Galway V Mayo

Galway seem to be favourites with all the pundits for this game. Galway playing in division 1 this year should be a help to them. Mayo lost David Clarke, Chris Barrett, Donal Vaughan, Tom Parsons, Seamus oShea and Keith Higgins to retirement in January. Injuries to important players like Jason Doherty, Brendan Harrison, Cillian Oconnor, Diarmuid Oconnor, lee Keegan and kevin mcLoughlin who all missed yesterday due to injury. However Mayos new players seem to be settling in very well. I think it's too close to call.

Mfs (Mayo) - Posts: 251 - 12/07/2021 10:01:42    2358879

Replying To Mfs:  "Galway seem to be favourites with all the pundits for this game. Galway playing in division 1 this year should be a help to them. Mayo lost David Clarke, Chris Barrett, Donal Vaughan, Tom Parsons, Seamus oShea and Keith Higgins to retirement in January. Injuries to important players like Jason Doherty, Brendan Harrison, Cillian Oconnor, Diarmuid Oconnor, lee Keegan and kevin mcLoughlin who all missed yesterday due to injury. However Mayos new players seem to be settling in very well. I think it's too close to call."
Mayo are odds on favourites for this with the bookies, hard to know were Galway are at, I think Mayo will shade it to set up a semi final against the Dubs. Don't think the Dubs will be too worried though.

Tirchonaill1 (Donegal) - Posts: 2739 - 12/07/2021 10:25:20    2358888

I don't know what pundits apart from Spillane are going for Galway..
Mayo are favourites after pushing the Dubs close again last year..

Belclare (Galway) - Posts: 904 - 12/07/2021 10:38:07    2358893

Replying To Mfs:  "Galway seem to be favourites with all the pundits for this game. Galway playing in division 1 this year should be a help to them. Mayo lost David Clarke, Chris Barrett, Donal Vaughan, Tom Parsons, Seamus oShea and Keith Higgins to retirement in January. Injuries to important players like Jason Doherty, Brendan Harrison, Cillian Oconnor, Diarmuid Oconnor, lee Keegan and kevin mcLoughlin who all missed yesterday due to injury. However Mayos new players seem to be settling in very well. I think it's too close to call."
Galway without a good few guys who were ever present last few years too. I think only 4 of the starting team the last day against us started the Connacht final in 2019.
On the game itself could end up going either way but Galway will need to improve on the performance against us to beat Mayo.

sourmilk93 (Roscommon) - Posts: 1144 - 12/07/2021 10:53:01    2358900

I am very happy with Mayo and the long term direction. There will probably only be 3 or 4 starters from the 2017 All Ireland final playing against Galway. That is some turnover of players. Harder without Cillian but I still expect them to win.

TheFlaker (Mayo) - Posts: 7885 - 12/07/2021 11:05:55    2358909

Replying To TheFlaker:  "I am very happy with Mayo and the long term direction. There will probably only be 3 or 4 starters from the 2017 All Ireland final playing against Galway. That is some turnover of players. Harder without Cillian but I still expect them to win."
Just O'Shea and durcan based on yesterday.

Mfs (Mayo) - Posts: 251 - 12/07/2021 11:13:17    2358913

Was confident of Mayo winning Connacht until Cillian O Connors injury, then to me it was 50/50 game.
But now with Keegan probably out and the 2 McLoughlin's might be out, could be Covid too, I think Mayo chances of winning have decreased and Galway would be favorites now.

tommy132 (Mayo) - Posts: 601 - 12/07/2021 11:40:01    2358932

Ha ha, MFS! Which pundits are those now? Mayo are favourites in Castlebar, no doubt about it, especially after your pummelling of poor Leitrim yesterday. From a Galway perspective, I think we're improving from our recent blowouts against Kerry and yourselves but I'm not convinced we've managed to shore up the defense enough yet. Roscommon ran at us with too much ease in the first half in the Hyde.
A good crop of young lads coming through in both Mayo and Galway, so there should be another few years of battles to enjoy with these emerging groups. I think Horan runs a very professional setup there, to his immense credit, and it'll take an outstanding performance from our lads under PJ and Co to test ye. Looking forward to El Classico! You can't beat the craic, the rivalry, the banter ahead of these provincial battles - long may they continue!

togoutlads (Galway) - Posts: 898 - 12/07/2021 11:50:25    2358939

Mayo fans are trying to give the favourites tag to Galway lol
Castlebar would favour Galway for sure,
they have a winning record there,
but it will be a close game similar to last November.
Statistically I think Mayo would have a 3 point advantage.

maroondiesel (Mayo) - Posts: 1196 - 12/07/2021 11:55:17    2358944

Replying To Belclare:  "I don't know what pundits apart from Spillane are going for Galway..
Mayo are favourites after pushing the Dubs close again last year.."
You'll never get hired by Paddy Power to price anything up if that's your logic, it's only a couple of years ago Galway were talked up as the biggest threat to Dublin.

