Wexford Intercounty Hurling 2023

Replying To tonydoranfan:  "no but they call the shots, we are here today because of martin and Kent before him, poor underage results especially at minor for the last 50 years , we need structure and professional setup and now let's just start from the bottom now,
total restructuring of academy and new young and positive faces needed, p45s should be issued tomorrow morning staring with jj doyle and Ray harris"
That's some stretch to go after those two lads because we gave up a 17pt lead in senior hurling game v Westmeath who have never beaten us in any academy, minor level or 20s.

In the past 4 years wexford have won 1 leinster minor title, lost another final by 1pt, lost two 20s finals by 1pt & 2 pts. Previous 5 years how we do?

Our academy results from the weekend.

U14s beat Limerick & Offaly
U15s beat Galway by 15pts & Carlow in A & B games
U16s beat Kildare

Minors beat Offaly, Dublin & lost to KK in highly competitive game. 20s lost by 2pts to a team everyone is tipping for greatness but no one can see we are right there with them. Can't understand your mindset here unless it's personal?

skillful (Wexford) - Posts: 4 - 21/05/2023 20:11:32    2480164

Replying To beano:  "Why would Kilkenny rest players if they are looking to get to the Leinster final? If they lose and Dublin win, it'll come down to score difference. I know if I was Lyng, I'd be going hell bent for a win."
Kilkenny are already in leinster final due new head to head and points difference rules, Dublin and Galway is a defacto Leinster semi final.

TerribleFootwork (Wexford) - Posts: 1760 - 21/05/2023 20:21:07    2480167

Replying To Yellowhelmet:  "Me too.

Shocking 2nd half. Some players were more interested in going up field to contribute to pushing and shoving than playing the game.

No game plan in the 2nd half.

Unfortunately we are just not up to it. I said it after the antrim match. Our level is now with westmeath and antrim etc.

Fair play to Joe fortune and westmeath. Completely changed their game plan in the 2nd half and we never reacted to it.

Had the kids at every game this year and they don't want to go to kilkenny match. 10 and 12 year olds losing interest in the team.

Egan won't be around next year. A manager needs to be appointed before the club championship with a backroom team that will actually go to senior and intermediate games. Source new talent and start all over again.

Do we honestly think we have the best 25 players in the county on the panel?

Utterly depressed after that.

No way in hell we will beat kilkenny. Relying on antrim losing then.

Terrible record under Egan.

And looks like Alan corcoran was right after all."
To be honest the way our championship is structured like a bloody blitz a new manager will learn eff all from being at the games.

One minor injury and a chap is missing half his championship

tearintom (Wexford) - Posts: 1504 - 21/05/2023 20:23:56    2480170

Replying To HurlingBuzz:  "Things going to get worse before they get better. Today was down to the players. Second half they were second to every ball just going through the motions. Think we accept mediocrity down here and always looking for excuses in defeat, or slapping ourselves on the back for getting so close. Top level sport is all about performance. In the last 2 years we played well in Kilkenny and ran Clare close. Cannot think of a good performance other than that.
In fairness to the county board they have pumped enormous sums of money into this team including sending them off to Portugal for a training week. Ok they hired Egan and in hindsight that's been a failure. Where we go from here god only knows. Even if we beat Kilkenny (extremely unlikely after today) the year has been a disaster. Honestly have no idea where we go from here"
100% on the excuses and accepting mediocrity, this forum is a microcosm of it, no matter what ye have the same "everything is awesome" posts with nothing but excuses.

I mean we sacrificed the league don't ye know to win leinster and that's OK etc etc.

tearintom (Wexford) - Posts: 1504 - 21/05/2023 20:33:42    2480172

Replying To preddan:  "Oh stop it lol, take your beating fair and square, no excuses."
What excuses did I make exactly? I was just pointing out that you shouldn't be losing games when you create 2-12 more worth of chances from play than the other team, Wexford have only themselves to blame for shooting themselves in the foot

ElGranSenor (Wexford) - Posts: 507 - 21/05/2023 20:35:06    2480173

Replying To skillful:  "That's some stretch to go after those two lads because we gave up a 17pt lead in senior hurling game v Westmeath who have never beaten us in any academy, minor level or 20s.

In the past 4 years wexford have won 1 leinster minor title, lost another final by 1pt, lost two 20s finals by 1pt & 2 pts. Previous 5 years how we do?

