First of all, Well done to Offaly. Looks like Offaly are on the way back and that's good for hurling. A lot of good work done by Offaly at underage and it's paying off. It will be a cracking final and make for a great occasion with about 3 million Offaly supporters.
Secondly, I've seen many Wexford teams loose over the years and some days our team did not perform or give a good account of themselves or were not in the mix right up to the end. That was not the case for this u-20 squad or even last years U-20's. They performed very well - if not they would have been in the mix at the end.
Thirdly, I thought the standard of hurling last night was very good with a lot of very good hurlers on display from both sides. In Offaly circles, they see this Offaly side as the back bone of their senior team in a few years time. So we have just got pipped in a class Leinster final and now all of sudden these Wexford lads are not good hurlers or that they didn't perform? They did perform well. Just met a better team on the night. The bigger picture is that we have a stream of talent coming through from last year's u-20 side and this years u-20 side. That is a very positive sign for Wexford hurling.
Fourthly, Cian Byrne was very good and if Wexford had won, he would have been the headline. When is the last time a Wexford player scored 0-14? We have an exceptional young lad that can take frees accurately. However, despite the calls for him to go into the senior panel, I do think it's too soon for him. Yes he has the talent but at senior you could get broke up easy and there's huge pressure at that level. Ease him in, using the league next year. Leave him in the corner, and tell him his only job is to get him to take frees and tell him a 70% ratio return is a good enough return. In 1-2 years time, he'll be fully ready. In the meantime, get the S&C lads working on him and feed him up like Langtons fed up DJ Carey with a free dinner every day :) Having said that, if I was Darragh Egan, I'd be tempted to get him in but I am not the Wexford senior manager!
Fifthly, imagine if Wexford had won last night by a point or two, then Offaly would be reviewing the game with a different lens. For example, there would have been commentators pointing out where Offaly lost the game saying ill-discipline with the sending off cost them the game or the fact their free taker(s) missed 3-4 scorable frees in the 2nd half. I am only highlighting this because there's a few posters on here pointing out very small 1 off mistakes by a few Wexford players when in reality getting sent off or missing 3/4 scorable frees are arguably bigger mistakes. These small mistakes made by Wexford players are going to happen and that's part of playing the game. Nobody is perfect. So lads, ease off on these players because they are still developing.
So where did Wexford loose the game? Arguably, the use of the spare man. I think more of a running game with more Wexford lads taking the ball deeper working the ball up the field.
So hard luck to these Wexford lads and all the people involved. You did the jersey proud. Learn from the experience and move on.
Punter72007 (Wexford) - Posts: 318 - 18/05/2023 12:23:21
Replying To Formertownie: " Replying To StoreysTash: "On another note what is gone wrong with our support base lads? If we cant turn up in big numbers for a Leinster final in Carlow when will we Afinestick
I was trying to work that out as well. I remember 2013-2015 the u21 finals, huge Wexford crowds even at finals in Thurles. Looked more like 8-1 Offaly to Wexford when they zoomed to the crowd during the game. Most of Wexford is 1hr to Carlow is it not? Mainly closer than many parts of Offaly. Crowd is worth a point or two in every match, even shouting for frees, cheering team on and that was the scoring difference.
Nobody in Thurles last year for AI Quarter final which was my last Wexford game before travelling and support has got worse since? A shame with some good hurlers coming through." Could be the fact modern times and instant success . Too many soul destroying losses On occasion wexford throwing in the towel Financial burden on families. school night Players training on same nights as u20 matches and dont want to miss training with championship approaching Work commitments Promotion and incentives by co board to attend games Mentors the same with young kids who would normally go Soccer underage continuing at present midweek games Negativity towards the wexford teams Naive complacency thinking we d win and make an all ireland . Can understand Offalys new found passion after languishing in lower tier for few years now and feel they are on the up again whilst we are clinging on at present and need something to kick us back into life . 2019 semi final left a scar we have nt fully recovered from yet . We are not far off but we do need something to push us on . Last night a win might just have done that . But alas it was nt to be i. We are a rut need to get through it abd quickly maybe this time 2 weeks we be elated or deflated surely we deserve a break keep the faith we don't have a choice but fight to the end ." Excuses. The first 10 of those apply to Offaly as well. Wexford had better days in the last 10 years than Offaly have had this millennium. Was it not a school night in Offaly as well? Offaly have had a hundred worse losses than Wexford had. Financial burden from all the other Wexford games nobody has gone to? That rut will get worse if players decide "why bother, nobody supports us anyway". I thought last night Wexford would have a massive support, it was in Carlow like not Cork or Thurles which are always bandied out as excuses for not going.
