Lee Keegan

Replying To Tirchonaill1:  "My own thoughts mo chara, on reflection the part about Mayo being celebrity losers may have been in my head from something Brolly or someone else said some time ago, not sure exactly but the point is still valid and it describes that Mayo team to a tee.
Nothing against Mayo but they way the media fawn over them especially RTE is nauseating.
Anyway good luck to Lee in retirement, I'm glad to see the back of him suppose that's as good a compliment as any.
I rem him clotheslining Mark McHugh in the 2012 final, then Lee winks at some of his team mates, sure amn't I the great defender,
he wasn't smiling or winking much after he final whistle though."
Ah yes because Donegal players weren't ever do anything like that themselves...

oneoff (UK) - Posts: 1380 - 09/01/2023 16:26:37    2451749

He was the best player on that great Mayo team in my opinion, and I'm sure many others think the same. I've said it before, but he was the ultimate big game player. When the pressure was greatest he went up a level.
Apart from being a great competitor, he was also a brilliant footballer who kicked some great scores over the years.
He left it all out there on the pitch every time.
He won a well deserved senior county title this year and me might see him on a big stage again with Westport over the next couple of years.

WanPintWin (Galway) - Posts: 2047 - 09/01/2023 16:30:18    2451750

Replying To oneoff:  "Ah yes because Donegal players weren't ever do anything like that themselves..."
The topic of this thread is Lee Keegan in case you hadn't noticed.

Tirchonaill1 (Donegal) - Posts: 2757 - 09/01/2023 16:37:53    2451751

Best of luck to him in his retirement and real life.
At least he won't be there to terrorise us on 9th April....

Seanfanbocht (Roscommon) - Posts: 1440 - 09/01/2023 17:01:21    2451756

A superb player and a legend of Mayo football, the sport generally really.

A great man for an important score, I remember two late points against Tyrone in 2016 to bring Mayo from a point down to a point up with the game nearly over. Two big goals against the Dubs in 2016 and 2017 too. They were brilliant finishes as well to be fair, particularly the one into the Canal End in 16. Some great battles, that he generally came out on top of, with Diarmuid Connolly that will live long in the memory!

The best Mayo player of his generation from my point of view and easily one of the best of his generation nationally.

MesAmis (Dublin) - Posts: 13718 - 09/01/2023 17:07:10    2451759

What a player. You just had to admire his talent, courage, fitness, competiveness and how he played the game. Never gave an inch and his battles Dermott Connolly will be remembered for a very long time. We in Roscommon think that the late great D. Early was the best player to never win an All Ireland. Lee Keegan is right up there and I would not argue with either choice. Thanks for the memories Lee and the best of health and happiness in your retirement from the County scene.

letsgetgoing (Roscommon) - Posts: 516 - 09/01/2023 17:47:28    2451767

Replying To Tirchonaill1:  "The topic of this thread is Lee Keegan in case you hadn't noticed."
Yes I did.

oneoff (UK) - Posts: 1380 - 09/01/2023 17:55:50    2451771

Excellent footballer, big blow for Mayo you'd feel.

All the best Lee.

ahsure. (Galway) - Posts: 1573 - 09/01/2023 18:45:11    2451778

Replying To Tirchonaill1:  "My own thoughts mo chara, on reflection the part about Mayo being celebrity losers may have been in my head from something Brolly or someone else said some time ago, not sure exactly but the point is still valid and it describes that Mayo team to a tee.
Nothing against Mayo but they way the media fawn over them especially RTE is nauseating.
Anyway good luck to Lee in retirement, I'm glad to see the back of him suppose that's as good a compliment as any.
I rem him clotheslining Mark McHugh in the 2012 final, then Lee winks at some of his team mates, sure amn't I the great defender,
You have had many weird posts about Mayo lad. A strange obsession. Knowledgeable fans can accept there is a slight obsession with Mayo but that is the fault of outsiders. Aidan O Shea aside very few of this generation said much or did much to attract begrudgery from armchair experts who could barely get a game in junior championship. You even finish with a weird memory from 2012. Cool story.

And the part about celebrity lovers? Might have been in your head maybe from Brolly ? Lol. Word for word lad. You haven't an original thought in your head so you try and copy clickbait Brolly. Try and bit harder lad.

TheFlaker (Mayo) - Posts: 7907 - 09/01/2023 19:28:41    2451782

Fair play to Lee.
He was a fair ould baller..
Sunday game will snap him up now and he'll make a nice few quid..

