Galway Hurling thread

Replying To galwayforthecup:  "You are right to be sure.

I have looked back at the clip a number of times and from I can see, David Burke was standing his ground and the Dublin player Whitley actually ran into him and Whitley had his 2 legs off the ground while David Burke had his legs planted. David Burke was bracing himself for the impact and took just as much as a knock to the head as the Dublin player. That's what happens when two players collide. There is no rule to say that David Burke has to move out of the flight path of the Dublin player. If this was a camogie match, the free would have been for David Burke. I appreciate that the ref does not have the luxury of a replay but it took him a whole 16 seconds after the incident to flash the red card and a 3 second conversation with the linesman to finish David Burke sporting career and Galway's season. Sending off a player is a huge decision in any sport and David Burke deserved more than a 3 second chat with the linesman. It absolutely turned the game in Dublin's favour.
I would go so far as to say that this incident was contrived by Dublin.
The Sunday game is sickening to the stomach. Slowing down the clip to hang a decent man out..... but no one mentioned the fact that Buke was stationary and Whitley actually ran into him .....this all happens in seconds.... players act on instinct..... when you have a man thundering towards you and he off loads the ball milliseconds before he reaches you, a player is not going to instantly move out of your flight path.

There was no mention of the penalty that wasn't given. A penalty not given has way more impact than just the resulting goal..... its gives a team a huge lift and momentum...... in the same way the red card for Burke gave Dublin huge momentum. There was no mention of the rugby tackle on Johnny Glynn on the Sunday game either, moments after he entered the field the play. A tackle that was way more dangerous than the David Burke incident, leaving Johnny Glynn hospitalized and needing surgery on a damaged collar bone/AC joint. That incident was not accidental either. Too much of a co-incidence that 2 players contrived to finish Glynn's involvement minutes after he was introduced and the perpetrator got no card on any colour. No mention of the wide ball that Crummy was awarded a point for."
Ah here, this belongs in a conspiracy theory forum

The incident was not contrived by Dublin, that's tinfoil hattery at its finest. Whitely did throw the ball before contact and it's likely that his handpass been legal then the contact would have arrived on release instead of late. But the referee only gets one view. We ended up on the wrong side of a 50/50 call. It happens.

My issue is with the analysis, this nonsense of slowing down and looking at eyes etc, when it's apparent on first viewing the ball was thrown and that alters the timing of everything that came after. Not Whitely's fault for throwing it, nor the referee for missing it as he could only see it once and it happened quickly, but if this is what passes for 'analysis' these days it's best to turn the tv off at halftime to spare the ears.

The Glynn incident was bad luck, no more and no less. Very unfortunate for him and hopefully he recovers soon.

The penalty was a terrible call alright, it's ludicrous that it wasn't given, and Dublin did seem to benefit more than us from the 50/50 calls, though as the former Galway player near me said, it's a Munster referee, refereeing in Munster fashion, where the ball is thrown all the time' so I suppose it's no surprise. Maybe we didn't throw the ball enough ourselves.

The point call in the second half was ridiculous. If the linesman saw enough to intervene, he should have had the call over the umpire, there's no question he had a better view, if in doubt he'd surely have let it go without interjecting?

But overall while there were some questionable calls against us we weren't good enough on the day and we will have to take this on the chin, crying about it isn't going to help matters.

Stool Pigeon (Galway) - Posts: 882 - 27/05/2024 18:08:33    2547747

A few people questioning referee,which I have done on numerous occasions in last few years..where are all the refs gone in Leinster??david Burke challange was probably a yellow but he gave the ref the option..Galway looked completely devoid of what to do..the middle of the defence just weren't good enough,Dublin were given time to decide what to do and when to do it..apart from Burke challange there wasn't a finger laid on any of dublins main players..Dublin actually physically won all the battles and Chris crummy coming back is huge for them..Dublin will fancy a crack off kk and depending on result they won't mind playing quarter or semi against anyone..Galway will be back but I think a big rebuild needs to get underway..plenty of underage success but getting them to next level is the problem..I watched the 20s a few times,big names involved with canning and skehill but it didn't work..I also think they need one of their own as a manager who doesn't care about any club politics..

