Monaghan GAA thread

Two weeks to talk yourself out of believing, talk yourself back into believing, coming to around realise you're being utterly unrealistic, deciding it doesn't matter we got this far, steeling yourself for a hammering, rowing back on that, finding a reason to think 5%, 10%, 20% chance, ending up at 50:50 after a few Friday night pints, waking up with more sense, heading for Croke Park anyway.
Two weeks of this to look forward to.
Up Monaghan.

Eddie the Exile (Monaghan) - Posts: 1182 - 02/07/2023 19:51:18    2491522

I think it's critical that the county board take an allocation of tickets for distribution through clubs for this game. I know it's more of a headache but leaving it up to ticketmaster will result in the Monaghan support (bar the season ticket & families blocks) sprinkled among potentially 60,000+ Dublin fans. It would be much more preferable to have Monaghan supporters seated in substantially sized groupings to create as much noise as possible.

I recall a quarter final game previously when the Monaghan support was dispersed throughout the stadium and the noise generated after scores etc. was quite muted. We need everything we can get going for us and I believe this is something that we can have within our control should we choose to do so.

monaghan_ultra (None) - Posts: 213 - 02/07/2023 19:59:24    2491526

Personally I can't see why everyone is giving out about penalties it's part of the game and not down to luck imo!
Hopefully you'll give Dublin a crack you've nothing to loose.....

letterkennyGuy (Donegal) - Posts: 168 - 02/07/2023 20:03:35    2491528

Replying To Bernardo:  "Not sure we have ever beat Dublin or Kerry in the championship. Big task ahead ."
Dont remember cavan beating dublin or kerry league or championship

prideof85 (Monaghan) - Posts: 851 - 02/07/2023 20:07:09    2491531

Replying To monaghan_ultra:  "I think it's critical that the county board take an allocation of tickets for distribution through clubs for this game. I know it's more of a headache but leaving it up to ticketmaster will result in the Monaghan support (bar the season ticket & families blocks) sprinkled among potentially 60,000+ Dublin fans. It would be much more preferable to have Monaghan supporters seated in substantially sized groupings to create as much noise as possible.

I recall a quarter final game previously when the Monaghan support was dispersed throughout the stadium and the noise generated after scores etc. was quite muted. We need everything we can get going for us and I believe this is something that we can have within our control should we choose to do so."
I did think the monahan support was poor yesterday?

222 (UK) - Posts: 844 - 02/07/2023 20:18:33    2491540

Replying To Eddie the Exile:  "Two weeks to talk yourself out of believing, talk yourself back into believing, coming to around realise you're being utterly unrealistic, deciding it doesn't matter we got this far, steeling yourself for a hammering, rowing back on that, finding a reason to think 5%, 10%, 20% chance, ending up at 50:50 after a few Friday night pints, waking up with more sense, heading for Croke Park anyway.
Up Monaghan."
This,
Absolutely this.

Knoxboya (Monaghan) - Posts: 368 - 02/07/2023 20:25:11    2491545

Replying To 222:  "I did think the monahan support was poor yesterday?"
For the size of the county it was pretty good.. Now the support in Derry City was terrible,, but yesterday was great to see.. For the size of the crowd they out cheered\sang Armagh the whole way through the game

Farney (Monaghan) - Posts: 814 - 02/07/2023 20:51:57    2491559

Where is Blueblood4life ? will we see him only when Monaghan lose?

Farney (Monaghan) - Posts: 814 - 02/07/2023 21:01:13    2491567

Replying To Eddie the Exile:  "Two weeks to talk yourself out of believing, talk yourself back into believing, coming to around realise you're being utterly unrealistic, deciding it doesn't matter we got this far, steeling yourself for a hammering, rowing back on that, finding a reason to think 5%, 10%, 20% chance, ending up at 50:50 after a few Friday night pints, waking up with more sense, heading for Croke Park anyway.
Up Monaghan."
Great post. For me the two weeks is something to pin a little bit of hope on. We had a week to prepare for dublin every other time we met them and you could see today how higher their intensity levels were over a tired mayo side who were out third weekend in a row. Monaghan need to come out the gate ready to throw the kitchen sink at dublin and they couldnt play that way with the match next weekend. Also its nice to have two weeks build up. In 2018 the semi final was a week after wed qualified for first semi in 30 years.

