Wexford clubs have not done well. Only in camogie Oulart have won All Irelands. Maybe Wex should look at the set up in Oulart the ballagh, camogie.
galwayford (Galway) - Posts: 2614 - 21/05/2023 22:09:50
Replying To grassroots01: "I don't know any of them including the poster but if anything I think it's your mindset here is the issue. No accountability for anyone involved and everyone talks about how we beat such and such in tiddly winks at under 12 A v's A when other counties give 40 players a go and then you mention that under 17 final in 2019 as the shining light. From the starting 15 that day in 2019 we have developed one player into our senior team. Don't think he's being personal to asking whose responsibility that is." thank you you have just heard the mindset of your county model og coaches
tonydoranfan (Wexford) - Posts: 550 - 21/05/2023 22:11:14
Well, that's a shocker to wake up to. Expected a close game. Not that close.
Haven't been as in touch with it as other years, but from what I hear through a few friends, without going in to details the vibe in the camp has been bad all year.
If Wexford go to the Joe McDonagh next weekend expect a slew of retirements and it not being as easy to get out of it bar some replacements stand up and be counted.
On a general point, everybody in Wexford GAA accepts mediocrity. The gallant loser tag, everybody's second favourite. Need to want to become hated. We need to stop being proud of teams who lose. Wexford supporters need to start supporting teams better. Terrible support in Thurles last year, by all accounts awful support in Carlow.
Club championship is mediocre. Lads going to Electric Picnic, drinking for 2 days and being rubbish the following weekend and yet its tolerated.
What Wexford do not need is a team of 96 to take over. We need to forget about 96 because its so long ago the game has changed beyond measure.
Working with 2 Westmeath guys, expecting a ribbing today :(
StoreysTash (Wexford) - Posts: 1836 - 21/05/2023 22:15:04
Replying To tiobraid: "I'm not one to kick a team or someone when they're down but the county board has to take the flack for this in my opinion. You can't expect to take ona. Young man with no managerial experience at any level really at adult level and expect to do anything. It was an horrendous decision from day one and I'm still baffled by it. Hopefully wexford put some pride back in the jersey next week" I was talking to a tipp person recently and they thought of egan as more of a coach than a manager. I suppose would he have got the tipp job?
gahfan (Wexford) - Posts: 639 - 21/05/2023 22:15:59
Replying To grassroots01: "I don't know any of them including the poster but if anything I think it's your mindset here is the issue. No accountability for anyone involved and everyone talks about how we beat such and such in tiddly winks at under 12 A v's A when other counties give 40 players a go and then you mention that under 17 final in 2019 as the shining light. From the starting 15 that day in 2019 we have developed one player into our senior team. Don't think he's being personal to asking whose responsibility that is." Going by that, I seen from other pages on Twitter that they played Galway B team, who had 4 u15 teams playing at the one time. Cork, Tipp, Limerick, Kilkenny also had 3/4 teams with massive teams running the show and overseeing it from u20 down and these are the teams that are winning at underage and senior year in and year out. I know we can't compete with Galway, Cork, Tipp and even Kilkenny for sheer numbers at underage but why can't we look at how quickly Clare or Offaly got their underage in order. I can tell you from first hand accounts that Model Og academy is not that well thought of by some of the teams and management's they've came up against.....I don't care what others think tbh but there's no fear or worries for other counties when playing Wexford, the fear of becoming irrelevant is there
Throughthemidfieldhewasstormin (Wexford) - Posts: 319 - 21/05/2023 22:25:52
Replying To tonydoranfan: "thank you you have just heard the mindset of your county model og coaches" Ah Tony, You said a year ago now about knowing a full team of minor players better than the Wexford minor team, any chance now that you are back with a vengeance you will list them?
