Wexford Hurling thread 2024

Replying To Cockney_Cat:  "'for the first time we now play a Kilkenny team that has to win to get to Leinster final'.

Kilkenny will get to the Leinster final if they draw with Wexford."
Yes. We will also if the other game is also a draw.

Viking66 (Wexford) - Posts: 13070 - 20/05/2024 13:27:40    2545863

Replying To Viking66:  "Yes. We will also if the other game is also a draw."
Does it not go to the mini league scenario then where we end up 3rd because Dublin have scored more goals in our meeting and wr don't go head to head as we drew

We finish ahead of Galway based on head to head

WEXILE (Wexford) - Posts: 308 - 20/05/2024 14:39:44    2545878

Replying To benchtoaster:  "Fair play to ye yesterday lads, an absolute clinical performance. Was so disappointed with the Carlow lads they really didn't get going at all and I think maybe the Kilkenny game took a lot out of the bodies.

One thing I'd say lads the majority of your supporters are top Gaa people but ye should be having a word with some of less sportsman like members of the congregation. There was a fella with Lee's family yesterday calling the Carlow players 'dirt' and mocking and jeering the Carlow people around him and it was nothing short of disgraceful. There's a chap who's not playing with the county anymore and he was encouraging the kids with him to roar in his ear when wexford would score…..this guy wears hearing aids….

For yer own sake I'd take lads like that aside it left a really sour taste with the Carlow people around him- most of us were more than complimentary of your team and accepted our hiding!"
I could say a thing or two about the Carlow supporters sitting around us too, unfortunately there are the odd few out there who don't represent any county well

goreyll (Wexford) - Posts: 124 - 20/05/2024 14:41:53    2545880

Replying To Cockney_Cat:  "'for the first time we now play a Kilkenny team that has to win to get to Leinster final'.

Kilkenny will get to the Leinster final if they draw with Wexford."
They could have gone out of the championship when we beat them in nowlan park in 22

Doylerwex (Wexford) - Posts: 2961 - 20/05/2024 14:57:45    2545887

Just a couple of things after the match yesterday.

- Jippo has made some difference for us at the back, yesterday even afforded him some chances to bomb forward and he's well able to take a score when its on. We seem a completely different outfit back there with him.
- Eoin Ryan for such a young lad is playing great, he won't get the plaudits of an Adam Hogan because we're the minnows here in Leinster but he's been class the last two days out.
- The midfield partnership is really looking good, I'd still be worried they'd get blown out of it by a more physical pairing like Limerick's but they are doing a great job at linking play when we transition from backs to forwards. The amount of ball Conor Hearne is hurling and running out from the back is unreal.
- Conor McDonald definitely seems to be coming to the boil at the perfect time, big test for him the weekend against Lawlor.
- Lee Chin is, in my humble opinion, in hurler of the year form. Outside of his scoring, the fielding and ball winning ability of the man are off the charts. Would fill you with pride yesterday watching people in the stand, getting to their feet to clap and cheer him off the field. No one, so far, has been able to handle him in the championship.
- We butchered a couple more goal chances yesterday. I feel like we've been doing that a lot, and against better teams we need to be more ruthless.
- For the start of the second half we definitely had a lull and if Carlow were more on their game they could have exploited it. Against Kilkenny we can't afford to drop the intensity at all.

I got my tickets for the weekend now and I can't wait. For the 70mins I'll be absolutely miserable and full of anxiety but I am dreaming of maybe making a Leinster final, after that who knows.

Fulgrim (Wexford) - Posts: 257 - 20/05/2024 15:01:52    2545889

Replying To Formertownie:  "I think Rossi got it right not taking lads off too early fir 2 reasons .
1 to let the lads know he has rhe faith on them to see out these games after faltering on 2 occasions this year and 2 occasions v westmeath last 2 years .
2 to get our score difference as high as possible to take that scenario out of the equation.

No player likes being taken off when they are winning well and scoring freely it gives confidence . Yes give subs a chance for game tine at rouhgly same time as would normally happen to build consistency which we ve lacked .
Our best players fir the set up were on the field maybe bar cian byrne .
With impact from be.ch itching to get on we are I'm good place at present .
Can't worry too much about injury as can happen at any time training or matches get the job done first .
Having a settled team with cohesion has to have been high on managements priority .
Too many changes too early can cause problems with game plan. Gradual introduction is far better .
All subs done their chances of coming in later In championship when needed no harm at all .
In other words I thought management got it right yesterday
Conor hearne was out on his feet fir sure that could happen next week too and we may nit be in position to take him out then either . Can only help his fitness .
Recovery this week will be the order otmf the day .
Kilkeenny will be strong favourites for sure we need to bring huge intensity matched with game plan to give us a platform.
I ll leave that to management .
Starting to really like the way they operate and seem to be learning from mistakes and hopefully that will continue. Every management team makes mistakes"
I don't see how Kilkenny would be favourites. They weren't great against Galway, were poor against Carlow and extremely lucky against Dublin. Don't forget the head to head either.

This is a 50/50 game. With the exception of the Antrim game we've been more impressive than them.

They could have gone out of the championship in 22 when we beat them as well.

Doylerwex (Wexford) - Posts: 2961 - 20/05/2024 15:02:47    2545890

Surprised our match is not live on Sunday given the history and rivalry between us and Kilkenny and whats at stake. Hopefully the fact its only on GAAGO will sway more Wexford supporters to go support the lads rather than paying 12 euro to watch it online

Afinestick96 (Wexford) - Posts: 338 - 20/05/2024 15:04:53    2545894

It's brilliant that all the games matter. Will guarantee big crowds and total commitment in all three.

