you will hit 30 points against Kilkenny. They won't give you that space. Although they did concede 29 points against Cork in the AISF last year. Dont think anyone has ever scored 30 points against them tbh. Since 2019 you have scored 20, 24 and 24 points against them in your 3 games played. Think you will need a goal or 2. Which hopefully you will get!"
Sadly you didn't.

Viking66 (Wexford) - Posts: 11725 - 05/06/2022 12:06:01    2422366

Replying To endgame:  "Where's the shock. We've seen it all before. Galway senior hurlers usually flop when it matters. Henry hasn't changed that. Where do all the minors go. Don't even make it to U20 never mind senior.Poor match yesterday. Very poor Galway performance. Currently Leinster does not deserve a direct place for their champions in the All Ireland semi final and the likes of Waterford already gone out of the championship."
Not sure that. Waterford and Tipp were very poor themselves.

Viking66 (Wexford) - Posts: 11725 - 05/06/2022 12:09:21    2422368

Replying To endgame:  "Where's the shock. We've seen it all before. Galway senior hurlers usually flop when it matters. Henry hasn't changed that. Where do all the minors go. Don't even make it to U20 never mind senior.Poor match yesterday. Very poor Galway performance. Currently Leinster does not deserve a direct place for their champions in the All Ireland semi final and the likes of Waterford already gone out of the championship."
Not sure that. Waterford and Tipp were very poor themselves. And Cork only looked good against the 2 of them.

Viking66 (Wexford) - Posts: 11725 - 05/06/2022 12:09:49    2422369

Galway were bad yesterday and the architect of our own downfall..We had an off day these things can happen atleast We have another game to get it right.
But Westmeath, Roscommon and Tipperary have offered absolutely nothing to hurling this year and limrik posters are like hot air balloons...full of wind.

katser (Galway) - Posts: 2192 - 05/06/2022 12:16:06    2422372

A bad day in croke park yet again yesterday.We went in as favourites and quite writely,we topped the group and Kilkenny flopped against Wexford,but they weren't getting slated for that by other counties like we are, very sad on their part.Henry getting paid big bucks and he knew what the job entailed,so I don't feel sorry for him.Too many passengers yesterday that didn't perform and that is one of the reasons we failed.Twelve of 22 points from placed balls for Kilkenny,too much fouling and paid for it.We missed too many scorable frees along with missed goal chances with the Kilkenny goalie pulling off some great saves.Limerick boys looking for a heap of red cards,didn't see the Fahy incident,but it wasn't a dirty match,probably looking to match all their reds this year.If they were reds no better man than Owens to dish them out because he was shocking yesterday.Rome wasn't built in a day and every Galway supporter knew this was going to be a 2-3 year process to get things working.Our panel is not strong enough and that's Henry's job to sort that out.Would make you wonder is there any point in strength and conditioning lads and bulk them up to play hard when minimal contact gets a free.Bring on the winners of the next round,but let's remember after last year progress has been made but mentally we seem to hit a brick wall and that needs to change if we want to push on.

Waveitwide (Galway) - Posts: 137 - 05/06/2022 12:20:39    2422373

Replying To endgame:  "You miss my point. Currently Leinster and Munster are deemed on a par for the purposes of the All Ireland hurling series. That shouldn't be so. Munster is a lot stronger than Leinster at present. Waterford weren't good enough in Munster this year but they'd still beat most if not all of the Leinster teams that have advanced to the All Ireland series. Is that good tournament structure. Again caused by the primacy in gaa of the outdated provincial championships."
Nonsense.Leinster and Kilkenny dominated for closed to 15 years and Munster was inferior,if you are not good enough to compete in your province,you are not good enough.

Waveitwide (Galway) - Posts: 137 - 05/06/2022 12:28:29    2422376

Replying To katser:  "Galway were bad yesterday and the architect of our own downfall..We had an off day these things can happen atleast We have another game to get it right.
But Westmeath, Roscommon and Tipperary have offered absolutely nothing to hurling this year and limrik posters are like hot air balloons...full of wind."
Jaysus, did you ever give any consideration to the whole pot/kettle cliche thing?

Pope_Benedict (Galway) - Posts: 3410 - 05/06/2022 12:39:46    2422382

Replying To tommy k:  "I think you're mixing up Davy Glennon with his brother Ronan as Davy is now playing with Westmeath and Ronan only established himself with Galway this year but has been hampered with a hamstring injury he picked up at the end of the league. Niall Burke is no longer on the panel. I thought Joe and Glynn were needed yesterday actually as it was a dogfight like KK like it to be and those 2 would be well able for that type of game."
Joe's record in 'dogfights' with KK was nothing to write home about.

