Roscommon GAA thread

Replying To SmokieRoss:  "Not a season ending injury but a muscle injury sustained with his club a few weeks back I believe. Rumour has it that Ruairi Fallon could be back to GAA now that his rugby season is finished. Be a big addition to club and county.

League final in Croke Park next Sunday at 1.45pm."
When is the first match for the U20s in the Connacht championship.

endgame (Roscommon) - Posts: 2154 - 27/03/2022 21:15:35    2407566

Replying To endgame:  "When is the first match for the U20s in the Connacht championship."
April 13th against Sligo who had 3 good minor teams the last 3 years.

The_analyser (Roscommon) - Posts: 3742 - 27/03/2022 21:37:07    2407585

Delighted to see Ciaran Murtagh back to form yesterday, had a slow first 10 mins but really came into the game and kicked some great scores, looked to have that sharpness back again, great to see

Rossie14 (Roscommon) - Posts: 33 - 28/03/2022 09:44:58    2407634

Replying To Rossie14:  "Delighted to see Ciaran Murtagh back to form yesterday, had a slow first 10 mins but really came into the game and kicked some great scores, looked to have that sharpness back again, great to see"
Great to see is right and he kicked some lovely passes as well. It should do his confidence the world of good.

I don't like being critical of players but I think after the long Pearses club campaign that David Murray could do with a rest. Is Colin Walsh still around the panel? I know he didn't really feature in the league but would love to see him brought in and it could also show some of the regulars that if your form dips there are young lads there only too willing to take your place. Healthy competition. He seems to be a natural one on one defender which is the sort of back that Roscommon don't have too many of.

MachaireConnacht (Roscommon) - Posts: 771 - 28/03/2022 10:56:40    2407666

Great win yesterday albeit against a "FBD" Galway team.
Between substitutions and lads having the job done we eased up considerably in the last 15 losing by 1-5 to 0-3.
McCormack, Hughes, Harney, Nolan and McKeon were our best men on the day. Cox wasn't bad either.
Job done as far as D2 is concerned and we've ended the campaign in better shape than we began it.
No coincidence either that good weather and drier ground saw better performances all round.

Both managers saying they're going all out to win next Sundays Final but I wonder......

The daftness of the current structure is so evident this year for Ros.... 8 games in 11 weeks most of them in crap weather.
2 games 8 weeks as weather improves, days lengthen and grounds dry up.

Seanfanbocht (Roscommon) - Posts: 1398 - 28/03/2022 11:23:02    2407686

Replying To MachaireConnacht:  "Great to see is right and he kicked some lovely passes as well. It should do his confidence the world of good.

I don't like being critical of players but I think after the long Pearses club campaign that David Murray could do with a rest. Is Colin Walsh still around the panel? I know he didn't really feature in the league but would love to see him brought in and it could also show some of the regulars that if your form dips there are young lads there only too willing to take your place. Healthy competition. He seems to be a natural one on one defender which is the sort of back that Roscommon don't have too many of."
Absolutely zero chance of Walsh featuring when he hasn't to date. Might need a year or two around the panel like Nolan before he is ready. Needs to improve his basic football skill levels. Seems to have an awkward way of kicking the ball. Loads of potential.

sourmilk93 (Roscommon) - Posts: 1143 - 28/03/2022 11:53:39    2407699

Replying To Seanfanbocht:  "Great win yesterday albeit against a "FBD" Galway team.
Between substitutions and lads having the job done we eased up considerably in the last 15 losing by 1-5 to 0-3.
McCormack, Hughes, Harney, Nolan and McKeon were our best men on the day. Cox wasn't bad either.
Job done as far as D2 is concerned and we've ended the campaign in better shape than we began it.
No coincidence either that good weather and drier ground saw better performances all round.

Both managers saying they're going all out to win next Sundays Final but I wonder......

The daftness of the current structure is so evident this year for Ros.... 8 games in 11 weeks most of them in crap weather.
2 games 8 weeks as weather improves, days lengthen and grounds dry up."
Agreed on the best men. I thought Enda Smith did well also. Cox considering he was double marked a lot of the time was good and his shot selection has improved massively. Keith Doyle gives us a great option when going long on the kick outs as well. I would worry about some of the kick outs in the second half and if we were to come up against a pressing team like Mayo in the championship. You couldn't fault the effort of everyone yesterday.

MachaireConnacht (Roscommon) - Posts: 771 - 28/03/2022 12:08:01    2407708

Replying To Seanfanbocht:  "Great win yesterday albeit against a "FBD" Galway team.

