Football Is Finished

Replying To tonguey:  "You'd imagine a limerick person would know about being next door to professional with the hurling set up they have and endless money pouring into the thing. You see the problem is just because it's not explicitly stated that this is a professional outfit people can't see past that.

For example people say the GAA is an amateur organisation, so does anybody in the whole organisation gets paid?!?!? It's silly. It's not amateur and has been on the verge of professionalism for some time. Managers, administrators, coaches, physios, assistant goalkeeping coaches all get paid.

So just because Dublin say they're amateur doesn't mean they are. Yes I'm sure they all have jobs or are in college but again that is being too rigid in the professionalism definition. What people mean is that the amount of money being spent on Dublin and being given to Dublin is of an amount that renders them professional. They have a professional set up, not professional players but they have access to all those professional structures which were largely funded by central gaa money! that is not Dublin's fault but that is the difference.

Other counties simply do not have that luxury."
That some people get paid doesnt mean the association is then professional.
College sport in the US is amateur yet the coaches are some of the highest paid people in the country.

The top level of the sport hasnt been on the verge of professionalism for some time
The money being spent on Dublin doesnt mean the players are professional.
Most of the other counties or at least players have access to top class facilities as much as the dubs.

KillingFields (Limerick) - Posts: 3494 - 21/12/2020 17:36:31    2325154

Replying To tonguey:  "You'd imagine a limerick person would know about being next door to professional with the hurling set up they have and endless money pouring into the thing. You see the problem is just because it's not explicitly stated that this is a professional outfit people can't see past that.

For example people say the GAA is an amateur organisation, so does anybody in the whole organisation gets paid?!?!? It's silly. It's not amateur and has been on the verge of professionalism for some time. Managers, administrators, coaches, physios, assistant goalkeeping coaches all get paid.

So just because Dublin say they're amateur doesn't mean they are. Yes I'm sure they all have jobs or are in college but again that is being too rigid in the professionalism definition. What people mean is that the amount of money being spent on Dublin and being given to Dublin is of an amount that renders them professional. They have a professional set up, not professional players but they have access to all those professional structures which were largely funded by central gaa money! that is not Dublin's fault but that is the difference.

Limericks set up is nothing on a professional teams.
Compare it to what Munster Rugby do in the city.
Compare what Dublin do to Leinster.
They are not near comparable.
The GAA is an amateur organisation but that doesnt at all mean or should it mean that nobody can or should be paid,.

All the physios are paid for the services they provide to the teams involved. Theyre not employees of the teams/counties/clubs.

The money spent on Dublin doesnt mean they are a professional sports team. Most counties have a top level set up with top class facilities, very good coaches, support staff.
Just look at so many of the county centre of excellences. Like Kerry, Mayo etc.

KillingFields (Limerick) - Posts: 3494 - 21/12/2020 17:48:20    2325159

Replying To avonali:  "so ..ehh they're not professional but they're actually professional....hmmmm..."
As mentioned some people can't understand. We try To explain but it's impossible for some to comprehend. But never mind. Keep taking the millions from the GAA and keep winning your one team competition. And keep telling yourself it's a level playing field. You might even believe it some day.

the creeler (Cavan) - Posts: 512 - 21/12/2020 18:26:41    2325175

Replying To lilylanger:  "Every county is professional when measured against Wicklow Carlow & Leitrim."
And you're from Kildare???? Who couldn't get near the worst Meath team ever put out!!

the creeler (Cavan) - Posts: 512 - 21/12/2020 18:27:17    2325176

Replying To Joxer:  "But this is just more waffle of course. McStay, a Mayo man, stated that Mayo were just as prepared S&C wise as Dublin and have access to top class facilities and coaches. So can you pinpoint what is underpinning this "professionalism" that you keep banging on about because if you can't then you are just waffling-on trying to make a point with nothing to substantiate it. "Money" blah, blah, blah "professionalism" blah, blah, blah. It's just words."
Oh well if mcstay said it it has to be true. Analysts are never ever wrong. Why then did Mayo tire in the last ten mins but Dublin didn't???

the creeler (Cavan) - Posts: 512 - 21/12/2020 18:28:06    2325177

Replying To KillingFields:  "Limericks set up is nothing on a professional teams.
They are not near comparable.
The GAA is an amateur organisation but that doesnt at all mean or should it mean that nobody can or should be paid,.