U16s beat Kildare

Minors beat Offaly, Dublin & lost to KK in highly competitive game. 20s lost by 2pts to a team everyone is tipping for greatness but no one can see we are right there with them. Can't understand your mindset here unless it's personal?"
Westmeath beat us in Wexford Park by 2-11 to 0-15 in 2015 at Minor level

ElGranSenor (Wexford) - Posts: 507 - 21/05/2023 20:36:16    2480174

Replying To ElGranSenor:  "What excuses did I make exactly? I was just pointing out that you shouldn't be losing games when you create 2-12 more worth of chances from play than the other team, Wexford have only themselves to blame for shooting themselves in the foot"
Was not having a go at you personally, but I get the general vibe that will be in the next few days in how bad Wexford are to lose to Westmeath not on how good Westmeath are or on the strides they have made.
There will be stats everywhere, missed scoring opportunities, managerial blame etc. The last ten years or so, there has not been much between wex and wh at underage Westmeath bet wex in 2015 at minor and probably should have on and went further but luck was not to be.. Some of those players were playing today as far as I know. Even this year at u20 Wexford were lucky enough in the qtr final against Westmeath. So in the years to come it might be 50 50 games at senior

preddan (Kildare) - Posts: 803 - 21/05/2023 21:08:31    2480188

Replying To tonydoranfan:  "we lost to a poor kilkenny team, need anymore"
Probably not the strongest Kilkenny team ever granted but I thought they were some good player on that team. The backs were very good throughout the year. In reality there's only one team in that minor championship and it's Galway. There making everyone look ordinary.

Finchfurlong996 (Wexford) - Posts: 255 - 21/05/2023 21:18:46    2480191

Replying To HurlingBuzz:  "Things going to get worse before they get better. Today was down to the players. Second half they were second to every ball just going through the motions. Think we accept mediocrity down here and always looking for excuses in defeat, or slapping ourselves on the back for getting so close. Top level sport is all about performance. In the last 2 years we played well in Kilkenny and ran Clare close. Cannot think of a good performance other than that.
In fairness to the county board they have pumped enormous sums of money into this team including sending them off to Portugal for a training week. Ok they hired Egan and in hindsight that's been a failure. Where we go from here god only knows. Even if we beat Kilkenny (extremely unlikely after today) the year has been a disaster. Honestly have no idea where we go from here"
They are spending fortunes I've been told at underage hurling too. We won't know if it's been spent wisely for the next few years however.

Finchfurlong996 (Wexford) - Posts: 255 - 21/05/2023 21:21:31    2480192

No matter what happens next week, season is over by the end of May. Club championships will start then mid June. Egan will resign. Working group set up to find a new manager. This will take months. Roll out next year. No new names in the squad.

Next week might be the last time we see o Hanlon, dok, Liam og and others in the wexford Jersey.

Can't bring myself to watch the Sunday game. Some of the goals we conceded today won't look good.

Anyway rinse and repeat next week. Concede their puck outs. Kilkenny won't turnover the ball like the 1st half today. They will work the ball out. Play good ball in their half forwards. Score points at will.

Kilkenny by 8.

I'm out of this forum now. Will be back for the club championship.

Yellowhelmet (Australia) - Posts: 140 - 21/05/2023 21:30:43    2480194

Replying To Past hurler:  "So tell us Tiger1, what part of Egans tenure has impressed you so far?"
Just saying he's not the one who misses frees he's not the one who hits terrible wides when it's easier score.Sooner we wake up and smell the coffee the better but sure we will probably beat kk and then we will think we are great again.

Tiger1 (Wexford) - Posts: 342 - 21/05/2023 21:33:37    2480197

Replying To skillful:  "That's some stretch to go after those two lads because we gave up a 17pt lead in senior hurling game v Westmeath who have never beaten us in any academy, minor level or 20s.

