Monaghan GAA thread

Replying To PolicemanFox:  "This is a great opportunity for Monaghan now. I'm sure VInny will be impressing on the players that this is the time and to give the full 70+ minutes. Now, not next year or when they're a bit further on journey. 2013 especially felt like an opportunity missed as did 2018 and it's a long road back when you let opportunities slip away.

Dublin are obviously hot favourites and the last two performances against Dublin in the championship were very poor, especially 2017 where Monaghan looked stagestruck. If the players acquit themselves well and give it the full shot then that's all they can do and I'd be happy with that.

I was at the game on Saturday and I thought it was unbeliveably exciting, so I was surprised at the amount of bile coming in Monaghan and Armagh's direction after the game. The same people would be delighted if their own country got a win like that. Some people just like to complain but it's tedious listening to the endless negativity. I wish they wouldn't bother watching. Compared to the first game on Saturdayand the 2 on Sunday, it provided serious entertainment value. Anyone who remembers the dire all ireland semi-finals in the 70s and early 80s where were hardly anyone was in attendance and serious beatings were being handed out to the Connacht and Ulster champions has got to accept that things are much better now.

In the last two games Vinny has got the matchups and the substitutions correct (except for one obvious one which nearly cost Monaghan on Saturday). Monaghan also laid down some big hits during the game, none more so than from Mohan at the end. Can't understand why some people thought it was a foul.

I'm hoping the the team will put in a performance that they can be prod of. They've delivered a lot of entertainment to the fans so far this year and it's been great to follow them this far. I hope they can take the net step."
As a Cavan man and a neutral, I really enjoyed the match, it was a cagey tactical battle between two very good teams, neither team wanting to give an inch to the other so fair play to both teams and the efforts of all the players on the pitch.

Can Monaghan beat the Dubs, who knows, but having watched them over the years, if they dont, it wont be because of effort. I think defensively, Monaghan wont give away too much, but the forwards will have to work very hard for their scores, they'll need to be patient and intelligent with their passing and you never know, its a one off match and anything could happen, so best of luck to our neighbours and rivals!

cavanblueman (Cavan) - Posts: 636 - 04/07/2023 15:40:06    2492198

Replying To Shelbourne1:  "Who did they send link to ?

I'm a club member and never received the link"
Club secretaries get them as far as I know. GAA centrally would not have everyone's email!

BarneyGrant (Dublin) - Posts: 3441 - 04/07/2023 15:53:55    2492207

Replying To Knoxboya:  "Flights booked.
See yous there"
Knocks west is Monaghan knocks East is Cavan so I presume you are from knocks west.

Heart says Monaghan head says Dublin

Bernardo (Monaghan) - Posts: 611 - 04/07/2023 16:04:39    2492213

Replying To cavanblueman:  "As a Cavan man and a neutral, I really enjoyed the match, it was a cagey tactical battle between two very good teams, neither team wanting to give an inch to the other so fair play to both teams and the efforts of all the players on the pitch.

Can Monaghan beat the Dubs, who knows, but having watched them over the years, if they dont, it wont be because of effort. I think defensively, Monaghan wont give away too much, but the forwards will have to work very hard for their scores, they'll need to be patient and intelligent with their passing and you never know, its a one off match and anything could happen, so best of luck to our neighbours and rivals!"
Thanks cavanblueman appreciate that !

Shelbourne1 (Monaghan) - Posts: 406 - 04/07/2023 16:46:57    2492223

Gotta say the whinging from mcgeaney and Co is nauseating. The shoulder from Mohan was spot on. An Armagh player lander a far worse one in extra time. The black card for jones was outrageous and again a rugby tackle on Wylie in et went without a black. If anything decisions went AGAINST Monaghan. Could u imagine if Hawkeye let down Armagh at a crucial time too haha. (prob was wide tho). Think we can take out the dubs. Will need to control possession to keep the score down n land a late goal maybe but mostly we must believe!

Dcgael (Monaghan) - Posts: 11 - 04/07/2023 17:49:58    2492240

Replying To Bernardo:  "Knocks west is Monaghan knocks East is Cavan so I presume you are from knocks west.

Heart says Monaghan head says Dublin"
Ah Jaysus, weren't you at this nonsense a few years ago.

https://www.townlands.ie/monaghan/dartree/currin/killynenagh/knocks-east/

Holy mother, what have we done to warrant this.