All the physios are paid for the services they provide to the teams involved. Theyre not employees of the teams/counties/clubs.

The money spent on Dublin doesnt mean they are a professional sports team. Most counties have a top level set up with top class facilities, very good coaches, support staff.
Just look at so many of the county centre of excellences. Like Kerry, Mayo etc."
Sure even leitrim have a centre of excellence. What's your point?! You're say limericks set up is not comparable to Dublin but then Dublin is not next door to professional?? Contradictory fair to say.

the creeler (Cavan) - Posts: 512 - 21/12/2020 18:29:49    2325180

Ya I know what you're saying, Mark O'Connor from my own club is a professional Aussie rules player with Geelong and he's also going to college doing a degree in business, so going to college doesn't stop him from being a professional footballer.

KingdomBoy1 (Kerry) - Posts: 14092 - 21/12/2020 18:36:11    2325182

Replying To football first:  "Just wondering, when exactly in the "old days" are referring to? Football has evolved constantly over the decades. I played inter-county in the 1980s (is that "old" enough??) and the standard in Division 4 was muck - I wouldn't want to go back there! In the previous decade, I remember Kerry scoring 9-21 in a championship game v Clare; and Clare's score of 1-9 with the biggest Kerry conceded in the championship that year. Wouldn't want to be going back there either.

Looking back over the record books, in 1927 Kildare beat Kerry 0-5 to 0-3: doesn't look like much free-flowing football played there? Laois failed to score in the 1889 final - not much good forward play on show there either? People said football was dead in 1980 and 81 due to Kerry's dominance, and the 80 final was a dour affair.

Skill levels today are so much better at all levels. Appreciate the beauty of what we have..."
Which skill levels are better? The best of our players go out against an Australian team that practise with the round ball for a few weeks before the international rules games and are given an embarrassing exhibition by the Australians on how to accurately kick the ball 30-40 yards to a team mates chest and routinely beat them too on the scoreboard.
I don't see any beauty in a so called great team passing a ball back from midfield to the goalkeeper and tippy tappying it while they wait for an opponent to come tackle them.

republicofcloone (Leitrim) - Posts: 375 - 21/12/2020 18:57:29    2325195

Replying To tonguey:  "Sure even leitrim have a centre of excellence. What's your point?! You're say limericks set up is not comparable to Dublin but then Dublin is not next door to professional?? Contradictory fair to say."
Where is the contradiction?
Limerick and Dublin have very good set ups in place but they arent a patch on full time professional teams.

KillingFields (Limerick) - Posts: 3494 - 21/12/2020 19:04:59    2325197

Replying To KingdomBoy1:  "Ya I know what you're saying, Mark O'Connor from my own club is a professional Aussie rules player with Geelong and he's also going to college doing a degree in business, so going to college doesn't stop him from being a professional footballer."
Very difficult to get that message across here though! Sure even professional soccer clubs send young lads to college!

the creeler (Cavan) - Posts: 512 - 21/12/2020 19:08:46    2325199

Replying To lilylanger:  "Every county is professional when measured against Wicklow Carlow & Leitrim."
Well Carlow beat ye in 2018 so what does that say for your lot? Leitrim and Carlow also have better county grounds than yours, what does that say about Kildare professionalism?

republicofcloone (Leitrim) - Posts: 375 - 21/12/2020 19:24:17    2325208

Replying To KingdomBoy1:  "Ya I know what you're saying, Mark O'Connor from my own club is a professional Aussie rules player with Geelong and he's also going to college doing a degree in business, so going to college doesn't stop him from being a professional footballer."
Mark O'Connor gets paid to play. He is a professional footballer.

lilylanger (Kildare) - Posts: 758 - 21/12/2020 19:38:30    2325212

Replying To republicofcloone:  "Well Carlow beat ye in 2018 so what does that say for your lot? Leitrim and Carlow also have better county grounds than yours, what does that say about Kildare professionalism?"
Try to stay on point.

lilylanger (Kildare) - Posts: 758 - 21/12/2020 19:42:35    2325213

Replying To KillingFields:  "Where is the contradiction?
Limerick and Dublin have very good set ups in place but they arent a patch on full time professional teams."
"Limericks set up is nothing on a professional teams.

