Football Is Finished

Replying To yew_tree:  "I think yer being very negative and defeatist. Most teams are beat before they cross the line to beat Dublin. I firmly believe that negative attitude and "poor us" "Dublin's advantages" "Croke Park factor" seeps into a players mentality.

Dublin are absolutely beatable."
I agree with this. Cavan looked absolutely gassed before half time last night but I don't think they feared Dublin really in fairness.

Dublin have natural advantages and have sorted out their structures so I would be surprised if we ever see them go very long without an All-Ireland again. But football is not dead, there are teams that can and will beat them coming soon.

This is not to say GAA don't need to seriously think about the games outside the capital. Rural clubs are dying and in all honesty it's all linked to a laissez faire attitude in Irish government that let's Dublin run wild. Everything is centred on Dublin and so there's no infrastructure around the country and very little opportunity for people to stay closer to home if they want that option. Every county in Ireland has players capable of being very competitive at intercounty level in my opinion but the vast majority of these players don't stay home because they can't for lack of opportunities, and then the commitment on training and all of that you have to add 4-6-8 hour round trips on to that two or three times a week.

This isn't a slight on Dublin like I said above they always had natural advantages and it's coming to the fore now because they got funding and have sorted themselves out massively. I am also a big fan of this Dublin side and the players, they are great representatives of the GAA. However Bernard Brogan (a player I greatly admired) coming out with that nonsense about Dublin players working harder than everyone else. It's an insult to players from other counties in all honesty. I hate that nonsense.

The GAA need to have a massive think about a) helping clubs around the country and b) giving counties and provincial councils the money and a plan for competing. I've not got much issue with money in Dublin going towards getting kids playing our games to be honest, it all comes down to that. But the kid in Belfast or Leitrim or Portlaoise is as deserving of the same funding, structures and support right through to senior.

JoeSoap (Donegal) - Posts: 1432 - 06/12/2020 14:48:19    2319189

Replying To Galwaymaster9:  "Ya cause Mayo kept up with ye in last years semi in the second half... No it's just Dublin.."
Last year Mayo were off the pace, but what about all our very tight all-Ireland wins, how did that happen.
Its been already said that Mayo could match us for fitness levels in the recent past, Kerry not far off us either.

realdub (Dublin) - Posts: 8592 - 06/12/2020 14:52:23    2319194

Replying To Llaw_Gyffes:  "Just wondering how many players from other counties would get on the Dublin team as it stands. In a normal year there would be standout players from other counties but this year not so much. If you look at young Galligan, who was arguably the stand out player in Ulster, a shoe in for an all star and in the running for player of the year. Against the Dubs he touched the ball eight times. They don't seem to have a weak link. Look at young Howard, built like a s***house wall and the first name on any midfield in the country and he can't get on. Michael Murphy, Conor McManus, Lee Keegan would all have been good enough a few years back, but would they now. Paddy Durkin, but he wouldn't be allowed to shoot, Aido wouldn't have the necessary pace, young McHugh from Donegal if he bulked up. Cillian and young O Shea are good free takers but not as good as Rock. Clifford, but if he missed a 21 yard free he wouldn't get the chance to miss the second. A lot of counties have so called marquee players who are indulged a little. Hard luck Tommy when an outrageous attempt from the corner just drifts wide. Sure didn't he score one like that last year. The Dubs don't do indulgent. There were several occasions last night when the shot was on at a maybe seventy, thirty chance of success but was turned down until the percentage was higher. It gets to the stage where if the Dubs kick a wide you are saying wtf. Quinleven and Sweeney for Tipp are very good players but are they any better than Costello and Mannion who are only on the Dubs bench. If the Allstars were picked on form at the minute Dublin would probably get as many as twelve. The only barometer to judge a player now is how he played against the Dubs. Going on this year so far the answer would be, not very well."
Id take, Shane Walsh, Paddy Durkin, Eoin O Donoghue, Padraig Faulkner EBG and Jarlath Og Burns personally.

Thats about it really.