ExiledInWex (Dublin) - Posts: 1340 - 18/05/2023 12:24:55
Replying To StoreysTash: "On another note what is gone wrong with our support base lads? If we cant turn up in big numbers for a Leinster final in Carlow when will we Afinestick
I was trying to work that out as well. I remember 2013-2015 the u21 finals, huge Wexford crowds even at finals in Thurles. Looked more like 8-1 Offaly to Wexford when they zoomed to the crowd during the game. Most of Wexford is 1hr to Carlow is it not? Mainly closer than many parts of Offaly. Crowd is worth a point or two in every match, even shouting for frees, cheering team on and that was the scoring difference.
Nobody in Thurles last year for AI Quarter final which was my last Wexford game before travelling and support has got worse since? A shame with some good hurlers coming through." How many Wex fans in Croker for Dub game or at home v Antrim either...pathetic in truth. But to be fair that probably goes for most GAA counties (Waterford right now, Tipp are struggling, Galway usually etc). Talk to any genuine LOI fan, there really is no tradition in this country of regularly attending games in all sports, note rugby attendance fall off in recent years, ROI soccer games etc. All the rubbish about gaago...maybe the harder question to be asked why the games are attracting poor attendances.
Timbertony (Wexford) - Posts: 404 - 18/05/2023 14:42:05
Can Cian Byrne play vs Westmeath now that we are knocked out?
Yellow (Wexford) - Posts: 589 - 18/05/2023 15:14:41
If the Offaly lad wasn't sent off, Wexford would have won
Lockerroomboy (Wexford) - Posts: 480 - 18/05/2023 15:15:09
On the subject of u20 players likely to make step up or ready. Others can clarify but I'm fairly sure Egan has a number of them involved. Conor Foley has played two senior championship games this year, could be wrong but was Cian Byrne on bench in Salthill? Foley, far from the only one, did struggle in Salthill, but was fine v Antrim. Maybe he was pushed ahead because we really were struggling. Needs to fill out a bit more and sharpen up his play a bit.
Cian for me should be in the senior 26 already anyway, I think he has already a lot more to his game than Ross Banville for example and is a better prospect right now. O'Hagan didn't make much impression last night but given we can't win a ball in our senior forward line I think he could give us much needed improvement here, if not this year then certainly the league next year. Carley looks a future senior midfielder that we badly need. Seems reluctant though to strike the ball of his right side? Think next spring he might be a better option than Hearne, Flood or Dunbar. He seems a natural athlete with a bit of dig in him that you need. Roche very impressive last two games and again shouldn't be far off the senior 26 this year. Whelan I think has again some raw power we need at senior level, think Daithi Burke, maybe one for next spring too. Lots of others like Luke Murphy, CBD, Pepper, Twamley all have plenty of ability but a bit more to do to get onto a senior 26 I think.
Timbertony (Wexford) - Posts: 404 - 18/05/2023 15:20:22
Hard luck to the lads, tried their hearts out. Watched the game again this morning and was very impressed with the quality. Maybe Carlow didn't suit us as we have loads of pace that maybe we didn't get to utilise the best. Saying that there are 10 lads at least that played last night that will be on our Senior Panel in the next few years and that is all you could ask for from an underage group. It is up to them now to push on and get to the level of fitness and physicality required to play senior hurling but the talent is there.
Congratulations to Offaly. Brilliant spectacle to be at last night. Possibly leave off jeering freetakers going forward but other than that i loved the colour and passion and energy.
Finally for lads giving out on this forum give it a break. There was plenty of Wexford people at the match yesterday. I think we werent as loud as the Offaly crowd but the area i was in we outnumbered Offaly supporters 2-1.
LarryOBrother (Wexford) - Posts: 412 - 18/05/2023 15:25:10
Replying To Timbertony: " Replying To StoreysTash: "On another note what is gone wrong with our support base lads? If we cant turn up in big numbers for a Leinster final in Carlow when will we Afinestick
Nobody in Thurles last year for AI Quarter final which was my last Wexford game before travelling and support has got worse since? A shame with some good hurlers coming through." How many Wex fans in Croker for Dub game or at home v Antrim either...pathetic in truth. But to be fair that probably goes for most GAA counties (Waterford right now, Tipp are struggling, Galway usually etc). Talk to any genuine LOI fan, there really is no tradition in this country of regularly attending games in all sports, note rugby attendance fall off in recent years, ROI soccer games etc. All the rubbish about gaago...maybe the harder question to be asked why the games are attracting poor attendances." Heard the county chairman on south east. He said the county board will be discussing tonight the lack of Wexford support at games this year and what can be done in the sort to long term
Afinestick (Wexford) - Posts: 999 - 18/05/2023 15:47:26
Replying To Punter72007: "First of all, Well done to Offaly. Looks like Offaly are on the way back and that's good for hurling. A lot of good work done by Offaly at underage and it's paying off. It will be a cracking final and make for a great occasion with about 3 million Offaly supporters.
