Roscommon GAA thread

Keith Doyle unlucky to be sent off last week replaced by Cian McKeon our only change from last weekend. Galway meanwhile of the 21 players that featured in the mauling of Derry have 16 of them part of their named 26 this weekend. Those rested are C McDaid,J Daly,R Finnerty and D Comer is out injured plus P Conroy suspended. Shane Walsh who didnt play v Derry is on the panel this weekend.

Not surprised Joyce has gone with a strong hand, momentum is a big thing in sport and especially a few weeks off the championship. A competitive contest to be expected and as said already we'll have to deliver our best performance at home this year in order to win. Best of luck to the Roscommon players tomorrow.

The_analyser (Roscommon) - Posts: 3750 - 26/03/2022 10:20:39    2407129

Replying To The_analyser:  "Keith Doyle unlucky to be sent off last week replaced by Cian McKeon our only change from last weekend. Galway meanwhile of the 21 players that featured in the mauling of Derry have 16 of them part of their named 26 this weekend. Those rested are C McDaid,J Daly,R Finnerty and D Comer is out injured plus P Conroy suspended. Shane Walsh who didnt play v Derry is on the panel this weekend.

Not surprised Joyce has gone with a strong hand, momentum is a big thing in sport and especially a few weeks off the championship. A competitive contest to be expected and as said already we'll have to deliver our best performance at home this year in order to win. Best of luck to the Roscommon players tomorrow."
Strong Galway panel alright - they have good strength in depth there, particularly up front. On our own side, I'm a bit surprised that Kilroy is left out again. I always feel we look more assured defensively with him playing. Other than that the team picks itself really, nobody from 1-9 deserved to lose their place (although was surprised that Conor Daly didn't see a few minutes last week) and he seems to be favouring Diarmuid Murtagh as an impact sub at the moment.

Primrose_and_blue (Roscommon) - Posts: 68 - 26/03/2022 11:41:01    2407148

It's all big games now for Ros starting tomorrow.
We've had the "Dome experience" and the early rounds of League mixing the good, the bad and the ugly but now it's the business end of the County season.
Galway won't be coming to make it easy for us but our greater need to win might be the difference in the end (hopefully says he).

Seanfanbocht (Roscommon) - Posts: 1411 - 26/03/2022 11:46:58    2407151

I see Galway have 7 changes from match v Derry ,, Roscommon should have way 2 much for them prob 6/7 point win

Kickitout (Galway) - Posts: 838 - 26/03/2022 12:15:11    2407153

Replying To The_analyser:  "Keith Doyle unlucky to be sent off last week replaced by Cian McKeon our only change from last weekend. Galway meanwhile of the 21 players that featured in the mauling of Derry have 16 of them part of their named 26 this weekend. Those rested are C McDaid,J Daly,R Finnerty and D Comer is out injured plus P Conroy suspended. Shane Walsh who didnt play v Derry is on the panel this weekend.

Not surprised Joyce has gone with a strong hand, momentum is a big thing in sport and especially a few weeks off the championship. A competitive contest to be expected and as said already we'll have to deliver our best performance at home this year in order to win. Best of luck to the Roscommon players tomorrow."
I would say it's a mid strength galway team. With Conroy suspended and Walsh and Comer carrying slight injuries it was going to be a weakened team anyhow but daly finnerty mcdaid silke mchugh Gallagher all rested too iweakens us further. But selecting the 2 Kelly's Tierney molloy heaney is a positive sign that Galway are treating this seriously.

anotheralias (Galway) - Posts: 840 - 26/03/2022 12:43:24    2407157

Replying To Kickitout:  "I see Galway have 7 changes from match v Derry ,, Roscommon should have way 2 much for them prob 6/7 point win"
A bit disrespectful to the players that has come in. A combination of U20 All Ireland winners and U21 All Ireland runners up and Canney,Finnerty two of most in form forwards in Galway club championship last year.

Galway will play to the same system and style of play that has got them six wins in a row and has made them top scorers across the 4 Divisions. If they manage it a 1 point win for Rossies would be a good result.

