Monaghan GAA thread

Replying To greysoil:  "Are you Louth or Monaghan?"
Ya not know a part of Kilanny have dual citizenship, all welcome

mhunicean_abu (Monaghan) - Posts: 1067 - 25/06/2023 10:58:48    2489047

Replying To prideof85:  "Just home one of them days that will live long in the memory what more can be said about minors class all over the field and the seniors well we got outta jail but so do a lot of teams thats the nature of sport muineachan abu"
Terrific day altogether for the Farney .
Thoughts turned to Ogie, Brendan and the O'Dufaigh family as the filtered through.

Curlew66 (Roscommon) - Posts: 604 - 25/06/2023 13:22:50    2489080

Was a good win last night, after a very poor performance apart from the first 15 mins. I thought Mc Carron, o hanlon and Mc manus were extremely poor, our attack is completely blunt and void of any threat. Kildare should have been home and hosed. Special praise for beggan, D Hughes and o connel and Mc carthy who very good on the night. I'm delighted some of these legends will get a final run in croke park, much deserved but you would worry on a fast playing surface for monaghan. Your hoping for armagh and drag it into an ulster dog fight. Other than that, very hard to see a result, credit to vinnie for getting the team this far a good achievement. Great win for minors, first final since 1939, well done all.

222 (UK) - Posts: 847 - 25/06/2023 13:35:11    2489083

Great day in Tullamore. A superb win for the minors, they will fancy their chances v Derry now and so they should, a day in Croke Park for those lads will be invaluable in their development and fair play to them.

The seniors were lucky and that is being nice. It just shows when you ooze class players throughout your panel it sometimes pays off. We have one of the best goalies in Ireland and he kept us on the game and dont underestimate his stance and how big he gets when kildare were taking those shots, he limits space and makes the opponent think. I dont understand why we dont look for these kick outs over the top like V kerry in 2018, We seem very predictable and we need to find another way.

It seems we are now a new team with new leaders, Mohan, Mc Carthy, Bannigan, Boyle, O Hanlon, Ward
tc. We can all see the shift away from the old guard and although Karl, Darren and mansy still play big roles they arent the heartbeat I believe. Dropping ryan wylie was a statement from Corey and one that was needed and Ryan was immense when he came on and could start next week easily. Another game for Ward, he looked rusty but he should hit top gear next week.

As for the refereeing, I wont comment, for many many games gone past we have got the wrong end of the stick with referee calls and came away sick from games, it happens we all know it does and yesterday was a day when we profiteered, and we should not worry about the opponents once the whistle blows, we have stayed in div 1, beat tyrone, drew with derry, beat clare and lost by 2 to donegal, we deserve this and we are where we because we have worked harder than kildare all year and got better players than them, not due to a ref.

The draw from Hell would be Kerry in croke park, I dont think we would have the defenders to match up to the cliffirds and O shea etc. I would like a crack at Dublin, use that speed we have to go at them and see how we go.

monaghanmad (Monaghan) - Posts: 410 - 25/06/2023 19:28:46    2489248

Replying To 222:  "Was a good win last night, after a very poor performance apart from the first 15 mins. I thought Mc Carron, o hanlon and Mc manus were extremely poor, our attack is completely blunt and void of any threat. Kildare should have been home and hosed. Special praise for beggan, D Hughes and o connel and Mc carthy who very good on the night. I'm delighted some of these legends will get a final run in croke park, much deserved but you would worry on a fast playing surface for monaghan. Your hoping for armagh and drag it into an ulster dog fight. Other than that, very hard to see a result, credit to vinnie for getting the team this far a good achievement. Great win for minors, first final since 1939, well done all."
What a ridiculous statement .....but consistent with your previous posts !

Shelbourne1 (Monaghan) - Posts: 408 - 25/06/2023 23:28:20    2489339

So Armagh in the QF.

We'll be tortured with those bloody horns they keep blowing at every game.

TearsIn85 (Monaghan) - Posts: 208 - 26/06/2023 10:06:16    2489402

So it's Armagh then.
Can't decide if this is the best or worst outcome.

Knoxboya (Monaghan) - Posts: 369 - 26/06/2023 10:50:33    2489434

Armagh on paper not the worst draw. Although, there is no doubt they will say the same about us. The bottom line is if we improve and play to our best we can win. If we show up like we've done in recent weeks, we'll lose. Consistency is always an issue with Monaghan. Let's hope we can move in an upward trajectory.

SoNearYetSoFarney (Monaghan) - Posts: 56 - 26/06/2023 11:00:15    2489440

Replying To Shelbourne1:  "What a ridiculous statement .....but consistent with your previous posts !"
Sorry just my view on the game, it was a poor performance but a big win, the attack seems very limited at the moment, slow and pondourus build up play and then no breaking the lines. All to easy to defend against, we don't seem to have an outlet inside to kick the ball into any more with manzy not starting. The spirit and determination was off the charts though, you cannot deny that. It was a great win for vinnie and for monaghan. A good draw against armagh, much better than kerry or dublin it has to be said.

