Galway Hurling thread

Replying To katser:  "It's a shocking result for us....only for the red card We would have beaten them, now all We can do is watch Kilkenny cruise into another All Ireland Semi Final after they win the Leinster Final. Cork will destroy Dublin in the All Ireland Quarter Final."
I think you're being a bit presumptuous there to say the least!
Remember Galway were playing with a strong Salthill wind behind them in the first half.
Galway have been ***** all year - they weren't going to be contenders one way or another.

galwayman2 (Galway) - Posts: 1252 - 27/05/2024 11:13:15    2547530

Replying To Viking66:  "If you don't have lads to catch high ball inside then why play that way? Clare and Limerick generally don't lump long ball in on their inside forwards. Cork won 3 AIs around 20 years ago with a tiny inside line."
That Cork team probably/definitely wouldn't have beaten this current Limerick team, good and all as they were.

Pope_Benedict (Galway) - Posts: 3589 - 27/05/2024 11:28:09    2547537

Replying To Pope_Benedict:  "That Cork team probably/definitely wouldn't have beaten this current Limerick team, good and all as they were."
They beat that Kilkenny team at that time. Won back to back in 04 and 05. Limerick have 5 or 6 lads under 6 foot btw.

Viking66 (Wexford) - Posts: 12742 - 27/05/2024 11:47:48    2547549

Replying To Fionn:  "I didnt mean he wasnt picking the talent available but is he getting the best out of them lads.???

Only those close to the ground there would know perhaps, but Galway should be making the Leinster SH Final, and I have no doubt they will next year. This year just didnt seem to click for them for one reason or another.

More often than not, Galway will beat Dublin hurlers, in Galway."
Why should Galway make the final? They have to make it on the pitch like everybody else.

Viking66 (Wexford) - Posts: 12742 - 27/05/2024 11:50:03    2547552

Replying To Viking66:  "They beat that Kilkenny team at that time. Won back to back in 04 and 05. Limerick have 5 or 6 lads under 6 foot btw."
They also lost to that KK team at that time. I've never seen a more unbeatable hurling team than this current Limerick one, and that includes all the KK sides that Cody managed 1999-2022.

Pope_Benedict (Galway) - Posts: 3589 - 27/05/2024 12:12:09    2547573

Replying To gilly1910:  "Fionn you obviously don't spend much time on this thread, for if you did you would know that Katser is a wind up merchant. Dublin fully deserved their win yesterday, and I hope they beat Kilkennny in the Leinster final. However even had Galway somehow managed to win yesterday, I wouldn't have held up too much hope of them beating Kilkenny in the final, not to mention Cork would then have beaten them out the gate in an All Ireland quarter final. I fear that Galway hurling is in for a long spell in the doldrums, look how long it took Cork to get seriously competitive again, and whether we like it or not, the Limerick way seems to be the only way to go these days. I genuinely hope that Cork with their speed merchants take Limerick this year as that will then give everybody else hope, either way time for a serious root and branch overhaul of Galway hurling."
Cheers - I will go to the Leinster Hurling Final more in hope than expectation tbh.
I didnt expect a win yesterday either btw, not in Galway.

Just hope we give the Cats a good game and do ourselves justice.
I think it will be a very physical game.

As for Cork - I would love to see Cork win also.
But Limerick are so formidable unfortunately.

Fionn (Dublin) - Posts: 3787 - 27/05/2024 12:17:43    2547578

Very disappointing yesterday but no unexpected if I am being honest.

The Wexford game showed up the lack of pace in our team. We looked like we were running in quick sand. Father time waits for no man and I think we will need to overhaul the squad.

The older lads are still excellent hurlers but the legs are the issue. On an individual level you can make an argument for each of them to keep their place, but our team is still backboned by the 2017 stars. We have a serious lack of pace.

They owe us nothing and this is not a criticism of them but time moves on.

As regards Henry, I have a lot of time for the man. He is a man of the highest integrity and anyone that watched his interview can see how deeply he cares.

As for whether he stays on or not, it really depends. Does he have the stomach for a bit of a project. Not a one year win something gig. You may win something in year one, because we have hurlers in Galway but we need someone to take a more long term view.

