Limerick against Waterford. All Ireland Hurling Final 2020

Replying To Oldtourman:  "LOL. A team gets 10 points from play in an All Ireland Semi Final and fails to draw a single save from the opposition goalkeeper and one of their supporters lectures a team that got 24 points from play, and from all angles and distances, in an All Ireland Final about been boring.. You could not make it up."
I was very disappointed with Waterford and I thought they would offer more but when one is dependent on a free Taker to get the majority of scores in a All Ireland Final...well its obvious that team won't win.
Also their marking was terrible and its very easy to score like Morrissey and Hegarty when nobody is within 5yards of them.
Anybody can score when their is nobody near you.
P.S.... What has the Semi Final got to do with it?
Because LK stuttered over the line with pure panic.

katser (Galway) - Posts: 2193 - 15/12/2020 10:18:42    2322533

Replying To Canuck:  "Or what exactly does the assistant goalie coach do to help the goalie coach to coach the goalie ? What does the the goalie coach and assistant goalie coach together do to coach the goalie ? Maybe all three hold a 8 X 4 sheet of plywood in the goal to keep the ball out during training. Practicing puck outs the assistant (lowest on the totem pole) is the target for the goalie to hit and the coach keeps count of hits."
What does the goalkeeping coach do is the question, why need an assistant. Goalkeepers are a specialised player, your primary job is to keep goal for their team. That is to save shots at goal, in recent times keepers are required to place kick outs accurately to colleagues. Free taking has been added to the keeper's duties recently as well.
I remember in the old health boards, a colleague was appointed assistant financial accountant. When queried the reply from management was 'he assists the financial accountant'. Never figured out what that meant. So it is the same with assistant goalkeeping coach. Why have all these add ons with county teams nowadays.? It all comes down to skill in the end.

MicktheMiller (Offaly) - Posts: 421 - 15/12/2020 10:40:20    2322537

Replying To Oldtourman:  "At least Katser we beat a full Waterford team. apart from Tadgh de Burca, a man of limerick parents anyway, not one that had issues with suspension controversies, injuries and Jamie Barron, their best player against Kilkenny that year having to go off early due to having been been ill all week."
What has him got limerick parents got to do with it Hahaha

Irishcelt (Wicklow) - Posts: 149 - 15/12/2020 10:41:47    2322538

Replying To Irishcelt:  "What has him got limerick parents got to do with it Hahaha"
The old genes you know. In a letter to the Sunday Independent last Sunday a Waterford lady of grace and charm thanked Limerick for 'gifting' Tadgh's parents to Clashmore and Waterford.

Oldtourman (Limerick) - Posts: 4321 - 15/12/2020 12:23:20    2322577

Replying To tonguey:  "Well that's true. You're so wise. So if o Connor brings in two goalkeeping coaches ye will win the all ireland?!? Limerick mustn't have had them last year but did the year before!? Funny that"
Well seen as how I have zero interest in kildare football he could do what he wants I suppose.

Bon (Kildare) - Posts: 1908 - 15/12/2020 12:52:48    2322589

Replying To Oldtourman:  "The old genes you know. In a letter to the Sunday Independent last Sunday a Waterford lady of grace and charm thanked Limerick for 'gifting' Tadgh's parents to Clashmore and Waterford."
I think his mother is from the Kerry Gaeltacht, not Limerick.

WanPintWin (Galway) - Posts: 2040 - 15/12/2020 12:57:43    2322591

Replying To Oldtourman:  "LOL. A team gets 10 points from play in an All Ireland Semi Final and fails to draw a single save from the opposition goalkeeper and one of their supporters lectures a team that got 24 points from play, and from all angles and distances, in an All Ireland Final about been boring.. You could not make it up."
Why do you even react to Katser, his only aim is to wind people up, and he obviously manages that. At the end of the day Limerick are a serious outfit, and I can say with some jealousy that I wish my own county were as driven as this current Limerick team. When Galway swept all before them in 2017 (albeit falling over the line in the final) I thought we might get a few more All Irelands out of this side, but sadly that is now unlikely to happen. You look at how much Limerick were hurting from last year and how determined they were to recapture the Mc Carthy Cup, which as we just saw they did in some style. Yet you look at Galway with enough hurt to last a lifetime, and they still always fail to come back the following year, maybe we just don't do hurt in Galway like other counties. So congrats to Limerick, and hopefully that great Limerick man Shane O'Neill can pass on some of that Limerick motivation and determination to his Galway players.