TheUsername (Dublin) - Posts: 4445 - 06/12/2020 14:55:13    2319195

Replying To JoeSoap:  "I agree with this. Cavan looked absolutely gassed before half time last night but I don't think they feared Dublin really in fairness.

Dublin have natural advantages and have sorted out their structures so I would be surprised if we ever see them go very long without an All-Ireland again. But football is not dead, there are teams that can and will beat them coming soon.

This is not to say GAA don't need to seriously think about the games outside the capital. Rural clubs are dying and in all honesty it's all linked to a laissez faire attitude in Irish government that let's Dublin run wild. Everything is centred on Dublin and so there's no infrastructure around the country and very little opportunity for people to stay closer to home if they want that option. Every county in Ireland has players capable of being very competitive at intercounty level in my opinion but the vast majority of these players don't stay home because they can't for lack of opportunities, and then the commitment on training and all of that you have to add 4-6-8 hour round trips on to that two or three times a week.

This isn't a slight on Dublin like I said above they always had natural advantages and it's coming to the fore now because they got funding and have sorted themselves out massively. I am also a big fan of this Dublin side and the players, they are great representatives of the GAA. However Bernard Brogan (a player I greatly admired) coming out with that nonsense about Dublin players working harder than everyone else. It's an insult to players from other counties in all honesty. I hate that nonsense.

The GAA need to have a massive think about a) helping clubs around the country and b) giving counties and provincial councils the money and a plan for competing. I've not got much issue with money in Dublin going towards getting kids playing our games to be honest, it all comes down to that. But the kid in Belfast or Leitrim or Portlaoise is as deserving of the same funding, structures and support right through to senior."
Maybe the Dublin players work 10/ 15 % harder but the argument I would make there is that it's easier to motivate yourself to work hard when An Irelandis a probability . A Laois panel working harder might mean we lose by 14 instead of 20. Where s the incentive for most teams to work harder ?

Malonemagic (Laois) - Posts: 766 - 06/12/2020 15:04:42    2319199

Replying To bad.monkey:  "Good idea but it would need to be organised by the GAA centrally rather than individual counties as why would Dublin (or Kerry) bother spending time and money negotiating for a sponsorship deal which exceeds the 1m as it would only benefit other counties. Perhaps if sponsorship was sold as package it could better spread. So to sponsor Dublin you also need to sponsor Leitrim, Derry and Carlow for example. Same for other larger value counties.. Kerry, Cork, Galway.."
They'd still benefit from earning over €1m, just a bit less. The money over €1m would be spread over every county below average. Kerry and other top challengers with above average resources would also be getting taxed.

Whammo86 (Antrim) - Posts: 4225 - 06/12/2020 15:09:25    2319200

Replying To JoeSoap:  "I agree with this. Cavan looked absolutely gassed before half time last night but I don't think they feared Dublin really in fairness.

The GAA need to have a massive think about a) helping clubs around the country and b) giving counties and provincial councils the money and a plan for competing. I've not got much issue with money in Dublin going towards getting kids playing our games to be honest, it all comes down to that. But the kid in Belfast or Leitrim or Portlaoise is as deserving of the same funding, structures and support right through to senior."
Excellent post. I strongly agree with a lot of what you've said here.

Whammo86 (Antrim) - Posts: 4225 - 06/12/2020 15:22:27    2319206

Things are certainly getting worrying now for the gaa football championship and the interest is certainly been drained slowly out of all gaa fans including Dublins, but what are the solutions do we split dublin into two three or four, do we cut there funding and sponsorship and distribute it evenly to other counties, do we start amalgamating counties together to create say 8 to 12 large counties, im sure there's other things that can be tried and the gaas top brass need to debate them as were probably faceing the biggest crisis the football championship has ever had, from what I hear though they seem to have there heads fairly buried in the sand regarding dublins dominance.

