Seeing a lot of comments here and online talking about the way the game was played and that it was a pity either team won and bla bla bla. Jjoniel79 (Monaghan) - Posts: 199 - 02/07/2023 12:00:57 2491278 Link 2 |
What match were you watching?
veterngaa (Monaghan) - Posts: 745 - 02/07/2023 12:13:18 2491279 Link 0 |
Delighted for Vinny Corey, I can see why the players put their bodies on the line for him. A proud Monaghan man who doesn't do drama, I thought he was very sporting in his after match comments. If you draw Cork or Derry I think you will make the final, Best of luck going forward. tireoghainabu (Tyrone) - Posts: 390 - 02/07/2023 12:35:21 2491286 Link 0 |
I have to say, in all the battles we've had with Donegal in the last decade, the good relations between both sets of fans have never waivered. Always a pleasure to share a stadium with the Tir Chonaill people, recently in Omagh being no exception. The contrast with the Tyrone-Armagh rivalry is stark; yesterday was like a proxy war in Croke Park between those two. They really don't like each other at all!
Eddie the Exile (Monaghan) - Posts: 1182 - 02/07/2023 13:22:10 2491298 Link 0 |
As an outsider, do you think Monaghan play with any of the dark arts that the likes of Armagh and yourselves often get accused of? I feel that the worst offenders of so called dark art tactics are Kerry and Dublin, but because of the southern media Tyrone and Armagh get accused of it way more? There's no doubting that there's a place for it in the game because like it or not it gets results and it was often a bit of cuteness on Tyrones behalf that got yous over the line against us in close games - and more power to yous, ya's have the silverware that we can only dream of.. Watching us yesterday I thought we were a bit naive trying to win the game yesterday and we should have been a bit 'cuter'. But all the messages of support from the Tyrone, Roscommon lads on this thread makes me think we're a bit liked nearly cause we're seen as kind of harmless in the dark arts way we play the game? Just a thought, probably be told I'm a clown but what odds Jjoniel79 (Monaghan) - Posts: 199 - 02/07/2023 13:34:51 2491302 Link 0 |
100% agree, always great banter between both sets of supporters. Admire greatly Mc Manus & Beggan, great servants for Monaghan. To get to an All Ireland semi final is an incredible achievement for this group of players. Vinny Corey gave a great interview after the match as well. Enjoy the build up to the next 2 weeks. Days like these dont come around often.......
Scenicparish (Donegal) - Posts: 459 - 02/07/2023 13:52:04 2491315 Link 3 |
Congratulations Monaghan.. I was in Dublin yesterday so went out to Croke park. skillet (Limerick) - Posts: 1106 - 02/07/2023 14:04:02 2491321 Link 6 |
Super super win for monaghan. Corey got it 100 per cent right on the line. The tackling, turnovers and ball retention was the best I have seen monaghan play in a long long time over the course of the game, it was a very good performance for such an occasion. Mohan, Boyle, Mc Manus, Beggan, Mc Carthy and O Connell were magnificent. The cameo of kieran Hughes was also brilliant. Big swing in the game was thwarting raffertys kick outs in second half, Beggan had a big role in this. And than the composure to get the equaliser was class in ET. Clutch moments or what. 222 (UK) - Posts: 844 - 02/07/2023 14:05:13 2491323 Link 0 |
So much admiration for Monaghan, what an achievement this year, considering how difficult Monaghan found it getting a manager in place it's some lesson for Donegal. CCFabu (Donegal) - Posts: 152 - 02/07/2023 14:58:01 2491342 Link 0 |
Congrats to monaghan, went up as neutrals to watch the game, came away with such a great impression of the monaghan supporters, we went into kavanaghs for a bite to eat and two fellas from donaghmoyne gave us two seats had a great chat with them, met a couple of monaghan minors outside, nice chaps full of chat. We were sat behind a family from monaghan at the game, they gave it socks, was delighted for them at the end. Best of luck in the semis. Barrowsider (Carlow) - Posts: 1708 - 02/07/2023 15:24:22 2491352 Link 3 |
Wish monaghan all the best in the semis. In all our meetings I don't ever recall the free takers getting jeered like some counties in ulster. Yee are in bonus territory now and have a free hit at getting to the final, will be written off by everyone would be great to see mcmanus in a final, one of the best in Ireland in the last 15 years
totalrecall (Leitrim) - Posts: 1039 - 02/07/2023 15:33:34 2491358 Link 2 |
greysoil (Monaghan) - Posts: 965 - 02/07/2023 18:18:06 2491437 Link 2 |
Got the best draw possible in both Kildare and Armagh and now it's like climbing Mount Everest… we will need 20 plus points to beat the dubs so hard to see where we're gunna get the scores from.. anyway it will be a marvellous occasion again and a free hit.. a special time to be a Monaghan supporter.. mick2007 (Monaghan) - Posts: 569 - 02/07/2023 18:47:26 2491461 Link 0 |
Not sure we have ever beat Dublin or Kerry in the championship. Big task ahead .
Bernardo (Monaghan) - Posts: 611 - 02/07/2023 18:55:36 2491467 Link 0 |
Drew with kerry 1985 big task for monaghan to get here so its progress in the face of transition derry in the same boat prideof85 (Monaghan) - Posts: 851 - 02/07/2023 19:06:39 2491478 Link 0 |
DUBLIN V MONAGHAN I could easily write Monaghan's obituary which would includes the words... eat... alive..tails & legs! WestRules (Galway) - Posts: 271 - 02/07/2023 19:11:33 2491484 Link 0 |
Was always going to be tough draw either way, but sure look - we're in bonus territory now so we may just go out and give it a lash, and give a good account of ourselves. patk (Monaghan) - Posts: 937 - 02/07/2023 19:24:06 2491496 Link 1 |
Dublin a much better draw than Kerry. We've beaten them a number of times over the past few years. And even if it was only in the league, some of those games were competitive. Dublin walked through an average Mayo side in the 2nd half day. It's unlikely they'll get the same space as that against us. A tough draw, but not unthinkable that we win. SoNearYetSoFarney (Monaghan) - Posts: 56 - 02/07/2023 19:33:24 2491507 Link 0 |
Think there is no point going up there and sitting back and hope to keep score down. If as everyone is predicting we are going to lose as well going out swinging. We v rarely make all ireland semi finals so important we go for it. We have some fine forwards with pace who can hurt that dublin defence. Nothing to lose here and two weeks to prepare. In 14 and 17 we faced them with one week turnaround. seanie08 (Monaghan) - Posts: 1880 - 02/07/2023 19:33:59 2491508 Link 1 |
I don't know the stats for Cavan Bernardo v Kerry and Dublin when you used to be in the tbe Sam Maguire championship
greysoil (Monaghan) - Posts: 965 - 02/07/2023 19:34:04 2491509 Link 2 |