Knoxboya (Monaghan) - Posts: 368 - 04/07/2023 18:14:21    2492249

Replying To IrvinestownMkII:  "Penalties are no way to sort out a game. Monaghan's progress is just down to luck. I bet they not go much further!"
Dry your eyes, fermanagh clown

McGuirk1985@ (Monaghan) - Posts: 87 - 04/07/2023 18:24:09    2492251

Replying To Scenicparish:  "100% agree, always great banter between both sets of supporters. Admire greatly Mc Manus & Beggan, great servants for Monaghan. To get to an All Ireland semi final is an incredible achievement for this group of players. Vinny Corey gave a great interview after the match as well. Enjoy the build up to the next 2 weeks. Days like these dont come around often......."
Donegal supporters are always respectful towards monaghan any game I was at. A great set of fans. I was disappointed with the fighting during the armagh game not nice to see

McGuirk1985@ (Monaghan) - Posts: 87 - 04/07/2023 18:29:34    2492253

Conor mc carthy has to get an all star this year, incredible season from him. Unbelievably proud of our players the attitude and commitment these boys have. I know a few of them personally and the sacrifices they make is remarkable. You never know against dublin they could do it. Up the farney

McGuirk1985@ (Monaghan) - Posts: 87 - 04/07/2023 18:33:24    2492254

can meath county board delegates get the bluebrints of your last 10 years please and thanks. we have funding next most after dublin and nearly a quater of a million people so all we need now is your blueprints and secret spirit potion thanks. money of course no object !

dickie10 (UK) - Posts: 817 - 04/07/2023 18:59:06    2492259

Ticketmaster's allocation sold within two hours but was smaller than normal because of the allocation that needed to be provided for the 4 county teams .

The Gaa have underestimated the demand for tickets big time

Sidelinefoot (USA) - Posts: 10 - 04/07/2023 19:58:55    2492279

Replying To Sidelinefoot:  "Ticketmaster's allocation sold within two hours but was smaller than normal because of the allocation that needed to be provided for the 4 county teams .

The Gaa have underestimated the demand for tickets big time"
My understanding is that clubs are saying that tickets are also on sale at SuperValu/Centra

Knoxboya (Monaghan) - Posts: 368 - 05/07/2023 09:51:33    2492325

Someone in GAA didnt get the memo that Down and Meath combined population is around 720,000. even if you take away half down population as Loyalists your over half a million people still. meath brought 38,000 fans to ladies final last year out of an attendance of 48,000. crazy that meath v down is not on with kerry game sunday

dickie10 (UK) - Posts: 817 - 05/07/2023 10:14:22    2492330

Replying To Knoxboya:  "My understanding is that clubs are saying that tickets are also on sale at SuperValu/Centra"
Clubs seem to be reluctant to be involved. I can understand that from point of view of hassle involved, but it is best way to ensure both that genuine people get them, and that it is a more orderly process.

Ticketmaster may be a necessary evil but they are have a habit of selling worse tickets first. Better tickets do usually come back once clubs and season tickets are looked after but with another sell out guaranteed that means having a lot of luck and timing on your side!

Having Tailteann final same day as ourselves makes zero sense.

BarneyGrant (Dublin) - Posts: 3441 - 05/07/2023 11:26:17    2492365

Replying To McGuirk1985@:  "Dry your eyes, fermanagh clown"
Show a bit of respect mate. Everyone is entitled to their opinion. If Monaghan fans truly believe that their team can beat the the Dubs, then I respect their opinion but from my perspective as a neutral I don't share that view.

IrvinestownMkII (Fermanagh) - Posts: 1402 - 05/07/2023 22:12:24    2492545

Find it funny other teams supporters coming on here telling us Dublin who are 1/6 favourites are going to beat us. V brave prediction there. Look all on the day and only one side can win the all ireland every year but we have a better chance at this point than the other 28 counties who are all at home now. Suspect and have picked up on it that a lot of other counties are tad sore monaghan have reached an all ireland semi final. This is nothing against monaghan. Its just the media conditioned supporters to believe most open all ireland in yrs and mayo Galway armagh Tyrone were going to challenge but none of those teams stepped up when it counted this summer so deserve to be gone. I'll accept kerry dublin look miles better than everyone else but read a lot of nonsence last few weeks about this great armagh side we were meant to be playing have never brought into that. They haven't been in AI semi final since 05. Tyrone have lost their hunger since 21 and some of their best players. Donegal to be fair in transition. Galway Mayo over hyped. Monaghan may well be enjoying a freakish year in fairness. Our record is played 7 championship matches won 3 kildare clare and Tyrone lost 2 derry donegal and drew 2 armagh derry. Not amazing on face of it and you wouldn't expect it to get you to a semi final but you make your own luck. We are a v hard side to play against we never lie down or roll over and keep battling till final whistle. Always got a chance when you play like that. if other counties want to blame us for being in the semi finals because the media favourite counties weren't good enough to get there and are annoyed as looking kerry dublin again to hell with them. We will enjoy the ride and give it everything on Saturday week win lose or draw we dont know any other way.

