Monaghan GAA thread

Replying To Timmy86:  "Every1 says the hole country does b shouting for mayo (maybe they do)but every1 else in connacht doesn't, but one thing for sure ,every1 will b shouting for monaghan!!!"
no they won't

ModernMaharaja (Donegal) - Posts: 86 - 03/07/2023 10:38:59    2491706

Great achievement for Monaghan reaching another semi final. After twenty years of relative success I've always thought it unfortunate you's have not managed to get into a senior All Ireland final like other good sides that came out of Ulster.

I think Monaghan teams in the past twenty years have had better opportunities to achieve that but maybe it's going to happen when it is unexpected this year. I think Dublin will be too strong though but good luck and maybe a shock can happen.

sam1884 (UK) - Posts: 999 - 03/07/2023 10:44:49    2491710

Flights booked.
See yous there

Knoxboya (Monaghan) - Posts: 368 - 03/07/2023 11:07:29    2491719

Monaghan often disappointed me when going up to face the Dubs, obviously the Dubs were in their pomp those years but Monaghan were always I felt in really good shape to take them on but never seemed to bring it on the day against Dublin. I hope that changes because I think this Dublin side can be got at, Roscommon game is the template anyway and I think Monaghan will be comfortable going that style as well

If any player deserves to grace an All-Ireland final it's McManus, fingers crossed!

CCFabu (Donegal) - Posts: 152 - 03/07/2023 11:39:18    2491738

What can i say...One of the all time great days to be a monaghan supporter. We showed the mentality, courage, never say die and the skills that most counties envy. Our leadership on the field to assess the last free and analyse the time left and make a decision of what to do and who to get the ball to was outstanding, those small details are the difference. The big hit by gary mohan at the end and to get it perfect shoulder to shoulder shows that all that gym work and s &c is worth it.

I thought throughout the game we were the better team, armagh were so disappointing and their decision making was atrocious. I thought they had so much more but realistically they are limited and lived off frees. As for Mc geeney his actions after the whistle were embarrassing and sum up his managerial status, you wouldn't see another top level manager do what he does and that is why they are at home in 2 weeks time, armagh be safer off changing asap.

We really needed the full 26 men and testament to the men who came on, I thought O toole and Lennon were immense. Bannigan chipped in with some great scores and Gary mohan is not the raw lad he once was, it was a coming of age for him and that was shown with his ability to hit the 2nd penalty.

A minor team in an all Ireland semi final, under 20s in ulster final 2/3 years ago and now the seniors in the all Ireland semi final, the buzz and the spirit this will drive into Cloghan will drive us on for the the next 5 years and knowing the lads they will not fear Dublin in the slightest and why should they.

monaghanmad (Monaghan) - Posts: 409 - 03/07/2023 11:42:58    2491743

Replying To CCFabu:  "Monaghan often disappointed me when going up to face the Dubs, obviously the Dubs were in their pomp those years but Monaghan were always I felt in really good shape to take them on but never seemed to bring it on the day against Dublin. I hope that changes because I think this Dublin side can be got at, Roscommon game is the template anyway and I think Monaghan will be comfortable going that style as well

If any player deserves to grace an All-Ireland final it's McManus, fingers crossed!"
We will have to play fast attacking football . We need pace so Conor McManus whilst a three times all Star does not have the pace. Neither will Jack mccarron. Conor will be good for about 20 minutes - still class but age is catching up.

By playing fast attacking football it will let us regroup in defence fairly quickly. The dubs tend to break with speed and if we cannot counter than I think we are in for a hiding.

Hand passing the ball forever is a big no no against the dubs or they will beat us comfortably on the attack.

We are underdogs but we have a chance to cause an upset.

Wish the minors all the best - gives you confidence for the future

Bernardo (Monaghan) - Posts: 611 - 03/07/2023 12:14:25    2491757

Replying To ModernMaharaja:  "no they won't"
Ah they will sir.

Eddie the Exile (Monaghan) - Posts: 1182 - 03/07/2023 12:33:45    2491771

Replying To HarriBowe:  "on the minors. thought on a team losing to another team twice and still have a chance of beating them in an all ireland final? seems a bit silly and would take away from a victory if ye win"
Not at all, happened last year, Galway lost to Mayo twice I Connaught yet won't the All Ireland. They won the one that mattered.

MillerX (Meath) - Posts: 1102 - 03/07/2023 13:28:30    2491802

Replying To Up4it.:  "I agree... they'll be out of their depth with the big teams."
Ha, the kettle calling the pot black!!!!!

