2021 Hurling Championship

Replying To katser:  "Munster Final ........... Clare v Cork
Leinster Final............. Galway v Kilkenny
All Ireland Final
Galway v Clare."
I'm sticking with my original predictions for this weekend!

katser (Galway) - Posts: 2764 - 29/06/2021 13:59:25    2354607

Replying To Canuck:  "So you agree with the phantom hit on Tony Kelly's knee happening ? Clare won because they were the better team on the day. There did seem to be throw back to former days of goading and intimidation that was part of the strategy in the past against Waterford but that comes with the territory. I wonder what is the link to that ? With regards Gleeson I have never defending him when wrong but what did he deserve to gain your wrath on Sunday other than score five points. (hurling doing the talking) Try playing the lead up to the hand belt and you will see he was already in the air batting down the ball. I have asked you before have you ever seen him complaining about getting "belted around " or trying to get an opponent sent off ? Try rising above your dislike for Austin Gleeson. I have rose above your guys helmet faking removing and subsequent dance that got DeBurca suspended. Up Wexford as usual next time out."
As a matter of interest were u sitting close to that incident in '17? I was and everyone around me said red card when it happened. It may well have been accidental as de burca hurls fairly but the rules say red card and the linesman advised the ref

HurlingBuzz (Wexford) - Posts: 556 - 29/06/2021 14:12:33    2354616

Replying To Canuck:  "So you agree with the phantom hit on Tony Kelly's knee happening ? Clare won because they were the better team on the day. There did seem to be throw back to former days of goading and intimidation that was part of the strategy in the past against Waterford but that comes with the territory. I wonder what is the link to that ? With regards Gleeson I have never defending him when wrong but what did he deserve to gain your wrath on Sunday other than score five points. (hurling doing the talking) Try playing the lead up to the hand belt and you will see he was already in the air batting down the ball. I have asked you before have you ever seen him complaining about getting "belted around " or trying to get an opponent sent off ? Try rising above your dislike for Austin Gleeson. I have rose above your guys helmet faking removing and subsequent dance that got DeBurca suspended. Up Wexford as usual next time out."
Well I have got a belt or two where you only feel it when you put weight on the leg.
Oh come off it about "dislike for Austin Gleeson". I love watching top players, including him, hurling. But you are kidding yourself if you don't think his "name" is deserved.
Re DeBurca, I think you must be the only person who didn't think that was a red card. And I will make 2 more points. 1. I have marked Harry Kehoe several times and find him to be about as sporting a player as you could ever mark, dare I say it his biggest problem is he is too nice, and 2. Wexford also tried to get DeBurca off for the semi final.

StoreysTash (Wexford) - Posts: 1941 - 29/06/2021 15:18:36    2354638

Replying To StoreysTash:  "Well I have got a belt or two where you only feel it when you put weight on the leg.
Oh come off it about "dislike for Austin Gleeson". I love watching top players, including him, hurling. But you are kidding yourself if you don't think his "name" is deserved.
Re DeBurca, I think you must be the only person who didn't think that was a red card. And I will make 2 more points. 1. I have marked Harry Kehoe several times and find him to be about as sporting a player as you could ever mark, dare I say it his biggest problem is he is too nice, and 2. Wexford also tried to get DeBurca off for the semi final."
What about the player himself who admitted after the fact it was an accidental clash. That was actually worse than the his initial reaction because it acknowledged dishonesty or worse. One of the first to display simulation. I sure he is a good chap and regrets it and fair play to Wexford for speaking up. Obviously they knew an injustice was done.
Your way of legislation and refereeing seems to be along the lines of having a "name" and making calls based on that. Now I wonder who should be on the committee to decide who would get this accreditation. For sure it would be a long list. Would you have DeBurca on it ? You don't get it do you? You are the only one (may be one other) that believes Gleeson hit Tony Kelly on the knee but you continue with that nonsense. Video shows it was probably his own man hit him if there was a hit at all. When it comes to belts on the knees you are talking to someone who needs two new knees.