gilly1910 (Galway) - Posts: 170 - 15/12/2020 13:16:36    2322600

Replying To katser:  "I was very disappointed with Waterford and I thought they would offer more but when one is dependent on a free Taker to get the majority of scores in a All Ireland Final...well its obvious that team won't win.
Also their marking was terrible and its very easy to score like Morrissey and Hegarty when nobody is within 5yards of them.
Because LK stuttered over the line with pure panic."
Because you didn't fall asleep during the semi final. There is no point in discussing a match with a woman who fell asleep during it. That's what the semi final has to do with it.

foreveryoung (USA) - Posts: 1910 - 15/12/2020 13:49:52    2322616

Replying To gilly1910:  "Why do you even react to Katser, his only aim is to wind people up, and he obviously manages that. At the end of the day Limerick are a serious outfit, and I can say with some jealousy that I wish my own county were as driven as this current Limerick team. When Galway swept all before them in 2017 (albeit falling over the line in the final) I thought we might get a few more All Irelands out of this side, but sadly that is now unlikely to happen. You look at how much Limerick were hurting from last year and how determined they were to recapture the Mc Carthy Cup, which as we just saw they did in some style. Yet you look at Galway with enough hurt to last a lifetime, and they still always fail to come back the following year, maybe we just don't do hurt in Galway like other counties. So congrats to Limerick, and hopefully that great Limerick man Shane O'Neill can pass on some of that Limerick motivation and determination to his Galway players."
He? A rudimentary linguistic analysis of Katser's posts quickly reveal that she is not a he, but a girl. Thankfully, the Galway people I know are more like you Gilly and not like her.

foreveryoung (USA) - Posts: 1910 - 15/12/2020 13:52:40    2322618

Some very unfair posts about Waterford's team in this thread.

For over 20 years Waterford have been a credit to the GAA, bringing immense colour, passion and competition to the game. They were fantastic to watch under Gerald & Justin McCarthy, unlucky to meet Kilkenny & Tipp in big games under Davy and Liam cahill and Michael Bevans have overseen a tournaround of immense proportions. To go from eight losses out of eight in 2018/2019 to Munster & All Ireland finalists in 2020 takes a lot of skill.

They deserve more respect than what has been mentioned.

slayer (Limerick) - Posts: 6480 - 15/12/2020 13:58:59    2322621

Replying To McFan88:  "Not sure if you're ball hopping here - only 2 top division rugby clubs - Munsters and Garryowen. Shannon play in the second tier, Bohs and Crescent play in the third tier, none of the three are promotion contenders. Not sure what point you're making by listing off a few junior clubs that scrape teams together? All of these teams used to have a first team, second/junior team and a third team, now they can barely scrape second teams - surely you can accept the serious decline even in the last 10 years?

Leaving aside hurling which has far more adult players lets address your comment "Gaelic football is played by no one in the city". Using your logic by naming lower league teams, and excluding rural clubs that compete in the city division: Monaleen, Na Piarsaigh and Claughan all senior, St Pats and Mungret have strong intermediate teams, Monaleen have 3 different adult football teams, NaP have 2, Pats have 2, Mungret have 2, Abbey Sarsfields have 1, Ballinacurra Gaels have 1, Claughan have 1.

