Disgraceful Scenes At Half Time

Replying To catch22:  "Social media gives all manner of low life the opportunity to air their filth and bile.
People are like flies to the flame though and keep swarming to the drivel and adding to it.
It's not likely to change anytime soon either as it's like a drug to these poor misguided sheep."
Would comparing one of the finest footballers of this generation,, who despite losing 5 finals never gives up or feels sorry for himself,, to an inbred mountain hick from the 1970's not coubt as "filth and bile" though?You seemed to get a good laugh outta that particular one.

Galway9801 (Galway) - Posts: 1705 - 20/12/2020 21:37:38    2324847

Replying To realdub:  "Gerrup outta that wha, thems some hardy words, old school
So there you have it folks, getting down and dirty is the way forward to beat this Dublin team, I'll get the popcorn."
beating teams is one thing, beating them into oblivion is another (Meath/Laois/Cavan games for example)...its a long road that has no bend as they say...the players on those loosing teams too soft:)

Fairplayalways (Offaly) - Posts: 1034 - 20/12/2020 22:26:59    2324877

Replying To avonali:  "You've conveniently forgotten how TSG spent a good section of the programme making sure Diarmuid Connolly's push on a linesman. It had a huge impact of his season. But sure look it, don't let the truth spoil a good theory."
Avon we all think we are whiter than white. Right is right and wrong is wrong. Connolly was discussed on tsg for a minor push on a linesman but albeit minor he was guilty and received suspension. The same year Tipp s Goalie got suspended for the exact same thing with an umpire. Tipp did nt complain Dublin did.Paull Galvin made top story on rte news for a fish hook and the refs notebook and was guilty before he was up before cccc but again he was guilty and got suspended and Kerry gave out. I have noticed that since the Connolly incident tsg have brushed over some incidents though. Even last night Johnny Cooper incident not even mentioned.

CiarraiMick (Dublin) - Posts: 3675 - 20/12/2020 22:35:24    2324886

Replying To Galway9801:  "Would comparing one of the finest footballers of this generation,, who despite losing 5 finals never gives up or feels sorry for himself,, to an inbred mountain hick from the 1970's not coubt as "filth and bile" though?You seemed to get a good laugh outta that particular one."
What is wrong with being from the 1970s, or being born on a mountain or being a country person (hick), explain.

sligo joe (Dublin) - Posts: 676 - 20/12/2020 22:50:17    2324892

Replying To SaffronDon:  "I cant even watch the clip of the incident provided by RTE. Wrong 'region' apparently. That tells you all you need to know about them. Sky provide a far better match day show now anyway. Hopefully they are the future"
According to RTE you are in the deepest darkest UK up there in the glens of Antrim.

Tirchonaill1 (Donegal) - Posts: 2746 - 20/12/2020 23:19:18    2324906

Replying To SaffronDon:  "I cant even watch the clip of the incident provided by RTE. Wrong 'region' apparently. That tells you all you need to know about them. Sky provide a far better match day show now anyway. Hopefully they are the future"
Sky is the limit, Rte the past, Dublin the future!;)

baire (Galway) - Posts: 1791 - 21/12/2020 09:11:00    2324951

Personally, I think fighting in the tunnel is disgraceful.

People want to see it out in the open.

Was there actually a punch thrown or was it just a bit of pushing and shoving ?

lionofludesch (Down) - Posts: 475 - 21/12/2020 10:25:07    2324994

Replying To Fairplayalways:  "beating teams is one thing, beating them into oblivion is another (Meath/Laois/Cavan games for example)...its a long road that has no bend as they say...the players on those loosing teams too soft:)"
Do you honestly believe teams could intimidate that Dublin side? As they say, I double dare ya :D

realdub (Dublin) - Posts: 8589 - 21/12/2020 13:08:33    2325065

It was the best part of the whole spectacle; it is a pity there wasn't a bit more of it on the pitch. Football has been reduced to glorified basketball - hand passing, fisted goals, frees for next to nothing and next to no physical contact. At least the fight in the tunnel showed some passion wasn't totally absent.

wicklowsupport (Wicklow) - Posts: 1909 - 22/12/2020 15:05:18    2325408

Replying To wicklowsupport:  "It was the best part of the whole spectacle; it is a pity there wasn't a bit more of it on the pitch. Football has been reduced to glorified basketball - hand passing, fisted goals, frees for next to nothing and next to no physical contact. At least the fight in the tunnel showed some passion wasn't totally absent."
You're right there.

A bit of fisticuffs is entertainment.

Sure - it was nothing more than you'd see at the throw-in. Or when a sub comes on.

lionofludesch (Down) - Posts: 475 - 22/12/2020 16:16:30    2325437

Replying To wicklowsupport:  "It was the best part of the whole spectacle; it is a pity there wasn't a bit more of it on the pitch. Football has been reduced to glorified basketball - hand passing, fisted goals, frees for next to nothing and next to no physical contact. At least the fight in the tunnel showed some passion wasn't totally absent."
most of my views elsewhere..well said...go back on YouTUbe and look at the games of 1970's & 80s and even 1990s...some great games between teams who never even got out of their provinces back then (and now) and it was football from start to finish, maybe with a final score of 3-10 to 2-11 or something...regardless of the score..the games were better..not debating that...

