Galway Hurling thread

Replying To galway19:  "Not talking about his coaching. Fair play to him he had them a wet up right. The altercation with the linesman was what sparked it to get David sent off. A poor way for a legend like David to go out (if he retires from inter county) with Donoghue roaring for him to be sent off. Those antics don't get forgotten around St Thomas' or Galway when he is finished with Dublin. They rightly had a go at him at half time but he cowered. He'll regret those actions in time."
You are right to be sure.

I have looked back at the clip a number of times and from I can see, David Burke was standing his ground and the Dublin player Whitley actually ran into him and Whitley had his 2 legs off the ground while David Burke had his legs planted. David Burke was bracing himself for the impact and took just as much as a knock to the head as the Dublin player. That's what happens when two players collide. There is no rule to say that David Burke has to move out of the flight path of the Dublin player. If this was a camogie match, the free would have been for David Burke. I appreciate that the ref does not have the luxury of a replay but it took him a whole 16 seconds after the incident to flash the red card and a 3 second conversation with the linesman to finish David Burke sporting career and Galway's season. Sending off a player is a huge decision in any sport and David Burke deserved more than a 3 second chat with the linesman. It absolutely turned the game in Dublin's favour.
I would go so far as to say that this incident was contrived by Dublin.
The Sunday game is sickening to the stomach. Slowing down the clip to hang a decent man out..... but no one mentioned the fact that Buke was stationary and Whitley actually ran into him .....this all happens in seconds.... players act on instinct..... when you have a man thundering towards you and he off loads the ball milliseconds before he reaches you, a player is not going to instantly move out of your flight path.

There was no mention of the penalty that wasn't given. A penalty not given has way more impact than just the resulting goal..... its gives a team a huge lift and momentum...... in the same way the red card for Burke gave Dublin huge momentum. There was no mention of the rugby tackle on Johnny Glynn on the Sunday game either, moments after he entered the field the play. A tackle that was way more dangerous than the David Burke incident, leaving Johnny Glynn hospitalized and needing surgery on a damaged collar bone/AC joint. That incident was not accidental either. Too much of a co-incidence that 2 players contrived to finish Glynn's involvement minutes after he was introduced and the perpetrator got no card on any colour. No mention of the wide ball that Crummy was awarded a point for.

galwayforthecup (Galway) - Posts: 31 - 27/05/2024 15:35:41    2547690

Replying To tommy k:  "Yes and ye still have only a grand total of 4 hurling and 0 football AI's so we won't be taking any GAA lectures from upstarts who only thought hurling was invented in 1995! Ye're like the Mayo of hurling - all hot air with little or nothing to show for it! lol"
Jaysus Tommyk are we really in any position to look down our nose at a county that has one less hurling All ireland than us, and even worse sti lost 20 All Ireland Hurling finals. If Clare's 4 All Irelands and three defeats makes them the Mayo of hurling, god only knows what we are then with our miserable 5 All Irelands, and 20 defeats.

gilly1910 (Galway) - Posts: 174 - 27/05/2024 15:38:53    2547692

Replying To Oldtourman:  "Go easy Tommy. Galway have at least twice the Hurling Population of Clare and have only one All Ireland more than the Banner and lost twenty All Ireland Finals and of course think that Hurling only started in 1980.LOL"
It didn't start before 1975 certainly, but you're an 'old' tourman, and might remember farther back?

Pope_Benedict (Galway) - Posts: 3589 - 27/05/2024 16:01:03    2547703

Replying To galwayforthecup:  "You are right to be sure.

I have looked back at the clip a number of times and from I can see, David Burke was standing his ground and the Dublin player Whitley actually ran into him and Whitley had his 2 legs off the ground while David Burke had his legs planted. David Burke was bracing himself for the impact and took just as much as a knock to the head as the Dublin player. That's what happens when two players collide. There is no rule to say that David Burke has to move out of the flight path of the Dublin player. If this was a camogie match, the free would have been for David Burke. I appreciate that the ref does not have the luxury of a replay but it took him a whole 16 seconds after the incident to flash the red card and a 3 second conversation with the linesman to finish David Burke sporting career and Galway's season. Sending off a player is a huge decision in any sport and David Burke deserved more than a 3 second chat with the linesman. It absolutely turned the game in Dublin's favour.
The Sunday game is sickening to the stomach. Slowing down the clip to hang a decent man out..... but no one mentioned the fact that Buke was stationary and Whitley actually ran into him .....this all happens in seconds.... players act on instinct..... when you have a man thundering towards you and he off loads the ball milliseconds before he reaches you, a player is not going to instantly move out of your flight path.