Gaa_lover (USA) - Posts: 3344 - 26/03/2022 17:34:48    2407224

Replying To Primrose_and_blue:  "Strong Galway panel alright - they have good strength in depth there, particularly up front. On our own side, I'm a bit surprised that Kilroy is left out again. I always feel we look more assured defensively with him playing. Other than that the team picks itself really, nobody from 1-9 deserved to lose their place (although was surprised that Conor Daly didn't see a few minutes last week) and he seems to be favouring Diarmuid Murtagh as an impact sub at the moment."
D Murtagh on his last few seasons form is just about good enough to be in a matchday panel never mind be considered an impact sub, such a shame as He is probably the most naturally gifted forward I have seen come through all our brilliant underage teams the last few years.. Ciaran is also struggling for form and I feel he is lucky to be still starting, a dearth of options to replace him is apparent.. N Kilroys tough few days in Fuerty with that tragedy is probably the reasoning of him not starting... This is huge for us tomorrow, lose/miss out on promotion and it's tough to turn around with a short break and meeting a much stronger Galway or Mayo side (no disrespect to Sligo)..

ross4sam11 (Roscommon) - Posts: 96 - 26/03/2022 19:15:20    2407237

Replying To ross4sam11:  "D Murtagh on his last few seasons form is just about good enough to be in a matchday panel never mind be considered an impact sub, such a shame as He is probably the most naturally gifted forward I have seen come through all our brilliant underage teams the last few years.. Ciaran is also struggling for form and I feel he is lucky to be still starting, a dearth of options to replace him is apparent.. N Kilroys tough few days in Fuerty with that tragedy is probably the reasoning of him not starting... This is huge for us tomorrow, lose/miss out on promotion and it's tough to turn around with a short break and meeting a much stronger Galway or Mayo side (no disrespect to Sligo).."
Diarmuid scored good point when he came on last week but agree he has dipped massively. Personally think he has bulked up way to much and as a result lost a yard of pace and speed of his turn. Miles below what he is capable of and talent he has. Underage himself Enda Donie Ultan and Compton were the standouts. Enda and Donie have done well into senior. Other three been unlucky with injury but Ultan going well at moment with injury free run

sourmilk93 (Roscommon) - Posts: 1144 - 26/03/2022 19:33:18    2407242

Replying To sourmilk93:  "Diarmuid scored good point when he came on last week but agree he has dipped massively. Personally think he has bulked up way to much and as a result lost a yard of pace and speed of his turn. Miles below what he is capable of and talent he has. Underage himself Enda Donie Ultan and Compton were the standouts. Enda and Donie have done well into senior. Other three been unlucky with injury but Ultan going well at moment with injury free run"
100% agree, his "nimble-ness" made him almost unmarkable... I do often forget about his horrific eye injury when I criticize so I'm sure that plays on his mind alot, as it would.. Hopefully we have a much more professional setup in place nowadays and players like McDermott/O'Carroll/Doyle won't be allowed pile on senseless muscle mass to the effect of their skillset...

Best of luck to the lads today, fingers crossed we're a top division outfit at 4pm

ross4sam11 (Roscommon) - Posts: 96 - 27/03/2022 12:30:01    2407312

Delighted to gain promotion back to Division 1 and top the table and be unbeaten in the 7 games.

Our best performance of the year especially first half. McKeon, c Murtagh, C Cox D Smith to hot to handle. Nice to get the run out in Croke Park next weekend.

Well done to all the players and management

The_analyser (Roscommon) - Posts: 3750 - 27/03/2022 16:29:44    2407366

Were Galway playing around 50% today?

Captainfantastic (Westmeath) - Posts: 44 - 27/03/2022 18:00:51    2407444

Replying To Captainfantastic:  "Were Galway playing around 50% today?"
What do you mean

sourmilk93 (Roscommon) - Posts: 1144 - 27/03/2022 18:10:50    2407449

Replying To sourmilk93:  "What do you mean"
He means Galway hadn't their best team out which they hadn't being already promoted. Still good performance from Roscommon and we look forward to next Sunday in Croke park.

endgame (Roscommon) - Posts: 2160 - 27/03/2022 18:40:00    2407468

Very good first half performance. We all know it will be a totally different test next Sunday against a different Galway team. We have improved so much since last year. I think getting a totally different backroom team has helped. Cox was at his brilliant best today and finally Ciaran Murtagh has found his form again. It was a good performance and we did what we had to do. Next Sunday will tell us where we really are heading into championship. These lads shouldn't fear Galway next Sunday.

dave1988 (Roscommon) - Posts: 1051 - 27/03/2022 18:57:08    2407483

Who cares? what mattered was Roscommon delivering the improved performance from the previous 3 home games. What % was Westmeath playing at all league campaign? tipped by plenty to return to Div 2 but finished 3rd behind Limerick and Louth.