seanie08 (Monaghan) - Posts: 1880 - 06/07/2023 10:18:13    2492580

Replying To seanie08:  "Find it funny other teams supporters coming on here telling us Dublin who are 1/6 favourites are going to beat us. V brave prediction there. Look all on the day and only one side can win the all ireland every year but we have a better chance at this point than the other 28 counties who are all at home now. Suspect and have picked up on it that a lot of other counties are tad sore monaghan have reached an all ireland semi final. This is nothing against monaghan. Its just the media conditioned supporters to believe most open all ireland in yrs and mayo Galway armagh Tyrone were going to challenge but none of those teams stepped up when it counted this summer so deserve to be gone. I'll accept kerry dublin look miles better than everyone else but read a lot of nonsence last few weeks about this great armagh side we were meant to be playing have never brought into that. They haven't been in AI semi final since 05. Tyrone have lost their hunger since 21 and some of their best players. Donegal to be fair in transition. Galway Mayo over hyped. Monaghan may well be enjoying a freakish year in fairness. Our record is played 7 championship matches won 3 kildare clare and Tyrone lost 2 derry donegal and drew 2 armagh derry. Not amazing on face of it and you wouldn't expect it to get you to a semi final but you make your own luck. We are a v hard side to play against we never lie down or roll over and keep battling till final whistle. Always got a chance when you play like that. if other counties want to blame us for being in the semi finals because the media favourite counties weren't good enough to get there and are annoyed as looking kerry dublin again to hell with them. We will enjoy the ride and give it everything on Saturday week win lose or draw we dont know any other way."
Well said. If every other county in Ireland played with Monaghan's attitude we'd have a lot better Championship. That said, I feel it's a bit condescending to Monaghan's players just putting their AI semi-final berth down to their attitude. They have some serious footballers too well able to play against the best of them. Looks like the trend is set to continue as well what with your minor footballers doing so well.

All the best for next weekend. It will be a tall order, but one thing for sure is Monaghan won't die wondering.

Lockjaw (Donegal) - Posts: 9728 - 06/07/2023 10:42:05    2492595

Replying To seanie08:  "Find it funny other teams supporters coming on here telling us Dublin who are 1/6 favourites are going to beat us. V brave prediction there. Look all on the day and only one side can win the all ireland every year but we have a better chance at this point than the other 28 counties who are all at home now. Suspect and have picked up on it that a lot of other counties are tad sore monaghan have reached an all ireland semi final. This is nothing against monaghan. Its just the media conditioned supporters to believe most open all ireland in yrs and mayo Galway armagh Tyrone were going to challenge but none of those teams stepped up when it counted this summer so deserve to be gone. I'll accept kerry dublin look miles better than everyone else but read a lot of nonsence last few weeks about this great armagh side we were meant to be playing have never brought into that. They haven't been in AI semi final since 05. Tyrone have lost their hunger since 21 and some of their best players. Donegal to be fair in transition. Galway Mayo over hyped. Monaghan may well be enjoying a freakish year in fairness. Our record is played 7 championship matches won 3 kildare clare and Tyrone lost 2 derry donegal and drew 2 armagh derry. Not amazing on face of it and you wouldn't expect it to get you to a semi final but you make your own luck. We are a v hard side to play against we never lie down or roll over and keep battling till final whistle. Always got a chance when you play like that. if other counties want to blame us for being in the semi finals because the media favourite counties weren't good enough to get there and are annoyed as looking kerry dublin again to hell with them. We will enjoy the ride and give it everything on Saturday week win lose or draw we dont know any other way."
No doubt Dublin will go in as favourites, which is understandable, but they wont be taking Monaghan for granted as the Dubs know they will be in for a battle. Dublin are a great team, but not the same team they were under Gavin, so if Monagahan forwards can get the scores on the board, then who knows, its a knock out All Ireland semi-final and Monaghan will be there or thereabouts until the end.

cavanblueman (Cavan) - Posts: 636 - 06/07/2023 12:31:40    2492636

Replying To cavanblueman:  "No doubt Dublin will go in as favourites, which is understandable, but they wont be taking Monaghan for granted as the Dubs know they will be in for a battle. Dublin are a great team, but not the same team they were under Gavin, so if Monagahan forwards can get the scores on the board, then who knows, its a knock out All Ireland semi-final and Monaghan will be there or thereabouts until the end."
I heard that Dublin are going to rest their players for their final against Kerry.. It's already been decided,, there is no point in them sending their best players out against Monaghan in case we hurt them..

Farney (Monaghan) - Posts: 814 - 06/07/2023 13:45:27    2492657

You say "Galway Mayo are over hyped. Monaghan may well be enjoying a freakish year..."
Not over-hyped but they are quality superior teams as evidenced in their performance. Yes, I would agree with Monaghan's current run as being freakish because that's what it is. However, my friend, year after year Galway, Kerry, Mayo and Dublin will continue at their superior level because they have the quality players that don't depend on wishful or freaky success to merit their place in the top best teams in this country. Enjoy your outing to Croker.

WestRules (Galway) - Posts: 271 - 06/07/2023 15:00:52    2492684