MillerX (Meath) - Posts: 1102 - 03/07/2023 13:31:52    2491804

Well done Monaghan, true grit. Looking forward to the 15th!

realdub (Dublin) - Posts: 8729 - 03/07/2023 13:57:25    2491831

Best of luck to Monaghan against the Dubs. The Dubs looked awesome yesterday BUT were given plenty to do in the first half. Where Monaghan have to particularly careful is in the first 15 minutes of the second half as Dublin's huge team of stats men and analysts will be hard at work at half time and will have plans made to counter the best Monaghan plays of the first half. I am not saying that a successful third quarter will win it but if you are in the game with 15 left then it's Dublin who will be heading for uncharted waters. Good Luck.
As for "poor Armagh" losing on penalties again, everyone knows by now that that's what happens if level after extra time so prepare, should be part of the preparation, the team management should know their eight best penalty takers, not their five best - players can be off the field for various reasons before the shootout commences. The game itself finished level but Monaghan finished marginally better in the deciding aspect of the tie. Fail to prepare, prepare to fail. Take that on board Mr McGeeney.

MillerX (Meath) - Posts: 1102 - 03/07/2023 14:05:34    2491842

here's some positive Monaghan results all from the last 6 years when we've been continually written off by the media

vrs. dublin - won in 2018, 2019 and relegated them in 2022
vrs galway - won in championship in 2018 and relegated them in 2021
vrs tyrone - won in championship 2023 (and only lost by a point in an ulster final (2021) and all ireland semi (2018))
vrs derry - draw this year, (could've won it too)
vrs mayo - beat em in the league 2020 and 2023
vrs kerry - won in the league 2018 and drew in the championship same year
vrs armagh - won this year

there's only one team in the country thats had a longer shelf-life in division 1 and thats the only team id fear in the championship. I don't even think we've gotten to top gear yet this year. i hope we get there soon though because despite some golden days out in the past, we've also left some games behind us

I don't believe we're continually "punching above our weight" - I think we're just deadly at football.

Muineachan Abu

MalsBalls (Monaghan) - Posts: 220 - 03/07/2023 14:21:43    2491848

Replying To Knoxboya:  "Flights booked.
See yous there"
Good man know friends and family doing similar constant messages about tickets. Nowhere else you'd want to be.

seanie08 (Monaghan) - Posts: 1880 - 03/07/2023 14:40:15    2491858

We'll see yous soon.

MesAmis (Dublin) - Posts: 13792 - 03/07/2023 15:00:23    2491871

Replying To germac:  "Na dont worry about the dark arts , that means eye gouging, sledging, diving, mouthing anything at the other team nipping , the hateful list is endless, if your going to win do it with a bit of class ,Conor McManus style"
Was that weee James I seen in Westmeath, I would very much doubt it.

Saynothing (Tyrone) - Posts: 2284 - 03/07/2023 19:17:04    2491969

Early access link to tickets currently circulating - beware scam!

greysoil (Monaghan) - Posts: 965 - 03/07/2023 20:32:33    2491979

This is a great opportunity for Monaghan now. I'm sure VInny will be impressing on the players that this is the time and to give the full 70+ minutes. Now, not next year or when they're a bit further on journey. 2013 especially felt like an opportunity missed as did 2018 and it's a long road back when you let opportunities slip away.

Dublin are obviously hot favourites and the last two performances against Dublin in the championship were very poor, especially 2017 where Monaghan looked stagestruck. If the players acquit themselves well and give it the full shot then that's all they can do and I'd be happy with that.

I was at the game on Saturday and I thought it was unbeliveably exciting, so I was surprised at the amount of bile coming in Monaghan and Armagh's direction after the game. The same people would be delighted if their own country got a win like that. Some people just like to complain but it's tedious listening to the endless negativity. I wish they wouldn't bother watching. Compared to the first game on Saturdayand the 2 on Sunday, it provided serious entertainment value. Anyone who remembers the dire all ireland semi-finals in the 70s and early 80s where were hardly anyone was in attendance and serious beatings were being handed out to the Connacht and Ulster champions has got to accept that things are much better now.

In the last two games Vinny has got the matchups and the substitutions correct (except for one obvious one which nearly cost Monaghan on Saturday). Monaghan also laid down some big hits during the game, none more so than from Mohan at the end. Can't understand why some people thought it was a foul.

I'm hoping the the team will put in a performance that they can be prod of. They've delivered a lot of entertainment to the fans so far this year and it's been great to follow them this far. I hope they can take the net step.

PolicemanFox (Monaghan) - Posts: 191 - 03/07/2023 22:10:27    2492003

Does anyone know if Tickets through county board for Dubs game ?

Shelbourne1 (Monaghan) - Posts: 406 - 04/07/2023 13:00:22    2492127

The link last night wasn't a scam. It was the county board club link. This was the GAA way of distributing through the clubs before the general sale took place

updafaughs (Monaghan) - Posts: 56 - 04/07/2023 14:44:29    2492164

Replying To updafaughs:  "The link last night wasn't a scam. It was the county board club link. This was the GAA way of distributing through the clubs before the general sale took place"
Who did they send link to ?

I'm a club member and never received the link

Shelbourne1 (Monaghan) - Posts: 406 - 04/07/2023 15:25:36    2492190