CTGAA10 (Limerick) - Posts: 2271 - 27/05/2024 18:57:32    2547764

Replying To Alwaysencourage:  "Dublin player did have the ball 1 second before contact."
Exactly, Whitely didn't have the ball.

MesAmis (Dublin) - Posts: 13750 - 27/05/2024 19:03:25    2547768

Replying To katser:  "He was disgusted last year when KK beat them in the Semi Final and vanished with sadness!"
I vanish every year once Clare are gone that's no surprise and like Jesus I resurrect when the league starts

LohansRedHelmet (Clare) - Posts: 2548 - 27/05/2024 19:12:48    2547770

Replying To Ailteoir:  "LRH invariably comes on here to gloat when Galway hurlers lose. Let's see how well Clare go from here on in."
Show me one post where I gloated about Galway being out? Just one.

Tommy Lolbag has created a massive storm in a tee cup because I told Katser that Cork would beat Galway when he was ranting about Dublin going to be hockied by Cork. That's all I said.

LohansRedHelmet (Clare) - Posts: 2548 - 27/05/2024 19:15:19    2547772

What are peoples feelings on the future of galway hurling?

Galway9801 (Galway) - Posts: 1796 - 27/05/2024 19:27:00    2547773

Christy ring for a few years would do that group no harm!

CillTormoir (Galway) - Posts: 496 - 27/05/2024 20:50:40    2547789

Replying To LohansRedHelmet:  "Show me one post where I gloated about Galway being out? Just one.

Tommy Lolbag has created a massive storm in a tee cup because I told Katser that Cork would beat Galway when he was ranting about Dublin going to be hockied by Cork. That's all I said."
I can't be bothered to go back through this Thread. Then again, I don't have to. Your 1st comment on here after the Galway v Dublin game was enough. Cork would give Clare plenty of it, never mind Galway.

Ailteoir (Galway) - Posts: 871 - 27/05/2024 22:00:17    2547798

Replying To Ailteoir:  "I can't be bothered to go back through this Thread. Then again, I don't have to. Your 1st comment on here after the Galway v Dublin game was enough. Cork would give Clare plenty of it, never mind Galway."
Cork would indeed give us plenty of it. They gave us plenty of it at their home venue a few weeks back but who won the game?

LohansRedHelmet (Clare) - Posts: 2548 - 28/05/2024 07:21:21    2547804

Replying To Galway9801:  "What are peoples feelings on the future of galway hurling?"
You will be in the Walsh Cup, League, and Championship next year. Same as every year. Reset and go again. You don't have the largest players coming through so pick faster, more aggressive, harder working ones expecially around the middle 3rd, and devise a gameplan to suit them. And you have good forward prospects. Collins is an exceptional forward, but there's no point hoofing high dropping ball on him. Lee has talent and a bit more height, maybe he will get a little more intensity into his game as he gets older.
Probably longterm you need to start looking at the style of play in your underage club games. Kilkenny started doing this 3 or 4 years ago and it's beginning to come through at Senior with Lyng as manager.

Viking66 (Wexford) - Posts: 12742 - 28/05/2024 08:02:24    2547810

Replying To CillTormoir:  "Christy ring for a few years would do that group no harm!"
Don't beat yourselves up too much.

Galway is full of hurlers lads. You'll bounce back quickly enough. We were saying the very same things last year and really we should be in the Leinster final if not for a couple of lapses in concentration.

You drew with Kilkenny who are probably the second best team in Ireland, lost to a Wexford team that was fired up and under pressure, then lost a close game to Dublin who are in very good form at the minute. They're fine margins.

Take the winter to regroup and go at it again. It's amazing what a bit of a shake up can do.

We've one of our own in charge and 3/4 new players and it's chalk and cheese from this time last year.

