Disgraceful Scenes At Half Time

Replying To Jackeen:  "What was it about? I'm not on Twitter."
About his brother, couldnt say it here, and telling Phikky to go shoot himself up etc etc it really was obnoxious.

arock (Dublin) - Posts: 4895 - 20/12/2020 12:29:37    2324503

Replying To CTGAA10:  "Oh my god I just can't get over the hatred for the dubs,it's pure and utter jealousy..as I mentioned on another day was i the only neutral hoping they'd win..we in limerick are facing the same bitterness with 2 in 3 years..ha,ha,ha I'm really enjoying this..keep winning lads.."
Don't know anyone who begrudges limerick success they have been on the edge of greatness in hurling for years was only a matter of time before they made the breakthrough. Dublin in football is different as they have been getting millions in funding more than and of the other counties to help them achieve dominance. Even when killkenny had thier purple patch of dominance in hurling there were atleast 3 other teams to challenge them and they were not getting millions more in funding too.

This is not dublins fault croke park continue to financially dope Dublin GAA.

ulsterrules (Donegal) - Posts: 259 - 20/12/2020 12:57:05    2324516

Replying To CTGAA10:  "Oh my god I just can't get over the hatred for the dubs,it's pure and utter jealousy..as I mentioned on another day was i the only neutral hoping they'd win..we in limerick are facing the same bitterness with 2 in 3 years..ha,ha,ha I'm really enjoying this..keep winning lads.."
Well fair play to you and you know what I think most decent people recognize these achievements as something special.
Enjoy your fully deserved success and to hell with the begrudgers.

Dubh_linn (Dublin) - Posts: 2312 - 20/12/2020 12:58:39    2324517

Replying To arock:  "You want to see the tweet sent to Philly which he shared last night, unbelievable the depths people will go. Its only sport."
I looked this up after your comment. Can't believe that it was even worse than I expected. Social media is poisonous.

Morty (Westmeath) - Posts: 209 - 20/12/2020 13:01:35    2324519

I don't know why any player would bother with a social media profile like twitter, some tweets can be absolutely poisonous like that one last night. Id be no fan of McMahon and his field antics but it was completely uncalled for. Moronic stuff.

republicofcloone (Leitrim) - Posts: 375 - 20/12/2020 13:26:26    2324535

Listen. My first couple of posts were obviously tongue in cheek to try and get the conversation started on here. And it seems to have worked.

I honestly couldn't care less if the Mayo and Dublin lads bate the head of each other and I dont care who instigated it.

My point is the total lack of consistency on topics like these.

Hoganstand is a nameless/faceless forum so there is only so much you can say about the posters on here but RTE is a different issue.

How can the sunday game constantly get away with such clear bias.

The over reaction to some very minor incidents involving certain counties over the years has been totally despicable. But now we actually have a situation were the Sunday game presenters seem to think it is acceptable to joke with Dublin players after the match about being involved in the same caliber of incident.

And the panel themselves dont want to actually mention it at all.

Wally (Tyrone) - Posts: 912 - 20/12/2020 13:29:38    2324537

Social media gives all manner of low life the opportunity to air their filth and bile.
People are like flies to the flame though and keep swarming to the drivel and adding to it.
It's not likely to change anytime soon either as it's like a drug to these poor misguided sheep.

catch22 (USA) - Posts: 2148 - 20/12/2020 13:32:56    2324540

Replying To Wally:  "Listen. My first couple of posts were obviously tongue in cheek to try and get the conversation started on here. And it seems to have worked.

I honestly couldn't care less if the Mayo and Dublin lads bate the head of each other and I dont care who instigated it.

My point is the total lack of consistency on topics like these.

Hoganstand is a nameless/faceless forum so there is only so much you can say about the posters on here but RTE is a different issue.

How can the sunday game constantly get away with such clear bias.

The over reaction to some very minor incidents involving certain counties over the years has been totally despicable. But now we actually have a situation were the Sunday game presenters seem to think it is acceptable to joke with Dublin players after the match about being involved in the same caliber of incident.

And the panel themselves dont want to actually mention it at all."
We're used to it, sure didnt half the Tyrone backroom team and stand go after the Dublin team with fists fling in the league game up there this year. Dont think there was any sanctions either.

You have to put up with this stuff as Champions, there is a while psychology to it, its all a free bag of chips in the local chipper stuff, for " good lad, putting it up to the Dubs", we've seen it all before really, you dont let it rattle you and in the end the only thing that matters is who takes the meddles home.

TheUsername (Dublin) - Posts: 4445 - 20/12/2020 13:47:01    2324550

Replying To Wally:  "Watched the Sunday Game last night and as I thought the panel never even mentioned this incident.