There was no mention of the penalty that wasn't given. A penalty not given has way more impact than just the resulting goal..... its gives a team a huge lift and momentum...... in the same way the red card for Burke gave Dublin huge momentum. There was no mention of the rugby tackle on Johnny Glynn on the Sunday game either, moments after he entered the field the play. A tackle that was way more dangerous than the David Burke incident, leaving Johnny Glynn hospitalized and needing surgery on a damaged collar bone/AC joint. That incident was not accidental either. Too much of a co-incidence that 2 players contrived to finish Glynn's involvement minutes after he was introduced and the perpetrator got no card on any colour. No mention of the wide ball that Crummy was awarded a point for."
It's 100 per cent a red card. He nailed the man after the ball. Simple as. To argue otherwise is just delusional. We need more refs to dish out reds for these offences and they will soon stop.

Rebel2020 (Cork) - Posts: 77 - 27/05/2024 16:15:50    2547705

Replying To LohansRedHelmet:  "Why does the amount of All Irelands Clare have, have anything to do with me or my opinions. In fact I didn't even give any opinion on Galway hurling.

It's said really that you have resorted to trying to shame someone or dismiss them as invalid because of the amount of All Irelands his county has. I can see your hurting. I would be too if Clare were out of the championship in May. But perhaps lay off the internet for a few days until you relax a bit as you're making a bit of a show of yourself."
No just telling the truth and the truth hurts - you were the one coming on here trying to be smart! lol

tommy k (Galway) - Posts: 3463 - 27/05/2024 16:27:32    2547709

Replying To Oldtourman:  "Go easy Tommy. Galway have at least twice the Hurling Population of Clare and have only one All Ireland more than the Banner and lost twenty All Ireland Finals and of course think that Hurling only started in 1980.LOL"
Same as hurling in Limerick started in 2018! lol

tommy k (Galway) - Posts: 3463 - 27/05/2024 16:28:47    2547710

There was no mention of the penalty that wasn't given. A penalty not given has way more impact than just the resulting goal..... its gives a team a huge lift and momentum...... in the same way the red card for Burke gave Dublin huge momentum. There was no mention of the rugby tackle on Johnny Glynn on the Sunday game either, moments after he entered the field the play. A tackle that was way more dangerous than the David Burke incident, leaving Johnny Glynn hospitalized and needing surgery on a damaged collar bone/AC joint. That incident was not accidental either. Too much of a co-incidence that 2 players contrived to finish Glynn's involvement minutes after he was introduced and the perpetrator got no card on any colour. No mention of the wide ball that Crummy was awarded a point for."
This reads like Burke was just out for a Sunday afternoon stroll on the Salthill prom and stopped to talk to an old friend before being viciously attacked by Fergal Whitely!

It was foul by Burke, simple as. Red was harsh perhaps, I think yellow would have been fair, but it was a silly, late tackle on a man who didn't have the ball.

You hit someone who doesn't have the ball late and you do run the risk.

MesAmis (Dublin) - Posts: 13750 - 27/05/2024 16:33:28    2547713

Yes all those points are true and valid.

tommy k (Galway) - Posts: 3463 - 27/05/2024 16:34:55    2547715

Replying To Rebel2020:  "It's 100 per cent a red card. He nailed the man after the ball. Simple as. To argue otherwise is just delusional. We need more refs to dish out reds for these offences and they will soon stop."
Stop talking ***** " he nailed the man after the ball" whitley was running with the ball and offloaded it the second before he made contact, if you actually look at the replay he threw the ball trying to get it away as soon as possible so he could jump into david burke and make it look like burke Cleaned him. Can you explain what else burke was supposed to do? Was he supposed to get out of the way and whitely coming at pace only a foot away from him while stationary or was he supposed vanish to get out of the way? Stuipd comment.

Galway456 (Galway) - Posts: 47 - 27/05/2024 16:39:12    2547718

Replying To Rebel2020:  "It's 100 per cent a red card. He nailed the man after the ball. Simple as. To argue otherwise is just delusional. We need more refs to dish out reds for these offences and they will soon stop."
Maybe in Cork its a red but no where else a yellow fair enough.