Mayonman (Galway) - Posts: 1860 - 27/05/2024 12:35:45    2547590

I don't think Micheal Donoghue will be welcome around Kilchreest and Peterswell anytime soon. David and a few others rightly went after him at half time and at end of the game. Juvenile stuff from himself and Larkin yesterday.

galway19 (Galway) - Posts: 716 - 27/05/2024 12:51:30    2547599

Replying To LohansRedHelmet:  "In fairness, you are right. Galway hurlers have a superb record with 5 All Irelands made even more impressive by the fact that for decades ye had a free pass to the All Ireland semi final great stuff.

Football doesnt interest me in the slightest, not my sport and more to the point has nothing to do with Galway failing to get out of Leinster in the hurling championship."
Yes and ye still have only a grand total of 4 hurling and 0 football AI's so we won't be taking any GAA lectures from upstarts who only thought hurling was invented in 1995! Ye're like the Mayo of hurling - all hot air with little or nothing to show for it! lol

tommy k (Galway) - Posts: 3463 - 27/05/2024 13:37:37    2547635

Replying To clare_sparrow:  "the biggest joke about yesterday is playing hurling in Salthill. its about time hurling is moved back to athenry. Would have twice the crowd there. could put up a couple of makeshift stands like they use in the sportsground and would be ideal. close to the motorway so very little traffic, in the center of hurling heartland. Look at what ennis does to the clare team. that is worth a lot.

The 2nd biggest joke is the amount of little lads in the galway team. What do we expect. About 6 lads that look 11stone and couldnt hang a light bulb without a step ladder. Its time the under 20s and minors management start looking at Limerick and the 2017 team and seeing that its lads who are like johnny glynn, joseph cooney, gearoid mc, niall burke, etc, they win you all irelands. Not evan niland and ronan glennon. we need an under 20 team of 10 lads who are 6"3 or above and hopefully 2 or 3 can develop each year."
Agree re Athenry, Galway hurling games never generate an atmosphere in Salthill and the wind ruins games. Galway lack physicality big time, currently unable to win their own ball but big lads alone won't win anything either - they have to be able to hurl. All of Limericks physical players are also brilliant hurlers and love a fight. I couldn't see Niall Burke or Gearoid Mac making Limerick team even at their best or the like of Jason Flynn or Conor Cooney. All big men but just something missing.

hopballref (Galway) - Posts: 390 - 27/05/2024 13:45:19    2547638

Replying To Viking66:  "If you don't have lads to catch high ball inside then why play that way? Clare and Limerick generally don't lump long ball in on their inside forwards. Cork won 3 AIs around 20 years ago with a tiny inside line."
I never said they should play that way - all I was saying is that Johnny Glynn is the only Galway player in the current squad that can consistently catch high ball and do something with it. The management were obviously telling the players to lump in high ball but generally that doesn't work in the modern game. I thought Eamonn O'Shea had a more refined approach to forward play than what we have seen but obviously not.

tommy k (Galway) - Posts: 3463 - 27/05/2024 13:47:45    2547639

Replying To conordee:  "I was in Salthill yesterday. I see complaints about the stadium, the wind factor, age profile of our squad, and many other things. But , the one thing that stood out for me was our complete lack of pace. Dublin cut through us repeatedly in the first half when they had to keep ball in hand against the wind. In the second half they only had to keep tipping points over from around halfway to keep us at arm's length. We looked very heavy legged and not sharp at all."
From what I saw there were many points scored from their own 45 yard line never mind half way with little or no pressure being applied by Galway players. It must have been the worst coached team in Galway hurling history or at least up there with them.

tommy k (Galway) - Posts: 3463 - 27/05/2024 13:51:10    2547640

Replying To tommy k:  "I never said they should play that way - all I was saying is that Johnny Glynn is the only Galway player in the current squad that can consistently catch high ball and do something with it. The management were obviously telling the players to lump in high ball but generally that doesn't work in the modern game. I thought Eamonn O'Shea had a more refined approach to forward play than what we have seen but obviously not."
When you haven't the legs to run it in. or work it in, it's logical enough that you'll start lumping it in.

