I know it's tough against packed defences but we need to avail more of the mark if we can get one with Jack and especially Mansy if he starts. Especially at the start of the 2nd half if the game is tight or either team are a few ahead.
Can see Lavelle picking up Con, he's been handed the man marking role the last 2 games and done well by all accounts.
MonaghanGlory (Monaghan) - Posts: 738 - 13/07/2023 16:05:58
Replying To MonaghanGlory: "I know it's tough against packed defences but we need to avail more of the mark if we can get one with Jack and especially Mansy if he starts. Especially at the start of the 2nd half if the game is tight or either team are a few ahead.
Can see Lavelle picking up Con, he's been handed the man marking role the last 2 games and done well by all accounts." Lavelle wont pick up Con
monaghanmad (Monaghan) - Posts: 409 - 13/07/2023 16:27:07
Replying To monaghanmad: "Lavelle wont pick up Con" Do you think Con won't suit him? He picked up Daniel Flynn & Rian O'Neill, the 2 best forwards on their teams. I do think Duffy will pick him up as I mentioned in a post I made a few days back but wouldn't be surprised to see Lavelle on him
MonaghanGlory (Monaghan) - Posts: 738 - 13/07/2023 17:19:39
Replying To shaggylegend: "Listening to some of the podcasts during the week I have to say the level of disrespect shown towards Monaghan was crazy. Paddy Andrews when previewing the game spent his whole time basically laughing at Monaghan. Saying there was no way they could beat Dublin, the same with Colm Boyle.
Yes Dublin are heavy favourites. But at the end of the the last 4 times the teams have met its been 3 wins for Monaghan and a draw. I know its the league and championship is different. By winning them games Monaghan won't fear Dublin. Monaghan players will know they can get the better of their direct opponent.
If Monaghan put in their A game on Sunday. We won't be that far away from Dublin, weather that enough we will wait and see." With all due respect maybe some Monaghan folk are taking offence where none is intended. Like I said in a previous post Paddy Power basically gives Monaghan no chance, that's not disrespect just a no strings attached assessment. Similarly on the HS championship predictions nobody bar one or two Monaghan fans are predicting a Farney win, most are predicting a Dubs win of 7pts or more, not disrespect, just opinion. All motivation for Monaghan of course, up the Dubs.
sligo joe (Dublin) - Posts: 872 - 13/07/2023 17:32:39
I fully expect Monaghan to be competitive here and give it a real go. If it is close with 10 minutes to go I would fancy them to win Monaghan have not played well this past two games, could have lost both but won. They are battle hardened and the 2 week break (that Mayo didn't get) will help. There is absolutely no pressure on them nor being put on them. Playing Dublin is nothing new to most of them and they will relish the challenge
While Dublin are an extremely talented group they have not faced Ulster teams that defend and attack in unison many times over this past year other than Derry. It's not that long ago Dublin fans on this forum were voicing concern over DF's tactical nous when the going gets tough.
I hope Hurson is completely neutral and fair, sometimes Ulster referees are overly hard on their own in an effort to not show regional Ulster bias, we have had experience of this before.
We are not going up there to make friends, we are going up to win, if we keep out the goals, I believe we can
mhunicean_abu (Monaghan) - Posts: 1066 - 13/07/2023 18:31:37
Monaghan had had a super season to date, far exceeding most peoples expectations at the start of the season and hopefully it continues.
We also see some people talking about patrionising talk and been wrote off. The reality is when has Monaghan taken out a top four team in knockout football? All Ulster teams before us (Down, Donegal, Tyrone, Armagh and Derry) were always wrote off until they went and took a big scalp in a massive knockout game. Monaghan have to now step up and do this or we will always be wrote off when it comes to the big games against the big games. We have no history of doing this so pundits are bookies are well within their right to write us off. It is up to Vinny and the lads with a massive support behind them on Saturday evening to start to rewrite this history. Credit is earned not handed out.
farneyman1 (Monaghan) - Posts: 53 - 13/07/2023 18:46:29
Replying To sligo joe: "With all due respect maybe some Monaghan folk are taking offence where none is intended. Like I said in a previous post Paddy Power basically gives Monaghan no chance, that's not disrespect just a no strings attached assessment. Similarly on the HS championship predictions nobody bar one or two Monaghan fans are predicting a Farney win, most are predicting a Dubs win of 7pts or more, not disrespect, just opinion. All motivation for Monaghan of course, up the Dubs." The level of punditry around Monaghan this year has been terrible. I actually think a lot of the commentators didn't even see the full Monaghan Armagh match. Not on pundit commented on Monaghans defending in that game. Having watched the four quarters that weekend Monaghans defending was by far the most impressive of the eight teams. Yet the pundits waffle on about Kerry managing to play a sweeper against a blunt Tyrone attack. (It only took them 20 years). It is a real long shot but Dublin haven't face a defence like Monaghans this year but Monaghan will likely have to put up their biggest score of the year. I wish ye the very best and hope ye do it! Hon the Farney.
