Advertisement

Meath V Dublin

Replying To jimbodub:  "Meath just need to find a performance, something they've not done in a while against Dublin in the championship

Their last two Championship showings against Dublin were especially poor.

No excuses, just find a performance and something to build on, because again the last couple of efforts have been crap and they didn't really do themselves justice at all.

I've seen Meath put in big showings against good teams in the recent past but they have folded against Dublin, it's time for that to be put right. Surely that must grate and motivate.

If it's not good enough, then fair enough but it's time to restore a bit of pride again and a performance is very badly needed. This is a big game now for McEntee.. another non performance against Dublin should be seen as enough us enough."
Jimbodub,
That's a really good and fair post. I think a lot of dublin fans might be talking down their team but still expect to win Leinster comfortably in third gear. And they've every right to think so.

I think a good performance and putting up a decent score by Meath would be a start. In the last two championship games we've shipped 16 and 21 point beatings. That obviously has to be reduced. But ultimately we need to be scoring more. In those two games we've scored 13 points... 13 points/ scores wouldn't win you one game never mind two. So that's where we've got to perform, on the score board. I said it on the Meath forum in the build up to the Longford game we fail to get 17+ scores often enough which is nearly a bare minimum to win games. We need to be better in our shot selection and taking our chances and not kicking wide after wide.

We also need to be less reverential to Dublin, in the two games we've almost genuflected, dropped everyone back deep and left one inside forward to battle for ball with 2/3 players around them. You're never going to win a game like that. Whilst our counter attacking and breaking at speed has improved v the top teams they clog things up and will tactically foul and get back into shape quickly. Meath need to move the ball quickly and away from the point of contact. They need to stop giving free possession to Dublin and make it harder for them to get to our 45 and try and break us down, Dublin will spend 2+ minutes building a score and creating a chance no problem but we need to be aggressive and at least combat that.

In saying all that and even if Meath manage to do all that they could still leave Croke Park with a 10 point defeat and be demoralised. I think all Meath people would just like to see a performance from our team and something to build off and move on from there in 2022 with Andy or another manager.

brian (Meath) - Posts: 2000 - 06/07/2021 09:44:03    2356833

Replying To KingdomBoy1:  "dublin will win by at least 6 points and i don't mean that as any disrespect to Meath because I fully expect dublin to hammer us by 6 points if we should meet in the final.

I expect Meath to be happy with only losing by 6 seeing it as progress but its not progress at all and Meath lads will hope that kildare will lose to dublin by 7 points so they can have the bragging rights, can ye see where I'm goin with this lads? Can ye remember that line from the usual suspects when Spacey said the greatest trick the devil ever pulled was convincing the world he didn't exist, that's what the dublin football team is doing right in front of ye and ye cant see it."
KB if we only lost by 6 points I'd but still sick to the pit of my stomach. Its not disrespectful to say Dublin could win by double that to be totally fair to them. We've lost the last 2 championship games by 16 and 21 points.

Arguing with Kildare supporters over who lost by less to Dublin doesn't interest me at all, a lose is a lose. Kildare are in no way guaranteed to get to the Leinster final. Believe me Westmeath will give Kildare their fill of it and I won't be surprised if they do beat Kildare.

But go bury your self pitying bringing Kerry into everything attitude some where else. Once more you're trying to drag a thread off topic with your usual starting points.

brian (Meath) - Posts: 2000 - 06/07/2021 09:51:50    2356837

Replying To jimbodub:  "Meath just need to find a performance, something they've not done in a while against Dublin in the championship

Their last two Championship showings against Dublin were especially poor.

No excuses, just find a performance and something to build on, because again the last couple of efforts have been crap and they didn't really do themselves justice at all.

I've seen Meath put in big showings against good teams in the recent past but they have folded against Dublin, it's time for that to be put right. Surely that must grate and motivate.

