Football Is Finished

Replying To Tir Conaill Abu:  "Knee jerk reaction to Dublin beating a division 3 side. If Mayo get over Tipp I think it will be a closer game."
If Mayo beat Tipp by 10 pts+ there won't be an eyelid batted that's for sure. It'll be well done Mayo and sure Tipp is a hurling county anyway.

Joxer (Dublin) - Posts: 4700 - 06/12/2020 11:57:08    2319086

Replying To Whammo86:  "They've a larger pick of players all incredibly well coached from a young age.

Whereas Cavan probably have a handful of players with the skill levels that would be required to play Dublin or players who would be able to get to the fitness levels to play for Dublin they won't have many players to that are at both levels.

Every person has limits to their capacity not matter how much they work.

Dublin players are the cream of a very large crop and are just going to be on average better than those that emerge in other counties."
They always had a larger pick though! Fifteen years ago they had and they couldn't win Leinster!

the creeler (Cavan) - Posts: 512 - 06/12/2020 11:58:50    2319087

I think yer being very negative and defeatist. Most teams are beat before they cross the line to beat Dublin. I firmly believe that negative attitude and "poor us" "Dublin's advantages" "Croke Park factor" seeps into a players mentality.

Dublin are absolutely beatable.

yew_tree (Mayo) - Posts: 11227 - 06/12/2020 11:59:51    2319089

Replying To baire:  "Did he not take a year or two off? A great footballer, no doubt!
It's win at all costs and some counties are better equipped financially to bear the costs. It's not the Dublin footballers or the Limerick hurlers who should be criticised but the unfair nature of funding, lack of level playing field. The GAA says it's an amateur organisation, we all know that's a joke. It's amateurish when it refuses to use VAR in cases of deliberate hits on players and other critical moments in games but as for money it's very shady!"
Sponsorship money has to be redistributed.

The biggest money spinners need to have some of their money taxed.

Say you've an average of €1m in sponsorship for each team and Dublin are bringing in €2.5m. I don't know how realistic those figures are but it's just illustrative. Dublin should be allowed to keep half of the excess over the average. So they'd keep 1.75m and the other 750k should be redistributed to teams with less funding.

Say Carlow bring in 300k, they are 700k below the average, they'd be topped up by 350k to have 650k.

The details would need to be ironed out to account for dual teams and there'd need to be incredibly strict penalties for non disclosure of monies (ejection from the Championship harsh) but it'd be a step towards some competitive balance.

Whammo86 (Antrim) - Posts: 4207 - 06/12/2020 11:59:55    2319090

Replying To maroondiesel:  "Modern game was invented by Jim Mc Guinness not the Dubs"
He was building off Mickey Harte's blueprint, who in turn came after a Kildare team who umployed the blanket defence to beat Dublin, Meath and Jerry in 1998.

Daith (Kildare) - Posts: 1171 - 06/12/2020 12:01:19    2319092

Replying To Ban:  "Jack McCaffrey must have had extra hours in the day if he was living the life of a professional Sportsman over the last number of years! Easy number training and practicing medicine!

..and he was one of the best of them!"
Ha ha yep Michael Fitzsimons is a doctor too. I'm sure they are justing out training in the hospital car park all day no bother :) Cian O'Sullivan in PWC too.. probably just kicking ball against the wall all day...

There is a serious disrespect being shown to the Dublin players recently. To dismiss their dedication, skill and drive and amazing achievements because they are 'professionals' is really low for any so-called GAA person. they are amateurs balancing work, families and life just like all other players. Dublin players ambition, focus, (incredible) skills and in particular their example set to young people off the pitch should not be dismissed whatever your views on funding or playing home games in CP are.

bad.monkey (USA) - Posts: 4624 - 06/12/2020 12:08:02    2319094

Replying To jimbodub:  "Dear oh dear.."
as I say, when you see the referee walking around the pitch for the majority of the game, the ball is being "pocketed" and he could easily go and have a cuppa and come back and the ball woud still be pocketed...if that is football, we may forget about it, I am looking at this now for the last 4/5 years, and if Dublin want to win fair enough, but they should not be classed as "greatest team of all time" or "great football side" because they are far from it...its rediculous they standard they have dropped to (I wont say rose to) ...I think the "no crowd" at games this year have showed up what Dublin are serving up as football...