Canuck (Waterford) - Posts: 3227 - 30/06/2021 01:24:53    2354790

Replying To HurlingBuzz:  "As a matter of interest were u sitting close to that incident in '17? I was and everyone around me said red card when it happened. It may well have been accidental as de burca hurls fairly but the rules say red card and the linesman advised the ref"
Yes I was and would by any chance they be Wexford supporters ? Lets all be honest here. The player did a jig to the lines man who in turn then advised the ref. To this day I believe the lines man saw nothing until Keogh did his jig in front of him with his helmet in his hand. The red card is for deliberately interfering with a players helmet not accidental contact. In the NHL they had to make a penalty for not having your helmet strapped for this very reason. Gleeson got one he deserved and should have got another and I will not make excuse for him. Now we have contributions saying he should be penalized when someone hits him running back into position after he scores. Every game he plays he should be treated the same as every other player on the field. He may be sent off the next day but that also applies to 39 others. I will tell it as it is and not put my own spin on the rules or an advent.

Canuck (Waterford) - Posts: 3227 - 30/06/2021 01:41:43    2354793

Looking forward to the weekend. Hopefully it kicks off the hurling year. Limericks form wont be known until they play Cork. They only really won one league game of note and that was against a Cork team who werent bothered. It's still hard not to see Limerick showing up but as we all know back to backs are extremely difficult.
Tipp would have been expecting Waterford I'd imagine but I'd expect Kelly and Shanagher to give us huge problems. Despite decent scores I dont feel most of our marquee forwards have found any kind of form and it will be interesting to see if either John McGrath or Bubbles starts. The exception is Noel Mcgrath who for me is just behind Tony Kelly and Brian Concannon as the best player in the country (on this years form). The way Conlon plays will leave Clare with problems if he isnt picked up. I'd expect this game to go down to the wire.
Portlaoise may have been better for Dublin but we will see how good they are now. Hayes could give G Mac problems (if he plays full back). I think its a mistake to leave Daithi at centre back given the inexperience in the full back line and a goalie that is prone to errors. However, if Galways forwards click they are probably the best in the country. I'd expect them to score in the region of 2-30, which will be too good for Dublin.
Everything I've seen the past 12 months says that KK should beat Wexford but I'm going to go for Wexford to pip them - without having a real good reason why, apart from Matthew O'Hanlons ability to not give TJ a sniff. As a neutral I hope to see Conor Mc go in on top of Lawlor as I'm not sure he can handle him

tiobraid (Tipperary) - Posts: 4119 - 30/06/2021 04:10:16    2354794

Greetings!

I will begin with a question, perhaps a stupid one.

Have a ticket for Saturday, but saw somewhere a reference to "staggered attendance" or such like? Can't find it now.

Anyway, stupid question is does that mean that 8,000 will be divided between the two games with those of us at the Dublin/Galway match having to leave when it's over?

BarneyGrant (Dublin) - Posts: 3876 - 30/06/2021 09:18:03    2354803

Replying To tiobraid:  "Looking forward to the weekend. Hopefully it kicks off the hurling year. Limericks form wont be known until they play Cork. They only really won one league game of note and that was against a Cork team who werent bothered. It's still hard not to see Limerick showing up but as we all know back to backs are extremely difficult.
Tipp would have been expecting Waterford I'd imagine but I'd expect Kelly and Shanagher to give us huge problems. Despite decent scores I dont feel most of our marquee forwards have found any kind of form and it will be interesting to see if either John McGrath or Bubbles starts. The exception is Noel Mcgrath who for me is just behind Tony Kelly and Brian Concannon as the best player in the country (on this years form). The way Conlon plays will leave Clare with problems if he isnt picked up. I'd expect this game to go down to the wire.
Portlaoise may have been better for Dublin but we will see how good they are now. Hayes could give G Mac problems (if he plays full back). I think its a mistake to leave Daithi at centre back given the inexperience in the full back line and a goalie that is prone to errors. However, if Galways forwards click they are probably the best in the country. I'd expect them to score in the region of 2-30, which will be too good for Dublin.
Everything I've seen the past 12 months says that KK should beat Wexford but I'm going to go for Wexford to pip them - without having a real good reason why, apart from Matthew O'Hanlons ability to not give TJ a sniff. As a neutral I hope to see Conor Mc go in on top of Lawlor as I'm not sure he can handle him"
I don't mean to pick on the chap but can anyone explain the media love for Huw Lawlor???

He's an ok Intercounty hurler that has been cleaned so many times playing full back its unbelievable.

