Why Mayo Cant Win An All-Ireland

Replying To Breffni1969:  "In most winning All Ireland teams the Captain steps up on the day . That didn't happen with Mayo. No leaders when the pressure is on. Everyone talking about missing Cillian o Connor. Well he's been there before too.. He kick you 5 more if you 5 ahead but won't kick you 1 when you level or 1 down in an All Ireland final. He prove that before."

Apart from the equaliser in the 2016 final , for example, under severe pressure in open play with 20 seconds left.
Typical 'what the tabloids say' nonsense. Thats the Brolly etc audience right there folks.

timmyhogan (UK) - Posts: 290 - 15/09/2021 12:30:26    2380867

Replying To Breffni1969:  "In most winning All Ireland teams the Captain steps up on the day . That didn't happen with Mayo. No leaders when the pressure is on. Everyone talking about missing Cillian o Connor. Well he's been there before too.. He kick you 5 more if you 5 ahead but won't kick you 1 when you level or 1 down in an All Ireland final. He prove that before."
> Kicks two massive scores from 45 in closing minutes of AI finals two years in a row when his team is a point down

Breffni1969: "he won't kick you 1 when you level or 1 down in an All Ireland final. He prove that before."

jonjon (Mayo) - Posts: 99 - 15/09/2021 12:32:29    2380869

Replying To martinjoe:  "While the best team as you say, nearly always wins, the do not always win. In the finlas that Mayo have played they have never got a break that went their way, say from a mistake by a ref etc. And so it proved again on Saturday. Nobody outside Tyrone would have been outraged if the free on the edge of the square had been given as a peno."
lol what a weird comment that is. How many bloody penalties do you want? ​it wasn't a penalty so what on earth are you talking about.. and also the one you got was a free out for 2 reasons, a foul and square ball.
Mayo were not the best team on Saturday. In fact if we had of played another hour Tyrone would have won that match comfortably. Everyone talks about Mayo's missed chances, but fail to recognise Tyrone missed two great goal chances never mind the couple of "easy" marks/shots they missed in second half

DO you honestly think Mayo were the better team on Saturday and were denied by a mistake from the ref... if so you are mistaken, and probably the reason for the title of this thread

conman1282 (Tyrone) - Posts: 88 - 15/09/2021 13:12:10    2380882

Replying To HuddHastings:  "Mayo certainly arent helped by their former players in the media in the lead up to games.

David brady gets wheeled out every year for a month in leadup to final and does them no favours wit BS like this...

https://twitter.com/D9BMayo/status/1436563989857767427

I find him in particular completely disingenuos, its like he is reverse jinxing Mayo because he know if they finally get over the line lads like him wont be able to churn out their usual guff on an annual basis"
Agreed. Liam MacHale has also come out with some stupid things in the run up to finals in the past, most notably writing a column in the Sunday Independent on the morning of the 2004 final (while he was a selector) talking about how Mayo were going to play.

I think we'd be better served if they all played the party line and talked up the opposition, as Kerry and Dublin's tend to.

Gleebo (Mayo) - Posts: 2208 - 15/09/2021 13:47:22    2380891

Replying To conman1282:  "
Replying To martinjoe:  "While the best team as you say, nearly always wins, the do not always win. In the finlas that Mayo have played they have never got a break that went their way, say from a mistake by a ref etc. And so it proved again on Saturday. Nobody outside Tyrone would have been outraged if the free on the edge of the square had been given as a peno."
lol what a weird comment that is. How many bloody penalties do you want? ​it wasn't a penalty so what on earth are you talking about.. and also the one you got was a free out for 2 reasons, a foul and square ball.
Mayo were not the best team on Saturday. In fact if we had of played another hour Tyrone would have won that match comfortably. Everyone talks about Mayo's missed chances, but fail to recognise Tyrone missed two great goal chances never mind the couple of "easy" marks/shots they missed in second half

DO you honestly think Mayo were the better team on Saturday and were denied by a mistake from the ref... if so you are mistaken, and probably the reason for the title of this thread"

There is a connection between the opening post of the thread and the post you are responding to - they are both complete nonsense. In martinjoes defence his nonsense was his own opinion & wasn't as longwinded as the OP which got 12 green ticks ;-)

