Wexford Hurling thread 2024

Replying To theboys:  "Thanks be to god we have a proper championship game ahead of us now to actually see where we are IV still no idea what our level is and the more I see these Munster game I still think we are miles away to be honest,for the first time we now play a Kilkenny team that has to win to get to Leinster final like ourselves!!! Kilkenny usually have there work done by now and already in the final!!! Il judge Wexford after this game,a proper game!!! Think Carlow are terrible,they played half a Kilkenny team who hit uncharacteristically 17 mostly terrible wides and had a man sent off In what I'd say was a really off day!!! I hope Kilkenny have everyone available too,I think they are a good yardstick!!"
What an arrogant statement. Carlow got the draw they deserved against Kilkenny & could easily have won it. Yes we were very poor yesterday but that doesn't surprise me as we had put in 3 very good performances up to yesterday & we eventually ran out of gas. We don't have anything like the numbers you guys have & we are seriously punching above our weight.
Well deserved win for ye yesterday but don't knock Carlow because we dare to stick our heads above the table. The more competitive teams in the Championship the better & hopefully we can stay there & ye will have to play another terrible team again next year. By the way I hope Kilkenny have a full team out next week too.....

carlo (Carlow) - Posts: 226 - 20/05/2024 16:55:16    2545932

Replying To WEXILE:  "On paper if you picked the most likely results that's a kilkenny & Galway win then we are out. Hopefully doesn't play out like that"
That's not correct. We'd finish third on score difference in that scenario unless we got absolutely hockeyed which seems unlikely

Doylerwex (Wexford) - Posts: 2961 - 20/05/2024 17:01:44    2545933

Replying To WEXILE:  "On paper if you picked the most likely results that's a kilkenny & Galway win then we are out. Hopefully doesn't play out like that"
Incidentally I just checked the odds and Kilkenny are hot favourites. Bookies obviously haven't followed championship hurling this year or for the last seven years. I'm going to put a few grand on us at 5/2. Free money.

Doylerwex (Wexford) - Posts: 2961 - 20/05/2024 17:04:58    2545934

Replying To carlo:  "What an arrogant statement. Carlow got the draw they deserved against Kilkenny & could easily have won it. Yes we were very poor yesterday but that doesn't surprise me as we had put in 3 very good performances up to yesterday & we eventually ran out of gas. We don't have anything like the numbers you guys have & we are seriously punching above our weight.
Well deserved win for ye yesterday but don't knock Carlow because we dare to stick our heads above the table. The more competitive teams in the Championship the better & hopefully we can stay there & ye will have to play another terrible team again next year. By the way I hope Kilkenny have a full team out next week too....."
To be fair I think the term proper championship game was that next week is almost knock out.

Carlow weren't good yesterday but I was genuinely more afraid of you than Kilkenny.

I hope they've a full team out too. Matt O'hanlon is the only player in the country who consistently dominates TJ Reid.

Doylerwex (Wexford) - Posts: 2961 - 20/05/2024 17:07:59    2545938

Replying To Doylerwex:  "That's not correct. We'd finish third on score difference in that scenario unless we got absolutely hockeyed which seems unlikely"
Ah I see, sorry I've really struggled with the permutations!

WEXILE (Wexford) - Posts: 308 - 20/05/2024 17:11:08    2545941

Replying To OpenStandWall:  "Tickets bought this morning, really hope we bring a big support."
I expect and hope for a huge Wexford support on Sunday. Its going to be extremely difficult and tight and a vocal following for us could be the 1 point difference you never know

Afinestick96 (Wexford) - Posts: 338 - 20/05/2024 17:13:06    2545942

Replying To Doylerwex:  "Incidentally I just checked the odds and Kilkenny are hot favourites. Bookies obviously haven't followed championship hurling this year or for the last seven years. I'm going to put a few grand on us at 5/2. Free money."
Jesus I like your optimism but Sunday is 50/50 I wouldnt be putting that kind of money on us at all

Afinestick96 (Wexford) - Posts: 338 - 20/05/2024 17:15:11    2545943

Replying To carlo:  "What an arrogant statement. Carlow got the draw they deserved against Kilkenny & could easily have won it. Yes we were very poor yesterday but that doesn't surprise me as we had put in 3 very good performances up to yesterday & we eventually ran out of gas. We don't have anything like the numbers you guys have & we are seriously punching above our weight.
Well deserved win for ye yesterday but don't knock Carlow because we dare to stick our heads above the table. The more competitive teams in the Championship the better & hopefully we can stay there & ye will have to play another terrible team again next year. By the way I hope Kilkenny have a full team out next week too....."
That post is not reflective of what any Wexford supporters I know think. Anyone I was talking to was seriously worried about the game against you. Think it was pretty much their 1st team you were playing less Cody, Deegan and Mullan anyway.

