No harm at all not to be listening to a list of backroom people being thanked and a nudge at the end to mention the sponsors.
Seanfanbocht (Roscommon) - Posts: 2259 - 09/07/2023 21:11:31 2493439 Link 1 |
Young lads regularly using bad language in acceptance speeches last couple of years. Probably too emotional. No need to put them under that pressure. Malonemagic (Laois) - Posts: 817 - 09/07/2023 21:16:30 2493441 Link 1 |
Fantastic support yesterday, just never got to the pitch of the game - Derry were in complete control - measured, skillful and well drilled. A great season none the less and hopefully a springboard to representing the seniors in years to come for some of them. conjack76 (Monaghan) - Posts: 84 - 10/07/2023 12:14:18 2493537 Link 0 |
What matchups are we expecting this weekend? MonaghanGlory (Monaghan) - Posts: 738 - 10/07/2023 14:13:10 2493581 Link 0 |
Really looking forward to the game on Saturday now. The media have given very little respect to Monaghan and Derry for that matter and are already speaking of a Kerry v Dublin all Ireland. I know Monaghan will go in as serious underdogs but I feel this is our time. Ive witnessed other counties in Ulster have their day, stood on the N2 cheering on Derry, Donegal and Tyrone on their way back from glory. Cheered on Armagh against Kerry and loved the Down team of the 90's. Witnessed first hand the heartbreak of 2018 and coming so close. Always wondered would I see a Monaghan team in an all Ireland final. Its a tough mountain to climb to beat the Dubs in Croke Park but it would be glorious to watch Mansy shoot the lights out in a full Croke Park in what could be his last game for Monaghan. He deserves an All Ireland.......we deserve and All Ireland....This is our time! Hon Monaghan! FinlaysLeftFoot (Monaghan) - Posts: 33 - 11/07/2023 21:58:22 2493896 Link 6 |
This... Knoxboya (Monaghan) - Posts: 368 - 12/07/2023 11:38:57 2493945 Link 1 |
Not sure that anyone is being disrespectful to Monaghan. Paddy Power has Monaghan at 13/2, It's a long time since any county won a semifinal at odds like that. Of course an upset is possible but it would be a big upset. Anyway best of luck to both teams, up the Dubs.
sligo joe (Dublin) - Posts: 872 - 12/07/2023 12:30:59 2493959 Link 1 |
A few Monaghan lads in the media complaining about the team being patronised ahead of Saturday. Eddie the Exile (Monaghan) - Posts: 1184 - 12/07/2023 12:47:24 2493961 Link 4 |
Yeh, hard to believe it's only a few days away. Chatting to a friend of mine yesterday, and only really then realised that we're in the last 4...the last 4. While so many of the begrudgers, the critics, the so-called 'better' teams are sitting at home, we're still in the race. Facing into our 10th year in Div 1, our 2nd semi in in 5 years, yet we are just 'lucky' to be there, skill or ability doesn't seem to come into it. There is an ongoing complete disregard for Monaghan, and only slightly less so for Derry - the Kerry/Dublin final is already a foregone conclusion. No doubt, it is a huge ask for Monaghan, but we are there, still competing, long after so many others - so credit where credit is due. I just hope the players are able to look back on Saturday evening and say 'we gave it our all', I'm sure they are not lacking in motivation. If we do lose, at least another day out in Croke Park is a fitting way for Mansy, D Hughes, probably O Connell, to sign off their intercounty careers. Leave nothing out there boys. Hon. moodoo (Monaghan) - Posts: 461 - 12/07/2023 13:01:57 2493968 Link 1 |
Knoxboya (Monaghan) - Posts: 368 - 12/07/2023 16:31:23 2494002 Link 0 |
I don't think they mean this game in particular. They mean in general. I too hate the small population and small county craic. 15 v 15 is what it is. Hon the boys farneygael (Monaghan) - Posts: 300 - 12/07/2023 17:34:16 2494010 Link 0 |
With the days ticking down to match day what do we think the team will be, I think Vinny will throw in a bolter or 2 monaghanmad (Monaghan) - Posts: 409 - 12/07/2023 21:03:51 2494032 Link 0 |
Its going to be such a task Saturday to beat dublin. 222 (UK) - Posts: 844 - 12/07/2023 21:06:30 2494034 Link 0 |
The very best of luck Sunday everyone, I sincerely hope you do it. Cbar (Mayo) - Posts: 339 - 13/07/2023 09:10:12 2494059 Link 0 |
Lads give over with the sob stories about nobody giving ye a chance and being talked down by pundits. Ye are there on merit and have a chance but pundits have to go with who they think will win. Its not disrespect. They're doing their jobs. Sure didn't half of them go for Mayo against the Dubs so who knows what can happen i do think Dublin will win but its a semi final and you're in the enviable position of being there. Good luck!! SimonstownBack (Meath) - Posts: 163 - 13/07/2023 09:24:56 2494060 Link 0 |
and thats the reason they are building the Dubs up. They got it wrong and because they got it wrong they now go to the other extreme and hype up the Dubs. Dont get me wrong Monaghan are under dogs but maybe Mayo were just brutal against the Dubs and made them look a lot better. Monaghan will give the Dubs there fill of it and the squad and team will fully believe they can beat them and that is all that matters. muckla (UK) - Posts: 370 - 13/07/2023 10:05:15 2494065 Link 0 |
Listening to some of the podcasts during the week I have to say the level of disrespect shown towards Monaghan was crazy. Paddy Andrews when previewing the game spent his whole time basically laughing at Monaghan. Saying there was no way they could beat Dublin, the same with Colm Boyle. shaggylegend (Monaghan) - Posts: 1948 - 13/07/2023 11:04:00 2494086 Link 1 |
I heard Anthony Moyles piece on Off The Ball too and it sounded like waffle and completely contradicted himself. Basically said the only way is to go toe to toe with the Dubs but don't do what Louth did and bring a bit of chaos but still have control. Imagine saying that in a dressing room. Colm Boyle a great player but his punditry leaves a lot to be desired. One true things Moyles did say is you need to take your goal chances when you you get them. Dublin will usually give up a few chances but not many take those chances when they appear. Monaghan need to take them at the weekend.
MachaireConnacht (Roscommon) - Posts: 1000 - 13/07/2023 12:50:10 2494111 Link 0 |
100% agree with ya. Monaghan are in only their 2nd semi final in 35 years on Saturday and there are lads focused on what guys like paddy andrews and colm Boyle who are ex players earning a few Bob (more power to them ) think. Doesn't matter a jot. The whole world of podcasts is wired to get a reaction and is best ignored. Dublin are favourites no doubt but be confident monaghan unlike 14 and 17 will give this a right rattle.
seanie08 (Monaghan) - Posts: 1880 - 13/07/2023 12:57:25 2494118 Link 0 |
Well lads/lasses jimbodub (Dublin) - Posts: 20763 - 13/07/2023 15:58:22 2494163 Link 3 |