If Dublin lose it won't bother me much if missing third spot. We wouldn't deserve to be going forward on basis of beating Antrim and Carlow.

BarneyGrant (Dublin) - Posts: 2929 - 20/05/2024 15:10:20    2545897

Replying To WEXILE:  "Does it not go to the mini league scenario then where we end up 3rd because Dublin have scored more goals in our meeting and wr don't go head to head as we drew

We finish ahead of Galway based on head to head"
It's scoring difference between the 3 tied teams. If Galway and Dublin draw the scoring difference will be as it is now. We are top. Then Dublin. Then Galway. So if both games are drawn we will play Kilkenny in the final, and Galway will be out of the championship.

Viking66 (Wexford) - Posts: 13070 - 20/05/2024 15:14:23    2545900

Congratulations to Mac and Chin for making the hurling TOTW

Viking66 (Wexford) - Posts: 13070 - 20/05/2024 15:22:08    2545904

Replying To Viking66:  "It's scoring difference between the 3 tied teams. If Galway and Dublin draw the scoring difference will be as it is now. We are top. Then Dublin. Then Galway. So if both games are drawn we will play Kilkenny in the final, and Galway will be out of the championship."
That's how it's done in Munster and football too but was there not an article on one of these threads this morning saying Leinster has adopted different rules.

3 tied then it goes to how you fared in the meetings. We drew with Dublin so it goes to who scored the more goals in that game. Dublin got 2 to our 1 so they would leap frog us

I'll look for that link now, I hope you are right by the way

WEXILE (Wexford) - Posts: 308 - 20/05/2024 15:34:27    2545910

Replying To WEXILE:  "That's how it's done in Munster and football too but was there not an article on one of these threads this morning saying Leinster has adopted different rules.

3 tied then it goes to how you fared in the meetings. We drew with Dublin so it goes to who scored the more goals in that game. Dublin got 2 to our 1 so they would leap frog us

I'll look for that link now, I hope you are right by the way"
I re read it. I think I've confused it. So if Galway, Wexford and Dublin all level on points then the decision factor is points difference across the 3 teams in the games where we all met. So Wexford would be ahead on that.

Failing that then they revert to goals scored in the games. Hope I got that right!

https://www.tippsupportersclub.com/articles/117688

WEXILE (Wexford) - Posts: 308 - 20/05/2024 15:45:21    2545916

Replying To Viking66:  "If 4th go through from Munster it would make the whole Munster Round Robin pointless"
Same can be said of the football group stages right now though

Plus I'm not really sure how else you could work it as there'd be major criticism from the Munster counties if only 3 Munster teams made the All-Ireland stage whereas 4 Leinster teams made it out

ElGranSenor (Wexford) - Posts: 332 - 20/05/2024 15:57:28    2545919

Replying To Afinestick96:  "Surprised our match is not live on Sunday given the history and rivalry between us and Kilkenny and whats at stake. Hopefully the fact its only on GAAGO will sway more Wexford supporters to go support the lads rather than paying 12 euro to watch it online"
My guess is that RTÉ had first choice and went for Limerick-Waterford and then GAAGO had second choice and they went for Kilkenny-Wexford

Or at least that's what I hope is the case, would've thought neutrals would have had a lot more interest in our game than the Galway-Dublin game

ElGranSenor (Wexford) - Posts: 332 - 20/05/2024 16:05:17    2545921

https://leinstergaa.ie/how-it-all-unfolds/

The above link explains all the possible permutations this week

ElGranSenor (Wexford) - Posts: 332 - 20/05/2024 16:09:34    2545922

Replying To ElGranSenor:  "Same can be said of the football group stages right now though

Plus I'm not really sure how else you could work it as there'd be major criticism from the Munster counties if only 3 Munster teams made the All-Ireland stage whereas 4 Leinster teams made it out"
Had this on another thread lad. 2 groups of 4 = 3 games. Then semi finals and final, and same for relegation, plus a 3rd placed playoff, so 5 games total for everyone except the 2 counties who win their relegation semifinal who will only have 4. So the counties will mostly have the same number of games as the Munster ones.

Viking66 (Wexford) - Posts: 13070 - 20/05/2024 16:15:00    2545923

Replying To WEXILE:  "I re read it. I think I've confused it. So if Galway, Wexford and Dublin all level on points then the decision factor is points difference across the 3 teams in the games where we all met. So Wexford would be ahead on that.

Failing that then they revert to goals scored in the games. Hope I got that right!

https://www.tippsupportersclub.com/articles/117688"
Goals scored is if all 3 counties are level on points difference. Like if the 3 games between them were all drawn, or they all won 1 each by the same amount.

Viking66 (Wexford) - Posts: 13070 - 20/05/2024 16:16:20    2545924

Replying To WEXILE:  "That's how it's done in Munster and football too but was there not an article on one of these threads this morning saying Leinster has adopted different rules.

I'll look for that link now, I hope you are right by the way"
In Munster its decided on overall score difference, not just the score difference in the games between the 3 tied counties.

Viking66 (Wexford) - Posts: 13070 - 20/05/2024 16:17:24    2545926

Replying To Viking66:  "In Munster its decided on overall score difference, not just the score difference in the games between the 3 tied counties."
On paper if you picked the most likely results that's a kilkenny & Galway win then we are out. Hopefully doesn't play out like that

WEXILE (Wexford) - Posts: 308 - 20/05/2024 16:44:51    2545930

Tickets bought this morning, really hope we bring a big support.

OpenStandWall (Wexford) - Posts: 123 - 20/05/2024 16:54:16    2545931