U16s beat Kildare

Minors beat Offaly, Dublin & lost to KK in highly competitive game. 20s lost by 2pts to a team everyone is tipping for greatness but no one can see we are right there with them. Can't understand your mindset here unless it's personal?"
I don't know any of them including the poster but if anything I think it's your mindset here is the issue. No accountability for anyone involved and everyone talks about how we beat such and such in tiddly winks at under 12 A v's A when other counties give 40 players a go and then you mention that under 17 final in 2019 as the shining light. From the starting 15 that day in 2019 we have developed one player into our senior team. Don't think he's being personal to asking whose responsibility that is.

grassroots01 (Wexford) - Posts: 180 - 21/05/2023 21:38:29    2480199

You can talk about all couching tactics you want but at the the end of the day it goes down to guts and courage and this wexford team do not have that under darragh egan its as simple as that. Its really comical that from all the heroes of 96 there was only 1 one player who took on a the responsibility of the top job and if you ask me this is the main problem with wexford hurling over the last 25 years. Players need oxygen and need former all ireland winners of the past for inspiration and encouragement. Its really sad if you ask me. It really is time for a few of the 96 team to bond together and make up the next management team if they really care about wexford hurling. An outside manager is not working and not the way to go.Outside wexford Davy fitzgerald got everybit of credit for the highs of this team and maybe lee chin aswell.All the other players never got the reganition they deserved which is a bit sad really.

Wexpurebred (Wexford) - Posts: 205 - 21/05/2023 21:41:38    2480200

Replying To Tox73:  "You are right, there is no coming back after that, management are not at the races and should go this evening as well as our Chairman. We accept mediocrity that's what we will get. The less we see or hear from the Chairman the Better…. Really pity the players as they don't deserve this…"
Michael Martin hasn't a clue. Those early season games in Wexford Park with music blaring out beforehand and at halftime were embarrassing. More like a rock concert than a hurling match. Too much focus on the razzmatazz and not enough on the nuts and bolts of winning games

Purpleandgold72 (Wexford) - Posts: 258 - 21/05/2023 21:49:50    2480202

I know it's sore tonight lads, but we have to park it for the moment and turn out in big numbers next Sunday,I know the management dont deserve the support and maybe some of the players mighn't either giving their performance of late, but this game goes beyond all that. it's the biggest game in wexford's long proud hurling history, lose and we are gone from the leinster championship next year(Antrim will beat Westmeath). Believe me, I know how genuine Wexford fans feel tonight, I been going to wexford game sense my dad brought me at 5 years old and there has been far more downs then ups but that second half today was the lowest of the low.

hunting (Wexford) - Posts: 1136 - 21/05/2023 21:49:56    2480203

Replying To Tiger1:  "Just saying he's not the one who misses frees he's not the one who hits terrible wides when it's easier score.Sooner we wake up and smell the coffee the better but sure we will probably beat kk and then we will think we are great again."
But he is the one training the teams? He is the one that sets up with 15 behind the ball like a football team and concedes the puck outs hence they have to shoot from 70 yards out and it's nearly always a back shooting, these are all management issues. Our shooting, have you seen management addressing this? I haven't. We lost to Dublin this year because of bizarre tactics, last year Dublin and Galway games were lost the same. Team is going backwards and I have yet to see any improvements anywhere?

Tox73 (Wexford) - Posts: 181 - 21/05/2023 21:58:53    2480208

On a final point. How many jerseys does a team need. There has been three New Jersey's this season alone!!

alwaysasub (Wexford) - Posts: 477 - 21/05/2023 22:00:16    2480209

U16s beat Kildare

no minor all ireland since 1968, one lenister in 2019 since 1985 , and you think every thing is OK, sorry you need to wake up and smell the coffee, the under age academy is a disaster,
no u21 all ireland since 1964 and we seem to happy that it is pushing to 10 years since our last leinster at this grade,
I'm a passionate wexford man and to me this is not near acceptable for a so called hurling county and you should not condone same

tonydoranfan (Wexford) - Posts: 550 - 21/05/2023 22:01:35    2480210

U16s beat Kildare

by any stretch is this Ray Harris or jj doyle,

tonydoranfan (Wexford) - Posts: 550 - 21/05/2023 22:02:44    2480211

U16s beat Kildare

very personal, I'm a passionate wexford hurling man and we are looking at playing second devision next year, no lenister or liam Mccarthy championship,
and you can't understand my mindset, very personal as the model og academy is not fit for purpose and not producing results or developing players for senior,
we are not righ4 there with them, we are so far off the mark so what's your mindset

tonydoranfan (Wexford) - Posts: 550 - 21/05/2023 22:08:11    2480212