The_analyser (Roscommon) - Posts: 3750 - 27/03/2022 19:03:33    2407489

Job done today, could only play and beat what was in front of us. First half was a joy to watch some of the moves put together quick hands and score taking was as good as I've seen from us. Stack, Hughes, McKeon, D Smith and Cox were all to the fore. Hughes has really kicked on broke some good ball and kicked a good point, one of Cox's best games I think and McKeon was very direct and kicked a great point along with his goal. Ciaran Murtagh came into it too kicked 3 good scores in a row and got some good low ball he has a low centre of gravity very dangerous when he gets turned. Took foot off pedal second half and Galway made changes which made them stronger. Kickouts / midfield was a worry 2nd half, Lavin came under a lot of pressure, don't think David Murray played great and hasn't been at his best in a while which is a worry too. Good to get Conor Daly and Hussey some minutes and special mention to Keith Doyle two great fetches (one great kick pass into Cox) and both led to scores. Overall a great league campaign only team to stay unbeaten. We know improvements have to be made against a full strength Galway team next week but a great game to get before championship. Well done to players and management.

Rossie2020 (Roscommon) - Posts: 169 - 27/03/2022 19:20:39    2407501

Congrats to management and players on getting promoted. Job well done today as complacency could have been an issue given the Galway team etc. Very impressed with Cian McKeon again and he is turning into a right good footballer. Ciaran Murtagh very impressive in latter part of first half when gane was there to be won.

The ironic part is Roscommon could do well in Div 1 but would probably struggle to finish in top 3 in Div 2 had we stayed in it given we would have only 3 home games next year. Div 1 is a lot poorer next season with Dublin gone from it. 3 connacht teams, 4 Ulster teams and Kerry.

Galway have a bit of a dilema now because they have to go and beat Roscommon next week or head into their match v Mayo on the back of two defeats to their neighbours. Roscommon on the other hand can rest players and I think they will. Haven't said that Sligo won't trouble them and they effectively have 7 weeks to a connacht final. That's not disrespecting Sligo who just missed out on promotion but they are not the team they were 5/6 years ago.

U20s beat Clare comfortably Friday night in Jonstown and lost narrowly to Kerry weekend before in UL. New injuries to keeper David Farrell amd Paddy Gavin will also weaken them on top of who they were missing already. Good to see Darragh Heneghan back in action for last few minutes Friday night after a long absence.

SmokieRoss (Roscommon) - Posts: 273 - 27/03/2022 19:29:18    2407505

We played to win. Yes used the panel as any county would have. Fair play Ros. Expected them to win but knew after the short whistle we would come out fighting as they would if roles were reversed. Both have similar challenges ahead as I just noted on our own thread but at least the curve is upwards.

kiloughter (Galway) - Posts: 1946 - 27/03/2022 19:36:29    2407510

Replying To SmokieRoss:  "Congrats to management and players on getting promoted. Job well done today as complacency could have been an issue given the Galway team etc. Very impressed with Cian McKeon again and he is turning into a right good footballer. Ciaran Murtagh very impressive in latter part of first half when gane was there to be won.

The ironic part is Roscommon could do well in Div 1 but would probably struggle to finish in top 3 in Div 2 had we stayed in it given we would have only 3 home games next year. Div 1 is a lot poorer next season with Dublin gone from it. 3 connacht teams, 4 Ulster teams and Kerry.

Galway have a bit of a dilema now because they have to go and beat Roscommon next week or head into their match v Mayo on the back of two defeats to their neighbours. Roscommon on the other hand can rest players and I think they will. Haven't said that Sligo won't trouble them and they effectively have 7 weeks to a connacht final. That's not disrespecting Sligo who just missed out on promotion but they are not the team they were 5/6 years ago.

U20s beat Clare comfortably Friday night in Jonstown and lost narrowly to Kerry weekend before in UL. New injuries to keeper David Farrell amd Paddy Gavin will also weaken them on top of who they were missing already. Good to see Darragh Heneghan back in action for last few minutes Friday night after a long absence."
What happened Paddy Gavin? Is that championship ending injury?

ross4sam11 (Roscommon) - Posts: 96 - 27/03/2022 19:59:31    2407530

Replying To ross4sam11:  "What happened Paddy Gavin? Is that championship ending injury?"
Not a season ending injury but a muscle injury sustained with his club a few weeks back I believe. Rumour has it that Ruairi Fallon could be back to GAA now that his rugby season is finished. Be a big addition to club and county.

League final in Croke Park next Sunday at 1.45pm.

SmokieRoss (Roscommon) - Posts: 273 - 27/03/2022 20:37:49    2407545