Royal.Legend (Meath) - Posts: 665 - 06/12/2020 15:32:24    2319214

Yeah football is dead. Have all these headbangers seen the Mayo v Tipp score.

catch22 (USA) - Posts: 2148 - 06/12/2020 16:05:46    2319227

Another poor semi I'm afraid. Feel sorry for Tipp but fair play to Mayo. Cillian Ó Connor is some scorer. For a player that never won a Sam he top scorer of all time and keeps on scoring. The match very disappointing though like last night's game. 2nd half to come. At least it will be interesting to see what Cillian ends up scoring.

CiarraiMick (Dublin) - Posts: 3676 - 06/12/2020 16:17:36    2319244

Replying To Malonemagic:  "Maybe the Dublin players work 10/ 15 % harder but the argument I would make there is that it's easier to motivate yourself to work hard when An Irelandis a probability . A Laois panel working harder might mean we lose by 14 instead of 20. Where s the incentive for most teams to work harder ?"
Of course it's disheartening to go out and get beat out the gate by Dublin, what's the point etc., but I think that's where GAA have to have a proper think about structures within counties and also reformatting to give players at all levels a feeling of stakes - that we have a chance to win something with our county here. There are heaps of great ideas out there for reformatting the championship and linking in the provincials and league performances, but the GAA centrally just don't seem interested which is a pity.

Laois footballers, given all the same supports and structures of Dublin, are more than capable and talented enough to be competitive against Dublin. The problem as I see it is not with Dublin sorting their own house out, it's other counties and as I said, rural clubs, not being given the opportunity and chance to be successful. That's all people want isn't it, a chance and a bit of fairness and a feeling that you have some stake in whatever competition you're in. The GAA have to really have a think but I don't have much faith that they will to be honest.

JoeSoap (Donegal) - Posts: 1432 - 06/12/2020 16:19:26    2319247

Replying To Whammo86:  "Excellent post. I strongly agree with a lot of what you've said here."
Thanks Whammo, I know you know as well on the club scene etc. and how much work goes in to training kids in Dublin. All anybody wants is a chance.

In all honesty I say the GAA has to have a serious think but I do think some of these issues are bigger than the GAA. However in saying that they need to do everything within their own power to help ease these issues, obviously they can't build infrastructure around the country or give young people opportunities to work and live in their home counties but they can do a lot more to help clubs and counties be competitive at least.

JoeSoap (Donegal) - Posts: 1432 - 06/12/2020 16:23:23    2319254

Replying To catch22:  "Yeah football is dead. Have all these headbangers seen the Mayo v Tipp score."
Mayo conceding three goals against tipp and it could of been 6 or 7 is a major worry for them, I hope im wrong and I know mayo won't lie down like most teams tend to do, but this all Ireland final could be over by half time.

Royal.Legend (Meath) - Posts: 665 - 06/12/2020 17:09:18    2319306

Replying To Royal.Legend:  "Mayo conceding three goals against tipp and it could of been 6 or 7 is a major worry for them, I hope im wrong and I know mayo won't lie down like most teams tend to do, but this all Ireland final could be over by half time."
Yeah , of course it will like the last few All Ireland finals. Do you watch finals ?

catch22 (USA) - Posts: 2148 - 06/12/2020 17:25:45    2319327

Replying To Royal.Legend:  "Mayo conceding three goals against tipp and it could of been 6 or 7 is a major worry for them, I hope im wrong and I know mayo won't lie down like most teams tend to do, but this all Ireland final could be over by half time."
That semi was well and truly over by half time. For the sake of football split Mayo. As for the laying of the wreath, well done Tipp, classy. When Dublin did it we were called classless and it was a choreographed publicity stunt according to some Meath and Kerry posters.

Joxer (Dublin) - Posts: 4700 - 06/12/2020 17:31:06    2319331

Replying To catch22:  "Yeah , of course it will like the last few All Ireland finals. Do you watch finals ?"
Why would he..
Meath fans on these fourms need to stop putting themselves in same bracket as other teams.
It's becoming a sick joke at this stage.

Final will be close like its always been..