If it's not good enough, then fair enough but it's time to restore a bit of pride again and a performance is very badly needed. This is a big game now for McEntee.. another non performance against Dublin should be seen as enough us enough."
Ahh sure we probably end up beating dub winning Leinster and then cb will decide to get rid of management. They've got form when it comes to that. :)

royaldunne (Meath) - Posts: 19449 - 06/07/2021 09:51:57    2356838

Replying To CC2020:  "The debate between Meath and Kildare posters over who's best is gas. Two bald men fighting over a comb."
Fair play that made me lol

Meath10 (Meath) - Posts: 209 - 06/07/2021 10:30:02    2356854

Replying To royaldunne:  "Ahh sure we probably end up beating dub winning Leinster and then cb will decide to get rid of management. They've got form when it comes to that. :)"
5 past comerford doesn't have the same ring to it as 5 past cluxton ;)

I jest of course.

That is still the most baffling decision made in Meath football for me. Semi in 09, Leinster in 10 and get the sack.

brian (Meath) - Posts: 2000 - 06/07/2021 10:46:27    2356862

Replying To royaldunne:  "Ahh sure we probably end up beating dub winning Leinster and then cb will decide to get rid of management. They've got form when it comes to that. :)"
Can't really count Leinster in 2010. 11 year anniversary coming up shortly of the hand of Joe episode.

Saynothing (Tyrone) - Posts: 2946 - 06/07/2021 11:18:38    2356872

Replying To brian:  "5 past comerford doesn't have the same ring to it as 5 past cluxton ;)

I jest of course.

That is still the most baffling decision made in Meath football for me. Semi in 09, Leinster in 10 and get the sack."
The beginning of the end. Those responsible should have never held a position in Meath football since or into the future. IMO our worst decision ever.

royaldunne (Meath) - Posts: 19449 - 06/07/2021 11:30:59    2356880

Replying To Saynothing:  "Can't really count Leinster in 2010. 11 year anniversary coming up shortly of the hand of Joe episode."
Yeah yeah yeah. I see our British correspondent is on with the foreign view.

royaldunne (Meath) - Posts: 19449 - 06/07/2021 11:31:54    2356883

Replying To Saynothing:  "Can't really count Leinster in 2010. 11 year anniversary coming up shortly of the hand of Joe episode."
My personal stalker is back. Did you not get enough pushback over ur disgraceful and disgusting comments re my son.
For future reference I will not lower myself to respond to this troll

royaldunne (Meath) - Posts: 19449 - 06/07/2021 11:35:16    2356885

Replying To brian:  "KB if we only lost by 6 points I'd but still sick to the pit of my stomach. Its not disrespectful to say Dublin could win by double that to be totally fair to them. We've lost the last 2 championship games by 16 and 21 points.

Arguing with Kildare supporters over who lost by less to Dublin doesn't interest me at all, a lose is a lose. Kildare are in no way guaranteed to get to the Leinster final. Believe me Westmeath will give Kildare their fill of it and I won't be surprised if they do beat Kildare.

But go bury your self pitying bringing Kerry into everything attitude some where else. Once more you're trying to drag a thread off topic with your usual starting points."
I also believe West Meath will give kildare a good run for their money but I think kildare will win it as Jack O'Connor is a wily old fox and I think kildare have better forwards.

As for bringing Kerry into everything as you say well being a Kerryman I can only bring a Kerrymans point of view and it's just my opinion and other Kerry posters views may differ from my own.

What you call self pitying I'd call being realistic and I'm 100% confident that what I said in my first post will indeed come to pass I'm not happy about it but it is what it is.

KingdomBoy1 (Kerry) - Posts: 14092 - 06/07/2021 11:42:40    2356888

What was the result? 1-12 to 1-10. Why would it not count?

Interesting it was your own fellow county man who gave the goal.

And as has been told repeatedly he told Peter Fitzpatrick walking off the pitch that if the goal wasn't being given he was awarding a penalty.

But its great to see that so many counties feel the need to take a dig at Meath.

