Its taken the guts of a week to come down from the euphoria of the win. Had a feeling they'd win and a lot of the media discourse I've listened to in the past week was saying that Armagh are still a better team (GAA Social and The Football Pod). That is total rubbish.
Taking the emotion of the result and reflecting on the performance it was a mixed bag. Positives - the work rate and intensity was excellent. That was reflected in the tackle and turnover counts that I seen on twitter by GAA statsman account . Monaghan were clearly better set up tactically and mentally prepared in that regard. Also on kickouts Monaghan were the superior side. Armagh were perceived the better side in that regard but Monaghan won crucial armagh kickouts and I a game of fine margins that was crucial. .
The intangible attributes of resilience and heart were in abundance.
Negatives - shooting percentage was woeful - 46%. A lot of wides and several dropped short. Corey will know that a shot conversion rate of 46% will not win you many games. Monaghan tend to lose most games they have with a rate of less than 50%. Big improvement needed in this area to beat the Dubs. Monaghan can hit that rate and have done so several times in the current championship (Tyrone, Derry 2nd game and Clare). Corey was in the media saying he believes Monaghan have another level in them and I think he's dead right.
Anyway, onto the minors. This squad are a credit to their families, club and County. Best of luck to them this weekend. They have a very real chance of winning and have improved game on game. The future of Monaghan football is bright
sleater (Monaghan) - Posts: 178 - 07/07/2023 12:48:41
Replying To sleater: "Its taken the guts of a week to come down from the euphoria of the win. Had a feeling they'd win and a lot of the media discourse I've listened to in the past week was saying that Armagh are still a better team (GAA Social and The Football Pod). That is total rubbish.
Taking the emotion of the result and reflecting on the performance it was a mixed bag. Positives - the work rate and intensity was excellent. That was reflected in the tackle and turnover counts that I seen on twitter by GAA statsman account . Monaghan were clearly better set up tactically and mentally prepared in that regard. Also on kickouts Monaghan were the superior side. Armagh were perceived the better side in that regard but Monaghan won crucial armagh kickouts and I a game of fine margins that was crucial. .
The intangible attributes of resilience and heart were in abundance.
Negatives - shooting percentage was woeful - 46%. A lot of wides and several dropped short. Corey will know that a shot conversion rate of 46% will not win you many games. Monaghan tend to lose most games they have with a rate of less than 50%. Big improvement needed in this area to beat the Dubs. Monaghan can hit that rate and have done so several times in the current championship (Tyrone, Derry 2nd game and Clare). Corey was in the media saying he believes Monaghan have another level in them and I think he's dead right.
Anyway, onto the minors. This squad are a credit to their families, club and County. Best of luck to them this weekend. They have a very real chance of winning and have improved game on game. The future of Monaghan football is bright" They think Armagh are a better team as they are younger(ish) and look to play a fast flow, kick pass game. In fairness they are frequently easy on the eye to watch.
In reality, they have been tactically naive too often. Monaghan dictated the game pace and slowed it down to frustrate Armagh and also to conserve an older squad that had a short turnaround from the Kildare game.
Gator (Monaghan) - Posts: 238 - 07/07/2023 13:18:52
Replying To countymonaghan: "Why has this turned into a bickering match. Lets look forward to next weekend. Look at the positives.
Very appreciative to see many posters from other counties offering the Good Luck wishes. They know what a team Monaghan is and have been over the last 10 years.
Not many Dublin posters have came on to bicker and be negative.. Shows their class in my opinion. They don't take any team for granted. They have a job to do and Monaghan have a job to stop them doing so. Likewise with Kerry, they don't bicker and *****. A lot of posters from counties who have been knocked out ages ago, knocked out of Tailteann cup even are here trying to have a say and run Monaghan into the ground. Why let ourselves into a back and fourth argument on here.
Lets savor this success and admire the teams hardwork, fight and determination. As someone said above its a 50/50 knockout now anything can happen. LETS DO IT." Totally agree - no need for the sniping in this thread or any other. Honn the Farney !!!
greysoil (Monaghan) - Posts: 965 - 07/07/2023 14:43:44
Replying To sam1884: "I agree with your last sentence, there isn't a kick of a ball between those teams you mention. Should of, would of could be said by many teams in certain games.