Backheel (Leitrim) - Posts: 193 - 13/07/2023 18:47:24
Reckon this'll be very very close myself. Dublin by 3
waynoI (Dublin) - Posts: 13654 - 14/07/2023 07:17:08
Looks like weather more akin to what we would get in the league forecast tomorrow.
greysoil (Monaghan) - Posts: 965 - 14/07/2023 08:12:41
Replying To MonaghanGlory: "Do you think Con won't suit him? He picked up Daniel Flynn & Rian O'Neill, the 2 best forwards on their teams. I do think Duffy will pick him up as I mentioned in a post I made a few days back but wouldn't be surprised to see Lavelle on him" O neill and flynn totally different players to Con, they are more awkward and power focused, dont think lavelle would be able to turn quick enough for Con or have the 5m speed to keep with him.
monaghanmad (Monaghan) - Posts: 409 - 14/07/2023 09:21:44
Part of it a self-fulfilling prophecy. If you deep down are convinced the other team is going to win, then you're 100% going to lose. There is an unfortunate tradition of deference in Ireland, and it's present in the GAA. Dublin and Kerry get the advantage of this. I remember, with disgust, a few years ago, after losing to Dublin, Mickey Harte saying how wonderful Dublin were and how you had to admire them. Any team is going to win big and win easy if you take that sort of stars in your eyes approach into a game.
At this stage of the c'ship, all items are conditioned, fit and can execute the necessary skills well.
The big differentiator is self belief and will to win. Dublin and Kerry feel that this years' Sam is their birthright, Monaghan and Derry probably will just be "hopeful".
And convinced beats hopeful all day long.
It's unfortunate, but I don't see how you can get a non-traditional county to think like habitual winners.
points50swiththeargyllsonthewrongfeet (Tyrone) - Posts: 290 - 14/07/2023 09:23:31
Replying To MachaireConnacht: "I heard Anthony Moyles piece on Off The Ball too and it sounded like waffle and completely contradicted himself. Basically said the only way is to go toe to toe with the Dubs but don't do what Louth did and bring a bit of chaos but still have control. Imagine saying that in a dressing room. Colm Boyle a great player but his punditry leaves a lot to be desired. One true things Moyles did say is you need to take your goal chances when you you get them. Dublin will usually give up a few chances but not many take those chances when they appear. Monaghan need to take them at the weekend." I think Moyles was trying to say Monaghan will need to play attack football rather than the ultra defensive football. More like Monaghan playing and drawing Derry in the qualifiers and not the Monaghan that were well beaten by Derry in the first game
We do have a chance of winning but Monaghan tend to under preform in Croke Park.
A big task to win but probably our best chance to beat Dublin
Bernardo (Monaghan) - Posts: 611 - 14/07/2023 09:41:08
Replying To points50swiththeargyllsonthewrongfeet: "Part of it a self-fulfilling prophecy. If you deep down are convinced the other team is going to win, then you're 100% going to lose. There is an unfortunate tradition of deference in Ireland, and it's present in the GAA. Dublin and Kerry get the advantage of this. I remember, with disgust, a few years ago, after losing to Dublin, Mickey Harte saying how wonderful Dublin were and how you had to admire them. Any team is going to win big and win easy if you take that sort of stars in your eyes approach into a game.
At this stage of the c'ship, all items are conditioned, fit and can execute the necessary skills well.
The big differentiator is self belief and will to win. Dublin and Kerry feel that this years' Sam is their birthright, Monaghan and Derry probably will just be "hopeful".
It's unfortunate, but I don't see how you can get a non-traditional county to think like habitual winners." Agree - Tyrone managed to buck that trend though?
Cbar (Mayo) - Posts: 339 - 14/07/2023 09:44:31
Replying To points50swiththeargyllsonthewrongfeet: "Part of it a self-fulfilling prophecy. If you deep down are convinced the other team is going to win, then you're 100% going to lose. There is an unfortunate tradition of deference in Ireland, and it's present in the GAA. Dublin and Kerry get the advantage of this. I remember, with disgust, a few years ago, after losing to Dublin, Mickey Harte saying how wonderful Dublin were and how you had to admire them. Any team is going to win big and win easy if you take that sort of stars in your eyes approach into a game.
It's unfortunate, but I don't see how you can get a non-traditional county to think like habitual winners." The Monaghan players fully believe they can beat the Dubs and win this game.
Monaghan by 2.
muckla (UK) - Posts: 370 - 14/07/2023 10:07:18
Couple of alternative narratives / questions:
1) It was written before Mayo game that it would define Dessie Farrell's tenure. Losing to Monaghan in a semi would be far more defining of Farrell's Dublin team. There is an expectation in Dublin (and most of the country) that Dublin will be in the final. This is probably a different pressure for a lot of the players and management of Dublin. Apart from Cavan in 2020, Dublin are used to playing Mayo, Kerry, Tyrone, Galway in semi finals.
2) Dublin's semi final record is quite good. Beat Tyrone and Cavan well in semi's in the last 10 years. Donegal the last Ulster team to beat them in a champo semi and that was a good beating in 2014. Started the drive for 5... which ended with 6!