Pope_Benedict (Galway) - Posts: 3589 - 27/05/2024 14:01:01    2547646

Replying To tommy k:  "Yes and ye still have only a grand total of 4 hurling and 0 football AI's so we won't be taking any GAA lectures from upstarts who only thought hurling was invented in 1995! Ye're like the Mayo of hurling - all hot air with little or nothing to show for it! lol"
Why does the amount of All Irelands Clare have, have anything to do with me or my opinions. In fact I didn't even give any opinion on Galway hurling.

It's said really that you have resorted to trying to shame someone or dismiss them as invalid because of the amount of All Irelands his county has. I can see your hurting. I would be too if Clare were out of the championship in May. But perhaps lay off the internet for a few days until you relax a bit as you're making a bit of a show of yourself.

LohansRedHelmet (Clare) - Posts: 2548 - 27/05/2024 14:02:25    2547647

Replying To hopballref:  "Agree re Athenry, Galway hurling games never generate an atmosphere in Salthill and the wind ruins games. Galway lack physicality big time, currently unable to win their own ball but big lads alone won't win anything either - they have to be able to hurl. All of Limericks physical players are also brilliant hurlers and love a fight. I couldn't see Niall Burke or Gearoid Mac making Limerick team even at their best or the like of Jason Flynn or Conor Cooney. All big men but just something missing."
In fairness to those 4 Galway players, they've never experienced Limerick's 'training methods'. It's just guesswork as to how any of them would have floundered or flourished in the Limerick setep. They'd be stronger fitter physical specimens in there for starters. That would be likely to benefit their capacity to contribute positively.

Pope_Benedict (Galway) - Posts: 3589 - 27/05/2024 14:06:22    2547654

Replying To galway19:  "I don't think Micheal Donoghue will be welcome around Kilchreest and Peterswell anytime soon. David and a few others rightly went after him at half time and at end of the game. Juvenile stuff from himself and Larkin yesterday."
He got into their heads. They should know him well by now. He managed his own team very well and did his job to a tee. I'd say Davy Fitz would love to be able to pull off such a stroke!

foreveryoung (USA) - Posts: 2003 - 27/05/2024 14:19:45    2547660

Replying To LohansRedHelmet:  "Why does the amount of All Irelands Clare have, have anything to do with me or my opinions. In fact I didn't even give any opinion on Galway hurling.

It's said really that you have resorted to trying to shame someone or dismiss them as invalid because of the amount of All Irelands his county has. I can see your hurting. I would be too if Clare were out of the championship in May. But perhaps lay off the internet for a few days until you relax a bit as you're making a bit of a show of yourself."
I'm not sensing much 'hurt' in the fanbase. That could be because we're so far off the required standard that it brings a certain contentment. A 'we know where we are' kind of contentment.

Pope_Benedict (Galway) - Posts: 3589 - 27/05/2024 14:21:54    2547663

Replying To foreveryoung:  "He got into their heads. They should know him well by now. He managed his own team very well and did his job to a tee. I'd say Davy Fitz would love to be able to pull off such a stroke!"
Not talking about his coaching. Fair play to him he had them a wet up right. The altercation with the linesman was what sparked it to get David sent off. A poor way for a legend like David to go out (if he retires from inter county) with Donoghue roaring for him to be sent off. Those antics don't get forgotten around St Thomas' or Galway when he is finished with Dublin. They rightly had a go at him at half time but he cowered. He'll regret those actions in time.

galway19 (Galway) - Posts: 716 - 27/05/2024 14:40:23    2547669

Replying To tommy k:  "Yes and ye still have only a grand total of 4 hurling and 0 football AI's so we won't be taking any GAA lectures from upstarts who only thought hurling was invented in 1995! Ye're like the Mayo of hurling - all hot air with little or nothing to show for it! lol"
Clare won their first in 1914. 9 years before Galway won their first. Don't think LRH was lecturing you anyway.

Viking66 (Wexford) - Posts: 12742 - 27/05/2024 15:11:29    2547678

Go easy Tommy. Galway have at least twice the Hurling Population of Clare and have only one All Ireland more than the Banner and lost twenty All Ireland Finals and of course think that Hurling only started in 1980.LOL

Oldtourman (Limerick) - Posts: 4364 - 27/05/2024 15:11:39    2547679