Belclare (Galway) - Posts: 904 - 09/01/2023 20:26:52    2451784

Replying To Tirchonaill1:  "The topic of this thread is Lee Keegan in case you hadn't noticed."
Is has nothing to do with Donegal either but that didn't stop you bringing them into it.

oneoff (UK) - Posts: 1380 - 09/01/2023 20:39:17    2451785

Great will to win; one of those players that would step up when his team were going through a bad spell. He probably had another year in him, but always better to leave on your own terms.

points50swiththeargyllsonthewrongfeet (Tyrone) - Posts: 242 - 09/01/2023 21:13:51    2451787

Pity you wouldn't retire and take your bitterness with you.

ponga (Mayo) - Posts: 650 - 10/01/2023 07:33:24    2451791

Absolutely brilliant player. Could mix it with the best. Lucky to see him win a national league title in 2019. All the best in the future. Hopefully he gets a gig in tv as any interviews comes across as a straight talker

Wexfordgaa (Wexford) - Posts: 263 - 10/01/2023 09:04:47    2451796

Classy post.

carlovia (None) - Posts: 1517 - 10/01/2023 09:22:49    2451799

I certainly don't agree with the notion that it's the number of All Ireland medals that ultimately constitutes how great a player was. People should just use their eyes and watch what is going on or has gone on in fron of them. Keegan was consistently one of the best players (if not the best player) on the pitch in the biggest games of all. I'm not sure what else he could have done?

It would be complete nonsense for example to suggest that Michael Murphy wasn't all that great considering he "only" won one All Ireland. Dublin are considered by many to be the best team of all time and Mayo were the biggest thorn in their side, coming so close to getting the better of them. They were hardly a team of eejits that stumbled into half a dozen All Ireland finals in a decade.

Keegan deserves all the plaudits he gets and will rightly be remembered as one of the greats of the game. Pointing towards his lack of All Ireland medals is immature, spurious nonsense. It's like the Ronaldo Messi thing. Some people were saying Ronaldo was somehow better based off the fact that Portugal won the Euros in 2016 when they absolutely stunk the place out. Laughable. Messi was and is the better player, and thankfully he put a lid on any debate before Christmas.

Lockjaw (Donegal) - Posts: 9155 - 10/01/2023 09:30:24    2451800

That was Lee. He hated losing. Combined with his football brain, skills, fitness and teamwork it was one unreal combination in a man. He relished the combat as much as spotting when we needed a vital score and going up the pitch to get it and drag us back into games. I hope he has a great retirement in whatever he pursues. Ye were well worth that All Ireland in 2012, well worth it. Ye did it on the big day which we have to learn how to do.

GreenandRed (Mayo) - Posts: 7363 - 10/01/2023 09:55:38    2451804

Replying To Lockjaw:  "I certainly don't agree with the notion that it's the number of All Ireland medals that ultimately constitutes how great a player was. People should just use their eyes and watch what is going on or has gone on in fron of them. Keegan was consistently one of the best players (if not the best player) on the pitch in the biggest games of all. I'm not sure what else he could have done?

It would be complete nonsense for example to suggest that Michael Murphy wasn't all that great considering he "only" won one All Ireland. Dublin are considered by many to be the best team of all time and Mayo were the biggest thorn in their side, coming so close to getting the better of them. They were hardly a team of eejits that stumbled into half a dozen All Ireland finals in a decade.

Keegan deserves all the plaudits he gets and will rightly be remembered as one of the greats of the game. Pointing towards his lack of All Ireland medals is immature, spurious nonsense. It's like the Ronaldo Messi thing. Some people were saying Ronaldo was somehow better based off the fact that Portugal won the Euros in 2016 when they absolutely stunk the place out. Laughable. Messi was and is the better player, and thankfully he put a lid on any debate before Christmas."
Great post Lockjaw. Totally agree on the medals thing as well. I never got that argument. If a player consistently performed on the biggest day you can't question his brilliance.

TheFlaker (Mayo) - Posts: 7907 - 10/01/2023 10:00:44    2451806

What a stupid post

germac (Down) - Posts: 535 - 10/01/2023 10:01:01    2451807

Good luck in retirement to Lee Keegan, a wonderful all round footballer who left everything on the pitch especially in games of importance. He is living proof that the worth of a player cannot be measured by the amount of medals in one's pocket.

MillerX (Meath) - Posts: 1066 - 10/01/2023 10:38:10    2451814