Fairplayalways (Offaly) - Posts: 1034 - 22/12/2020 23:29:01    2325568

Replying To Fairplayalways:  "most of my views elsewhere..well said...go back on YouTUbe and look at the games of 1970's & 80s and even 1990s...some great games between teams who never even got out of their provinces back then (and now) and it was football from start to finish, maybe with a final score of 3-10 to 2-11 or something...regardless of the score..the games were better..not debating that..."
I agree the games have gone a little stale in recent years as its all about possession now. It has become akin to basketball with teams holding the ball for long periods and short kickouts etc. Now there was alot of aimless kicking years back when defenders would just hoof it anywhere. Every couple of years it will change and will change again. When Tyrone came in 03 people said football was dead and then in 05 and 08 Tyrone played top entertaining football. When Donegal arrived in 11 the same was said yet in 12 I thought they were very entertaining and now one of my favourite teams to watch. We had the Dublin Kerry semi final in 13 and Kerry Mayo 15 Dublin and Mayo 15 16 and 17 and last years final was nt too bad either. Now I admit this year was a snore fest bar the odd game but at least the final was watchable. Also the lack of fans prob a factor. I also found the hurling a tad tedious this year.

CiarraiMick (Dublin) - Posts: 3675 - 23/12/2020 14:24:17    2325669

Pure. Wicklow.

StoreysTash (Wexford) - Posts: 1732 - 23/12/2020 15:36:50    2325679

Replying To lionofludesch:  "Personally, I think fighting in the tunnel is disgraceful.

People want to see it out in the open.

Was there actually a punch thrown or was it just a bit of pushing and shoving ?"
Havn't seen a punch throen in years, what is the point in grabbing and pushing i don't get it! Not that i'm condoning violence or anything but that pushing and shoving and people up in arms over it is a load of crap.

achara (Monaghan) - Posts: 561 - 23/12/2020 16:19:27    2325690

Replying To achara:  "Havn't seen a punch throen in years, what is the point in grabbing and pushing i don't get it! Not that i'm condoning violence or anything but that pushing and shoving and people up in arms over it is a load of crap."
Did Aidan O Shea not throw a punch at Philly with his back turned to him??

Bon (Kildare) - Posts: 1908 - 23/12/2020 16:52:05    2325701

Replying To achara:  "Havn't seen a punch throen in years, what is the point in grabbing and pushing i don't get it! Not that i'm condoning violence or anything but that pushing and shoving and people up in arms over it is a load of crap."
Ach, there must've been one or two while you weren't looking.

lionofludesch (Down) - Posts: 475 - 23/12/2020 17:57:07    2325711

Replying To Bon:  "Did Aidan O Shea not throw a punch at Philly with his back turned to him??"
He gave him a dig, that's 3/8th of a punch!

GreenandRed (Mayo) - Posts: 7343 - 23/12/2020 20:32:30    2325750

Replying To Bon:  "Did Aidan O Shea not throw a punch at Philly with his back turned to him??"
No

achara (Monaghan) - Posts: 561 - 23/12/2020 20:59:34    2325757

Replying To Fairplayalways:  "This Dublin team wouldnt be jumping around against the Meath team of the 80s or Offaly team of early 70's...a row in the tunnel would mean Brian Fenton might have a great first half but would be subbed "injured" in second...its a sign of the fight gone out of football that there is almost "surprise" that there was a tunnel incident this evening, and more amazing it took the All Ireland final for there to be one, the beating Dublin gave Meath, scoring a third goal with almost last play of the game and the home and hosed, the player bundling the ball into the net should not be remembering anything else of the game...teams are too soft, the clip of the 1975 Munster football final where a Cork and Kerry player decked each other, ref pulls them up and makes them shake hands and get on with it....Dublin will continue to destroy and humiliate teams until some team decides to stand up to them..its easy be a nice sporting and "lovely team" when you are winning...people saying Brian Cody always gracious in defeat, most of the time, I seen him a few times in defeat when he wasnt so nice..nothing wrong with it, if you have no bottle you will always finish second..great Dublin team and all that but no one will lay a hand on any of their star players..."
That's just a load of crap. Every word of it. And Brian Fenton could probably clear out 3/4 lads on his own. He's a beast of an athlete.

seanie_boy (Tyrone) - Posts: 4235 - 03/01/2021 06:09:51    2325835

Replying To StoreysTash:  "Pure. Wicklow."
Ye aren't shy in this regard yourselves down in wexford. I am not looking for players to box the heads off one another and yes some of the stuff in past years was a step too far but a bit of passion and physical contact is sorely missed from the game. At the current rate we will need a shot clock like in basketball to counter these hand passing and ball retention tactics , they are killing the game as any sort of spectacle.

wicklowsupport (Wicklow) - Posts: 1909 - 03/01/2021 15:08:50    2325867