Sure i suppose in your eyes '96 doesn't count either does it?

brian (Meath) - Posts: 2000 - 06/07/2021 11:44:20    2356889

Replying To JJ1:  "Meath got 5 goals to win game last year, won't happen again anytime soon, freak result. Same as the time you beat Dublin the day you got all the goals .
The Meath lads were crying into each others arms a few weeks ago after Kildare beat them and now as easy win against Longford has them all deluded again."
I've a feeling anytime we beat Kildare it's a freak result in your mind. We have beaten you in 3 out of the last 4 times we have played in championship, in those we gave had a freak 9 point win, 2 freak 6 point wins and a freak 5 point win.
Not saying this because I necessarily think we're better than ye, in truth for most of the last 2 decades we have been very similar to Kildare but always find it amazing that anytime Kildare beat us some in Kildare think it proves they are well better than us and are mad to let Meath people to know this but when you lose to us ye think the games are meaningless.

bdbuddah (Meath) - Posts: 1416 - 06/07/2021 11:59:25    2356898

Replying To brian:  "KB if we only lost by 6 points I'd but still sick to the pit of my stomach. Its not disrespectful to say Dublin could win by double that to be totally fair to them. We've lost the last 2 championship games by 16 and 21 points.

But go bury your self pitying bringing Kerry into everything attitude some where else. Once more you're trying to drag a thread off topic with your usual starting points."
Excellent post and fair play to you for calling Kingdom out on their shenanigans again.

Dubsfan28 (Dublin) - Posts: 2509 - 06/07/2021 12:13:57    2356906

Replying To royaldunne:  "Yeah yeah yeah. I see our British correspondent is on with the foreign view."
May I just add. That anyone else from the six counties I view as Irish as myself. Just not my personal stalker who disrespected my son. I know and have met some excellent gaels from Tyrone. This "person " is not representative of them. Or the vast majority of people from nothern ire. So I do not mean any disrespect to any of you whether I disagree or agree with any of you on a footballing level.

royaldunne (Meath) - Posts: 19449 - 06/07/2021 12:37:42    2356921

Fairly astonishing that a game expected to be so 1 sided has garnered 75 posts in a few days.

Maybe the royals won't lie down this year. .

cavanman47 (Cavan) - Posts: 5333 - 06/07/2021 12:52:17    2356929

Replying To brian:  "What was the result? 1-12 to 1-10. Why would it not count?

Interesting it was your own fellow county man who gave the goal.

And as has been told repeatedly he told Peter Fitzpatrick walking off the pitch that if the goal wasn't being given he was awarding a penalty.

But its great to see that so many counties feel the need to take a dig at Meath.

Sure i suppose in your eyes '96 doesn't count either does it?"
Of course 96 counted, no blatant cheating so why not. Just not easy reading on Meaths cv regarding 2010.

Saynothing (Tyrone) - Posts: 2946 - 06/07/2021 13:12:47    2356935

Replying To Dubsfan28:  "Excellent post and fair play to you for calling Kingdom out on their shenanigans again."
Hey was my post excellent as well? and what I said will happen will actually happen.

KingdomBoy1 (Kerry) - Posts: 14092 - 06/07/2021 13:33:26    2356946

Replying To cavanman47:  "Fairly astonishing that a game expected to be so 1 sided has garnered 75 posts in a few days.

Maybe the royals won't lie down this year. ."
But they have James McEntee back. He should be worth 15 or 16 points to them.

Breffni40 (Cavan) - Posts: 12494 - 06/07/2021 14:14:29    2356962

Replying To cavanman47:  "Fairly astonishing that a game expected to be so 1 sided has garnered 75 posts in a few days.

Maybe the royals won't lie down this year. ."
Well when lads like yourself come in to have a go off Meath and tell us how much we're going to be beaten by (whilst ignoring you were beaten by the same Dubs last year in an all ireland semi final) it shows how much we're still hated by everyone which can only be a good sign. Plenty of people want to kick us when we're down and i'd rather be thought of in that way that pitied.

Lets not forget cavan v Dublin was as one sided a semi final as i saw since 2001 when we beat Kerry

brian (Meath) - Posts: 2000 - 06/07/2021 14:26:06    2356968

This thread needs the main man, Furlong, not. Meath Vs Dublin thread without him!

Hope your well pal if your ghosting!

TheUsername (Dublin) - Posts: 4541 - 06/07/2021 14:50:22    2356982