2 games 8 weeks as weather improves, days lengthen and grounds dry up."
Couldn't agree more re schedule. The championship needs restructuring to get more games in the good part of the year. Also it's needed to introduce fairness. Ulster counties claim the cards are stacked against them , but there is an argument to say that the competitiveness and regularity of games is playing in their favour. Regardless of which school of thought you subscribe to, consistency is required. Its not too bad for Galway and Mayo this year but I think Ros could be disadvantaged coming in to the Connacht final. Ye are coming in to good form now but it will be a challenge to sustain it until the CF.

anotheralias (Galway) - Posts: 839 - 28/03/2022 12:10:51    2407712

Replying To sourmilk93:  "Absolutely zero chance of Walsh featuring when he hasn't to date. Might need a year or two around the panel like Nolan before he is ready. Needs to improve his basic football skill levels. Seems to have an awkward way of kicking the ball. Loads of potential."
He is raw alright and time around the panel would do him the world of good. Very impressed with Nolan. I'd like if there was another young back on the verge of breaking into the team to keep lads on their toes. We seem to have that competition with our forward line.

MachaireConnacht (Roscommon) - Posts: 771 - 28/03/2022 12:19:34    2407716

Replying To MachaireConnacht:  "Great to see is right and he kicked some lovely passes as well. It should do his confidence the world of good.

I don't like being critical of players but I think after the long Pearses club campaign that David Murray could do with a rest. Is Colin Walsh still around the panel? I know he didn't really feature in the league but would love to see him brought in and it could also show some of the regulars that if your form dips there are young lads there only too willing to take your place. Healthy competition. He seems to be a natural one on one defender which is the sort of back that Roscommon don't have too many of."
Walsh was released back to his club Oran, played at weekend in the Dome against Eire Og at midfield and scored a couple of points. He's a player for the future and he's gone on record himself to say full back isn't his preferred position.

The_analyser (Roscommon) - Posts: 3742 - 28/03/2022 12:37:22    2407725

Good win Roscommon. I'm glad the Big 3 in Connacht will all be together in the League next year. They have to play each other which I find more entertaining than Galway v Derry or whatever.

Trump2020 (Galway) - Posts: 2113 - 28/03/2022 13:58:49    2407761

Replying To The_analyser:  "Walsh was released back to his club Oran, played at weekend in the Dome against Eire Og at midfield and scored a couple of points. He's a player for the future and he's gone on record himself to say full back isn't his preferred position."
Cant see him making the team in any other position other than full back in the short term.

sourmilk93 (Roscommon) - Posts: 1143 - 28/03/2022 14:05:34    2407767

Replying To sourmilk93:  "Cant see him making the team in any other position other than full back in the short term."
I think he prefers centre back but he was a good full back on the U20 team last year. We don't have a natural full back in the mould of Pat Lindsay but Brian Stack is a good footballer and he's done well there.

endgame (Roscommon) - Posts: 2154 - 28/03/2022 16:46:18    2407824

Replying To endgame:  "I think he prefers centre back but he was a good full back on the U20 team last year. We don't have a natural full back in the mould of Pat Lindsay but Brian Stack is a good footballer and he's done well there."
What other options do we have in the full back line? Is Evan McGrath still in the mix? We seem to really lack depth in that area so hopefully Brian Stack stays injury free.

MachaireConnacht (Roscommon) - Posts: 771 - 28/03/2022 16:57:58    2407829

Replying To endgame:  "I think he prefers centre back but he was a good full back on the U20 team last year. We don't have a natural full back in the mould of Pat Lindsay but Brian Stack is a good footballer and he's done well there."
Brian Stack is such a good footballer he would be a success in any position.

Seanfanbocht (Roscommon) - Posts: 1398 - 28/03/2022 17:47:52    2407849

Did fallon from brigid's get released by connacht rugby anyone know.

OhtobeARossie (Roscommon) - Posts: 1764 - 28/03/2022 18:38:43    2407865

Replying To OhtobeARossie:  "Did fallon from brigid's get released by connacht rugby anyone know."
I didn't hear anything.. is he part of u20s this year.

dave1988 (Roscommon) - Posts: 1043 - 29/03/2022 11:10:09    2408008

Replying To dave1988:  "I didn't hear anything.. is he part of u20s this year."
You can't be mixing the 2 games at a high level.

Seanfanbocht (Roscommon) - Posts: 1398 - 29/03/2022 11:30:51    2408023

Replying To Seanfanbocht:  "You can't be mixing the 2 games at a high level."
I understand that if he's involved with Connacht rugby he won't be playing for Roscommon again but someone asked above was he released by Connacht rugby?

dave1988 (Roscommon) - Posts: 1043 - 29/03/2022 12:20:10    2408050

Evan McG was released off the panel a few weeks ago along with a few others.. Its crazy the lack of natural defenders we produce compared to the conveyor belt of quality forwards.. Hopefully Eoin mcCormack continues to flourish at this level because he is the find of the year so far and at a perfect moment with Davey Murray feeling his way back in and Fergal Lennon injured.. What is Sean Mulloolys current status does anybody know? I have heard conflicting reports on him injury-wise... on a separate topic, GAA won't win much goodwill pricing tickets at 25 quid each this weekend in the middle of a cost of living crisis..

ross4sam11 (Roscommon) - Posts: 96 - 29/03/2022 12:37:25    2408056