While some tight matches might and have swung on big decisions Saturdays game wasn't one of those. The O Hora foul could easily have been given as a black card/peno but it wasn't - that didn't cost Mayo the game. Mayo might have missed the peno in any case.

timmyhogan (UK) - Posts: 290 - 15/09/2021 14:04:18    2380901

Replying To Gleebo:  "Agreed. Liam MacHale has also come out with some stupid things in the run up to finals in the past, most notably writing a column in the Sunday Independent on the morning of the 2004 final (while he was a selector) talking about how Mayo were going to play.

I think we'd be better served if they all played the party line and talked up the opposition, as Kerry and Dublin's tend to."
Is that true about McHale? :-o im really not surprised in the least.

Some of the mayo 'legends' do them no favours in the lead up to finals, Maughan/Brady/McHale the worst offenders, they must clean up on the podcast circuit every summer pretending to be in the know

I seen someone remark on twitter once that 'David Brady would read out his pin number if you put a mike in front of him'. Pure bluster

HuddHastings (Longford) - Posts: 144 - 15/09/2021 14:06:05    2380902

Replying To HuddHastings:  "Mayo certainly arent helped by their former players in the media in the lead up to games.

David brady gets wheeled out every year for a month in leadup to final and does them no favours wit BS like this...

https://twitter.com/D9BMayo/status/1436563989857767427

I find him in particular completely disingenuos, its like he is reverse jinxing Mayo because he know if they finally get over the line lads like him wont be able to churn out their usual guff on an annual basis"
Him believing that Mayo would beat Tyrone is BS? If player's confidence is affected by comments in the media they shouldn't be playing intercounty football. David Brady is a good man to throw out a few catchphrases and a bit of humour to get some publicity for himself. Not the greatest of pundits, if you can't spot that he's on the windup a lot of the time, you can be forgiven for thinking he's an eejit. That's far from the truth though.

GreenandRed (Mayo) - Posts: 7343 - 15/09/2021 15:09:05    2380920

Replying To HuddHastings:  "Is that true about McHale? :-o im really not surprised in the least.

Some of the mayo 'legends' do them no favours in the lead up to finals, Maughan/Brady/McHale the worst offenders, they must clean up on the podcast circuit every summer pretending to be in the know

I seen someone remark on twitter once that 'David Brady would read out his pin number if you put a mike in front of him'. Pure bluster"
Yes. I remember reading it the morning of the match and having a sinking feeling even then.

Haven't any big problem with former players doing the circuit of podcasts/vlogs/analysis gigs, as they're entitled to a few bob after giving us so much entertainment over the years for nothing. But we have a few like the ones you mentioned (plus maybe one or two others, John Casey springs to mind) who should be encouraged to rein the enthusiasm in a bit.

Listening to Micheal Quirke or Eamon Fitzmaurice you'd hardly think they even hail from Kerry, they sound that detached.

Gleebo (Mayo) - Posts: 2208 - 15/09/2021 15:13:30    2380923

To be honest I haven't a clue how many finals I have watched over this past 20 years involving Mayo. Each time they were always beaten by a better team. Their best ever chance was the drawn game with Dublin. The other times that they were beaten by Kerry I always felt that they like many other teams were star struck by Kerry and let them off too handy. As Sean Cavanagh said to Spillane...God forbid anyone lays a hand on Kerry... that's true. Other teams feared them too much...Tyrone feared no one and got stuck in.

border Gael (Monaghan) - Posts: 894 - 15/09/2021 21:59:02    2381008

I meant to add to my post that I would not run down Mayo Players as being useless.
On Saturday they met a well prepared Tyrone team who would have beaten any team put in front of them.
Tyrone stopped them playing their game plan.
Tyrone were a much better prepared and fitter team.

border Gael (Monaghan) - Posts: 894 - 15/09/2021 22:06:01    2381009

Replying To border Gael:  "I meant to add to my post that I would not run down Mayo Players as being useless.
On Saturday they met a well prepared Tyrone team who would have beaten any team put in front of them.
Tyrone stopped them playing their game plan.
Tyrone were a much better prepared and fitter team."
How do you think Monaghan would have done if they had won the Ulster final considering Tyrone only won by 1 point?