Viking66 (Wexford) - Posts: 13070 - 20/05/2024 17:21:45    2545946

How so? Kilkenny would have to beat us by 9 more points than Galway beat Dublin by in that scenario. The most likely way if we don't get 3rd is if we lose and Galway and Dublin draw.

Viking66 (Wexford) - Posts: 13070 - 20/05/2024 17:23:29    2545948

Replying To Doylerwex:  "Incidentally I just checked the odds and Kilkenny are hot favourites. Bookies obviously haven't followed championship hurling this year or for the last seven years. I'm going to put a few grand on us at 5/2. Free money."
Love it Doyler!

Viking66 (Wexford) - Posts: 13070 - 20/05/2024 17:23:56    2545949

Replying To Afinestick96:  "Surprised our match is not live on Sunday given the history and rivalry between us and Kilkenny and whats at stake. Hopefully the fact its only on GAAGO will sway more Wexford supporters to go support the lads rather than paying 12 euro to watch it online"
For us in the UK GAAGO been a Godsend, only way I can watch the Wexford games.

Jedobi (Wexford) - Posts: 195 - 20/05/2024 17:48:40    2545961

Replying To Doylerwex:  "They could have gone out of the championship when we beat them in nowlan park in 22"
No. Kilkenny can't finish lower than 3rd.

Cockney_Cat (UK) - Posts: 2618 - 20/05/2024 17:51:53    2545964

Replying To Afinestick96:  "Jesus I like your optimism but Sunday is 50/50 I wouldnt be putting that kind of money on us at all"
Ah I'm joking of course, my point is it's totally irrational for them to be raging hot favourites.

They're Kilkenny I know, but they haven't been great this year.

Doylerwex (Wexford) - Posts: 2961 - 20/05/2024 17:57:50    2545965

I don't think Carlow are terrible.
Have improved lots but came up against a Wexford team who were never going to allow what happened in Antrim.
I really hope carlow get the win in antrim but it will be a big ask.
But beat of luck and we'll done on a huge result v Kilkenny

wex82 (Wexford) - Posts: 214 - 20/05/2024 18:17:28    2545969

Replying To Afinestick96:  "Jesus I like your optimism but Sunday is 50/50 I wouldnt be putting that kind of money on us at all"
If Wexford turn up ready and focused I give us a chance bit if we are off at all we will lose.
I hope we get a big crowd from Wexford.
I reckon we will

wex82 (Wexford) - Posts: 214 - 20/05/2024 18:19:24    2545970

Replying To wex82:  "If Wexford turn up ready and focused I give us a chance bit if we are off at all we will lose.
I hope we get a big crowd from Wexford.
I reckon we will"
I'm hoping we get over 10k to support the lads . We have a great chance of getting to a Leinster final and as I said in previous post a vocal support could be that 1 point difference in the end

Afinestick96 (Wexford) - Posts: 338 - 20/05/2024 18:47:00    2545981

Replying To Cockney_Cat:  "No. Kilkenny can't finish lower than 3rd."
He's talking about 22. You were gone if Dublin and Galway had drawn or if Dublin had won.

Viking66 (Wexford) - Posts: 13070 - 20/05/2024 19:14:58    2545986

Sorry, misread your post (in 22).

Cockney_Cat (UK) - Posts: 2618 - 20/05/2024 19:16:47    2545987

I know they can't this year I was on about 22. The narrative is Wexford can't do it when Kilkenny have something to play for which is completely false.

Doylerwex (Wexford) - Posts: 2961 - 20/05/2024 20:13:35    2545993

Replying To Doylerwex:  "Ah I'm joking of course, my point is it's totally irrational for them to be raging hot favourites.

They're Kilkenny I know, but they haven't been great this year."
Why joke just follow your heart if you believe.

Tiger1 (Wexford) - Posts: 279 - 20/05/2024 21:23:17    2546004