The reality is Monaghan got the small breaks this season and deserve to be in an All Ireland semi final. Galway got those breaks last season and ended up in an All Ireland Final where they could of won it. They didn't get overwhelmed against one of the top two and just fell short after a great performance.
Luck turned against Galway this year and there is no guarantee Monaghan will be able to fall the right side of the close games next season, with the similar standard of the teams you mentioned it is unlikely everything will fall for them again.
It's why this is Monaghan's opportunity. Galway proved last season teams around their level can push on and compete for the All Ireland when they build momentum. The big question is can Monaghan compete when they get to the latter stages and be competitive in these games! We'll know next weekend." Good post. Definitely Monaghans opportunity. Lets face it to take that next step you are going to have to beat a kerry or dublin in croke Park. My point about it being a freakish season is that the team clearly been in transition this year plenty of young lads getting a chance older players taking bench seat three first team players year out travelling other lads retiring so this run is unexpected but definitely there on merit. The kildare game the only one have seen you could argue we were lucky to get through and even there we were excellent in the clutch moments. I guess my point is we have come up the road previously with on paper a better group of players 13 15 17 with our now older lads in their prime and we didn't get within an asses roar of a semi final so yeah this is unexpected. Noone was talking here of all ireland semi finals at start of year or championship. Definitely an opportunity which doesn't come along too often so important to make hay while sun is shining on us.
seanie08 (Monaghan) - Posts: 1880 - 07/07/2023 14:56:12
Replying To BarneyGrant: "No one involved with the Dublin team will be taking Monaghan for granted. You may be certain of that." No one involved with the Monaghan team will be taking Dublin for granted either!
expat345 (Monaghan) - Posts: 31 - 07/07/2023 21:15:52
Replying To MachaireConnacht: "I'm all for supporting the west but aside from last year, you cannot put Galway in the same bracket as the other three for consistent business end participants over the past 10 years.
The freakish part is that it was this year that Monaghan got to a semi when they probably should have made one before this. As poster says below, Monaghan have been operating at a top level for a long time now.
I think the Connacht teams peaked too soon and were a bit burned out by the end. definitely Mayo did, probably Roscommon and a certain degree with Galway. Galway have also been very unlucky with injuries." Wouldn't pay much heed to that freakish nonsense talk from Galway. They have a very similar championship record as us over the past 20 years. Couple of semi finals plus 3 or 4 quarter finals, avoiding Kerry and Dublin last year in the semi finals helped, we can leave the league record aside if it suits the narrative. Roscommon have as much talent coming through as Mayo or Galway. The clock is ticking
mhunicean_abu (Monaghan) - Posts: 1066 - 07/07/2023 22:07:20
Monaghan deserve to be where they are .
They have been there or there abouts for 15 years now and we're unlucky to keep drawing kerry and Tyrone /Dublin in last 8 encounters in Croke Park.
They should have got a couple more ulster's out of the side but again it wasn't easy up there with Donegal's purple patch and that great Tyrone team hanging around .
The team could struggle if they go a few behind early doors but if it's tight with 15/20 to go and mansy and kieran Hughes enter the fray then Dublin should be on high alert.
I'm hearing tickets are so scarce in Monaghan now they are like hens teeth and that everyman woman and child are going to be there to support them .
What a pity there can't be more and that the Tailteann cup final is on before hand it makes no sense from the Gaa.
My cousin from Down is very displeased he can't bring his young family to what should be a show piece day for the competition
Sidelinefoot (USA) - Posts: 10 - 08/07/2023 00:37:30
Best of luck to the minor team and management tommorow will be there shouting yous on your a credit to club and county muineachan abu
prideof85 (Monaghan) - Posts: 851 - 08/07/2023 19:39:24
20 euros is an extortionate price to watch an U-17 game regardless if it is a final or not. They aren't even in their final year of school yet.