Easier to follow my point on participation? Again - per my original post, not claiming that participation is a true indicator of support/popularity but its valid to note the decline in rugby."
Id take your overall point that there is a decline in Rugby in the city. Its noticeable. Id love if more young fellas played hurling in the city. There's no matching the facilities of Garryowen FC , Shannon ect and the prospect of playing professionally. I dont subscribe that rugby is a threat or any of that carry on. Its a great sport and as integral to Limerick as Hurling. There's room for all. I ll take your point about gaelic football. I never knew Claughaun were senior. But Gaelic football is a sport I dont think any athletic kid will choose over rugby.
Hurling is in a good place but I feel now is the time to push on. The St Pats, Old Christians, Ballinacurra and Claughaun merger should really go ahead...a superclub just focused on hurling could really be a lasting testament to this period of success...

bloodyban (Limerick) - Posts: 1710 - 15/12/2020 14:10:23    2322626

Replying To katser:  "I was very disappointed with Waterford and I thought they would offer more but when one is dependent on a free Taker to get the majority of scores in a All Ireland Final...well its obvious that team won't win.
To be honest we were as good as we were allowed to by a much better team. I won't say the score was flattering to Limerick in any attempt to taker away from them. A double digit defeat always looks bad. However we had at least another certain 5 points when forced to go for goals as the game was slipping away. Before half time when Gleeson got hit in the privates that turned out to be a two point (the ball went down field and a point) swing as it has to be a free and the nonsense of the commentator dismissing that because it was not intent. A line ball played and sent over the bar called back for some reason. (may be ligit) It could have been level at half time which would definitely been flattering to Waterford.
Congratulations again to Limerick a super team that I believe still had another gear. Thank god we got out of there without a heftier defeat. Watch out for some new young players who are ready to come into our team next year. Success is never guaranteed though and we are living testimony to that.

Canuck (Waterford) - Posts: 2660 - 15/12/2020 14:12:44    2322627

Shane Bennett, Maurice Shanahan, Padraig Mahony, Noel Connors are surely good enough to get on the Waterford panel. If they were part of the squad next year would add a lot to Waterford.

hopballref (Galway) - Posts: 377 - 15/12/2020 14:31:24    2322637

Replying To hopballref:  "Shane Bennett, Maurice Shanahan, Padraig Mahony, Noel Connors are surely good enough to get on the Waterford panel. If they were part of the squad next year would add a lot to Waterford."
It is hard to know. Shane Bennett probably the best of his family. Can't find out why he won't play. It is said he wants to concentrate on his career. There is always more to it. Maurice has been the best forward in the Waterford championship for the last two years, racking up tremendous scores. I don't think he has the wheels to do what Liam wants. Great respect for Pauric. Does he contribute enough a part from frees? Stephen does both as well as often clearing off his own goal line. Pauric will be back but maybe a new role ? Noel still one of the best corner backs in the game at 29. The man you would think you would want around young Prunty. McNulty can play further out. Rumour has it that Noel said the wrong things when contacted by Liam. Liam hinted he does not have the pace. However try getting past him and getting your shot in.

Canuck (Waterford) - Posts: 2660 - 15/12/2020 15:07:15    2322647

Replying To gilly1910:  "Why do you even react to Katser, his only aim is to wind people up, and he obviously manages that. At the end of the day Limerick are a serious outfit, and I can say with some jealousy that I wish my own county were as driven as this current Limerick team. When Galway swept all before them in 2017 (albeit falling over the line in the final) I thought we might get a few more All Irelands out of this side, but sadly that is now unlikely to happen. You look at how much Limerick were hurting from last year and how determined they were to recapture the Mc Carthy Cup, which as we just saw they did in some style. Yet you look at Galway with enough hurt to last a lifetime, and they still always fail to come back the following year, maybe we just don't do hurt in Galway like other counties. So congrats to Limerick, and hopefully that great Limerick man Shane O'Neill can pass on some of that Limerick motivation and determination to his Galway players."
I don't know gilly1910. Always thought that club hurling in Tipp, Kilkenny and Galway was tougher than any where else. Always think we play too much of a finesse game. Generally small skilled players who get pushed around at inter county and not going to be allowed the touches against other teams. If Dessie tries tapping the ball over someones head too often like the Clare game he will be having his meals from a stray. Great skill but look out.

