Galway V Mayo

AfricanGael - Why do you feel the need to turn every thread here into a row between yourself and multiple posters? It's burning at this stage. Time you took a time out.

yew_tree (Mayo) - Posts: 11227 - 14/07/2021 14:53:46    2359816

Replying To the_walls:  "100%. It seems to be a bit of an urban legend. I have not seen one link from an official source confirming this."
Been to 2 national u10 blitzes. Approx 60 teams and maybe 5 or 600 hundred mentors and parents....Other than last year and this due to covid it's an annual event. Don't think the 30,000 figure stands up.

ponga (Mayo) - Posts: 648 - 14/07/2021 15:00:45    2359824

Replying To yew_tree:  "AfricanGael - Why do you feel the need to turn every thread here into a row between yourself and multiple posters? It's burning at this stage. Time you took a time out."
Agreed. Seems to do his best to derail every thread into a multiple different arguments.
Nobody wants to see supporters booing young lads at any game, regardless of what county they're from. I think we can all agree on that.
As for the Croke Park break-even number, who cares. It's a good decision to enable 5 times as many supporters to get to the game. If they take a bit of a financial hit because of it, it's not the end of the world.
Now back to the Connacht Final.

WanPintWin (Galway) - Posts: 2037 - 14/07/2021 15:27:43    2359833

Replying To the_walls:  "So you're fully down the rabbit hole. Got it."
You've quite the obsession with tin foil hats and rabbit holes! And so you've tapped out of this debate. Got it.

togoutlads (Galway) - Posts: 898 - 14/07/2021 15:42:58    2359839

Replying To Soma:  "The Galway Mayo rivalry is probably the best in the GAA, rarely anything between them whether it be underage or senior, club or county. More often than not 1 or both will be competing for All-Ireland honours regardless of the grade, and though a good bit of bite in exchanges it rarely spills over between fans or players. Hopefully that nonsense of jeering is nipped in the bid fairly quickly by the decent Mayo fans. Really looking forward to the Connacht final now, probably the best game there will be in the provincial series."
Unfortunately there's still Mayo supporters who jeer free kicks. I know it seems acceptable from other counties too but it's not sporting to do that. The cheering when the opposition misses a free also annoys me but maybe I'm too old-fashioned!

GreenandRed (Mayo) - Posts: 7337 - 14/07/2021 15:56:23    2359846

Replying To yew_tree:  "AfricanGael - Why do you feel the need to turn every thread here into a row between yourself and multiple posters? It's burning at this stage. Time you took a time out."
I'm probably one of the very few here who does not have multiple accounts, so what may appear to you as multiple posters may only be one person.

You obviously didn't see a few weeks ago when I exposed one dude with 5 accounts, it's strange after he denied it the other 4 haven't appeared since !

Don't believe everything you see yew_tree.

When something I write is dismissed as what some fella considers like something he hears in the chip shop every evening or as one fella said a "myth", and then I come along and back up what I said, are you really considering that a row ?

Or an anti-Mayo (your own county) poster gives a one sided account of how disgusted he was at booing by a few fans which was incidentally started by Galway fans, when he's called out are you saying that's a row as well ?

Maybe if he was so outraged he could have done what any man would do and have a word with them last night instead of coming on here all outraged.

AfricanGael (UK) - Posts: 1947 - 14/07/2021 16:48:08    2359867

Replying To AfricanGael:  "I'm probably one of the very few here who does not have multiple accounts, so what may appear to you as multiple posters may only be one person.

You obviously didn't see a few weeks ago when I exposed one dude with 5 accounts, it's strange after he denied it the other 4 haven't appeared since !

When something I write is dismissed as what some fella considers like something he hears in the chip shop every evening or as one fella said a "myth", and then I come along and back up what I said, are you really considering that a row ?

Or an anti-Mayo (your own county) poster gives a one sided account of how disgusted he was at booing by a few fans which was incidentally started by Galway fans, when he's called out are you saying that's a row as well ?