222 (UK) - Posts: 847 - 26/06/2023 11:11:55    2489443

I'll be realistic here armagh was the only draw available this morning that could seen us having a good chance in. If we play out of our skins course we can win but armagh will feel the same. They are a fine side who should won ulster and a lot of big games over last few years. Good draw for both sides all on the line a chance to make all ireland semi final so bring it on. Won't be for the faint hearted.

seanie08 (Monaghan) - Posts: 1882 - 26/06/2023 11:42:07    2489458

Replying To 222:  "Sorry just my view on the game, it was a poor performance but a big win, the attack seems very limited at the moment, slow and pondourus build up play and then no breaking the lines. All to easy to defend against, we don't seem to have an outlet inside to kick the ball into any more with manzy not starting. The spirit and determination was off the charts though, you cannot deny that. It was a great win for vinnie and for monaghan. A good draw against armagh, much better than kerry or dublin it has to be said."
yes.. not sure what Shelbourne was referring to with "ridiculous statement".. ? I thought the summary was very accurate.
I don't understand why we didn't attack at speed up the pitch like Mayo did in 2nd half yesterday and how Monaghan played in 2nd half against Tyrone.. on Saturday, its as if we waited until Kildare got all their players back and then we decided to try and attack.
Armagh have reverted now to their more direct approach like in early games of the league so I expect it to be a more open a game of football then Kildare last Saturday.

SouthMonMan (Monaghan) - Posts: 156 - 26/06/2023 11:51:36    2489467

Replying To Knoxboya:  "So it's Armagh then.
Can't decide if this is the best or worst outcome."
The worry about getting Armagh is that it may not result in the change of mindset needed. Had it been a Dublin or Kerry the shackles would have been off. I would hate to go out and careers ending with the type of ponderous, predictable performance of last week.
Please stop carrying the ball into the web of a packed defence, moving over and back laterally gives the opposition time to set the trap
For the last 2 minutes of the first half against Kildare we did just that, not only did we lose possession, conceded a breakaway point but we gave them momentum and belief. IT WAS EMBARRASSING. Darren Hughes had positioned himself on the square with Mc Carron, we should have went over the 14 man defence and let it into them, then pushed right up on them preventing any outlet.
Modern day soccer tactics press high up the pitch, this is what we should be doing on any turnovers, pin the b******s in and don't let them break, we don't have the pace anymore to retreat fast enough
I think we should start Mc Manus for 20 minutes bring him off with the option to bring him back on again. This may be the last we see of him, he won't be found wanting
This is doable lads and by next Monday two of the big four will be gone

mhunicean_abu (Monaghan) - Posts: 1067 - 26/06/2023 12:11:37    2489486

6pm Saturday

(How did Paddy Power know this at 9.15 ?)

Knoxboya (Monaghan) - Posts: 369 - 26/06/2023 12:25:42    2489496

Replying To Knoxboya:  "6pm Saturday

(How did Paddy Power know this at 9.15 ?)"
Probably all arranged last night

seanie08 (Monaghan) - Posts: 1882 - 26/06/2023 13:44:40    2489562

Replying To seanie08:  "Probably all arranged last night"
Did you see evidence of this arrangement when you watched the open draw on RTE news this morning?

TearsIn85 (Monaghan) - Posts: 208 - 26/06/2023 14:29:53    2489595

So the Minor All Ireland Final is in Armagh.
Wouldn't we have expected a trip to HQ ?

Knoxboya (Monaghan) - Posts: 369 - 26/06/2023 17:58:13    2489741

Replying To Knoxboya:  "So the Minor All Ireland Final is in Armagh.
Wouldn't we have expected a trip to HQ ?"
No. Last year's All Connacht All Ireland Minor final Galway v Mayo was played in Hyde Park Roscommon.

endgame (Roscommon) - Posts: 2398 - 26/06/2023 18:19:33    2489751

Replying To Knoxboya:  "So the Minor All Ireland Final is in Armagh.
Wouldn't we have expected a trip to HQ ?"
No hasnt be there since 2019 I think, minor hurling in Thurles this year.

222 (UK) - Posts: 847 - 26/06/2023 18:41:03    2489764

Armagh a lot more structured this year where previously they were a side who looked amazing in parts of games but could equally gift the opposition victories also. V well conditioned coached side who will be hard beat in croke park. Not as street wise as Tyrone through and sometimes lack discipline so important to keep a cool head playing them. Monaghan well set up and will look to keep it tight work the channels and bring it down to last quarter where they will hope to use the old hands to see them home. Problem is armagh could be too far in front at that stage. Monaghan sides over the years have been too conservative at croke Park and have in most games played too static against the top sides there hoping it to keep it low scoring so 0-15 or above will beat them. We have yet to score a goal there in a champiionship quarter or semi final game v a big side. Actually think we look at our best when playing with nothing to lose like 2nd half v Tyrone all out attack but we have never played that way at HQ when it counted. Played amazing stuff in 21 but went back into our shell when we played Tyrone in ulster final at croke Park that year was a v winnable game. Hopefully we play like we have nothing to lose on Saturday and just go for it as a lot of pace in key areas to do damage. Pressure is all on armagh as favourites . We won't win this one doing the conservative sitting back stuff and only playing when we are 5 or 6 pts down. I'd start mcmanus as it could be his last dance and think one big display left in him.

seanie08 (Monaghan) - Posts: 1882 - 26/06/2023 20:33:19    2489798

Terrible decision by Gaa not to put this game on a week later in front of the semi final that's on the Sunday

Sidelinefoot (USA) - Posts: 10 - 26/06/2023 20:54:49    2489801