Canuck (Waterford) - Posts: 2660 - 15/12/2020 15:33:02    2322656

Replying To Oldtourman:  "At least Katser we beat a full Waterford team. apart from Tadgh de Burca, a man of limerick parents anyway, not one that had issues with suspension controversies, injuries and Jamie Barron, their best player against Kilkenny that year having to go off early due to having been been ill all week."
Just out of curiosity... how much would you say Mr.McManus has "pumped" into LK hurling in the last few years? You seem to "know" everything else!

katser (Galway) - Posts: 2193 - 16/12/2020 11:55:24    2322837

Replying To katser:  "Just out of curiosity... how much would you say Mr.McManus has "pumped" into LK hurling in the last few years? You seem to "know" everything else!"
Katser you're missing the point. In 2009 in the semi final, one of our players ran into Tipp's Conor O'Mahony and got blown back about three weeks. We had a manager from outside Limerick then who was obviously costing us money. We had had a few of those up to that point, all of who tried their best for us. We changed approach after that.

We realised we had to invest in other areas apart from paying a manager. Would you rather see money invested in a high cost manager or into the players? I've enjoyed seeing Cork men manage us and we have learned a great deal from them, but seeing a Limerick Management team, investment in coaching, conditioning and closing the gap that existed in 2009 has given immense satisfaction.

No doubt JP has helped, but a lot of work, trust and co-operation has led us to this point, not just money. Some of the lads in the Limerick backroom team are lads I went to school with and their contribution to Limerick's success makes me as proud as could be. I know they're doing it for the love of our county, for self belief and climbing the mountain so to speak. They're not in it for money.

It costs about 1.5 - 2M euro to run a top class inter county team per annum. Wexford came within a point of the 2019 All-Ireland final. Had they won it then would you be giving out about them now? They too have spent big, they just haven't got the breaks Limerick did.

Talking money is a one dimensional way of looking at it.

slayer (Limerick) - Posts: 6480 - 16/12/2020 14:04:41    2322866

Replying To katser:  "Just out of curiosity... how much would you say Mr.McManus has "pumped" into LK hurling in the last few years? You seem to "know" everything else!"
(1) Why would I want to divulge that to you
(2) JP is a modest decent man who followed Limerick hurling long before he ever became a rich man
(3) His sponsorship of Limerick GAA gives him no commercial benefit whatsoever
(4) He made a substantial once off financial grant to every GAA Co Board in the country some time ago
(5) He supports several other worthy causes, both inside and outside of limerick, apart at all from the GAA
(6) From 1910 to 1940 Limerick won Five All Ireland Finals, ten Munster titles and five National Leagues in a row (a record unequalled and in that period played played in eight Munster Finals in a row, also a record unequalled). And you know Katie, JP was even born for years after, never mind being a millionaire.
(7)Why would he give money to your County Board anyway, when there was a big a bust up among them selves a while ago as to where money went.
(8) Are you saying that there is no Galwayman or woman with serious money who with such wonderful altruism is willing willing to pump a few bob into Galway hurling or is only Limerick men like the young Collisons or JP who are real billionaires.
(9) and finally it is Mr McManus's business what he does with his own money

Oldtourman (Limerick) - Posts: 4321 - 16/12/2020 16:04:01    2322924

Replying To Canuck:  "I don't know gilly1910. Always thought that club hurling in Tipp, Kilkenny and Galway was tougher than any where else. Always think we play too much of a finesse game. Generally small skilled players who get pushed around at inter county and not going to be allowed the touches against other teams. If Dessie tries tapping the ball over someones head too often like the Clare game he will be having his meals from a stray. Great skill but look out."
Well in fairness he flicked the ball over Sean Finn's head in the Munster Final and scored a lovely point and Sean just settled to his task and and with fair but tough marking limited his influence for the rest of the game.

Oldtourman (Limerick) - Posts: 4321 - 16/12/2020 16:14:19    2322928

Musha poor auld Kitty, God help your head. I stayed awake during the Semi Final and from about 20 minutes in there was clearly only to be one winner. Galway came back into it for a minutes near the end but there Lk banged over four points to Galway's one.

Oldtourman (Limerick) - Posts: 4321 - 16/12/2020 16:21:57    2322932