Maybe if he was so outraged he could have done what any man would do and have a word with them last night instead of coming on here all outraged.
"
Ah good old Belclare.,
Everybody knows he hates Mayo more than he supports Galway , and is still undecided if he prefers Hurling or football.
A Wagoner.

BeJasus (UK) - Posts: 383 - 14/07/2021 17:13:15    2359878

Replying To AfricanGael:  "I'm probably one of the very few here who does not have multiple accounts, so what may appear to you as multiple posters may only be one person.

"
I know Belclare hates Mayo....I don't care what he thinks.
I love my county but I will call out thing I think are wrong including by our own fans.

You are replying to and invoking yourself in every single thread on this forum for the past while and it's ruining the quality of debate. Time to focus back on the Connacht final.

yew_tree (Mayo) - Posts: 11227 - 14/07/2021 18:27:04    2359894

Replying To yew_tree:  "Those who booed and jeered should hang their heads in shame. I don't want people like that associated with Mayo GAA."
Well said Yew tree

CiarraiMick (Dublin) - Posts: 3674 - 14/07/2021 19:55:32    2359912

Replying To GreenandRed:  "Unfortunately there's still Mayo supporters who jeer free kicks. I know it seems acceptable from other counties too but it's not sporting to do that. The cheering when the opposition misses a free also annoys me but maybe I'm too old-fashioned!"
You are dead right Green and red and a proper Sportsperson. I agree with you 100%.

CiarraiMick (Dublin) - Posts: 3674 - 14/07/2021 20:00:04    2359914

Replying To togoutlads:  "You've quite the obsession with tin foil hats and rabbit holes! And so you've tapped out of this debate. Got it."
How have I "tapped out"? You've just come out with a load of nonsense with literally nothing to back any of it up. If you want to carry on with it that's up to you.

the_walls (Mayo) - Posts: 495 - 14/07/2021 23:01:38    2359969

That would make him a Hermit! ;)

TheUsername (Dublin) - Posts: 4445 - 14/07/2021 23:56:02    2359979

Perhaps if you cared to call out clear and obvious misinformation and in some cases disinformation like I do, others may wrongly accuse you as well, just as you're now doing with me, people don't like to be called out, it's normal.

You seem to be uncomfortable with that for some reason, but I'm not you and I'm not trying to catch KingdomBoy's 12,497 thumbs up.

I'm not going to sell myself for a few thumbs and I'm not a yes man, clearly for some of you, the thumbs are very important, but that's fine, it's not my scene, my friends are real, not anonymous.

I would hate my opinions to be restrained in such a way.

On Mayo v Galway, lets hope they can sell all the 18,000 tickets given that nearly 50% of the tickets for the Leitrim game went unsold, hopefully the GAA's continued destruction of the Championship hasn't turned many in Mayo into fair weather fans also.

Anyone who thinks the GAA are doing Mayo and Galway a favour by moving the game to Croke Park, know nothing about how the GAA work, someone needs to pay the €793,000 salary of the president, while the Leitrim's of this world burn.

This is the President who tells everyone there's no need to panic, sure it'll be grand.

A joke of an organization fueled by fools.

AfricanGael (UK) - Posts: 1947 - 15/07/2021 10:15:56    2360015

Replying To AfricanGael:  "Perhaps if you cared to call out clear and obvious misinformation and in some cases disinformation like I do, others may wrongly accuse you as well, just as you're now doing with me, people don't like to be called out, it's normal.

You seem to be uncomfortable with that for some reason, but I'm not you and I'm not trying to catch KingdomBoy's 12,497 thumbs up.

I'm not going to sell myself for a few thumbs and I'm not a yes man, clearly for some of you, the thumbs are very important, but that's fine, it's not my scene, my friends are real, not anonymous.