StoreysTash (Wexford) - Posts: 1836 - 21/05/2023 22:41:39
I know Wexford hurling not in a good place right now but ye are a proud hurling county and can get back from this, look to next weekend and beyond. My question is would any wexford fans lay any of the blame at Davys door, he drove ye on for 5 year period (I could be wrong on the length of time) and moderate success was achieved but during that time was the cash that should have gone to underage development been put into the senior team ? And wexford is paying the price now.
lowandhard (Galway) - Posts: 33 - 21/05/2023 22:54:15
Replying To tonydoranfan: "8000 posts, please stop" I wasn't anything to do with the team. I hate it when you start posting again as it always means we are doing badly.
Viking66 (Wexford) - Posts: 15795 - 21/05/2023 22:54:38
Replying To hunting: "This guy has done this before, he card should be marked now. Any decent wexford support should never respond to anything it put up on this site again. Is there a relegation final" No. If we go down it will be because we deserve to. Simple as.
Viking66 (Wexford) - Posts: 15795 - 21/05/2023 22:55:59
Replying To Tox73: "You are right, there is no coming back after that, management are not at the races and should go this evening as well as our Chairman. We accept mediocrity that's what we will get. The less we see or hear from the Chairman the Better…. Really pity the players as they don't deserve this…" The players don't deserve the criticism?
Viking66 (Wexford) - Posts: 15795 - 21/05/2023 22:57:27
Replying To TerribleFootwork: "Players are just as culpable for this, alot of leaders didn't stand up in the 2nd half." None of them really. As complacent a half of hurling as I ever saw in my life.
Viking66 (Wexford) - Posts: 15795 - 21/05/2023 22:58:55
Replying To tonydoranfan: "I run my own business not my staff , they need professional management , we need each other but it starts at the top full clean out of under age academy needed now, p45s need to be issued in morning and I'm not talking about egan" Take it your lad got dropped from the panel?
Viking66 (Wexford) - Posts: 15795 - 21/05/2023 23:00:28
Replying To Yellowhelmet: "Me too.
Shocking 2nd half. Some players were more interested in going up field to contribute to pushing and shoving than playing the game.
No game plan in the 2nd half.
Unfortunately we are just not up to it. I said it after the antrim match. Our level is now with westmeath and antrim etc.
Fair play to Joe fortune and westmeath. Completely changed their game plan in the 2nd half and we never reacted to it.
Had the kids at every game this year and they don't want to go to kilkenny match. 10 and 12 year olds losing interest in the team.
Egan won't be around next year. A manager needs to be appointed before the club championship with a backroom team that will actually go to senior and intermediate games. Source new talent and start all over again.
Do we honestly think we have the best 25 players in the county on the panel?
Utterly depressed after that.
No way in hell we will beat kilkenny. Relying on antrim losing then.
Terrible record under Egan.
And looks like Alan corcoran was right after all." Name a few of these new players we need to bring in? We played a load of new lads in the Walsh Cup and the League. Most weren't up to it yet for a variety of different reasons, size, S and C, experience, hurling. Some will get better and some will never make it. We only lost 4 games from around 16 last year under Egan playing the regulars nearly every game they were available. He had to try bring in new ones as 3 or 4 of those regulars are now in their early 30s.
Viking66 (Wexford) - Posts: 15795 - 21/05/2023 23:07:17
Replying To Past hurler: "In my eyes Antrim are ahead of Westmeath and will have targeted this match all year.
I know Galway bet Antrim today and Westmeath bet us today, but I still think Antrim will beat Westmeath by a few points.
It will come down to ourselves v Kilkenny and our confidence will be rock bottom after today, so I am not sure where the performance to beat Kilkenny is going to come out of.
The only thing is Kilkenny might rest players but wouldn't they only love to send Wexford down to the Joe McDonagh????" Of course they would. And if we end up there it will be up to us to get ourselves back up again.
Viking66 (Wexford) - Posts: 15795 - 21/05/2023 23:09:16
Replying To skillful: "That's some stretch to go after those two lads because we gave up a 17pt lead in senior hurling game v Westmeath who have never beaten us in any academy, minor level or 20s.
In the past 4 years wexford have won 1 leinster minor title, lost another final by 1pt, lost two 20s finals by 1pt & 2 pts. Previous 5 years how we do?