You say limericks set up is nothing on a professional team and then you say compare what Dublin do to Leinster.

Why are you comparing limerick and Dublin if Dublin aren't next to professional? Surely limerick and Dublin should be the same but you say compare limerick to what Dublin do to Leinster.

If limerick aren't professional why are you comparing them to Dublin who also "are not professional?" Surely you should have compared them To a professional team! That is the contradiction my friend

the creeler (Cavan) - Posts: 512 - 21/12/2020 19:45:29    2325214

Replying To tonguey:  ""Limericks set up is nothing on a professional teams.

You say limericks set up is nothing on a professional team and then you say compare what Dublin do to Leinster.

Why are you comparing limerick and Dublin if Dublin aren't next to professional? Surely limerick and Dublin should be the same but you say compare limerick to what Dublin do to Leinster.

If limerick aren't professional why are you comparing them to Dublin who also "are not professional?" Surely you should have compared them To a professional team! That is the contradiction my friend"
What Dublin do isnt a patch on any of the provinces. The rest and recovery the pro's do is miles more than anything Dublin, Limerick or any inter county side do.
I compared Limerick to Munster and Dublin to Leinster. Neither county sides are a patch on the pro sides for what they do in training, the r&r players have.

KillingFields (Limerick) - Posts: 3494 - 21/12/2020 19:52:40    2325217

Replying To tonguey:  "Oh well if mcstay said it it has to be true. Analysts are never ever wrong. Why then did Mayo tire in the last ten mins but Dublin didn't???"
Because they are fitter. Simple really. It's not rocket science; there's no s&c gap.

avonali (Dublin) - Posts: 1974 - 21/12/2020 20:07:23    2325221

Replying To avonali:  "Because they are fitter. Simple really. It's not rocket science; there's no s&c gap."
But why are they fitter if all teams do the same training??????

the creeler (Cavan) - Posts: 512 - 21/12/2020 20:32:13    2325228

Replying To republicofcloone:  "Well Carlow beat ye in 2018 so what does that say for your lot? Leitrim and Carlow also have better county grounds than yours, what does that say about Kildare professionalism?"
Kildare and professionalism don't exactly fit in the same sentence! But then again the GAA as we all know is an amateur organisation so fair play to them for sticking to the amateur ethos

the creeler (Cavan) - Posts: 512 - 21/12/2020 20:46:41    2325235

Replying To tonguey:  "Oh well if mcstay said it it has to be true. Analysts are never ever wrong. Why then did Mayo tire in the last ten mins but Dublin didn't???"
Yes NcStay, a Mayo man born in Castlebar, played for Mayo for 7 years, won 2 Connacht titles, has 1 all star, led Mayo U21s to a Connacht title, Roscommon Gaels to a title and St Brigids to an AI title and Roscommon seniors to a Connaught title. He's a football analyst and writes articles on football for the national press. But sure what would Kevin McStay know about Mayo GAA over a Kerryman masquerading as a Cavan man and posting on a GAA forum. G'wan outta dat with your "professionalism".

Joxer (Dublin) - Posts: 4700 - 21/12/2020 20:47:29    2325236

Replying To tonguey:  "But why are they fitter if all teams do the same training??????"
You say teams are doing same training but its very simple. Some teams are fitter.
Just like pro soccer, pro rugby and any other sport.
Theyre fitter.

KillingFields (Limerick) - Posts: 3494 - 21/12/2020 20:49:56    2325240