Galway V Mayo

Replying To Gaillimh_Abu:  "Or maybe its just the best way of allowing a decent crowd to attend a game under the current covid restrictions? I think its well worth it for the sake of giving many more fans the opportunity to go and generate some proper atmosphere at a provincial final."
Oh it's great for any team to play in Croke Park, but it's total hypocrisy as regards to Covid restrictions.

Surely there is more risk if car loads of people are crossing the country than there would be of increasing the limits at the original venue.

What about the players from both teams , will they be expected to travel by car early morning and then play a game ?

Throw in time is ridiculous as well.

Someone is telling porkys here, how can the GAA claim that it takes over 30,000 fans to make it pay , who have they doing security, Mossad ?

AfricanGael (UK) - Posts: 1947 - 14/07/2021 09:42:24    2359665

Replying To MesAmis:  "The 'Croke Pk needs 30k attendance to break even' argument is real leprechaun economics.

The type of thing you'd hear from someone down the chipper after a few scoops."
Their own words , so are they telling lies do you think ? :-).

AfricanGael (UK) - Posts: 1947 - 14/07/2021 09:49:17    2359669

Replying To MesAmis:  "The 'Croke Pk needs 30k attendance to break even' argument is real leprechaun economics.

The type of thing you'd hear from someone down the chipper after a few scoops."
100%. It seems to be a bit of an urban legend. I have not seen one link from an official source confirming this.

the_walls (Mayo) - Posts: 495 - 14/07/2021 09:59:49    2359675

The Mayo men and women supporting their team in Tuam last night, who booed , cheered heckled the young lads taking frees and penalties need in future to stay at home.
A total disgrace..
Best supporters in Ireland my ass..

Belclare (Galway) - Posts: 904 - 14/07/2021 10:19:18    2359685

This should be a great game of football between the old rivals. An historic Connacht final. Good to see the increase in crowd numbers going to games too. I think we still have hope without Willie Joe.

Maigh Eo Abú!

GreenandRed (Mayo) - Posts: 7337 - 14/07/2021 10:37:08    2359690

Replying To the_walls:  "Of course it's tin foil hat stuff. You are saying that Mayo and James Horan somehow have the political muscle to compel the GAA to move a game to Croke Park and that the motivations behind this are because Galway would be relishing a day out in Castlebar. Nothing to do with the fact that the guts of 15,000 extra people will be able to see the game in person. It's pure conspiracy theory nonsense. It's amazing how fans of all counties (and indeed fans of teams in other codes) always try to make out that they are perpetual victims of some sort of unfair bias. No one is trying to shaft Galway, no one in Mayo has the power to compel the GAA to do something that they don't want to do. The only obvious motivation here is to allow 15,000 extra people into the game. But if you want to view Galway as some sort of victim of Mayo politicking then work away."
Mayo are past masters at politicking, sure haven't you supplied us with a Taoiseach or two and an Uachtarán in recent years :-) Mayo lobbying is renowned! If there were all irelands for lobbying, Michael Ring would have a full trophy cabinet…your Connacht Council doyen, John Prenty is actually listed as a registered lobbyist on lobbying.ie - have a look.
I'm only being slightly facetious. Back to the football. The Galway camp were quietly confident heading to Castlebar, the footballing dogs in the street knew this in both counties. Horan has built his team for Croker and he wanted it switched there, as Castlebar hasn't exactly been a fortress for Mayo in recent years - no more than us in windy Pearse. Horan knew we could have your number there. Where did the idea for the Croker switch emanate from in the first instance?
It is what it is, Mayo get their way and we'll all traipse up to Dublin for the day. Galway need games there anyway, so it's time we did something on that big open field.

togoutlads (Galway) - Posts: 898 - 14/07/2021 10:41:27    2359691

Replying To the_walls:  "100%. It seems to be a bit of an urban legend. I have not seen one link from an official source confirming this."
I don't eat in chip shops or deal in urban myths either, either way it's leprechaun economics, firstly I don't believe the GAA when they say it takes a crowd of 34,000 to make it viable and secondly if it does then they are clearly unable to run the place, either way it's leprechaun economics.

According to the GAA's own figures, a crowd of around 34,000 is required to make it financially viable to open Croke Park, but only 28,072 turned up last Sunday. That was down 2,000 on last year, but remained in line with attendances over the past ten years.

However, much of the revenue will be eaten up by the huge costs involved in opening Croke Park.

Insurance, security, Gardaí, rent and sundry other costs have made it so hugely expensive to open the massive stadium that it's counter-productive from a financial viewpoint to use it for crowds of less than 34,000.

AfricanGael (UK) - Posts: 1947 - 14/07/2021 10:45:43    2359693

Replying To Belclare:  "The Mayo men and women supporting their team in Tuam last night, who booed , cheered heckled the young lads taking frees and penalties need in future to stay at home.
A total disgrace..
Best supporters in Ireland my ass.."
I've noticed you and Tirchonaill1 always use the exact same terminology, is it a coincidence or are you in fact the same troll in different guises ?

Both spreading the same lies about a few different counties.

AfricanGael (UK) - Posts: 1947 - 14/07/2021 10:53:03    2359699

Replying To Belclare:  "The Mayo men and women supporting their team in Tuam last night, who booed , cheered heckled the young lads taking frees and penalties need in future to stay at home.
A total disgrace..
Those who booed and jeered should hang their heads in shame. I don't want people like that associated with Mayo GAA.

yew_tree (Mayo) - Posts: 11227 - 14/07/2021 11:38:36    2359726

Replying To GreenandRed:  "This should be a great game of football between the old rivals. An historic Connacht final. Good to see the increase in crowd numbers going to games too. I think we still have hope without Willie Joe.

