Limerick against Waterford. All Ireland Hurling Final 2020

Replying To Oldtourman:  "(1) Why would I want to divulge that to you
(2) JP is a modest decent man who followed Limerick hurling long before he ever became a rich man
(3) His sponsorship of Limerick GAA gives him no commercial benefit whatsoever
(4) He made a substantial once off financial grant to every GAA Co Board in the country some time ago
(5) He supports several other worthy causes, both inside and outside of limerick, apart at all from the GAA
(6) From 1910 to 1940 Limerick won Five All Ireland Finals, ten Munster titles and five National Leagues in a row (a record unequalled and in that period played played in eight Munster Finals in a row, also a record unequalled). And you know Katie, JP was even born for years after, never mind being a millionaire.
(7)Why would he give money to your County Board anyway, when there was a big a bust up among them selves a while ago as to where money went.
(8) Are you saying that there is no Galwayman or woman with serious money who with such wonderful altruism is willing willing to pump a few bob into Galway hurling or is only Limerick men like the young Collisons or JP who are real billionaires.
(9) and finally it is Mr McManus's business what he does with his own money"
Typical response from you......jumping back to the 1900's which has nothing to do what so ever with the question.
I heard atleast 50million

katser (Galway) - Posts: 2195 - 16/12/2020 16:28:17    2322935

Replying To slayer:  "Katser you're missing the point. In 2009 in the semi final, one of our players ran into Tipp's Conor O'Mahony and got blown back about three weeks. We had a manager from outside Limerick then who was obviously costing us money. We had had a few of those up to that point, all of who tried their best for us. We changed approach after that.

We realised we had to invest in other areas apart from paying a manager. Would you rather see money invested in a high cost manager or into the players? I've enjoyed seeing Cork men manage us and we have learned a great deal from them, but seeing a Limerick Management team, investment in coaching, conditioning and closing the gap that existed in 2009 has given immense satisfaction.

No doubt JP has helped, but a lot of work, trust and co-operation has led us to this point, not just money. Some of the lads in the Limerick backroom team are lads I went to school with and their contribution to Limerick's success makes me as proud as could be. I know they're doing it for the love of our county, for self belief and climbing the mountain so to speak. They're not in it for money.

It costs about 1.5 - 2M euro to run a top class inter county team per annum. Wexford came within a point of the 2019 All-Ireland final. Had they won it then would you be giving out about them now? They too have spent big, they just haven't got the breaks Limerick did.

Talking money is a one dimensional way of looking at it."
Thank you for you "honest " response
Here is the "million " dollar Question.......Would LK have won the All Ireland without Mr. McManus's generous help?

katser (Galway) - Posts: 2195 - 16/12/2020 16:54:40    2322943

Replying To katser:  "Thank you for you "honest " response
Here is the "million " dollar Question.......Would LK have won the All Ireland without Mr. McManus's generous help?"
Hard to know Katser.

I know we wouldn't have won it without the players who played last Sunday.

slayer (Limerick) - Posts: 6480 - 16/12/2020 16:58:09    2322944

Here is the "million " dollar Question.......Would LK have won the All Ireland without Mr. McManus's generous help?"
yes....and go bk into your cave for the winter.

munsterchamps (Limerick) - Posts: 1097 - 16/12/2020 17:02:47    2322946

Replying To katser:  "Typical response from you......jumping back to the 1900's which has nothing to do what so ever with the question.
I heard atleast 50million"
Katser, the GAA was founded in 1884, the same association still exists today. My county colleague makes a valid point.

If you read oldtourman's posts you'll actually learn a lot. I certainly do whenever he posts.

slayer (Limerick) - Posts: 6480 - 16/12/2020 17:03:27    2322947

Replying To slayer:  "Hard to know Katser.

I know we wouldn't have won it without the players who played last Sunday."
Let's be honest here....alot of money has been pumped into LK hurling by the aforementioned, and there is no way LK would have won anything without that generosity.
LK would still be going around in circles getting nowhere like back in '00,'01,'02 when they won 3 u21's and nothing happened.

katser (Galway) - Posts: 2195 - 16/12/2020 17:13:26    2322950

Replying To katser:  "Let's be honest here....alot of money has been pumped into LK hurling by the aforementioned, and there is no way LK would have won anything without that generosity.
LK would still be going around in circles getting nowhere like back in '00,'01,'02 when they won 3 u21's and nothing happened."
Great isn't it.
Woohoo..........

ALL IRELAND CHAMPIONS 2020

skillet (Limerick) - Posts: 1062 - 16/12/2020 17:27:30    2322953

Replying To katser:  "Let's be honest here....alot of money has been pumped into LK hurling by the aforementioned, and there is no way LK would have won anything without that generosity.
LK would still be going around in circles getting nowhere like back in '00,'01,'02 when they won 3 u21's and nothing happened."
Limerick have the best players and the strongest players in the country, fostered by the schools and the academy.

fainleog (Limerick) - Posts: 598 - 16/12/2020 17:27:55    2322954

Replying To slayer:  "Katser, the GAA was founded in 1884, the same association still exists today. My county colleague makes a valid point.

If you read oldtourman's posts you'll actually learn a lot. I certainly do whenever he posts."
Slayer, with respect.. There's no point. I know you've got 1000s of posts on here over the years but you've probably never engaged much with Kathy.

She's so obsessed with knocking, putting down and in essence writing sh**e about our hurlers it's bizarre.. It kills her that we've been successful over the last few years. Even before we beat Galway in 2018 her posts re Limerick were a bit nuts.

This whole money thing is just another attempt at stirring it.