BeJasus (UK) - Posts: 383 - 06/12/2020 17:47:54    2319347

Great post . Every kid deserves the same funding. How can anyone argue with that

Gareth Bradshaw a man from my own club has given his all for the maroon and white over the years. He gives everything he has sacrificed family time for over a decade.But Brogan says he doesn't give enough. I've seen the effort he has put in and every other member of the panel gives the same or they would be gone

A lot of Dubs on here saying we are insulting the Dublin players most of us arent they are fantastic athletes and I think some of them in particular are excellent ambassadors for the game

Bernard brogan insulted every single intercounty player outside of Dublin with his aspersions that they simply do not give enough and Dublin players give more. Sad fact is he completely believes this to be true

galwayfball (Galway) - Posts: 1678 - 06/12/2020 17:52:14    2319353

The thing Brogan and his buddies can't even fathom is the amount of travelling players from other counties have to do for training. His analysis is so lazy it's not even funny.

TheFlaker (Mayo) - Posts: 7893 - 06/12/2020 18:04:44    2319361

Replying To galwayfball:  "Great post . Every kid deserves the same funding. How can anyone argue with that

Gareth Bradshaw a man from my own club has given his all for the maroon and white over the years. He gives everything he has sacrificed family time for over a decade.But Brogan says he doesn't give enough. I've seen the effort he has put in and every other member of the panel gives the same or they would be gone

A lot of Dubs on here saying we are insulting the Dublin players most of us arent they are fantastic athletes and I think some of them in particular are excellent ambassadors for the game

Bernard brogan insulted every single intercounty player outside of Dublin with his aspersions that they simply do not give enough and Dublin players give more. Sad fact is he completely believes this to be true"
Yes Bradshaw is a great example of the player I was thinking of when I say I hate that stuff that Brogan came out with. Dublin players work incredibly hard of course, make sacrifices like everyone else, doctors in that team for example that's massive commitment. But are lads driving 7 -8 hours round trip from Galway to Ballybofey for training on a Tuesday night for example. Implying that lads from other counties don't work as hard is just an insult and pure pure guff, I hate it and like I said I've great admiration for these Dublin players I do think they are brilliant ambassadors for the GAA. Dublin players, management and fans can make arguments defending their senior men's team achievements without insulting the rest of us with that lazy nonsense. I had a lot of admiration for Brogan as a player but he's gone down in my estimation if that's the route he's going to go down now in retirement.

JoeSoap (Donegal) - Posts: 1432 - 06/12/2020 18:17:24    2319374

Replying To Ulsterchamps_32:  "It's hard to read this and not think of it's a bit of a cry-baby attitude and particularly because you're from meath. Maybe the gaa went too far in the overall funding for dublin and Sean Kelly was advocating stopping the extra funding for dublin and use it to fund others. Though even already they have started to reinvigorate the dublin suburban counties via the east leinster project. Why this only included meath, kildare, louth and wicklow and not the other counties in leinster I don't know, but from a meath point of view it did.

Perhaps the first green shoots are showing as meath beat dublin well in minors before lockdown. It will take a number of years to catch the current dublin team but meath have no real excuses, other than not being up to the challenge and just giving up. In addition to the funding Meath have a population of 200,000 odd now and that should be more than enough to compete. They are not hampered the way the western counties are with emigration and migration to the east coast. They also have a pride and history in the game.

The complaining about afl strikes me of more whinging. If Conor Nash was still in ireland there is a very good chance he'd be with leinster rugby and not with meath. He seems like a fella who really wants to play professional sport. Although dublin have not many out in the afl James madden is out there at the minute. I suppose whatever about other counties meath are a county that needs to buck up."
Very much alive. Locally, club scene is vibrant in Tyrone, and there's better football played at club level than at county level and it's crazy competitive. And the covid working from home thing, if it continues to some extent, will assist in revitalizing rural communities. I see club football as essential, and county football as a nice bonus. If county football fell apart, I'd miss it, but it wouldn't be the end of the world. But I can hardly imagine a world without club football.

essmac (Tyrone) - Posts: 1141 - 06/12/2020 18:27:15    2319380

Mayo should be able to handle Dublin

maroondiesel (Mayo) - Posts: 1196 - 06/12/2020 18:39:46    2319388