Secondly, I've seen many Wexford teams loose over the years and some days our team did not perform or give a good account of themselves or were not in the mix right up to the end. That was not the case for this u-20 squad or even last years U-20's. They performed very well - if not they would have been in the mix at the end.
Thirdly, I thought the standard of hurling last night was very good with a lot of very good hurlers on display from both sides. In Offaly circles, they see this Offaly side as the back bone of their senior team in a few years time. So we have just got pipped in a class Leinster final and now all of sudden these Wexford lads are not good hurlers or that they didn't perform? They did perform well. Just met a better team on the night. The bigger picture is that we have a stream of talent coming through from last year's u-20 side and this years u-20 side. That is a very positive sign for Wexford hurling.
Fourthly, Cian Byrne was very good and if Wexford had won, he would have been the headline. When is the last time a Wexford player scored 0-14? We have an exceptional young lad that can take frees accurately. However, despite the calls for him to go into the senior panel, I do think it's too soon for him. Yes he has the talent but at senior you could get broke up easy and there's huge pressure at that level. Ease him in, using the league next year. Leave him in the corner, and tell him his only job is to get him to take frees and tell him a 70% ratio return is a good enough return. In 1-2 years time, he'll be fully ready. In the meantime, get the S&C lads working on him and feed him up like Langtons fed up DJ Carey with a free dinner every day :) Having said that, if I was Darragh Egan, I'd be tempted to get him in but I am not the Wexford senior manager!
Fifthly, imagine if Wexford had won last night by a point or two, then Offaly would be reviewing the game with a different lens. For example, there would have been commentators pointing out where Offaly lost the game saying ill-discipline with the sending off cost them the game or the fact their free taker(s) missed 3-4 scorable frees in the 2nd half. I am only highlighting this because there's a few posters on here pointing out very small 1 off mistakes by a few Wexford players when in reality getting sent off or missing 3/4 scorable frees are arguably bigger mistakes. These small mistakes made by Wexford players are going to happen and that's part of playing the game. Nobody is perfect. So lads, ease off on these players because they are still developing.
So where did Wexford loose the game? Arguably, the use of the spare man. I think more of a running game with more Wexford lads taking the ball deeper working the ball up the field.
So hard luck to these Wexford lads and all the people involved. You did the jersey proud. Learn from the experience and move on." I love the last part "Learn from the experience and move on" because that would also be my way of looking at it. The one thing I would be interested in finding out is how far advanced the GAA are that Learning from previous games. I know that in top Rugby teams even at the U18s level, and that could have even got lever now, all games are recorded and players are asked to do their own analysis on how they played and what they did right and wrong. Does anyone know how much of this gets now incorporated in the county underage scene?
zinny (Wexford) - Posts: 1971 - 18/05/2023 15:56:42
I work with a Wexford man who said the reason for the lack of support is that the club scene is dead in Wexford as all the hurling and football played over a few weeks in the summer. He said the life has gone out of the club scene and rugby and soccer are cleaning up for 10+ months. True/false?
uncle_colm (UK) - Posts: 3 - 18/05/2023 16:06:36
Not really sure what he can do Afinestick, its not just Wexford really.
Personally it comes from the decisions Croke Park have taken over the past number of years, county games somethign to get out of the way as soon as possible, sacrificing the summer months for county boards to run championships to get out of the way as soon as possible where they even bother to do so.
Rather than the build up to games being a huge part of the appeal its a case of "lets just get this done". The national hurling league being reduced to a series of glorifed challenge matches with top class championship intercounty hurling being on what, 10 weekends out 52!
I mean has anyone even seen an advertisment running anywhere on TV this year so far for upcoming championship hurling games?
Football is promoted more but structures are almost worse, honestly the running our organisation over the past few years leave a lot to be desired imho.
tearintom (Wexford) - Posts: 1501 - 18/05/2023 16:10:23
Where was the advertisement or local hype about the match? I thought clubs would be bringing busloads to the match but it did not happen. All talk about GAA/hurling promotion and a Leinster final which was there to be won and a tiny Wexford crowd turns out? The Offaly crowd were the 16th man, of that there is no doubt. And it worked.
ExiledInWex (Dublin) - Posts: 1340 - 18/05/2023 16:24:21
Replying To Timbertony: "On the subject of u20 players likely to make step up or ready. Others can clarify but I'm fairly sure Egan has a number of them involved. Conor Foley has played two senior championship games this year, could be wrong but was Cian Byrne on bench in Salthill? Foley, far from the only one, did struggle in Salthill, but was fine v Antrim. Maybe he was pushed ahead because we really were struggling. Needs to fill out a bit more and sharpen up his play a bit.
