Monaghan GAA thread

Best of luck lads hoping for a cracking game with an Armagh victory of course lol

armaghfan02 (Armagh) - Posts: 39 - 29/06/2023 11:25:42    2490586

Replying To Jjoniel79:  "Rory Beggan;
Conor Boyle,
Kieran Duffy;
Ryan O'Toole,
Ryan McAnespie
Dessie Ward
Karl O'Connell;
Gary Mohan,
Darren Hughes;
Conor McCarthy,
Jack McCarron.
Stephen O'Hanlon;
Karl Gallagher,
Michael Bannigan,
Sean Jones

Now there's a team that'd pin Armagh back. Workers and scorers up top, Jack in space to pick passes/shoot from range. The halfback line would be strong pacy and fit to get back and offer protection to the men best suited to armaghs attack. I reckon Dessie could do a job on a roaming Rian o Neil.

To be honest I think Saturday will tell us a lot about Vinnie's celing as a manager - if he were to start Jack or Conor inside with forker picking them up then it'd be curtains early doors. Forker is like Chrissy McCague, he's too tall, strong, fast and fit all in one for Conor and Jack - he'd do all the attacking/ball carrying for Armagh too and leave the lads nullified in our attacks. If he were to pick up say bannigan, Gallagher or Jones - they'd be well fit to track him or even take him for a spin out the field while we're holding possession to tire him out!"
Whatever about Vinny's ceiling as a manager, I think we've found out a lot about your ceiling as a manager after that post!! McCarthy just had his best ever game in a Monaghan jersey playing as a wing back and you want to move him back to wing forward the next game?!
Lavelle just marked Dan Flynn so I'd be surprised if he was dropped. And I'd guess that he'll get the job of Rian O'Neill (Lavelle got the better of O'Neill in the Ulster Club a few years back, although both players are much different now)
Also, Aidan Forker is surely no taller than 5"11? And if Jack isn't fit to track him, then how on earth is he going to track their even better athletes in the half back line if he lines out #11 like he does in your team?!!!

HB245 (Monaghan) - Posts: 251 - 29/06/2023 11:45:16    2490596

Heart says Monaghan of course. Head says Armagh unfortunately. I just can't see how we can go from the slow and predictable buildup we say against Kildare, and switch into a fast and aggressive running game a week later. As others have said, the speed of the 'counter attack' if you could call it that, against Kildare was so slow as to be embarrassing. You could hear the groans from the stands, every time we got the ball we put the brakes on, and waited, and waited. Even when we were switching the ball from one side of the field to the other, it always seemed to take an extra pass than really necessary, to make the transition. Do that against Armagh, and we will be facing a wall of orange jerseys...Armagh will then turn us over, and either hit early ball in, or run at pace down the middle. I can see them getting a goal or two, and I just don't think we will have the ability to reply.

Put it this way, I think Vinny has more headaches this week trying to figure out how to combat Armagh, than they have about us.

Vinny has had a very successful season 1 by any measure, himself and the younger players will have more days out, but I would dearly love for the likes of Mansy, Karl, Darren, to get a victory in Croke Park in a big game. Whatever we do, I hope we have a really good cut at it - if we go down, let's not go down with a whimper.

moodoo (Monaghan) - Posts: 462 - 29/06/2023 13:13:16    2490619

Replying To moodoo:  "Heart says Monaghan of course. Head says Armagh unfortunately. I just can't see how we can go from the slow and predictable buildup we say against Kildare, and switch into a fast and aggressive running game a week later. As others have said, the speed of the 'counter attack' if you could call it that, against Kildare was so slow as to be embarrassing. You could hear the groans from the stands, every time we got the ball we put the brakes on, and waited, and waited. Even when we were switching the ball from one side of the field to the other, it always seemed to take an extra pass than really necessary, to make the transition. Do that against Armagh, and we will be facing a wall of orange jerseys...Armagh will then turn us over, and either hit early ball in, or run at pace down the middle. I can see them getting a goal or two, and I just don't think we will have the ability to reply.

