Why Mayo Cant Win An All-Ireland

Replying To nicko94:  "'lap up the adulation and pity in equal measure' ............. jesus christ

You do all realise its the media controlling/pushing the narrative?

You do realise the fans of absolutely no say on what the newspapers print or how often they want to talk about Mayo?

Its easy print talking about the nearly men, easy easy print, hence why our team is taken up the column inches."
I know and I said that in my post.

lilylanger (Kildare) - Posts: 758 - 14/09/2021 17:16:01    2380696

Replying To lilylanger:  "I know and I said that in my post."
In this country when nobody likes you then you know you are going well, seems to be in the Irish mentality.
Tyrone used the hatred against them as a motivator.

Tirchonaill1 (Donegal) - Posts: 2746 - 14/09/2021 20:27:10    2380745

Replying To FoolsGold:  "In most of the All Ireland finals Mayo were the underdog. Maybe slight favourites in 2012 against Donegal. They got off to a very bad start but played well in 2012.
On Saturday they never looked like winning.

The hype this year was maybe too much for their players. David Brady was Tweeting they had won before it was played"
No. Donegal were favourites v Mayo 2012.

endgame (Roscommon) - Posts: 2162 - 14/09/2021 20:37:37    2380746

Replying To Tirchonaill1:  "In this country when nobody likes you then you know you are going well, seems to be in the Irish mentality.
Tyrone used the hatred against them as a motivator."
And then when you stop doing well, they'll say you were never as good as you seemed!

It is the speciality of people who have never done anything of note themselves mostly.

BarneyGrant (Dublin) - Posts: 2551 - 14/09/2021 20:38:03    2380747

Replying To Mailman98:  "McGuinness won one All-Ireland, there must be 10 managers available with more success than him. He's most famous for dropping and falling out with his best player. That and other controversies of his own making got him in the news along with a silly song. People need to get over themselves about the great Jim. He's a one trick pony and that trick was soon found out and bettered. He wouldn't be fit to carry water to John O'Mahony or Sean Boylan even now."
Do you even believe what you just came out with there, never mind expecting any other sane person to believe it? The worst of Irish begrudging typified here.

Donegal_abroad (Donegal) - Posts: 1321 - 14/09/2021 21:03:03    2380750

Replying To conman1282:  "it was 2 mins over additional time, the whistle was always coming at that kickout"
If Mayo got a goal it would be refs discretion. There s always a chance ref let's the kickout go and depending on who gets possession what he will do. Anyway it's immaterial now but silly to take a point at that stage.

CiarraiMick (Dublin) - Posts: 3675 - 14/09/2021 21:40:17    2380757

Replying To conman1282:  "it was 2 mins over additional time, the whistle was always coming at that kickout"
If Mayo got a goal it would be refs discretion. There s always a chance ref let's the kickout go and depending on who gets possession what he will do. Anyway it's immaterial now but silly to take a point at that stage.

CiarraiMick (Dublin) - Posts: 3675 - 14/09/2021 21:40:19    2380758

Replying To Bon:  "I was thinking similar myself when watching it."
Silly stuff

CiarraiMick (Dublin) - Posts: 3675 - 14/09/2021 21:41:27    2380759

Replying To BarneyGrant:  "And then when you stop doing well, they'll say you were never as good as you seemed!

It is the speciality of people who have never done anything of note themselves mostly."
Spot on Barney.

CiarraiMick (Dublin) - Posts: 3675 - 14/09/2021 21:43:03    2380760

Replying To Canuck:  "The best teams nearly or always win.This over psychic analyst of Mayo is a joke. Is there any player for them or any team that decides I am only going to put so much in and that is it.. These players put so much into an amateur sport. It is easy and mean spirited to jump on them when they lose a FINAL throwing another few boots into them.
It is 63 years since we won our last All-Ireland senior tittle. We have played in three since and lost all of them and numerous semi finals. Why ? Simple, WE WERE NOT GOOD ENOUGH. Great players have played for us in those finals and to suggest that them or their team mates bottle it or don't have the guts to win is horrible. That is what this type of analysis is. Have you ever been in the dressing room after one of these losses?
No one has the god given right to win. Us included and what about the teams who never won an All-Ireland ? Should all of them be put into that boat ? Should they just quit ? Should Mayo quit because they might lose another final ? How egoistic to all of them couched in an annalistic assessment."
While the best team as you say, nearly always wins, the do not always win. In the finlas that Mayo have played they have never got a break that went their way, say from a mistake by a ref etc. And so it proved again on Saturday. Nobody outside Tyrone would have been outraged if the free on the edge of the square had been given as a peno.

martinjoe (Mayo) - Posts: 499 - 15/09/2021 09:55:37    2380804

Replying To martinjoe:  "While the best team as you say, nearly always wins, the do not always win. In the finlas that Mayo have played they have never got a break that went their way, say from a mistake by a ref etc. And so it proved again on Saturday. Nobody outside Tyrone would have been outraged if the free on the edge of the square had been given as a peno."
Give over would you? This entire message is why Mayo can't win an All-Ireland, its always something went wrong, the ref was bad, the grass was too long etc etc.

Never a willingness to admit that it was yere own failings that cost ye. First off if the ref got everything right, O'Hora would've been in the sin bin at the time of the free on the edge of the square, not bearing through the Tyrone backs.

