Wexford Intercounty Hurling 2023

Replying To HurlingBuzz:  "Forwards score just 5 points from play and according to RTÉ match report Rory O'Connor our best forward is deployed in a sweeping role. Am I missing something?"
Egan obviously didn't want a repeat of the Clare scoreline so sacrificed Rory to keep it half respectable.

Nobody really knows and probably Egan doesn't know himself where this Wexford team is really at until we get our best 15 out against Galway in the Leinster championship.

Lose against Galway in the first match and then more than likely we will need to beat Kilkenny again in the last round robin game to get through.

Past hurler (None) - Posts: 919 - 19/03/2023 16:51:24    2464809

Replying To goreyll:  "Back to our usual - Chin missing frees and Fanning dropping the ball into the goal"
As long as Management keep picking Fanning it's not his fault.

He can't drop the ball into his net and keep
Making these costly blunders if management don't pick him.

Past hurler (None) - Posts: 919 - 19/03/2023 16:53:13    2464812

Replying To Past hurler:  "Egan obviously didn't want a repeat of the Clare scoreline so sacrificed Rory to keep it half respectable.

Nobody really knows and probably Egan doesn't know himself where this Wexford team is really at until we get our best 15 out against Galway in the Leinster championship.

Lose against Galway in the first match and then more than likely we will need to beat Kilkenny again in the last round robin game to get through."
Dublin in Parnell Park in round 3 is likely to be a key game.

TerribleFootwork (Wexford) - Posts: 1760 - 19/03/2023 17:05:21    2464818

Replying To Past hurler:  "As long as Management keep picking Fanning it's not his fault.

He can't drop the ball into his net and keep
Making these costly blunders if management don't pick him."
In fairness in 8 games so far between Walsh Cup and League himself and Lawlor got 4 starts each so Egan gave both of them ample opportunities.

TerribleFootwork (Wexford) - Posts: 1760 - 19/03/2023 17:08:09    2464819

Why have the previous managers always played fanning??ive seen lawlor and he does all the basics right and doesn't go jumping up and down..ye also need to get a very reliable free taker who will score 8 or 9 out of 10 every day..chin is a great hurler and leader but a manufactured free taker..it looks like ye May have 18 or 19 to realistically pick from..injuries will be crucial for ye to contend in leinster,if ye lose anyone it might be curtains..

CTGAA10 (Limerick) - Posts: 2506 - 19/03/2023 19:22:23    2464876

Replying To CTGAA10:  "Why have the previous managers always played fanning??ive seen lawlor and he does all the basics right and doesn't go jumping up and down..ye also need to get a very reliable free taker who will score 8 or 9 out of 10 every day..chin is a great hurler and leader but a manufactured free taker..it looks like ye May have 18 or 19 to realistically pick from..injuries will be crucial for ye to contend in leinster,if ye lose anyone it might be curtains.."
The best natural freetaker in Wexford is Ross Banville but in fairness to Egan, I don't think Banville has done enough to warrant a championship start, hasn't really featured enough in the league.

Chin will be the freetaker.

Past hurler (None) - Posts: 919 - 19/03/2023 20:08:02    2464898

Replying To CTGAA10:  "Why have the previous managers always played fanning??ive seen lawlor and he does all the basics right and doesn't go jumping up and down..ye also need to get a very reliable free taker who will score 8 or 9 out of 10 every day..chin is a great hurler and leader but a manufactured free taker..it looks like ye May have 18 or 19 to realistically pick from..injuries will be crucial for ye to contend in leinster,if ye lose anyone it might be curtains.."
Fanning was decent enough for a good while in goal for Wexford but last 2/3 years he's been shocking. The excuse that's usually trotted out here is that we have no one else but as you said yourself, Lawlor hasn't done much wrong this season. It's at the stage now where Fanning costs us a goal or two in nearly every match he plays. And as for a free taker, we have one lad who is a much more natural free taker than Chin but he's probably not good enough from open play and doesn't work hard enough so he doesn't usually start.

Purpleandgold72 (Wexford) - Posts: 251 - 19/03/2023 20:27:38    2464908

Replying To Past hurler:  "The best natural freetaker in Wexford is Ross Banville but in fairness to Egan, I don't think Banville has done enough to warrant a championship start, hasn't really featured enough in the league.

Chin will be the freetaker."
Ross Banville is excellent on frees and an excellent scorer from play but marks space too much when the opposition have the ball.

Viking66 (Wexford) - Posts: 15621 - 19/03/2023 20:30:56    2464909

The League has given us maybe an extra 4 or 5 players to spring from the bench or start in case of injuries. Maybe 1 or 2 might start anyway. Much more useful than last years League which just gave us 5 wins from 5 in the group stage. Job done. Move forward to the real hurling.