Put it this way, I think Vinny has more headaches this week trying to figure out how to combat Armagh, than they have about us.

Vinny has had a very successful season 1 by any measure, himself and the younger players will have more days out, but I would dearly love for the likes of Mansy, Karl, Darren, to get a victory in Croke Park in a big game. Whatever we do, I hope we have a really good cut at it - if we go down, let's not go down with a whimper."
"Heart says Monaghan of course. Head says Armagh unfortunately. I just can't see how we can go from the slow and predictable buildup we say against Kildare, and switch into a fast and aggressive running game a week later"...

We did this transition between 1st and 2nd half of game v Tyrone.. :) I see no reason why we can't do it from the start on Saturday.
We seemed to be able to play Derry up in Derry at their own game and should have came away from that game with a victory but Armagh will be very different.
I expect Armagh to continue to play the direct game they played against Galway last week and we should take a similar approach and play them at their own game. We have the forwards to match Armagh's if they let the shackles off.. I'm looking forward to a good game of football hopefully...

SouthMonMan (Monaghan) - Posts: 156 - 29/06/2023 14:08:28    2490636

Replying To SouthMonMan:  ""Heart says Monaghan of course. Head says Armagh unfortunately. I just can't see how we can go from the slow and predictable buildup we say against Kildare, and switch into a fast and aggressive running game a week later"...

We did this transition between 1st and 2nd half of game v Tyrone.. :) I see no reason why we can't do it from the start on Saturday.
We seemed to be able to play Derry up in Derry at their own game and should have came away from that game with a victory but Armagh will be very different.
I expect Armagh to continue to play the direct game they played against Galway last week and we should take a similar approach and play them at their own game. We have the forwards to match Armagh's if they let the shackles off.. I'm looking forward to a good game of football hopefully..."
Monaghan are at their best when they do a lot of kick passing. The Armagh full back line is their Achilles heel so should be tested throughout the 70 mins. Armagh break up counter offensives by fouling so hopefully Conor Lane punishes them for persistent fouling. Armagh set up very strong down the middle so Monaghan need to use the wings for kick outs and attacks. All in all I think its a 50/50 game and hope the Farney team and their fans go full blooded !

expat345 (Monaghan) - Posts: 31 - 29/06/2023 15:24:43    2490673

Replying To SouthMonMan:  ""Heart says Monaghan of course. Head says Armagh unfortunately. I just can't see how we can go from the slow and predictable buildup we say against Kildare, and switch into a fast and aggressive running game a week later"...

I expect Armagh to continue to play the direct game they played against Galway last week and we should take a similar approach and play them at their own game. We have the forwards to match Armagh's if they let the shackles off.. I'm looking forward to a good game of football hopefully..."
Monaghan are at their best when they do a lot of kick passing. The Armagh full back line is their Achilles heel so should be tested throughout the 70 mins. Armagh break up counter offensives by fouling so hopefully Conor Lane punishes them for persistent fouling. Armagh set up very strong down the middle so Monaghan need to use the wings for kick outs and attacks. All in all I think its a 50/50 game and hope the Farney team and their fans go full blooded !

expat345 (Monaghan) - Posts: 31 - 29/06/2023 15:25:18    2490675

Team named. Darren Hughes on bench, Dessie Ward at 15 looks like he will be the one to give way.

Eddie the Exile (Monaghan) - Posts: 1201 - 30/06/2023 14:12:58    2490853

Replying To HB245:  "Whatever about Vinny's ceiling as a manager, I think we've found out a lot about your ceiling as a manager after that post!! McCarthy just had his best ever game in a Monaghan jersey playing as a wing back and you want to move him back to wing forward the next game?!
Lavelle just marked Dan Flynn so I'd be surprised if he was dropped. And I'd guess that he'll get the job of Rian O'Neill (Lavelle got the better of O'Neill in the Ulster Club a few years back, although both players are much different now)
Also, Aidan Forker is surely no taller than 5"11? And if Jack isn't fit to track him, then how on earth is he going to track their even better athletes in the half back line if he lines out #11 like he does in your team?!!!"
I hope you know something I don't but Derry and Armagh play a similar game and Jack was badly exposed the last day out. Forkers height has little to do with the fact that he's one of armaghs main ball carriers and Jack simply can't track elite athletes, forker is too physical and quick for Jack - put simply. In the half forward line he'll be away from forker and won't have as far to go to get back - plus he'll have options in front of him if he picks it up deep. When he tracks back from full forward, there's no full forward…