Doylerwex (Wexford) - Posts: 2873 - 28/05/2024 08:03:05    2547812

Replying To LohansRedHelmet:  "I vanish every year once Clare are gone that's no surprise and like Jesus I resurrect when the league starts"
They do say a prophet is never loved in his own land

Stool Pigeon (Galway) - Posts: 882 - 28/05/2024 08:29:31    2547818

Replying To Pope_Benedict:  "In fairness to those 4 Galway players, they've never experienced Limerick's 'training methods'. It's just guesswork as to how any of them would have floundered or flourished in the Limerick setep. They'd be stronger fitter physical specimens in there for starters. That would be likely to benefit their capacity to contribute positively."
I don't think its guesswork it's just a fact. Canning, Whelan, C.Mannion and Daithi are the only ones that would make current Limerick team in recent years, which isn't bad really considering its one of best teams ever.

hopballref (Galway) - Posts: 390 - 28/05/2024 09:00:14    2547821

Replying To Galway9801:  "What are peoples feelings on the future of galway hurling?"
Doldrums for 5 plus years. Then a team comes out of nowhere reaches an all Ireland and loses it. County board pat themselves on the back and we bonce along for another 10 plus years feeding off that final appearance. Nothing will change until the county board changes. Turkeys voting for Christmas springs to mind.

2maroonjerseys (Galway) - Posts: 46 - 28/05/2024 09:22:27    2547824

Replying To hopballref:  "I don't think its guesswork it's just a fact. Canning, Whelan, C.Mannion and Daithi are the only ones that would make current Limerick team in recent years, which isn't bad really considering its one of best teams ever."
It's self-evident that it's not a fact. It's just your opinion.

Pope_Benedict (Galway) - Posts: 3589 - 28/05/2024 09:37:33    2547831

Replying To 2maroonjerseys:  "Doldrums for 5 plus years. Then a team comes out of nowhere reaches an all Ireland and loses it. County board pat themselves on the back and we bonce along for another 10 plus years feeding off that final appearance. Nothing will change until the county board changes. Turkeys voting for Christmas springs to mind."
Too negative. Galway drew with both Kilkenny and Limerick in last few months. We will be back next year, challenging for the top spot.

galwayford (Galway) - Posts: 2526 - 28/05/2024 10:37:40    2547855

Very positive. Galway will be challenging again next season.

galwayford (Galway) - Posts: 2526 - 28/05/2024 10:39:22    2547856

Replying To Stool Pigeon:  "Ah here, this belongs in a conspiracy theory forum

The incident was not contrived by Dublin, that's tinfoil hattery at its finest. Whitely did throw the ball before contact and it's likely that his handpass been legal then the contact would have arrived on release instead of late. But the referee only gets one view. We ended up on the wrong side of a 50/50 call. It happens.

My issue is with the analysis, this nonsense of slowing down and looking at eyes etc, when it's apparent on first viewing the ball was thrown and that alters the timing of everything that came after. Not Whitely's fault for throwing it, nor the referee for missing it as he could only see it once and it happened quickly, but if this is what passes for 'analysis' these days it's best to turn the tv off at halftime to spare the ears.

The Glynn incident was bad luck, no more and no less. Very unfortunate for him and hopefully he recovers soon.

The penalty was a terrible call alright, it's ludicrous that it wasn't given, and Dublin did seem to benefit more than us from the 50/50 calls, though as the former Galway player near me said, it's a Munster referee, refereeing in Munster fashion, where the ball is thrown all the time' so I suppose it's no surprise. Maybe we didn't throw the ball enough ourselves.

The point call in the second half was ridiculous. If the linesman saw enough to intervene, he should have had the call over the umpire, there's no question he had a better view, if in doubt he'd surely have let it go without interjecting?

But overall while there were some questionable calls against us we weren't good enough on the day and we will have to take this on the chin, crying about it isn't going to help matters."
Galway were robbed by the ref. No doubt. That said, get over it.

galwayford (Galway) - Posts: 2526 - 28/05/2024 10:41:32    2547857

Replying To galwayford:  "Galway were robbed by the ref. No doubt. That said, get over it."
Yes get over it and count your blessings. Galway back in the "Leinster" championship next year while Carlow a Leinster County who are doing all the right things are excluded.

sligo joe (Dublin) - Posts: 730 - 28/05/2024 11:53:14    2547877

Very disappointing. It actually felt like Galway had got a few players into their right positions for once until the red card which changed the game. Full credit to Dublin though, their running game through the middle was even more effective with 14 Galway men. MD has done a good job

Shefflins time is up. On to next year with a new manager

Kinvara (Galway) - Posts: 150 - 28/05/2024 12:15:24    2547882