seanie08 (Monaghan) - Posts: 1880 - 02/07/2023 21:20:29    2491569

Replying To seanie08:  "Think there is no point going up there and sitting back and hope to keep score down. If as everyone is predicting we are going to lose as well going out swinging. We v rarely make all ireland semi finals so important we go for it. We have some fine forwards with pace who can hurt that dublin defence. Nothing to lose here and two weeks to prepare. In 14 and 17 we faced them with one week turnaround."
Thats the way go in all guns blazing with nothing to lose , Hope the Down Meath game is on same day as ill be rooting for Monaghan

germac (Down) - Posts: 557 - 02/07/2023 21:20:44    2491570

Replying To Jjoniel79:  "As an outsider, do you think Monaghan play with any of the dark arts that the likes of Armagh and yourselves often get accused of? I feel that the worst offenders of so called dark art tactics are Kerry and Dublin, but because of the southern media Tyrone and Armagh get accused of it way more? There's no doubting that there's a place for it in the game because like it or not it gets results and it was often a bit of cuteness on Tyrones behalf that got yous over the line against us in close games - and more power to yous, ya's have the silverware that we can only dream of..

Watching us yesterday I thought we were a bit naive trying to win the game yesterday and we should have been a bit 'cuter'. But all the messages of support from the Tyrone, Roscommon lads on this thread makes me think we're a bit liked nearly cause we're seen as kind of harmless in the dark arts way we play the game?

Just a thought, probably be told I'm a clown but what odds"
Na dont worry about the dark arts , that means eye gouging, sledging, diving, mouthing anything at the other team nipping , the hateful list is endless, if your going to win do it with a bit of class ,Conor McManus style

germac (Down) - Posts: 557 - 02/07/2023 21:35:11    2491575

Best of luck Monaghan.

Trump2020 (Galway) - Posts: 2484 - 02/07/2023 21:39:14    2491578

Every1 says the hole country does b shouting for mayo (maybe they do)but every1 else in connacht doesn't, but one thing for sure ,every1 will b shouting for monaghan!!!

Timmy86 (Sligo) - Posts: 327 - 02/07/2023 22:12:37    2491592

Replying To Bernardo:  "Not sure we have ever beat Dublin or Kerry in the championship. Big task ahead ."
Thanks Cavan man

Shelbourne1 (Monaghan) - Posts: 406 - 02/07/2023 23:39:51    2491617

Replying To prideof85:  "Dont remember cavan beating dublin or kerry league or championship"
The Polo grounds in 1947 when Cavan won perhaps the most famous final ever. They defeated Kerry. Monaghan drew with Cavan in the Ulster championship - but beaten in the replay.

Not sure if Cavan ever beat Dublin in the champion but do not think so.

Why your interest in Cavan though

Bernardo (Monaghan) - Posts: 611 - 03/07/2023 07:27:45    2491630

Replying To Timmy86:  "Every1 says the hole country does b shouting for mayo (maybe they do)but every1 else in connacht doesn't, but one thing for sure ,every1 will b shouting for monaghan!!!"
Every1 says the hole country does b shouting for mayo (maybe they do)but every1 else in connacht doesn't, but one thing for sure ,every1 will b shouting for monaghan!!!

Timmy86 (Sligo) - Posts: 238 - 02/07/2023 22:12:37

Not a chance up the Dubs !

RHF (Cavan) - Posts: 883 - 03/07/2023 08:26:32    2491636

Replying To Jjoniel79:  "As an outsider, do you think Monaghan play with any of the dark arts that the likes of Armagh and yourselves often get accused of? I feel that the worst offenders of so called dark art tactics are Kerry and Dublin, but because of the southern media Tyrone and Armagh get accused of it way more? There's no doubting that there's a place for it in the game because like it or not it gets results and it was often a bit of cuteness on Tyrones behalf that got yous over the line against us in close games - and more power to yous, ya's have the silverware that we can only dream of..

Watching us yesterday I thought we were a bit naive trying to win the game yesterday and we should have been a bit 'cuter'. But all the messages of support from the Tyrone, Roscommon lads on this thread makes me think we're a bit liked nearly cause we're seen as kind of harmless in the dark arts way we play the game?

Just a thought, probably be told I'm a clown but what odds"
As an outsider, do you think Monaghan play with any of the dark arts that the likes of Armagh and yourselves often get accused of? I feel that the worst offenders of so called dark art tactics are Kerry and Dublin, but because of the southern media Tyrone and Armagh get accused of it way more? There's no doubting that there's a place for it in the game because like it or not it gets results and it was often a bit of cuteness on Tyrones behalf that got yous over the line against us in close games - and more power to yous, ya's have the silverware that we can only dream of..

Jjoniel79 (Monaghan) - Posts: 57 - 02/07/2023 13:34:51

I wouldn't associate Monaghan as a team that gets involved with that type of messing.