McCarthy was fantastic the last day out, but he was brilliant up front before his move to the backs and he's clearly one of our main scoring threats so I'd like to play him closer to goal. We've plenty of hard workers who can play in the backs - not many scorers though.

Rian isn't a player I think we should fear - he's not an out and out scorer like Clifford or O'Callaghan - I honestly think Dessie, Duffy, Karl and O'Toole could all do a job on him if they stick to his shirt for the hour

Jjoniel79 (Monaghan) - Posts: 199 - 30/06/2023 15:09:33    2490866

Armagh by 8

drumalee11 (USA) - Posts: 351 - 30/06/2023 16:37:49    2490879

Dont remember monaghan being so written off against an ulster rival. Hopefully we keep it competitive against this great armagh team.

seanie08 (Monaghan) - Posts: 1882 - 30/06/2023 22:11:03    2490910

Safe travels to all.

Let's do this.

Hon.

Knoxboya (Monaghan) - Posts: 369 - 01/07/2023 08:40:18    2490932

Replying To drumalee11:  "Armagh by 8"
Down by 5

prideof85 (Monaghan) - Posts: 851 - 01/07/2023 09:57:39    2490947

Replying To seanie08:  "Dont remember monaghan being so written off against an ulster rival. Hopefully we keep it competitive against this great armagh team."
Monaghan won't be too far off here… Armagh are no great shakes…

ForeverBlue2 (Cavan) - Posts: 3820 - 01/07/2023 10:11:18    2490954

Your good craic ..

stoneygrey (Monaghan) - Posts: 232 - 01/07/2023 10:13:27    2490957

You hope fella, will you and the rest of the Cavan panel be watching from the Bronx

mhunicean_abu (Monaghan) - Posts: 1067 - 01/07/2023 11:05:43    2490962

Best of luck Monaghan both today against Armagh and in the All Ireland minor final against Derry, Monaghan's first All Ireland Minor Football Final appearance since 1939 when they were beaten by Roscommon.

endgame (Roscommon) - Posts: 2401 - 01/07/2023 11:49:17    2490971

Hope Monaghan can silence the doubters today, best of luck and enjoy the game. Monaghan by 1.

Tirchonaill1 (Donegal) - Posts: 3183 - 01/07/2023 12:54:18    2490990

Replying To monaghan_ultra:  "Following on from a thread on the main page about trains to matches, with 3 Ulster teams competing on Saturday taking the train from Dundalk is a useful option for avoiding traffic congestion going into and out of Dublin and also at the M1 Toll Plaza. I booked tickets yesterday and got them for under €13 each way, I checked again this evening and some trains seem to be sold out but there are still a selection of services still available for anyone interested."
Should have listened to ya M1 is a carpark, N2 better option

mhunicean_abu (Monaghan) - Posts: 1067 - 01/07/2023 14:05:23    2491023

on the minors. thought on a team losing to another team twice and still have a chance of beating them in an all ireland final? seems a bit silly and would take away from a victory if ye win

HarriBowe (Laois) - Posts: 27 - 01/07/2023 14:40:53    2491033

Replying To HarriBowe:  "on the minors. thought on a team losing to another team twice and still have a chance of beating them in an all ireland final? seems a bit silly and would take away from a victory if ye win"
Speaking for myself and everybody else from Monaghan - We will not care and it won't take away from the victory in the slightest. If it takes away from the victory in your opinion, I promise you we are not bothered… at all.

HB245 (Monaghan) - Posts: 251 - 01/07/2023 15:32:36    2491052