Fairplayalways (Offaly) - Posts: 1034 - 06/12/2020 12:08:33    2319095

Replying To bad.monkey:  "But Ciaran Kilkenny did go to Australia"
And he came back almost immediately, didn't he?

Crinigan (Meath) - Posts: 1316 - 06/12/2020 12:16:12    2319098

Replying To Whammo86:  "They've a larger pick of players all incredibly well coached from a young age.

Whereas Cavan probably have a handful of players with the skill levels that would be required to play Dublin or players who would be able to get to the fitness levels to play for Dublin they won't have many players to that are at both levels.

Every person has limits to their capacity not matter how much they work.

Dublin players are the cream of a very large crop and are just going to be on average better than those that emerge in other counties."
Nonsense, no other county has ever been as fit as them , not 1 dublin player gets tired from 1st minute to last, how is this possible ? No other county can do it, why is that? and this isn't just a golden generation, team is basically a different team from 2015 and they're only getting better!

achara (Monaghan) - Posts: 561 - 06/12/2020 12:16:40    2319099

Replying To republicofcloone:  "Pundits won't say or are afraid to say it. The ball was in midfield and it ended up back with Cluxton in the square. If that was soccer the team would be lambasted, but nary a word because it's Dublin. I think gaelic football is in serious bother at a number of levels, both skills wise and competitive wise.
When we play the Australians in that compromise rules they give us an exhibition of kicking that the Irish lads cannot match which is fairly embarrassing.
There's old clips of AI finals on youtube from the 1930s and what strikes you are the low skill levels and how much kicking the ball on the ground was done, it was of its time though, but we aren't far off that type of skill level again.
I think it's good enough for the GAA though. They better hope that Dublin fans still attend games because no one from other counties will be going to watch."
Agree. Some (not all) Dublin fans are deluded into thinking this stuff is because just hard work not the financial stuff. It is literally like an alcoholic that will not admit they have an issue. GAA will die a slow death and it is dying. I live in Galway these days with work, went for a meal with the wife and kids. Wanted to watch the game, they had horse racing on for an all ireland semi final and debated with me that other people were watching the racing. They could put it on in a half hour and could "could see what they could do "...An AI semi was second best to a few horses running about. If that is not the slow death of GAA I don't know what is and Galway is a strong football county. I walked straight out , had the food and a pint ordered. To me that is the death of the game . Horse racing , jesus christ.

GAA need to get themselves together if horse racing is put ahead of an all ireland semi in locals

GameofTyronesIsBackhere (Tyrone) - Posts: 46 - 06/12/2020 12:28:19    2319101

Replying To yew_tree:  "I think yer being very negative and defeatist. Most teams are beat before they cross the line to beat Dublin. I firmly believe that negative attitude and "poor us" "Dublin's advantages" "Croke Park factor" seeps into a players mentality.

Dublin are absolutely beatable."
Agree yew they will be beaten sometime but doubt there beatable this year though. How do u see today going? Mayo will need to be at there very best to win I think. Best of luck to ye

JimmyNail (Leitrim) - Posts: 182 - 06/12/2020 12:37:56    2319104

Replying To Crinigan:  "And he came back almost immediately, didn't he?"
Yeah like most...I think he was only out there about 6 months. But top young Dublin talent isn't immune to AFL recruit - James Madden moved out there too. But it would certainly affect other counties with less players more. Maybe Kerry could share how they managed to persuade Clifford not to move the AF. Might be helpful to the other counties.

bad.monkey (USA) - Posts: 4624 - 06/12/2020 12:38:07    2319105

Replying To yew_tree:  "I think yer being very negative and defeatist. Most teams are beat before they cross the line to beat Dublin. I firmly believe that negative attitude and "poor us" "Dublin's advantages" "Croke Park factor" seeps into a players mentality.