Trying to have a reasonable discussion with her about Limerick hurling is a bit like trying to discuss why a united Ireland is a good idea with the DUP..

In fact, you've have better luck with the Orangemen.

skillet (Limerick) - Posts: 1062 - 16/12/2020 17:54:06    2322960

Simple. Why cant ye get an equally rich Galway individual, or group of them, who love their county enough to grant an equal amount in their generosity. As I said JP can do what he likes with his money.
As regards winning under 21 titles Galway have more of them than us in the last years and yet ye have no more than us at Senior

Oldtourman (Limerick) - Posts: 4321 - 16/12/2020 18:42:23    2322970

Let's be honest Katser the money the McManus fella gave them only brought their underage structures up to the level yours have been at all Millenium. Ye have won more minors than anyone else. Your minor team looked like a bunch of giants when we played them last year. Maybe instead of running down Limericks success you should ask yourself why Michael Donoghue quit and why there wasnt a long queue of lads wanting to take over. You are blessed with great hurlers and have been for the last decade. If you are sore that you havent won more all Irelands and you think money is why this is then you should get up away from the keyboard and go fundraising and make a positive contribution to your countys fortunes. Sure if you set up a set of stocks inside in Limerick City and let people throw rotten tomatoes at you for a fiver a pop you would make a few hundred thousand for Galway GAA in a weekend judging by the posts on this.

Viking66 (Wexford) - Posts: 11849 - 16/12/2020 18:51:19    2322971

For Christ Sake Your county won more Under 21 and Minor All Ireland between 1990 and 2016, that Limerick ever did and you won no more All Irelands that them. Anyway why are you so obsessed with limerick-Cork Kilkenny, Dublin and Kerry, among others, have been far more consistently supported by very rich organisations and have had a bigger number of a playing pool available to them than Limerick ever had.
The simple fact that comes across is that you are a very sore loser, who cannot cope with the fact that a county, with at best half the number of people playing hurling that yours have have beaten your beloved Galway four times in a row.

Oldtourman (Limerick) - Posts: 4321 - 16/12/2020 18:53:08    2322972

If you were to ask Tom Ryan he would say yes.

DUALSUPPORT (Limerick) - Posts: 1038 - 16/12/2020 19:03:03    2322976

Replying To katser:  "Typical response from you......jumping back to the 1900's which has nothing to do what so ever with the question.
Who told you that? Some lad in a pud?? There is huge money poured into several other counties as well. The fact is JP did not score the fantastic touch line points that were scored by Limerick in Croke Park last Sunday. You were quick to go on about the two All Ireland in 79 years, but when I bring up stuff about a slightly earlier period in the 1900s you don't want to hear it- of course you don't, it does not suit your arguments.

Oldtourman (Limerick) - Posts: 4321 - 16/12/2020 19:03:28    2322977

I made nine points and only one of them referred to our glorious achievements in the first half on the Twentieth Century. As usual you failed to address any of the other 8.

Oldtourman (Limerick) - Posts: 4321 - 16/12/2020 19:06:17    2322978

Replying To Viking66:  "Let's be honest Katser the money the McManus fella gave them only brought their underage structures up to the level yours have been at all Millenium. Ye have won more minors than anyone else. Your minor team looked like a bunch of giants when we played them last year. Maybe instead of running down Limericks success you should ask yourself why Michael Donoghue quit and why there wasnt a long queue of lads wanting to take over. You are blessed with great hurlers and have been for the last decade. If you are sore that you havent won more all Irelands and you think money is why this is then you should get up away from the keyboard and go fundraising and make a positive contribution to your countys fortunes. Sure if you set up a set of stocks inside in Limerick City and let people throw rotten tomatoes at you for a fiver a pop you would make a few hundred thousand for Galway GAA in a weekend judging by the posts on this."
Spoken like a true Viking- brilliant. God, I just loves a man who talks a bit of sense. I presume your an entrepreneurial gentleman in the light of your splendid final suggestion.

Oldtourman (Limerick) - Posts: 4321 - 16/12/2020 19:45:24    2322992

Replying To skillet:  "Slayer, with respect.. There's no point. I know you've got 1000s of posts on here over the years but you've probably never engaged much with Kathy.

She's so obsessed with knocking, putting down and in essence writing sh**e about our hurlers it's bizarre.. It kills her that we've been successful over the last few years. Even before we beat Galway in 2018 her posts re Limerick were a bit nuts.

This whole money thing is just another attempt at stirring it.

Trying to have a reasonable discussion with her about Limerick hurling is a bit like trying to discuss why a united Ireland is a good idea with the DUP..

In fact, you've have better luck with the Orangemen."
Indeed.

Time to bow out of this debate gracefully :-)

slayer (Limerick) - Posts: 6480 - 16/12/2020 20:31:17    2323005

50 million :) :) :) what planet are you on

McFan88 (Limerick) - Posts: 447 - 17/12/2020 09:51:12    2323070

Replying To McFan88:  "50 million :) :) :) what planet are you on"
He 'heard' that from the same lad that told him that Galway would get five goals against Limerick.

Oldtourman (Limerick) - Posts: 4321 - 17/12/2020 11:53:46    2323101

I've never came across a more bitter crowd than LK.
I haven't said one bad word about them and I've no problem with them...there are after winning the All Ireland and they still aren't happy.
Oldtourman is still banging on about the Semi Final where the life was frightened out of them!
Actually that 50million remark came from someone down within the LK SouthBoard area.

katser (Galway) - Posts: 2195 - 17/12/2020 12:45:41    2323118