On Mayo v Galway, lets hope they can sell all the 18,000 tickets given that nearly 50% of the tickets for the Leitrim game went unsold, hopefully the GAA's continued destruction of the Championship hasn't turned many in Mayo into fair weather fans also.

Anyone who thinks the GAA are doing Mayo and Galway a favour by moving the game to Croke Park, know nothing about how the GAA work, someone needs to pay the €793,000 salary of the president, while the Leitrim's of this world burn.

This is the President who tells everyone there's no need to panic, sure it'll be grand.

A joke of an organization fueled by fools."
You make your points with little or no balance and also engage in long arguments with trolling posters, which are obviously going to go nowhere.
Belclare made a point that Mayo supporters booed and jeered Culhane as he was taking frees on Tuesday evening. This is true and could clearly be heard throughout the game. It was rightly condemned by every Mayo supporter who has commented on it here.
Your argument is that Galway supporters started it, which they may have or not. You say you have evidence that they did. That's grand. You can share it with us. If they did, I'll condemn it as strongly as the Mayo posters did. No county's supporters should be doing it. Who started it, is fairly irrelevant. It shouldn't be happening in any county.
On your point about the venue. There are clear benefits for supporters from both counties. 15K extra people can attend the game as a result. Surely you can at least acknowledge that this a good thing.
Finally, the GAA has plenty of issues and competition structures are a big one. But to simply dismiss it as a joke of an organisation run by fools, is clearly not true. There are many fantastic elements of what the GAA does in this country and some great people working within it. That's not to say it doesn't have problems, but sweeping blanket statements don't add anything to the debate.

WanPintWin (Galway) - Posts: 2037 - 15/07/2021 11:20:56    2360049

Replying To AfricanGael:  "Perhaps if you cared to call out clear and obvious misinformation and in some cases disinformation like I do, others may wrongly accuse you as well, just as you're now doing with me, people don't like to be called out, it's normal.

A joke of an organization fueled by fools."
AfricanGael, it's ludicrous to call the GAA 'a joke of an organization fueled by fools'. The largest amateur sporting organisation in the world, now spanning the globe, an essential core of community spirit in so many parishes and clubs in Ireland and elsewhere, one that I'm proud to pledge money to and donate my time to in coaching and assisting with any time I can offer, as are so many others on this forum. Yes, there's some reform needed and there are imperfections in the system - there always will be in an organisation of this scale and type - but it's a tremendous organisation in countless ways.

togoutlads (Galway) - Posts: 898 - 15/07/2021 11:24:52    2360050

Replying To togoutlads:  "AfricanGael, it's ludicrous to call the GAA 'a joke of an organization fueled by fools'. The largest amateur sporting organisation in the world, now spanning the globe, an essential core of community spirit in so many parishes and clubs in Ireland and elsewhere, one that I'm proud to pledge money to and donate my time to in coaching and assisting with any time I can offer, as are so many others on this forum. Yes, there's some reform needed and there are imperfections in the system - there always will be in an organisation of this scale and type - but it's a tremendous organisation in countless ways."
Listen, I want to tell you something right now, can you step back a little and try and separate the GAA hierarchy from the ordinary volunteer for a minute, the Joe down the road who looks after your local pitch or whatever.

He is not the problem, he doesn't need a phone call from the GAA president to tell him the grass needs mowing.

He's the real GAA and he's a million miles away from the "suits" and I will include the majority of congress in that, too many self interest groups who are afraid to speak up because it might interfere with their next cheque from HQ, those are the fools who are fueling HQ, there's hardly a man among the lot of them.

Any organization which will stand idly by and allow a team like Leitrim be humiliated on live TV and the President to come out and say "don't panic", I'm sorry but there is no other description than a joke of an organization.

It's lads like the Leitrim players, they are the real GAA, not some dude on nearly a million euros a year.

Pitting a team like Leitrim against a team like Mayo is no different than the hurlers of Sligo expected to play against Limerick, would you call that a farce ?

I hope you would.