It's clear you're trying to be noble and play the good loser.

Cavan_Shambles (Cavan) - Posts: 575 - 06/12/2020 12:48:05    2319111

This is just a small sample of the " let's keep mediocre as the standard " so 4 or 5 teams have a better chance.
Most of the heads in charge in these counties couldn't organise the proverbial and would never win anything no matter what you gave them.
The gombeen loser outlook is alive and well.

catch22 (USA) - Posts: 2148 - 06/12/2020 12:48:48    2319112

Attitude is everything yew tree. Listening to Tomas O Se last night, Cavan should have turned around and gone home, such was the negative comment. If counties want to throw in the towel before playing Dublin, then nothing will change. Tomas mourning the alleged demise of Leinster football, didn't complain when Kerry hammered the other Munster counties in the championship.
Dublin are ahead of other counties, because they have better players, but they will lose eventually.

MicktheMiller (Offaly) - Posts: 421 - 06/12/2020 12:53:11    2319114

Replying To Gleebo:  "So, for those of ye bemoaning the Dubs' possession based style, what's the answer to opening the game up? A shot clock once you're inside the opponents' 45?"
I'm saying the ball cannot be passed back beyond the 45m line by the attacking team.
And I'm also saying that when Dublin are involved in such negative play as going back from midfield to the goalie that pundits call it out as being terrible football. But you simply won't hear that on rte. They're afraid to say anything about the money train.

republicofcloone (Leitrim) - Posts: 375 - 06/12/2020 12:54:17    2319118

I'm fairness the club scene in both codes is still very enjoyable. I'd highly recommend it,,

Galway9801 (Galway) - Posts: 1698 - 06/12/2020 12:54:30    2319119

Replying To achara:  "Nonsense, no other county has ever been as fit as them , not 1 dublin player gets tired from 1st minute to last, how is this possible ? No other county can do it, why is that? and this isn't just a golden generation, team is basically a different team from 2015 and they're only getting better!"
Those fitness levels will never be scrutinised or questioned either.
Also Cavan had a two hour trip at least to Dublin and the Dublin lads could saunter into Croke Park from the comfort of their own homes.
But good enough for Cavan, they wanted to play there instead of levelling the field a bit and insisting the game be held elsewhere.
Donegal tried their best to get Dublin out of Croke Park and cowardly county boards voted against it.

republicofcloone (Leitrim) - Posts: 375 - 06/12/2020 12:59:25    2319121

Replying To bad.monkey:  "Yeah like most...I think he was only out there about 6 months. But top young Dublin talent isn't immune to AFL recruit - James Madden moved out there too. But it would certainly affect other counties with less players more. Maybe Kerry could share how they managed to persuade Clifford not to move the AF. Might be helpful to the other counties."
Well if it was the promise of all Ireland wins he's probably already reconsidering his decision to stay.

Galway9801 (Galway) - Posts: 1698 - 06/12/2020 13:01:52    2319125

Replying To TheUsername:  "Yet a third of the team that played last night, came from one club who are skint, with less then 300 members, in a disadvantaged area of the City and huge civic work done by historically done by former Dublin player Paddy Christie. You need to be very fair in the point sin you making and not presume, because its popular narrative its actually true.

Im sure there are bigger, more well resourced clubs in Cavan then Ballymun, playing in some lovely facilitates close to a glen or lake.

When you reality test these things they dont often meet the presumption.

Incidentally best of luck to Paddy Christie today who is involved with he Tipperary senior team in their Semi with Mayo - ill be rooting for Tipp today as will be wishing the best for Paddy he deserves a huge credit tin the Dublin GAA success story."
Most rural clubs would only live to have 300 members.

Greengrass (Louth) - Posts: 6031 - 06/12/2020 13:04:57    2319127