RHF (Cavan) - Posts: 883 - 03/07/2023 08:29:34    2491638

Replying to points50swiththeargyllsonthewrongfeet (Tyrone): Dublin-Kerry final. Monaghan are limited. Game, and have a couple of fading oldies, and have great spirit and will do their best (which is more than you could say about Tyrone, who are in dire need of an urgent change of management, just as they have been for the last 18 months, if co board could summon up the necessary ruthlessness, which is unlikely, given that they persisted with Harte for 5 years after it was obvious he could no longer deliver), but it will not even be close.

Derry are quite a good team, but - no matter what they say in public - they deep down do not believe they can win it. Insufficient tradition, and it matters when the finishing line is in sight. Kerry and Dublin are different animals in semis and finals, and to beat either in a semi or in a final is hard, and Derry do not have enough self-belief to achieve that.

So a Kerry Dublin final, and the good thing for a neutral is that it's one of those games where either team could win handsomely - or it could be v close. Because of how hard it is to call, one to look forward to - Kerry won't want a bunch of Dubs with 9 medals, that's for sure. That may be enough to tip the scales for Kerry ...

What a brilliant and honest post by points50swiththeargyllsonthewrongfeet (Tyrone) in the All Ireland Championship thread.
A Tyrone man telling off his team management - citing the county is in dire need of change!
Says Monaghan are limited, with a few fading oldies!
And indicating that Derry will more or less win the Sam in their dreams!

IrvinestownMkII (Fermanagh) - Posts: 1402 - 03/07/2023 09:50:07    2491669

What a great win on Saturday... all Monaghan supporters leaving Croke Park were hugely proud of players and managmement.!! unlike the game against Kildare, I thought we thoroughly deserved this victory. There seemed to be a lot of lazy punditry again on Sunday Game about Armagh missed chances but the stat's show we missed more chances then Armagh and should have won it in normal time. The Mohan mark and Bannigan free towards end of first half, which both fell short, should have been easily scorable. Every point was precious in a game like that.
I thought McGeaney's comments and antics on the pitch afterwards were a disgrace, what a poor loser. Compare that to our Vinny Corey, who was so gracious in victory, you can see why the Monahgan players will die for him on the pitch. Absolutley brilliant.!
Anyway... onwards and upwards now for a shot against the Dubs. I read Dick's article this morning in the Indo, we don't get the credit we deserve but the Dublin game is a big oppertunity now. If we can keep it tight with 15 mins to go, anything is possible. One thing for sure is that we will finish VERY strongly like we have done in all our championship games so far this year (I'm leaving Derry out of it). I just fear that Dublin will get a goal or two in the first half and kill the game on us so we need to keep it very tight. I don't mind now what style of play we play as long as we get a victory :)
BUT.. we have bigger fish to fry this weekend... I expect huge Monaghan support in Armagh this Sunday for the minor final. If Monaghan can win an All Ireland minor title, I feel this would be a big watershed moment for Monaghan football, as if we don't win a senior all ireland this year, it will instill that belief in the next crop of Monaghan players at that we can win an All Ireland, as I feel the biggest difference between Dublin and Kerry and the chasing pack is Belief.!!!
Great to see Down v Meath on same day before our semi.. we'll also give the Down boys good support. Down has always been Monaghan's second team in Ulster .!!! Hon the Farney.!!!!!!

SouthMonMan (Monaghan) - Posts: 154 - 03/07/2023 10:01:19    2491674

Replying To IrvinestownMkII:  "Replying to points50swiththeargyllsonthewrongfeet (Tyrone): Dublin-Kerry final. Monaghan are limited. Game, and have a couple of fading oldies, and have great spirit and will do their best (which is more than you could say about Tyrone, who are in dire need of an urgent change of management, just as they have been for the last 18 months, if co board could summon up the necessary ruthlessness, which is unlikely, given that they persisted with Harte for 5 years after it was obvious he could no longer deliver), but it will not even be close.

Derry are quite a good team, but - no matter what they say in public - they deep down do not believe they can win it. Insufficient tradition, and it matters when the finishing line is in sight. Kerry and Dublin are different animals in semis and finals, and to beat either in a semi or in a final is hard, and Derry do not have enough self-belief to achieve that.

So a Kerry Dublin final, and the good thing for a neutral is that it's one of those games where either team could win handsomely - or it could be v close. Because of how hard it is to call, one to look forward to - Kerry won't want a bunch of Dubs with 9 medals, that's for sure. That may be enough to tip the scales for Kerry ...

What a brilliant and honest post by points50swiththeargyllsonthewrongfeet (Tyrone) in the All Ireland Championship thread.
A Tyrone man telling off his team management - citing the county is in dire need of change!
Says Monaghan are limited, with a few fading oldies!
And indicating that Derry will more or less win the Sam in their dreams!
"
Why do you feel the need to copy and paste that in here? Have you that little to be at?

patk (Monaghan) - Posts: 937 - 03/07/2023 10:35:54    2491704