Our academy results from the weekend.
U14s beat Limerick & Offaly U15s beat Galway by 15pts & Carlow in A & B games U16s beat Kildare
Minors beat Offaly, Dublin & lost to KK in highly competitive game. 20s lost by 2pts to a team everyone is tipping for greatness but no one can see we are right there with them. Can't understand your mindset here unless it's personal?" Think it's personal myself.
Viking66 (Wexford) - Posts: 15795 - 21/05/2023 23:11:04
Replying To tearintom: "100% on the excuses and accepting mediocrity, this forum is a microcosm of it, no matter what ye have the same "everything is awesome" posts with nothing but excuses.
I mean we sacrificed the league don't ye know to win leinster and that's OK etc etc." And we won't even get out of Leinster. Not unless it's into the Joe Mac. Have to wonder why our top players spent so long injured. Ryan and Chin still not 100% from what I saw today.
Viking66 (Wexford) - Posts: 15795 - 21/05/2023 23:12:57
Replying To preddan: "Was not having a go at you personally, but I get the general vibe that will be in the next few days in how bad Wexford are to lose to Westmeath not on how good Westmeath are or on the strides they have made. There will be stats everywhere, missed scoring opportunities, managerial blame etc. The last ten years or so, there has not been much between wex and wh at underage Westmeath bet wex in 2015 at minor and probably should have on and went further but luck was not to be.. Some of those players were playing today as far as I know. Even this year at u20 Wexford were lucky enough in the qtr final against Westmeath. So in the years to come it might be 50 50 games at senior" I agree 100%. Westmeath have been putting a huge effort in at underage and this result is a just reward for that effort!
Viking66 (Wexford) - Posts: 15795 - 21/05/2023 23:14:33
Replying To grassroots01: "I don't know any of them including the poster but if anything I think it's your mindset here is the issue. No accountability for anyone involved and everyone talks about how we beat such and such in tiddly winks at under 12 A v's A when other counties give 40 players a go and then you mention that under 17 final in 2019 as the shining light. From the starting 15 that day in 2019 we have developed one player into our senior team. Don't think he's being personal to asking whose responsibility that is." FFS those lads are only 20. More of them will make it in time. Which of them would you think should be in the team already? Molloy and AJ, 2 of the best on the team, didn't want to do the S and C work for example. That's not the u20 or minor managements fault. Or the Senior managements.
Viking66 (Wexford) - Posts: 15795 - 21/05/2023 23:18:52
Replying To Tox73: "But he is the one training the teams? He is the one that sets up with 15 behind the ball like a football team and concedes the puck outs hence they have to shoot from 70 yards out and it's nearly always a back shooting, these are all management issues. Our shooting, have you seen management addressing this? I haven't. We lost to Dublin this year because of bizarre tactics, last year Dublin and Galway games were lost the same. Team is going backwards and I have yet to see any improvements anywhere?" We had 3 sometimes 4 inside and lost that game directly because they scored 4 2nd half goals from hopeful long balls. Maybe he shouldn't have listened to those who told him we don't need a sweeper?
Viking66 (Wexford) - Posts: 15795 - 21/05/2023 23:21:09
Replying To tonydoranfan: "no minor all ireland since 1968, one lenister in 2019 since 1985 , and you think every thing is OK, sorry you need to wake up and smell the coffee, the under age academy is a disaster, no u21 all ireland since 1964 and we seem to happy that it is pushing to 10 years since our last leinster at this grade, I'm a passionate wexford man and to me this is not near acceptable for a so called hurling county and you should not condone same" The biggest reason for our lack of underage success is directly because most of our clubs are genuinely dual. We coach our lads exactly equally between football and hurling at our club. At intercounty alot of the players on the teams they are playing at football or hurling are reared up concentrating on one or the other. But as a parent I'd far rather my kids got the opportunity to play both.
Viking66 (Wexford) - Posts: 15795 - 21/05/2023 23:24:10