Lee Keegan

Replying To yew_tree:  "Indeed I think the celebrations last a long time in Westport and rightly so. A stag last weekend in Liverpool wouldn't have been ideal prep. Moycullen though by far the better team. Has that Dessie lad that kicked 0-10 yesterday been in the Galway panel at all?"
On the panel played mostly in the league.

One of the main differences in the All-Ireland final was Jack O'Connor was ruthless with his changes. Joyce for whatever reason didn't trust his bench throughout the championship. Paul Kelly, Dessie Conneely, Eoin Gallagher (All Moycullen players) Niall Daly,Eoin Finnerty, Finnian Ó Laoi more than useful players yet only the latter got decent championship game time.

Then you had Tomo Culhane (not even on the 26 for the last few championship games.

Yondu (UK) - Posts: 845 - 14/11/2022 13:39:15    2447521

Best player never to win an All Ireland and seems like a genuinely good guy! Super super footballer still playing outstanding stuff and easily had at least another year in him! Family life is more important though, owes Mayo GAA nothing!

maximus02 (Longford) - Posts: 169 - 09/01/2023 11:30:39    2451672

Ah no.

Probably my favourite ever player, and definitely in the top echelon of players never to win an AI in history (best of my lifetime).

I'd go as far to say he was on the clutchest players ever, some scoring record in All-Ireland finals and routinely shut-down opponents too.

An all-time great.

beano (Wexford) - Posts: 1422 - 09/01/2023 11:37:54    2451673

A joy to watch. So talented . Never gave up and always showed up when his team needed him.

I wish him the best with Westport. Delighted he won the SFC with them. A historic win.

galwayfball (Galway) - Posts: 1678 - 09/01/2023 11:50:17    2451674

Brilliant player and a player the neutral will miss. One of the greatest players never to win an all Ireland. The highest scoring defender of all time. Fantastic. Best of luck to Lee in his well earned retirement.

CiarraiMick (Dublin) - Posts: 3678 - 09/01/2023 11:58:48    2451678

A great player who left nothing on the pitch. What a warrior he has been for Mayo over the years through thick and thin. He was like a train bombing up the field and had the footballing ability to match his athleticism. When you seen him winding up that outside of the right foot shot from distance it invariably meant the umpire reaching for his flag. Enjoy the downtime now and your remaining playing time with the club.

Lockjaw (Donegal) - Posts: 9155 - 09/01/2023 12:05:11    2451679

may i wish a heartfelt happy retirement to the great lee keegan . one of the greatest defenders and players i have seen . he owes the game nothing .

mickcunningham (Westmeath) - Posts: 1806 - 09/01/2023 12:09:25    2451681

Fantastic Player, best of luck to him.

giveitlong (Galway) - Posts: 1225 - 09/01/2023 12:14:40    2451682

Sad to see him go. The time he scored the goal in the final with 10 minutes left was the one Mayo should have won.

Loved the battles with himself and Connolly.

Huge loss for Mayo but owes them nothing.

carlovia (None) - Posts: 1517 - 09/01/2023 12:22:10    2451685

Replying To giveitlong:  "Fantastic Player, best of luck to him."
A truly great defender a warrior.

jobber (Westmeath) - Posts: 1459 - 09/01/2023 12:29:06    2451688

Best of luck to him on retiring..huge loss to mayo..a player I think who every neutral loved watching..

CTGAA10 (Limerick) - Posts: 2226 - 09/01/2023 12:50:30    2451695

A great competitor no doubt, I wish him well in retirement and he has plenty left to give his club, he can throw his county gps away for good now.
I have to say though it's typical of Mayo football as this has dragged on for months, will he/won't he retire, big deal.
they had players retiring in the week before the Kerry Dublin All Ireland final a few years ago just to keep Mayo in the news it seemed.
If you are going to retire just do it in the off season and get it over with, celebrity losers and celebrity retirees.

Tirchonaill1 (Donegal) - Posts: 2757 - 09/01/2023 13:01:50    2451697

What more can be said about him? A generational talent right up there with anyone we've seen over the last 20/30 years. Brilliant servant to his county, very unlucky not to be retiring with at least 2/3 All Ireland medals, but a truly brilliant career and a remarkable talent.

hyperache (Meath) - Posts: 208 - 09/01/2023 13:02:11    2451698

Wishing Lee Keegan all the best on his IC retirement. A man that owes Mayo nothing. A tremendous player, a warrior, a great servant of our game and a nice fella off the field too. Galway will miss the hugely entertaining battles with Lee. A joy to watch in full flight and a modern great of the game.

togoutlads (Galway) - Posts: 908 - 09/01/2023 13:18:05    2451701

He is the best back I have seen, could have played the normal back v forward game or the blanket game. My only gripe was getting Sean Cavanagh sent off by wrestling him to the ground, but fair play. He could still do a job for Mayo.

Saynothing (Tyrone) - Posts: 2017 - 09/01/2023 13:28:09    2451705

A great player, Mayo pushed the great Dublin team right to the edge on more than one occasion and he was a massive part of that.

Huge loss and I wish him well going forward.

realdub (Dublin) - Posts: 8596 - 09/01/2023 13:56:12    2451711

Replying To Tirchonaill1:  "A great competitor no doubt, I wish him well in retirement and he has plenty left to give his club, he can throw his county gps away for good now.
I have to say though it's typical of Mayo football as this has dragged on for months, will he/won't he retire, big deal.
they had players retiring in the week before the Kerry Dublin All Ireland final a few years ago just to keep Mayo in the news it seemed.
If you are going to retire just do it in the off season and get it over with, celebrity losers and celebrity retirees."
Did you copy and paste that from a Joe Brolly article?

TheFlaker (Mayo) - Posts: 7907 - 09/01/2023 14:20:25    2451718

Can't think many better man marking defenders than Lee Keegan in the decades i watched the game. Game player also who regularly outscored his marker

Gaa_lover (USA) - Posts: 3353 - 09/01/2023 15:13:38    2451728

Replying To TheFlaker:  "Did you copy and paste that from a Joe Brolly article?"
My own thoughts mo chara, on reflection the part about Mayo being celebrity losers may have been in my head from something Brolly or someone else said some time ago, not sure exactly but the point is still valid and it describes that Mayo team to a tee.
Nothing against Mayo but they way the media fawn over them especially RTE is nauseating.
Anyway good luck to Lee in retirement, I'm glad to see the back of him suppose that's as good a compliment as any.
I rem him clotheslining Mark McHugh in the 2012 final, then Lee winks at some of his team mates, sure amn't I the great defender,
he wasn't smiling or winking much after he final whistle though.

Tirchonaill1 (Donegal) - Posts: 2757 - 09/01/2023 15:41:49    2451736

Thanks for the memories lee a joy to watch, played the game The way it should be played, bullish tigerish and humble, never going to be easy to hang up the boots but that's life. Not going to be the same watching Mayo without all those great defenders lee, Boyle, Higgins. Mullen reminded me of Lee in some ways but still hadn't the time put in to be mentioned in the same sentence as Keegan. Laoch

Sportsfanatic90 (Westmeath) - Posts: 213 - 09/01/2023 16:17:19    2451745