PattyONeill (Derry) - Posts: 263 - 08/07/2023 22:12:51
Replying To monaghanmad: "Given these superior players you talk about from galway have done nothing more than monaghan in the last 10 yrs I find it laughable. its only now that with this new format that teams outside ulster are realising how hard it is to play hard games week in week out and how ulster teams have been shattered each year come business end and in the long run. Yous ran out of steam this year when yous had to play in a mini ulster championship, story of our lives up here mate, get used to it, Dubs got lucky this year they had an easy group, give it a few years and there will be no more superior teams." "Galway, Kerry, Mayo and Dublin will continue at their superior level ..."
You need to publish guidelines for how the rest of us should behave if we encounter superior beings like ye. Will doffing our caps suffice, or do we need to prostrate ourselves lol
points50swiththeargyllsonthewrongfeet (Tyrone) - Posts: 290 - 09/07/2023 00:42:02
The thing about playing Dublin or Kerry in a semi or in a final is that they tend to be 50% better than they were in the previous game.
If you're looking at how Dublin or Kerry played in their previous game and thinking "yeah, we could match that", then you'll lose, because the Dublin or Kerry you encounter will have stepped it up significantly again.
Part of what stands to Dublin and Kerry is that they expect to win, and they show up to win.
Monaghan is just a speed-bump to them
They'll talk a good game about respect lol, don't buy any of it.
points50swiththeargyllsonthewrongfeet (Tyrone) - Posts: 290 - 09/07/2023 00:54:01
Replying To PattyONeill: "20 euros is an extortionate price to watch an U-17 game regardless if it is a final or not. They aren't even in their final year of school yet." It's an all Ireland final…
veterngaa (Monaghan) - Posts: 745 - 09/07/2023 07:39:49
Replying To PattyONeill: "20 euros is an extortionate price to watch an U-17 game regardless if it is a final or not. They aren't even in their final year of school yet." Ah here !!! Another freeloader.
Greengrass (Louth) - Posts: 6177 - 09/07/2023 11:01:09
Replying To veterngaa: "It's an all Ireland final…" And county finals cost at least €15.
Good luck today. Derry look very good but you almost neat them before.
No harm to Derry but be great to see Monaghan win one of the big ones.
BarneyGrant (Dublin) - Posts: 3441 - 09/07/2023 11:20:58
Replying To points50swiththeargyllsonthewrongfeet: "The thing about playing Dublin or Kerry in a semi or in a final is that they tend to be 50% better than they were in the previous game.
If you're looking at how Dublin or Kerry played in their previous game and thinking "yeah, we could match that", then you'll lose, because the Dublin or Kerry you encounter will have stepped it up significantly again.
Part of what stands to Dublin and Kerry is that they expect to win, and they show up to win.
Monaghan is just a speed-bump to them
They'll talk a good game about respect lol, don't buy any of it." Well put! Love your take on Monaghan prospects going forward, that being "Monaghan is just a speed-bump to them!"
Up4it. (Tyrone) - Posts: 199 - 09/07/2023 11:31:51
Mon the Minors
Knoxboya (Monaghan) - Posts: 368 - 09/07/2023 11:38:55
Hard luck to the lads on the minor team , ifs and buts .. Derry had their homework done on them . The line couldn't see obvious changes that were needed early on .. pity
stoneygrey (Monaghan) - Posts: 229 - 09/07/2023 15:58:29
Any idea why the Derry captain didn't give a speech?
veterngaa (Monaghan) - Posts: 745 - 09/07/2023 17:57:21
Replying To veterngaa: "Any idea why the Derry captain didn't give a speech?" Commentary on NS mentioned it was noted in programme that there would not be a captains soeech. Not mentioned why. Thought it was odd.
TearsIn85 (Monaghan) - Posts: 208 - 09/07/2023 19:09:21
Replying To TearsIn85: "Commentary on NS mentioned it was noted in programme that there would not be a captains soeech. Not mentioned why. Thought it was odd." Very odd!
veterngaa (Monaghan) - Posts: 745 - 09/07/2023 20:39:01