Viking66 (Wexford) - Posts: 15621 - 19/03/2023 20:33:28    2464912

Always felt Ian Byrne was messed around by Davy. I actually think we are missing a trick not including Cian Byrne more in this league campaign.
Liam Ryan, conor devitt, Matthew, d reck, Liam og, DOK, oisin foley, Richie lawlor all hopefully to come back in for the championship.
I taught, foley, s reck, E Murphy, Ian Carty, Chin(ftom play), R O Connor were our best players today.

hunting (Wexford) - Posts: 1122 - 19/03/2023 20:56:43    2464923

We're going to Portugal on a training camp in the next week or 2.

TerribleFootwork (Wexford) - Posts: 1760 - 19/03/2023 21:11:16    2464934

Replying To hunting:  "Always felt Ian Byrne was messed around by Davy. I actually think we are missing a trick not including Cian Byrne more in this league campaign.
Liam Ryan, conor devitt, Matthew, d reck, Liam og, DOK, oisin foley, Richie lawlor all hopefully to come back in for the championship.
I taught, foley, s reck, E Murphy, Ian Carty, Chin(ftom play), R O Connor were our best players today."
Cian Byrne is still u20. Mac to come back too.

Viking66 (Wexford) - Posts: 15621 - 19/03/2023 21:50:40    2464948

Replying To TerribleFootwork:  "We're going to Portugal on a training camp in the next week or 2."
Be great for the lads. Hopefully freshen them all up for Salthill!

Viking66 (Wexford) - Posts: 15621 - 19/03/2023 21:51:14    2464949

Replying To HurlingBuzz:  "Forwards score just 5 points from play and according to RTÉ match report Rory O'Connor our best forward is deployed in a sweeping role. Am I missing something?"
Yes. Rory wasn't sweeper he was playing centreback. And played very well there too!

Viking66 (Wexford) - Posts: 15621 - 20/03/2023 07:24:09    2464959

Yes. Rory wasn't really a sweeper he was playing more as a centreback. And played very well there too! Kevin who was supposed to be playing centreback played more of a deep midfield role.

Viking66 (Wexford) - Posts: 15621 - 20/03/2023 07:30:11    2464960

Replying To Waltermitty2:  "Its no surprise that carty is doing so good when he is the standout hurler with his club. Likewise why so many of our forwards are totally out of their dept because they dont stand out at all at club level."
He's the standout back but Cathal Doyle and Stephen O Gorman would be just as important to the team at club level.
Dwyer is Fethards best forward from what I've seen of them. Higgins, Lawlor and O Connor are probably Rathnures. Mac would still be Goreys. Chin is Harriers. Hearne and Mcguckin have been 2 of our better intercounty players this year so far. Who are the forwards you are talking about?

Viking66 (Wexford) - Posts: 15621 - 20/03/2023 08:11:36    2464964

Replying To Viking66:  "Cian Byrne is still u20. Mac to come back too."
I know he is under 20, i dont think that matter, forgot about mac.what your take on the match viking?I taught the scoreline was slightly unfair, limerick the better tem no doubt and could go up another gear but we were well in there for long stretches. Conceding 1 3 for goalkeeper errors and missing so many frees was the big killer. We were very defensive too, felt sorry for the two boys inside. But valuable game time for a lot of young lads.

hunting (Wexford) - Posts: 1122 - 20/03/2023 08:16:10    2464967

Wasn't at the game but listening to Spratt ( which is difficult to put it mildly) okay we lost by 11 points but we all knew that taking into account our injury woes that it was always going to end in a drubbing.
Really it was a poor game but at least it gave our newer lads more gametime, which will be important heading into the championship.
We now have a month for injuries to heal. Surely that should be enough time to get most of them back to full fitness.
It was probably wise to play Rory as a sweeper, given that he is just back from a serious injury.
He will obviously revert to his forward role in the games to come.
Unfortunately i reluctantly have to say that maybe it's time for Fanning to call time on his intercounty career. He has served us well over the years but we simply can't afford to be leaking goals on a regular basis. It could be the difference between winning and loosing.
It will be hard to get a positive result in Salthill but with a near full strength team we could spring a surprise.

Magpie2 (Wexford) - Posts: 447 - 20/03/2023 08:31:20    2464969

Hopefully the next few weeks will allow some injuries to heal up!

Anyone care to name their starting 15 v Galway in championship presuming we have lads back fit?

Past hurler (None) - Posts: 919 - 20/03/2023 09:01:18    2464972

Championship Team if all available

Lawlor
Reck
Ryan
Donohue
Carty
Hanlon
Reck
Lawlor
Dee O
Hearne
Chin
Charlie
Liam Óg
Mikey
Rory

Only 8 of these players played yesterday. Liam Ryan, Matt, Damien and Dee are crucial and hopefully Lawlor can recover and become a key player.

Impact Subs available: Dunbarr, Devitt, Higgins, Jack, Kevin Foley, Conor Foley, Mac

wexfordwin (Wexford) - Posts: 191 - 20/03/2023 09:38:04    2464987