Tirchonaill1 (Donegal) - Posts: 2746 - 15/09/2021 22:27:51    2381017

Replying To Donegal_abroad:  "Do you even believe what you just came out with there, never mind expecting any other sane person to believe it? The worst of Irish begrudging typified here."
Come back to me when Jim reinvents himself and wins a second All-Ireland. Until then everything I wrote is factual.

Mailman98 (Galway) - Posts: 319 - 16/09/2021 09:19:39    2381041

They got a break last Sunday in the first 20 seconds when Conroy was guilty of the most blatant incident of charging I have ever seen yet allowed to carry on and kick the opening score. He could have broken his neck the way he charged in head first.

Mailman98 (Galway) - Posts: 319 - 16/09/2021 09:22:57    2381044

Yeah apart from loads of times including 6 minutes into injury time in the 2016 final from way out the field. But yeah he missed a free in the replay so let's erase all the good things.

TheFlaker (Mayo) - Posts: 7889 - 16/09/2021 09:57:38    2381047

Losing one or two finals can be down to bad luck, break of a ball, harsh/sof call from ref, but six in last nine years! I mean that has little to do with bad luck. And if the players/team believe that is all it is well we will be here the next nine years discusiing it. Maybe if they scored more than the opposition they might win.

arock (Dublin) - Posts: 4896 - 16/09/2021 10:00:11    2381048

Replying To Mailman98:  "
They got a break last Sunday in the first 20 seconds when Conroy was guilty of the most blatant incident of charging I have ever seen yet allowed to carry on and kick the opening score. He could have broken his neck the way he charged in head first."
Agreed. Thought that was a text book example of charging. Mayo also got a break when ohora and AOS got away with black cards. Not to mention the penalty that should have been a free out.

TYE08 (Tyrone) - Posts: 93 - 16/09/2021 10:24:41    2381057

Replying To timmyhogan:  ".

Apart from the equaliser in the 2016 final , for example, under severe pressure in open play with 20 seconds left.
Typical 'what the tabloids say' nonsense. Thats the Brolly etc audience right there folks."
Look to try kick an equalising free with time up is massive pressure. To try kick a winning free when level is nervy but not real pressure as if you miss you still in game. To kick a winning free is what we all dream of as kids. To kick an equaliser now that's pressure. I've debated this before and some don't agree but that's my view as an ex free taker. Cluxton agreed as did Peter Canavan. Also another thing I always felt was that goalies had no real pressure for penalties and Niall Morgan confirmed this. The pressure is on the kicker. If he scores no fault of Goalie. If Goalie saves he s a hero.

CiarraiMick (Dublin) - Posts: 3675 - 16/09/2021 10:44:00    2381061

Replying To Tirchonaill1:  "How do you think Monaghan would have done if they had won the Ulster final considering Tyrone only won by 1 point?"
Not as well as Tyrone did, considering they were down 3 or 4 players out with COVID for the Ulster final. Tyrone got better game on game.

GreenandRed (Mayo) - Posts: 7343 - 16/09/2021 12:43:24    2381080

Replying To GreenandRed:  "Not as well as Tyrone did, considering they were down 3 or 4 players out with COVID for the Ulster final. Tyrone got better game on game."
Never thought of that, they had a lot of covid issues too before the Kerry game but if you didn't know which camp had the covid outbreak and were watching the game it was Kerry that looked like they had no energy.
Funny how some teams can beat each other within Ulster but the likes of Tyrone seem to get better as they progress.

Tirchonaill1 (Donegal) - Posts: 2746 - 16/09/2021 13:19:32    2381088

Replying To Tirchonaill1:  "Never thought of that, they had a lot of covid issues too before the Kerry game but if you didn't know which camp had the covid outbreak and were watching the game it was Kerry that looked like they had no energy.
Funny how some teams can beat each other within Ulster but the likes of Tyrone seem to get better as they progress."
Connacht is like this too, especially between the big 3

maroondiesel (Mayo) - Posts: 1196 - 16/09/2021 13:28:40    2381090