Tiger1 (Wexford) - Posts: 272 - 27/05/2024 16:54:05    2547722

Replying To Viking66:  "Clare won their first in 1914. 9 years before Galway won their first. Don't think LRH was lecturing you anyway."
LRH invariably comes on here to gloat when Galway hurlers lose. Let's see how well Clare go from here on in.

Ailteoir (Galway) - Posts: 871 - 27/05/2024 16:59:11    2547723

Replying To Galway456:  "Stop talking ***** " he nailed the man after the ball" whitley was running with the ball and offloaded it the second before he made contact, if you actually look at the replay he threw the ball trying to get it away as soon as possible so he could jump into david burke and make it look like burke Cleaned him. Can you explain what else burke was supposed to do? Was he supposed to get out of the way and whitely coming at pace only a foot away from him while stationary or was he supposed vanish to get out of the way? Stuipd comment."
If David was stepping out of the way, vanishing, or generally going awol defensively, I think he'd be a serious contender for a spot in our halfback line, because that's what this particular line seems to be at in 2024.

Pope_Benedict (Galway) - Posts: 3589 - 27/05/2024 17:06:07    2547724

Replying To MesAmis:  "This reads like Burke was just out for a Sunday afternoon stroll on the Salthill prom and stopped to talk to an old friend before being viciously attacked by Fergal Whitely!

It was foul by Burke, simple as. Red was harsh perhaps, I think yellow would have been fair, but it was a silly, late tackle on a man who didn't have the ball.

You hit someone who doesn't have the ball late and you do run the risk."
Dublin player did have the ball 1 second before contact.

Alwaysencourage (Galway) - Posts: 235 - 27/05/2024 17:10:06    2547725

Replying To tommy k:  "No just telling the truth and the truth hurts - you were the one coming on here trying to be smart! lol"
You've made a right show of yourself here over the past couple of days, even your own have told you so. As I said take a break for a few days and relax. It'll be good for the soul

LohansRedHelmet (Clare) - Posts: 2548 - 27/05/2024 17:13:37    2547728

Replying To LohansRedHelmet:  "You've made a right show of yourself here over the past couple of days, even your own have told you so. As I said take a break for a few days and relax. It'll be good for the soul"
Don't worry I am relaxed and soon you will be relaxed too! lol

tommy k (Galway) - Posts: 3463 - 27/05/2024 17:18:37    2547729

Replying To Ailteoir:  "LRH invariably comes on here to gloat when Galway hurlers lose. Let's see how well Clare go from here on in."
Very true - he's usually very quiet when Clare are out and that's usually most of the time! lol

tommy k (Galway) - Posts: 3463 - 27/05/2024 17:20:08    2547730

Replying To galwayman2:  "I think you're being a bit presumptuous there to say the least!
Remember Galway were playing with a strong Salthill wind behind them in the first half.
Galway have been ***** all year - they weren't going to be contenders one way or another."
Not many teams would score 0-19 in a first half and have 11 different scorers?
I give no credit to Dublin, its our own fault We didn't win.
Two things that lost it for us the red card and letting Donal Burke keep them in the game.

katser (Galway) - Posts: 2315 - 27/05/2024 17:27:20    2547732

Replying To tommy k:  "No just telling the truth and the truth hurts - you were the one coming on here trying to be smart! lol"
But sure Tommy, your hurling All-Irelands required 1 or max 2 victories, with the exception of 2018. There are junior championships around the country that are harder won!

Ban (Westmeath) - Posts: 1441 - 27/05/2024 17:30:13    2547734

Replying To Ailteoir:  "LRH invariably comes on here to gloat when Galway hurlers lose. Let's see how well Clare go from here on in."
He was disgusted last year when KK beat them in the Semi Final and vanished with sadness!

katser (Galway) - Posts: 2315 - 27/05/2024 17:33:21    2547735

This thread is highly entertaining ..

Katser having a meltdown because Dublin actually had the audacity to beat Galway .
The even more bizarre then usual Tommy (lol) K rants about Clares 4 all Irelands as opposed to Galways 5 just cos LRH upset him.

The best one though is the poster whining about Whitely throwing the ball away so he could viciously jump into poor innocent Burke who did nothing at all wrong... Burke knew well what he was doing, just didn't expect to get sent off for it.

Suck it up boys, ye were poor this year and Dublin beat you fair and square.
it's a shame to see you gone and I hope you're back challenging very soon but a bit of cop on needed.

skillet (Limerick) - Posts: 1078 - 27/05/2024 18:01:44    2547745