If Mayo had forwards capable of kicking their scores under pressure or recycling and working a score instead of taking potshots from the 45 in the last ten minutes, they still could've won.

Tyrone were good and should've really buried Mayo with how poor they were. Mayo have never got "the break that went their way" because they've never made their own luck, which is what the best teams do.

Highandmighty (Leitrim) - Posts: 54 - 15/09/2021 10:21:10    2380816

Replying To martinjoe:  "While the best team as you say, nearly always wins, the do not always win. In the finlas that Mayo have played they have never got a break that went their way, say from a mistake by a ref etc. And so it proved again on Saturday. Nobody outside Tyrone would have been outraged if the free on the edge of the square had been given as a peno."
The foul was outside the square and there was a 5 point gap in the end in fairness. There was a black card not given to Mayo, that was a let off. The break Mayo could have used was to retake the missed penalty. Mayo will win eventually.

maroondiesel (Mayo) - Posts: 1196 - 15/09/2021 10:25:59    2380817

I don't know I think that's a bit of a false narrative to be honest. We tend to only remember the decisions or breaks that went against us when we lose and not the ones that went for us.

Yeah there might not have been huge complaints had that free been given as a penalty but equally there would not have been huge complaints had Mayo's penalty in the 2nd half been given as a free out for a square ball.

In every football match ever played you get some breaks and you don't get others, it's all part of the game. Every team that has ever won an All-Ireland final has had breaks go against them in the game.

MesAmis (Dublin) - Posts: 13707 - 15/09/2021 10:40:43    2380820

I think McStay hits on a good point.....

ie that Mayo typically over the Horan years and even going further back, specialise in producing a very similar player. That template being the hard running, line breaking, strong, dynamic, attacking half back type. There has been an endless supply of them and we are blessed with those types again (Higgins, Nallen, Gardiner, Keegan, Durcan, Vaughan, Boyle, Mullin, Hession, O'Hora etc etc).

That type of player has been brilliant and has gotten them so far, it allows Mayo to run the legs of most teams in the country nut for the top 3 or 4 teams who can match us on conditioning it wont be enough.
They arent producing or trusting any creative playmaker types in the half forward line or midfield, just hard running athletes. Zero guile...

Where are the Brian McGuigans? The tyrone lads were so much more technically proficient, flawless execution, variety in their play and kicking.
I cant imagine any mayo player picking out a forward with a defence splitter of a pass like the one meyler put on a plate for McShane

HuddHastings (Longford) - Posts: 144 - 15/09/2021 10:57:02    2380827

Thats some desperate clutching at straws, if you are forever looking for external factors, bad luck, conspiracies or referees then you will never address the real issues.

Im no McQuillan fan but he didnt put a foot wrong, so yis dont have that fallback of blaming the ref

Address the real issues

HuddHastings (Longford) - Posts: 144 - 15/09/2021 11:01:35    2380829

Maybe Mayo have a list of breaks they did not get over the years.

They also got all of the crucial breaks towards the end of normal time against Dublin, any one of which had it gone the other way would have meant they were beaten.

Probably as well for Dublin they didn't, but you win some, you lose some when it comes to refs.

BarneyGrant (Dublin) - Posts: 2551 - 15/09/2021 11:08:23    2380834

In most winning All Ireland teams the Captain steps up on the day . That didn't happen with Mayo. No leaders when the pressure is on. Everyone talking about missing Cillian o Connor. Well he's been there before too.. He kick you 5 more if you 5 ahead but won't kick you 1 when you level or 1 down in an All Ireland final. He prove that before.

Breffni1969 (Cavan) - Posts: 510 - 15/09/2021 11:14:07    2380836

Mayo certainly arent helped by their former players in the media in the lead up to games.

David brady gets wheeled out every year for a month in leadup to final and does them no favours wit BS like this...

https://twitter.com/D9BMayo/status/1436563989857767427

I find him in particular completely disingenuos, its like he is reverse jinxing Mayo because he know if they finally get over the line lads like him wont be able to churn out their usual guff on an annual basis

HuddHastings (Longford) - Posts: 144 - 15/09/2021 11:20:59    2380838

A few thoughts from the big game

https://unofficialtyrone.wordpress.com/2021/09/15/tyrone-are-all-ireland-champions/

DasRoteHand (Tyrone) - Posts: 17 - 15/09/2021 11:30:56    2380842

Replying To Breffni1969:  "In most winning All Ireland teams the Captain steps up on the day . That didn't happen with Mayo. No leaders when the pressure is on. Everyone talking about missing Cillian o Connor. Well he's been there before too.. He kick you 5 more if you 5 ahead but won't kick you 1 when you level or 1 down in an All Ireland final. He prove that before."
Cillian kicked a massive score to draw the 2016 final. He also kicked an equaliser before the Rock equaliser in 2017..both kicks from play. To say he has not done it is incorrect. Sure he has had misses and hit posts.

Mayo completely malfunctioned in the final. I don't think that has happened since 2012. To say Mayo have no leaders…well to say that your clueless. Have you been watching Mayo the past decade?

yew_tree (Mayo) - Posts: 11230 - 15/09/2021 12:14:14    2380860