Think to be fair the monaghan side that lined out on Saturday is a different team to the one from 2015. Still a few old stagers around but core of side is different. Football season is different now also. You'll see a lot less focus on ulster championship in next few years and more on all ireland series ulster might even be gone. Monaghan unless they have a brutal season next year are pretty much guaranteed to be in prelim quarter final 2 games away from where they were last Saturday which is a big change from losing in ulster and going to Castlebar for a first round qualifier.
seanie08 (Monaghan) - Posts: 1880 - 20/07/2023 16:56:04 2495854 Link 0 |
Would you head back on over to your own Cavan thread - you are out of your league here (pardon the pun!!)
greysoil (Monaghan) - Posts: 965 - 20/07/2023 17:30:22 2495865 Link 0 |
I agree with you on Kearns & Woods but Mulligan been training with squad this year & didn't make the squads for Armagh & Dublin games. Vinny's decision & you have to accept it on Mulligan's current form. .
Shelbourne1 (Monaghan) - Posts: 406 - 20/07/2023 18:43:55 2495878 Link 1 |
Agreed....not involved in team tactics in the slightest.
Shelbourne1 (Monaghan) - Posts: 406 - 20/07/2023 18:55:07 2495881 Link 0 |
Don't waste your time ....he's a cavan man
Shelbourne1 (Monaghan) - Posts: 406 - 20/07/2023 18:56:20 2495882 Link 0 |
Well lads ye well hardly get as easy a run next year.
RHF (Cavan) - Posts: 883 - 20/07/2023 20:11:48 2495901 Link 0 |
Possibly not, but sure didn't it give you an interest in the All Ireland series this year all the same
Eddie the Exile (Monaghan) - Posts: 1184 - 21/07/2023 09:45:08 2495926 Link 0 |
Sure look at Dublins run, challenge games in leinster, then a few challenge games in the group stage v sligo and kildare, play a mayo team that overrated then when they played a top team in us they struggled.
monaghanmad (Monaghan) - Posts: 409 - 21/07/2023 10:36:48 2495937 Link 1 |
How is he out of his league, if he is a Cavan man?
Fontofwisdom (Cavan) - Posts: 128 - 21/07/2023 11:35:04 2495960 Link 0 |
County is done for the year - what are peoples thoughts on the club scene for the rest of the summer? Winners, losers, promotions/relegations, hotseats, potential future county men you're looking forward to seeing? Jjoniel79 (Monaghan) - Posts: 199 - 21/07/2023 11:36:22 2495961 Link 0 |
I am a Monaghan man. I just highlight the facts that 2015 is the last time Monaghan won any silverware - eight long years for a team that should have/could have won two. To win the All Ireland you need a very good team. Monaghan are lacking about two players to win sam Bernardo (Monaghan) - Posts: 611 - 21/07/2023 12:34:37 2495973 Link 0 |
That wasn't directed at you, who seem to be a realist. According to Greysoil, Monaghan's recent incredible success means that you're in a different league to Cavan. I'm interested as to how he will justify this statement.
Fontofwisdom (Cavan) - Posts: 128 - 21/07/2023 14:11:47 2495996 Link 0 |
I hate to see posts like this. Ye man Eddie laughing at Cavan, even do they won Ulster in the last few years, more then we have. Slagging off Mayo and saying that Monaghan are the only big team Dublin played.( last time we were in AL in the 1930's) Slagging Kildare - even do they should have beaten us. Please stop, we are better then this. patmouse (Monaghan) - Posts: 122 - 21/07/2023 14:44:31 2496001 Link 6 |
Senior Championship will obviously be Scotstown. I can't recall there being less excitement over a senior championship as everybody knows it's a foregone conclusion. Will be a failure of a year if they're unable to reach an Ulster final. Intermediate Championship a toss up between Carrick and Blayney for me. If Carrick get their house in order (if it's true that their manager stood down not so long ago), they should be winning that and would be amongst the favourites to win the Ulster club. Junior Championship, I'd be very surprised if it wasn't Drumhowan. Really good young team coming through and wouldn't be surprised if they are up in senior in the next 4-5 years. Yet again, I'd be expecting a good Ulster club run from whoever comes out of the junior Championship, as Monaghan sides always do well here. HB245 (Monaghan) - Posts: 251 - 22/07/2023 10:50:59 2496095 Link 0 |
Yes you'd expect scotstown to win it comfortably, with k Hughes back and J Mc Carron. They have some pick down there, 4 adult teams and this rate they could field a hurling team. The senior championship is patchy at best after that, alot of the clubs are hit and miss on certain days. Will be interesting to see if Inniskeen and donaghmoyne can push on further this year. Yes I would agree it's a toss up between carrick and Blayney Re intermiedate come championship. Both these clubs should be doing way better, its simply not good enough they are in intermiedate.
222 (UK) - Posts: 844 - 24/07/2023 11:40:28 2496488 Link 0 |
Scotstown shouldn't really be touched this year even though they have had a shocking league campaign. I think Clontibret will realistically be their only challengers because I think Ballybay peaked last year and will go downhill this year. Scotstown/Clontibret/Inniskeen/Donaghmoyne are all in the same group so I would expect Scotstown and someone else from this group to meet in the final. Latton might have the best chance in the other group but would never make it past a semi final. Monaghansclown (Monaghan) - Posts: 189 - 24/07/2023 13:47:33 2496535 Link 0 |
Scotstown now have 5 adult teams… their 4th team won a reserves final the other day and there was 40 players named in the programme. Just the 5 u13 teams for them this year also. No other club in Ulster has 5 adult teams, so a team from a county as small as Monaghan having 5 adult teams tells you everything you need to know about how uneven the playing field is here.
HB245 (Monaghan) - Posts: 251 - 24/07/2023 18:05:07 2496636 Link 1 |
Unfortunately it sounds like Clones could be without Mealiff for the remainder of the season. Was really looking forward to seeing them in the Championship. I would probably have Emyvale and Doohamlet ahead of them with / without Mealiff but they definitely have the talent to beat anybody in Intermediate in a one-off game. It's the first time in a long time that there's some excitement about Gaelic football in clones. I'd be surprised if Clontibret were challenging for a county title this year. Done well to manage a top 3 finish in the league without their county lads, while missing young O'Dowd for the entirety of the league also (what has happened him? Was one of the more exciting talents in the county a few years ago). I would say Inniskeen are best placed to mount a challenge. Despite suffering a few heavy defeats to Scotstown in championship football over the last number of years, they now have a manager that's proven he can win a county title here, and they might have the best young core of players in the county at the moment. An impressive league campaign behind them also. HB245 (Monaghan) - Posts: 251 - 24/07/2023 18:22:15 2496642 Link 0 |
Correction scotstown have 5 adult teams and still had to poach currin for their best player.. anything less than an ulster club title this year will be a failure…
mick2007 (Monaghan) - Posts: 569 - 24/07/2023 18:59:33 2496654 Link 1 |
Senior....Scotstown. Intermediate...Clones. Junior....Tyholland. ORIELMAN85 (Monaghan) - Posts: 472 - 25/07/2023 13:43:36 2496789 Link 0 |