What was worse was that Joanne actually had a joke with Philly about it.

Could you imagine an RTE presenter having a laugh with any other county player about them attacking an opponent in the tunnel on the way to the changing rooms!?

RTE's bias holds no bounds."
You've conveniently forgotten how TSG spent a good section of the programme making sure Diarmuid Connolly's push on a linesman. It had a huge impact of his season. But sure look it, don't let the truth spoil a good theory.

avonali (Dublin) - Posts: 1974 - 20/12/2020 14:24:56    2324572

I cant even watch the clip of the incident provided by RTE. Wrong 'region' apparently. That tells you all you need to know about them. Sky provide a far better match day show now anyway. Hopefully they are the future

SaffronDon (Antrim) - Posts: 2385 - 20/12/2020 14:25:16    2324573

Replying To Galway9801:  "The most important thing is that no one's hair got ruffled."
hahaha....I remember that!!!

PatdeB16 (Dublin) - Posts: 15 - 20/12/2020 14:31:24    2324576

Replying To Galway9801:  "The most important thing is that no one's hair got ruffled."
hahaha....I remember that!!!

PatdeB16 (Dublin) - Posts: 15 - 20/12/2020 14:31:38    2324577

Replying To arock:  "About his brother, couldnt say it here, and telling Phikky to go shoot himself up etc etc it really was obnoxious."
A charmer no doubt. More of a reason to steer clear.

Jackeen (Dublin) - Posts: 4097 - 20/12/2020 17:05:43    2324665

Replying To arock:  "About his brother, couldnt say it here, and telling Phikky to go shoot himself up etc etc it really was obnoxious."
Not condoning the tweet at all (didn't see it,, don't wanna see it) but people should really stay off twitter. Same with YouTube comment sections.
Judt stay away.

Galway9801 (Galway) - Posts: 1698 - 20/12/2020 17:28:25    2324678

Replying To Galway9801:  "Not condoning the tweet at all (didn't see it,, don't wanna see it) but people should really stay off twitter. Same with YouTube comment sections.
Judt stay away."
Christ how can those comments about family be left through,I'd love to hear of someone being caught for this kind of stuff..I wonder how they would react if it was said about their own family?

CTGAA10 (Limerick) - Posts: 2208 - 20/12/2020 17:58:05    2324697

I've always liked Philly, he has that edge of devilment about him. looked to me like he was saying something to Cillian O'Connor and the Mayo fellas attacked him, Higgins grabs him by the throat big Aidan O'Shea seemed to throw a swipe at Philly. a bit pathetic really from the Mayo lads.
Philly was saying last night that himself and Murchan play a bit of music, he was probably just asking Cillian O'Connor if he still plays the banjo like he did when he starred in Deliverance. lol
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=pDlZLsJJkVA

Tirchonaill1 (Donegal) - Posts: 2739 - 20/12/2020 18:13:09    2324715

Replying To Galway9801:  "Not condoning the tweet at all (didn't see it,, don't wanna see it) but people should really stay off twitter. Same with YouTube comment sections.
Judt stay away."
Exactly, Twitter is toxic, I see politicians from all sides going close to the bone. Seems to be a free for all.

arock (Dublin) - Posts: 4895 - 20/12/2020 18:13:26    2324716

Rotten scenes. How very dare they.

waynoI (Dublin) - Posts: 13650 - 20/12/2020 18:39:27    2324731

Replying To Tirchonaill1:  "I've always liked Philly, he has that edge of devilment about him. looked to me like he was saying something to Cillian O'Connor and the Mayo fellas attacked him, Higgins grabs him by the throat big Aidan O'Shea seemed to throw a swipe at Philly. a bit pathetic really from the Mayo lads.
Philly was saying last night that himself and Murchan play a bit of music, he was probably just asking Cillian O'Connor if he still plays the banjo like he did when he starred in Deliverance. lol
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=pDlZLsJJkVA"
Hahaaa! Jaysus but you're not far off there.

catch22 (USA) - Posts: 2148 - 20/12/2020 18:45:05    2324735

Replying To TheUsername:  "We're used to it, sure didnt half the Tyrone backroom team and stand go after the Dublin team with fists fling in the league game up there this year. Dont think there was any sanctions either.

You have to put up with this stuff as Champions, there is a while psychology to it, its all a free bag of chips in the local chipper stuff, for " good lad, putting it up to the Dubs", we've seen it all before really, you dont let it rattle you and in the end the only thing that matters is who takes the meddles home."
What are you talking about? There was absolutely nothing going on in this years league game in Omagh...and of course you ignore wallys point completely

mayotyroneman (Tyrone) - Posts: 1821 - 20/12/2020 21:27:13    2324835