3) Do you start McManus or bring him on? There is a risk the way this Dublin team plays in waves that a game could be out of reach in 5min period when they crank up the pace. McManus to do a Peter Canavan and come off and back on again for inspiration and final push in the last 10min? Imagine the lift to the team and crowd.
4) Monaghan's shot conversion will need to be about 6/10 and can't drop any short for Cluxton to start a counter attack.
5) Beggan keeps a clean sheet and Monaghan will be there or there abouts...
MrPBoylan (Monaghan) - Posts: 233 - 14/07/2023 10:13:51
Yeh, the issue is Monaghan will need to play for 70+ minutes, and we haven't seen a 70-minute performance this year. If we fall asleep for 5 or 10 minutes, Dublin will punish us. I do agree that if we can keep a clean sheet we will have a chance, but it's just so hard to stop the Dubs scoring goals! Sneak on a 16th man and hope nobody notices?
moodoo (Monaghan) - Posts: 461 - 14/07/2023 12:15:29
As a Monaghan man I'll be honest and say this weekend is a mammoth task. I do believe that with absolutely everything going in our favour we've a chance, but realistically if we're within 3 points of Dublin in the last 5/10 that'll equal a great result.
This craic of a lot of ones complaining about the media coverage of Monaghan is nauseating. The media heads are placing their bets on Dublin to win well because that's the most likely outcome. As such they can turn around on Monday and go 'didn't I tell you'. I seen Dick and Jaap giving out about this in the papers this week and im hoping their doing that as more of a rallying cry to fire up the players as opposed to to actually believing we're being overly disrespected..
Anyway Monaghan Abú! A special mention to Vinny too, took the job that no sensible candidate wanted and stepped up when the county really needed him. He's put a lot of respect back into the team and really focused the minds of the young lads on what can be possible. He's treated our legends with the respect they deserve while managing their minutes, blooded heaps of new talent and took us to the semi final. He's carried himself with incredible poise and grace in his media duties which is a credit to him. All while still coaching a juvenile team for his club - a true Gael.
Jjoniel79 (Monaghan) - Posts: 199 - 14/07/2023 12:26:51
Replying To shaggylegend: "Listening to some of the podcasts during the week I have to say the level of disrespect shown towards Monaghan was crazy. Paddy Andrews when previewing the game spent his whole time basically laughing at Monaghan. Saying there was no way they could beat Dublin, the same with Colm Boyle.
Yes Dublin are heavy favourites. But at the end of the the last 4 times the teams have met its been 3 wins for Monaghan and a draw. I know its the league and championship is different. By winning them games Monaghan won't fear Dublin. Monaghan players will know they can get the better of their direct opponent.
If Monaghan put in their A game on Sunday. We won't be that far away from Dublin, weather that enough we will wait and see." Andrews is a dose on the football pod , talks over the other 2 all the time
FoolsGold (Cavan) - Posts: 2872 - 14/07/2023 15:33:45
Replying To Jjoniel79: "As a Monaghan man I'll be honest and say this weekend is a mammoth task. I do believe that with absolutely everything going in our favour we've a chance, but realistically if we're within 3 points of Dublin in the last 5/10 that'll equal a great result.
This craic of a lot of ones complaining about the media coverage of Monaghan is nauseating. The media heads are placing their bets on Dublin to win well because that's the most likely outcome. As such they can turn around on Monday and go 'didn't I tell you'. I seen Dick and Jaap giving out about this in the papers this week and im hoping their doing that as more of a rallying cry to fire up the players as opposed to to actually believing we're being overly disrespected..
Anyway Monaghan Abú! A special mention to Vinny too, took the job that no sensible candidate wanted and stepped up when the county really needed him. He's put a lot of respect back into the team and really focused the minds of the young lads on what can be possible. He's treated our legends with the respect they deserve while managing their minutes, blooded heaps of new talent and took us to the semi final. He's carried himself with incredible poise and grace in his media duties which is a credit to him. All while still coaching a juvenile team for his club - a true Gael." It's not that they pick the dubs that rankles it's because they don't give Monaghan the slightest chance.All the work that has been put in to get us where we are counts for nothing. They can't see past 2 or 3 teams. At some point we will break through. If the no. 6 team hasn't even the slightest chance against the number 3 team why bother playing the games.(give or take a ranking spot) Tyrone won Sam more recently than the dubs and we beat them in their own backyard. Same result tomorrow Monaghan by a point!
Dcgael (Monaghan) - Posts: 11 - 14/07/2023 16:57:28
To be honest the weather won't suit Dublin .
If monaghan can cut out the handling errors which will be tough not been used tobthe pitch as much as the honecteam then they could come close .
As a neutral I'll be there to support them I hope they get a good following and it's an exciting game .
I'd be worried about the ref an ulster man should not be in the middlexand he tends to go with crowd reactions
Sidelinefoot (USA) - Posts: 10 - 14/07/2023 18:50:08