He got an All Star in 2019 and this is what happened him in the business end of the Championship:
(Scores from Play)

Leinster Final - Conor McDonald 0-4

AI 1/4 Final - Patrick Horgan 2-2 and fouled him for a penalty

AI Semi Final - Gillane 0-3 and fouled him for a penalty

AI Final - Seamie Callanan 1-1

Thanks

LarryOBrother (Wexford) - Posts: 412 - 30/06/2021 09:37:32    2354809

Replying To Canuck:  "Yes I was and would by any chance they be Wexford supporters ? Lets all be honest here. The player did a jig to the lines man who in turn then advised the ref. To this day I believe the lines man saw nothing until Keogh did his jig in front of him with his helmet in his hand. The red card is for deliberately interfering with a players helmet not accidental contact. In the NHL they had to make a penalty for not having your helmet strapped for this very reason. Gleeson got one he deserved and should have got another and I will not make excuse for him. Now we have contributions saying he should be penalized when someone hits him running back into position after he scores. Every game he plays he should be treated the same as every other player on the field. He may be sent off the next day but that also applies to 39 others. I will tell it as it is and not put my own spin on the rules or an advent."
You believe " the linesman saw nothing ". That's a dangerous road you're going down. I'm assuming the red card was appealed( I can't remember) and it was refused. Croke Park were also complicit so…bitterness will do you no good. Just as well ye won that day! Anyway hope the deise bounce back after last Sunday and have a big say in the championship yet.

HurlingBuzz (Wexford) - Posts: 556 - 30/06/2021 09:46:13    2354813

Replying To Canuck:  "Yes I was and would by any chance they be Wexford supporters ? Lets all be honest here. The player did a jig to the lines man who in turn then advised the ref. To this day I believe the lines man saw nothing until Keogh did his jig in front of him with his helmet in his hand. The red card is for deliberately interfering with a players helmet not accidental contact. In the NHL they had to make a penalty for not having your helmet strapped for this very reason. Gleeson got one he deserved and should have got another and I will not make excuse for him. Now we have contributions saying he should be penalized when someone hits him running back into position after he scores. Every game he plays he should be treated the same as every other player on the field. He may be sent off the next day but that also applies to 39 others. I will tell it as it is and not put my own spin on the rules or an advent."
Agree Gleeson didnt look like he hit Kelly's knee. But you are wrong about the helmet rule Canuck. Doesnt have to be deliberate.

Viking66 (Wexford) - Posts: 17820 - 30/06/2021 10:06:20    2354820

Replying To Canuck:  "What about the player himself who admitted after the fact it was an accidental clash. That was actually worse than the his initial reaction because it acknowledged dishonesty or worse. One of the first to display simulation. I sure he is a good chap and regrets it and fair play to Wexford for speaking up. Obviously they knew an injustice was done.
Your way of legislation and refereeing seems to be along the lines of having a "name" and making calls based on that. Now I wonder who should be on the committee to decide who would get this accreditation. For sure it would be a long list. Would you have DeBurca on it ? You don't get it do you? You are the only one (may be one other) that believes Gleeson hit Tony Kelly on the knee but you continue with that nonsense. Video shows it was probably his own man hit him if there was a hit at all. When it comes to belts on the knees you are talking to someone who needs two new knees."
Oh give it a rest will you. Every post you ever write is whinging about people being anti-Waterford, anti-this, anti-that.
I wasn't even referring to the Tony Kelly incident. I was referring to the afters with a Clare player, and the fact that when Gleeson goes out there is always incidents which he is involved in. If you don't see a common denominator, then more the fool you.
I don't know or care who hit Tony Kelly. I have got lots of belts and can tell you that you don't always feel them straight away. The one under the kneecap is the worst.
On every team, like it or lump it, be it club or county, there are players with "reputations". They tend to be earned.

StoreysTash (Wexford) - Posts: 1941 - 30/06/2021 11:00:19    2354845

Replying To BarneyGrant:  "Greetings!

Have a ticket for Saturday, but saw somewhere a reference to "staggered attendance" or such like? Can't find it now.

Anyway, stupid question is does that mean that 8,000 will be divided between the two games with those of us at the Dublin/Galway match having to leave when it's over?"
Not a stupid question at all. My hunch is that nobody knows the answer, even those tasked with implementing it. Communication between government and sporting and other bodies seems to be poor at present and definitely within the GAA itself as an organisation communication is chonically poor. I suspect they're making it up as they go along and will decide at the last minute how it is all to work!

PoolSturgeon (Galway) - Posts: 2110 - 30/06/2021 12:51:59    2354877

Replying To LarryOBrother:  "I don't mean to pick on the chap but can anyone explain the media love for Huw Lawlor???

He's an ok Intercounty hurler that has been cleaned so many times playing full back its unbelievable.