AfricanGael (UK) - Posts: 1947 - 12/07/2021 12:33:22    2358966

Replying To AfricanGael:  "You'll never get hired by Paddy Power to price anything up if that's your logic, it's only a couple of years ago Galway were talked up as the biggest threat to Dublin."
Mayos ability to stop goals or not is going to decide it

Horan still does not have a handle on how to setup a team defensively.

centerfield (Mayo) - Posts: 360 - 12/07/2021 14:42:29    2359028

Replying To centerfield:  "Mayos ability to stop goals or not is going to decide it

Horan still does not have a handle on how to setup a team defensively."
Horan has never lost a championship game to Galway as manager and i dont think he going to lose this one either

mayo_123 (Mayo) - Posts: 240 - 12/07/2021 15:01:20    2359039

Hard to see Mayo winning with all of the absences through Covid, a rookie keeper and the retirements. Galway will be raging hot favourites.

Gleebo (Mayo) - Posts: 2208 - 12/07/2021 15:57:12    2359072

Mayo would be raging hot favourites.
How many experts are saying otherwise?
Nice to see the tradition and competition continue for both counties.
It great craic.

suckvalleypaddy (Galway) - Posts: 1667 - 12/07/2021 16:14:16    2359080

It's also nice to see both sets of supporters continuing the age-old tradition of insisting the other team is the favourite.
Let's check the actual odds. Paddy Power has Mayo 8/11 and Galway 11/8. Mayo are favourites. That's that answered. All other bookies I've checked have Mayo as favourites, some at even shorter odds.
Being realistic, I certainly think we have a decent chance, but there have been just too many dodgy performances over the past year to have any confidence. I think we are improving and the effort level was very good against Roscommon. We need to be much more clinical though if we want to take the Nestor Cup home.

WanPintWin (Galway) - Posts: 2037 - 12/07/2021 16:50:17    2359097

Considering Mayo's injuries, retirements and now the covid disruption which might rumble on for the next couple of weeks, and taking account of PJ's (similar to JH) instincts for playing attacking football, will Galway chance going man-for-man in the Connacht final? To take on Dublin or Kerry with any chance of success, and not just damage limitation, is going to involve a man-for-man approach and surely no better opportunity to properly road test this Galway team than against a wounded and far less experienced Mayo?

Pericles (Mayo) - Posts: 2521 - 12/07/2021 17:09:48    2359105

Hard to know were both teams are atm , but I think Mayo are slightly more developed and that should see them over the line.
Hopefully both teams are kept apart for the foreseeable future in Connacht, as the rest of the province are starting to tail off bigtime.

BeJasus (UK) - Posts: 383 - 12/07/2021 17:27:05    2359108

Replying To Tirchonaill1:  "Mayo are odds on favourites for this with the bookies, hard to know were Galway are at, I think Mayo will shade it to set up a semi final against the Dubs. Don't think the Dubs will be too worried though."
Very hard to know...Mayo v Galway games can go either way and the form of either team matters little as the games tend to take on a life of their own.

I think Mayo and Galway would both be happy with a Connacht title this year. A decent showing against Dublin would not be the worst way to bow out.

I agree Dublin won't be worrying about either team....then again Kerry won't be worrying about Donegal either I think ;)

yew_tree (Mayo) - Posts: 11227 - 12/07/2021 18:14:59    2359111

The bookies have Mayo as favourites..Alot of those players you named were nt really playing last year anyway Cillian a massive loss but sometimes the loss of a major player makes the team try harder. For me it's a 50 /50 game. Sometimes clashes like Galway/Mayo take on a life of their own. Hard one to call.

CiarraiMick (Dublin) - Posts: 3674 - 12/07/2021 19:27:34    2359137

Pádraig Joyce under a bit of pressure but I want to talk about James Horan. I remember talking to an Kerry player that played v Mayo in 2011.He told me that anytime they ever played Mayo win or lose there was a softness in physicality. He said they were big and strong but no drive and did nt like the roughness. He said they were completely different under Horan he said. The player told me he was stiff and sore after the 12 semi due to the physicality of Mayo. He also said it was done hard but dair and he forecasted Mayo would be a top team for a long time. They might not have got to the Holy grail but they have been in the top few teams since and from 11 to today remain one of the toughest physical teams about.

CiarraiMick (Dublin) - Posts: 3674 - 12/07/2021 19:34:27    2359138