I hope more players will turn their back on inter county, because unless they have something to play for, they're wasting their time, spend time with your families because HQ don't care about you.

How dare any organization humiliate hard working amateur players, the GAA hierarchy should be ashamed of itself.

AfricanGael (UK) - Posts: 1947 - 15/07/2021 11:58:34    2360065

I pay no heed to African Gael and I think we all should just ignore his comments, that's what I decided to do, he uses multiple quotes and bold print etc, it would give me a headache to even try and read the tripe he posts,
he is a troll,, won't even say which county he's from, I suspect he may be the same poster as Killingfields and maybe has other usernames. I don't really care.
I have on account here, I don't care if I get thumbs up or thumbs down as it used to be before we got all pc.
I come on here to give my opinion, ok I wind up a few posters at times but it's only a bit of craic, we all love the GAA and our national games, that's why we are here.
If there are trolls on here like Africangael who run down Ireland and the GAA all the time I say just ignore them, he only feeds off people responding to him.

Tirchonaill1 (Donegal) - Posts: 2739 - 15/07/2021 12:07:32    2360071

Replying To WanPintWin:  "You make your points with little or no balance and also engage in long arguments with trolling posters, which are obviously going to go nowhere.
Belclare made a point that Mayo supporters booed and jeered Culhane as he was taking frees on Tuesday evening. This is true and could clearly be heard throughout the game. It was rightly condemned by every Mayo supporter who has commented on it here.
Your argument is that Galway supporters started it, which they may have or not. You say you have evidence that they did. That's grand. You can share it with us. If they did, I'll condemn it as strongly as the Mayo posters did. No county's supporters should be doing it. Who started it, is fairly irrelevant. It shouldn't be happening in any county.
On your point about the venue. There are clear benefits for supporters from both counties. 15K extra people can attend the game as a result. Surely you can at least acknowledge that this a good thing.
Finally, the GAA has plenty of issues and competition structures are a big one. But to simply dismiss it as a joke of an organisation run by fools, is clearly not true. There are many fantastic elements of what the GAA does in this country and some great people working within it. That's not to say it doesn't have problems, but sweeping blanket statements don't add anything to the debate."
I have no issue with anyone condemning booing, what I do have an issue with is a troll painting all fans with the one brush though, and that's exactly what he done.

Actually who started it is very relevant, because the Galway fans who started it may now learn a lesson that their actions may have contribuated in some way to them actually losing the game.

Hopefully, they have learned a lesson.

AfricanGael (UK) - Posts: 1947 - 15/07/2021 12:08:41    2360073

Replying To yew_tree:  "

"
I know Belclare hates Mayo....I don't care what he thinks.
I love my county but I will call out thing I think are wrong including by our own fans.

You are replying to and invoking yourself in every single thread on this forum for the past while and it's ruining the quality of debate. Time to focus back on the Connacht final."
Hate is a very strong word.
But what I saw Tuesday night only reaffirmed my feelings on a section of their support..

Belclare (Galway) - Posts: 904 - 15/07/2021 12:49:36    2360095

Replying To AfricanGael:  "I have no issue with anyone condemning booing, what I do have an issue with is a troll painting all fans with the one brush though, and that's exactly what he done.

Actually who started it is very relevant, because the Galway fans who started it may now learn a lesson that their actions may have contribuated in some way to them actually losing the game.

Hopefully, they have learned a lesson.
"
You'll have to explain that one to me. Are you suggesting that booing started on Tuesday and the Mayo supporters only did it as a response?
This carry-on has been happening for a lot longer than Tuesday's game. I've heard it at previous Galway-Mayo games in person. It's definitely not a first.
It's nowhere near a majority of supporters, but there is an element of Mayo fans who are known for this. If Galway supporters are doing the same, I'll call them out too. I'll wait for the confirmation you have of Galway fans starting this on Tuesday.

WanPintWin (Galway) - Posts: 2037 - 15/07/2021 13:25:37    2360112