He got an All Star in 2019 and this is what happened him in the business end of the Championship:
(Scores from Play)

Leinster Final - Conor McDonald 0-4

AI 1/4 Final - Patrick Horgan 2-2 and fouled him for a penalty

AI Semi Final - Gillane 0-3 and fouled him for a penalty

AI Final - Seamie Callanan 1-1

Thanks"
I thought it was just me that couldn't understand that. Ive yet to see to anything spectacular. I suppose anybody is a step up from Joey Holden.

Bon (Kildare) - Posts: 2630 - 30/06/2021 13:22:18    2354885

Replying To tiobraid:  "Looking forward to the weekend. Hopefully it kicks off the hurling year. Limericks form wont be known until they play Cork. They only really won one league game of note and that was against a Cork team who werent bothered. It's still hard not to see Limerick showing up but as we all know back to backs are extremely difficult.
Everything I've seen the past 12 months says that KK should beat Wexford but I'm going to go for Wexford to pip them - without having a real good reason why, apart from Matthew O'Hanlons ability to not give TJ a sniff. As a neutral I hope to see Conor Mc go in on top of Lawlor as I'm not sure he can handle him"
Our recent record against them is very good.

There's nothing to suggest any more than a point or 2 either way.

If we don't concede any silly frees and our big men all fire I can't see anything other than a tight wexford victory.

A potential leinster final is a different matter. For that I wouldn't fancy us.

Doylerwex (Wexford) - Posts: 4086 - 30/06/2021 14:50:16    2354911

Replying To BarneyGrant:  "Greetings!

Anyway, stupid question is does that mean that 8,000 will be divided between the two games with those of us at the Dublin/Galway match having to leave when it's over?"
Has to be 8,000 in total allowed to attend as looking at the starting times they couldn't empty the stadium and then let in supporters for the second match in time. If that wasn't the case you'd have 4,000 exiting with 4,000 waiting to get in. NPHET wouldn't be happy with that arrangement!!!

HurlingBuzz (Wexford) - Posts: 556 - 30/06/2021 15:08:43    2354917

Good luck to Wexford on Sunday. A little bit like us if competitive their spirit carries them to a win. It is difficult not to see a Limerick win if all the gears kick in. Cork are due a big win but I will stick with Limerick and wish them success.

Canuck (Waterford) - Posts: 3227 - 30/06/2021 15:47:27    2354928

Replying To PoolSturgeon:  "Not a stupid question at all. My hunch is that nobody knows the answer, even those tasked with implementing it. Communication between government and sporting and other bodies seems to be poor at present and definitely within the GAA itself as an organisation communication is chonically poor. I suspect they're making it up as they go along and will decide at the last minute how it is all to work!"
Got the tickets which are way up in the gods Canal End so they're obviously planning some serious social distancing!

Logistics apart, looking forward to it. First game since January 2020.

Hard to be greatly optimistic from Dublin perspective. They're well drilled, some good scorers, a bit of a goal threat now with Hayes (will miss Trolier though) and good work rate.

That keeps them competitive but probably, well not probably!, missing that bit of a spark to beat Galway or Tipp or Limerick. Would give them some chance against rest but they are too predictable. Cork game last year was very disappointing. Cork got the goal, and after that did enough to maintain a 5/6 point gap that we never looked like closing. Same pattern in Clare league game.

Would love to see them have a real cut at it like Parnell the last time. Unfortunately, i don't think Kenny gets that out of them, other than the mad comeback against the stripey lads.

BarneyGrant (Dublin) - Posts: 3876 - 30/06/2021 19:01:15    2354991

Sorry to go off topic as I don't want to start a whole new thread for just one Hurling question but does Johnathon Glynn still Hurl for Galway? I assume he was going n the All Ireland winning team a few years back. Just wondering. Thanks.

Trump2020 (Galway) - Posts: 2631 - 30/06/2021 20:50:33    2355014

Replying To Trump2020:  "Sorry to go off topic as I don't want to start a whole new thread for just one Hurling question but does Johnathon Glynn still Hurl for Galway? I assume he was going n the All Ireland winning team a few years back. Just wondering. Thanks."
As far as I know he's still based stateside. I suppose you couldn't keep up that back and forth long term.

Bon (Kildare) - Posts: 2630 - 30/06/2021 22:41:06    2355045

Replying To Bon:  "As far as I know he's still based stateside. I suppose you couldn't keep up that back and forth long term."
True. Thanks.

Trump2020 (Galway) - Posts: 2631 - 01/07/2021 00:45:35    2355063