Pope_Benedict (Galway) - Posts: 3410 - 05/06/2022 12:43:18    2422385

Just watched the match back this morning, we were off the pace, our touch and decision making was poor at times, but the biggest thing I noticed was the influence that Mullins had last night, Coen had managed him well in Pearse Stadium a few weeks ago but last night he kept drifting into space and did massive damage.

GDL (Galway) - Posts: 719 - 05/06/2022 13:48:57    2422405

Replying To Waveitwide:  "Nonsense.Leinster and Kilkenny dominated for closed to 15 years and Munster was inferior,if you are not good enough to compete in your province,you are not good enough."
Can't agree with that. Same provincial inequality exists in football where Munster is a one team province and Ulster has several competitive teams. Even when Kilkenny were the best team in the country, the province of Leinster was weaker than Munster.

endgame (Roscommon) - Posts: 2154 - 05/06/2022 13:55:08    2422408

Replying To Waveitwide:  "A bad day in croke park yet again yesterday.We went in as favourites and quite writely,we topped the group and Kilkenny flopped against Wexford,but they weren't getting slated for that by other counties like we are, very sad on their part.Henry getting paid big bucks and he knew what the job entailed,so I don't feel sorry for him.Too many passengers yesterday that didn't perform and that is one of the reasons we failed.Twelve of 22 points from placed balls for Kilkenny,too much fouling and paid for it.We missed too many scorable frees along with missed goal chances with the Kilkenny goalie pulling off some great saves.Limerick boys looking for a heap of red cards,didn't see the Fahy incident,but it wasn't a dirty match,probably looking to match all their reds this year.If they were reds no better man than Owens to dish them out because he was shocking yesterday.Rome wasn't built in a day and every Galway supporter knew this was going to be a 2-3 year process to get things working.Our panel is not strong enough and that's Henry's job to sort that out.Would make you wonder is there any point in strength and conditioning lads and bulk them up to play hard when minimal contact gets a free.Bring on the winners of the next round,but let's remember after last year progress has been made but mentally we seem to hit a brick wall and that needs to change if we want to push on."
Fahy incident is clearly a red card, wasn't seen by Owens, don't think many saw it b4 replays, presume he will get a suspension, poor message if not. In fairness to Owens a lot of frees were given for high challenges which can't really be ignored.

sligo joe (Dublin) - Posts: 674 - 05/06/2022 14:37:33    2422414

Tj had a good day yesterday, looks back to his best.

arock (Dublin) - Posts: 4895 - 05/06/2022 15:15:43    2422420

Replying To Pope_Benedict:  "Joe's record in 'dogfights' with KK was nothing to write home about."
He was still generally scorer in chief for Galway in most Galway / KK games and I don't just mean from frees. He often was the player to at least snatch a draw from the jaws of defeat.

tommy k (Galway) - Posts: 3314 - 05/06/2022 15:26:54    2422430

Replying To endgame:  "Can't agree with that. Same provincial inequality exists in football where Munster is a one team province and Ulster has several competitive teams. Even when Kilkenny were the best team in the country, the province of Leinster was weaker than Munster."
Leinster was probably stronger than Munster in the 80s and 90s. But for most of that there was no back door.

Viking66 (Wexford) - Posts: 11725 - 05/06/2022 15:44:55    2422435

Replying To endgame:  "Can't agree with that. Same provincial inequality exists in football where Munster is a one team province and Ulster has several competitive teams. Even when Kilkenny were the best team in the country, the province of Leinster was weaker than Munster."
Can't see where your point is.You stated that the Leinster championship winners are not worthy of a place in the all Ireland semifinal because you think that the Munster series is superior and poor old Waterford are out,they weren't good enough.You can only play what's in front of you.If Munster is so superior why don't they let Kerry in,they can't compete in Munster but can compete in the McCarthy cup.Same could be said with the Dublin footballer's,6 in a row and know one to give them a game in Leinster,were they not worthy of their place in the all Ireland series after coming through a one sided provincial championship.

Waveitwide (Galway) - Posts: 137 - 05/06/2022 16:17:33    2422457

Replying To sligo joe:  "Fahy incident is clearly a red card, wasn't seen by Owens, don't think many saw it b4 replays, presume he will get a suspension, poor message if not. In fairness to Owens a lot of frees were given for high challenges which can't really be ignored."
Watched the incident,it was stupid and lucky to get away with it.Don't know if the referee can revisit it if he didn't see it.

Waveitwide (Galway) - Posts: 137 - 05/06/2022 16:23:35    2422459