Maigh Eo Abú!

link"
Thats the way to look at it
Lets look forward and be positive
Galway and Mayo have had some great games over the years

rhudson (Galway) - Posts: 1478 - 14/07/2021 11:50:12    2359732

Both counties will embrace the chance to play in Croke Park, should be a cracker. On paper Mayo are better equipped but when these counties meet you can tear up the script. May the best team will win and will be in a better position to challenge the Dubs.

Gaillimh Abu

suckvalleypaddy (Galway) - Posts: 1667 - 14/07/2021 12:12:01    2359740

Replying To yew_tree:  "Those who booed and jeered should hang their heads in shame. I don't want people like that associated with Mayo GAA."
They are all at it from Donegal, Tyrone, Dublin, Roscommon, Galway, Mayo, the whole lot, if you go to enough games you'll see what I mean.

All it takes is a few start it from one side and that's it, the solution isn't to allow your players to be booed either while you stay quiet, no chance.

AfricanGael (UK) - Posts: 1947 - 14/07/2021 13:03:31    2359757

Replying To togoutlads:  "Mayo are past masters at politicking, sure haven't you supplied us with a Taoiseach or two and an Uachtarán in recent years :-) Mayo lobbying is renowned! If there were all irelands for lobbying, Michael Ring would have a full trophy cabinet…your Connacht Council doyen, John Prenty is actually listed as a registered lobbyist on lobbying.ie - have a look.
I'm only being slightly facetious. Back to the football. The Galway camp were quietly confident heading to Castlebar, the footballing dogs in the street knew this in both counties. Horan has built his team for Croker and he wanted it switched there, as Castlebar hasn't exactly been a fortress for Mayo in recent years - no more than us in windy Pearse. Horan knew we could have your number there. Where did the idea for the Croker switch emanate from in the first instance?
It is what it is, Mayo get their way and we'll all traipse up to Dublin for the day. Galway need games there anyway, so it's time we did something on that big open field."
Digging trenches already

BeJasus (UK) - Posts: 383 - 14/07/2021 13:18:22    2359761

Replying To AfricanGael:  "They are all at it from Donegal, Tyrone, Dublin, Roscommon, Galway, Mayo, the whole lot, if you go to enough games you'll see what I mean.

All it takes is a few start it from one side and that's it, the solution isn't to allow your players to be booed either while you stay quiet, no chance."
Not true and never as bad as I witnessed at an underage game last night..
Embarrassed for Mayo

Belclare (Galway) - Posts: 904 - 14/07/2021 13:19:37    2359762

Replying To Belclare:  "Not true and never as bad as I witnessed at an underage game last night..
Embarrassed for Mayo"
Actually I went to the bother of checking this out and it's clear who started this, Galway "fans".

So maybe have a word with them, if you are from there or Donegal, irrelevant.

If you start giving it, be prepared to take it as well.

AfricanGael (UK) - Posts: 1947 - 14/07/2021 13:30:36    2359766

Replying To togoutlads:  "Mayo are past masters at politicking, sure haven't you supplied us with a Taoiseach or two and an Uachtarán in recent years :-) Mayo lobbying is renowned! If there were all irelands for lobbying, Michael Ring would have a full trophy cabinet…your Connacht Council doyen, John Prenty is actually listed as a registered lobbyist on lobbying.ie - have a look.
It is what it is, Mayo get their way and we'll all traipse up to Dublin for the day. Galway need games there anyway, so it's time we did something on that big open field."
So you're fully down the rabbit hole. Got it.

the_walls (Mayo) - Posts: 495 - 14/07/2021 13:44:40    2359772

A total disgrace..
The problem with your trolling post is this, if you are from Galway as you claim, you would have condemned your own so called fans as well who started the booing and jeering.

The bad news for you is I have contacts everywhere who I can quickly DM to verify claims like yours.

So if you are to condemn and rightfully so, don't come on here giving one sided stories, condemn your own as well and especially when it was them who started it.

AfricanGael (UK) - Posts: 1947 - 14/07/2021 13:55:30    2359776

If Horan has built a team for Croker, for where has Joyce built a team, up the side of the Cooley mountains ?

AfricanGael (UK) - Posts: 1947 - 14/07/2021 14:04:52    2359781

Replying To Belclare:  "Not true and never as bad as I witnessed at an underage game last night..
Embarrassed for Mayo"
The Galway Mayo rivalry is probably the best in the GAA, rarely anything between them whether it be underage or senior, club or county. More often than not 1 or both will be competing for All-Ireland honours regardless of the grade, and though a good bit of bite in exchanges it rarely spills over between fans or players. Hopefully that nonsense of jeering is nipped in the bid fairly quickly by the decent Mayo fans. Really looking forward to the Connacht final now, probably the best game there will be in the provincial series.

Soma (UK) - Posts: 2630 - 14/07/2021 14:05:39    2359782

Replying To CiarraiMick:  "I often wondered about that figure of 30,000 for the Gaa to break even.I mean if its first round game it might be 15 e entrance fee and if its a leinster final it might be 40 e entrance fee.Also during the league its often a 10e fee so where do they get this figure of 30,000.In other words if there is 29,000 fans at croker at 40e a head the gaa lose money although they take in 1160000 euros and if theres 31,000 at aleague game at a 10e a head they make money although they take in only 310,000 e. Then again the gaa and money is an enigma"
Leinster final is a ridiculous price for the fare. 50-55 euro, cant remember which as i have a season ticket. But its the second most expensive game of the year. I think quarters or semis are cheaper - but could be corrected on that.

Anyway, after the year we had makes sense to me to get as many through the stiles as possible, im sure on this occasion and after being confined to barracks for a year im sure many out West wouldn't mind a stretch in the leagues to the home of the six in a row.

TheUsername (Dublin) - Posts: 4445 - 14/07/2021 14:41:34    2359808