Cian for me should be in the senior 26 already anyway, I think he has already a lot more to his game than Ross Banville for example and is a better prospect right now. O'Hagan didn't make much impression last night but given we can't win a ball in our senior forward line I think he could give us much needed improvement here, if not this year then certainly the league next year. Carley looks a future senior midfielder that we badly need. Seems reluctant though to strike the ball of his right side? Think next spring he might be a better option than Hearne, Flood or Dunbar. He seems a natural athlete with a bit of dig in him that you need. Roche very impressive last two games and again shouldn't be far off the senior 26 this year. Whelan I think has again some raw power we need at senior level, think Daithi Burke, maybe one for next spring too. Lots of others like Luke Murphy, CBD, Pepper, Twamley all have plenty of ability but a bit more to do to get onto a senior 26 I think." Just on Cian Byrne I really think we should bring him into the starting team. In my opinion He is ready and could be the spark we need in attack. He could take the frees and take the pressure off Chin let him concentrate on his own game. Can Cian play on Sunday now that we are out? Would love to see him on the bench at least.
Afinestick (Wexford) - Posts: 999 - 18/05/2023 16:42:22
Replying To LarryOBrother: "Hard luck to the lads, tried their hearts out. Watched the game again this morning and was very impressed with the quality. Maybe Carlow didn't suit us as we have loads of pace that maybe we didn't get to utilise the best. Saying that there are 10 lads at least that played last night that will be on our Senior Panel in the next few years and that is all you could ask for from an underage group. It is up to them now to push on and get to the level of fitness and physicality required to play senior hurling but the talent is there.
Congratulations to Offaly. Brilliant spectacle to be at last night. Possibly leave off jeering freetakers going forward but other than that i loved the colour and passion and energy.
Finally for lads giving out on this forum give it a break. There was plenty of Wexford people at the match yesterday. I think we werent as loud as the Offaly crowd but the area i was in we outnumbered Offaly supporters 2-1." Larry you paint a very rosy picture. First of all we were hugely outnumbered by Offaly last night. Everyone could see that. I think you are been optimistic saying that we would have 10 lads on the senior panel in the next few years. In my honest opinion that would be pushing it. No doubt we have some good players and I would think 4 maybe 5 may make the cut. Some of the team were not at the races last night.neither were they impressive in the last game. Yes we beat the cats and that's always great but we were a wee bit lucky. Offaly were very fit and full of running as we were too and I don't believe the size of the pitch had any bearing on the result. I wish that you were right about the above Larry but I'm afraid we will have to agree to disagree.
Magpie2 (Wexford) - Posts: 455 - 18/05/2023 17:31:54
Replying To ExiledInWex: " Replying To Formertownie: "[quote=StoreysTash: "On another note what is gone wrong with our support base lads? If we cant turn up in big numbers for a Leinster final in Carlow when will we Afinestick
Nobody in Thurles last year for AI Quarter final which was my last Wexford game before travelling and support has got worse since? A shame with some good hurlers coming through." Could be the fact modern times and instant success . Too many soul destroying losses On occasion wexford throwing in the towel Financial burden on families. school night Players training on same nights as u20 matches and dont want to miss training with championship approaching Work commitments Promotion and incentives by co board to attend games Mentors the same with young kids who would normally go Soccer underage continuing at present midweek games Negativity towards the wexford teams Naive complacency thinking we d win and make an all ireland . Can understand Offalys new found passion after languishing in lower tier for few years now and feel they are on the up again whilst we are clinging on at present and need something to kick us back into life . 2019 semi final left a scar we have nt fully recovered from yet . We are not far off but we do need something to push us on . Last night a win might just have done that . But alas it was nt to be i. We are a rut need to get through it abd quickly maybe this time 2 weeks we be elated or deflated surely we deserve a break keep the faith we don't have a choice but fight to the end ." Excuses. The first 10 of those apply to Offaly as well. Wexford had better days in the last 10 years than Offaly have had this millennium. Was it not a school night in Offaly as well? Offaly have had a hundred worse losses than Wexford had. Financial burden from all the other Wexford games nobody has gone to? That rut will get worse if players decide "why bother, nobody supports us anyway". I thought last night Wexford would have a massive support, it was in Carlow like not Cork or Thurles which are always bandied out as excuses for not going."]I was there and in Thurles last year . I m at a loss to why they don't travel. I do find sometimes I ask myself why I go I ve been going for too long to remember not every game but enough to know the difference between excuses and reasons . Think in last 10 years we ve seen some abject performances. One stands to mind most of all in Cork v clare qualifier 1/4 final was the closest I ever came to leaving a game at half time I thought we showed nothing and cared less I also then thought of the effort the lads put in over the year and said who am I to turn my back on my own . . 2nd half was better . Not everyone is die hard that's a fact every county has their die hards and the bandwagoners . I merely trying to get my head around it . I d guess the promotional aspect of this Offaly team have done a good job they ve certainly had great moments in last few years why would nt they draw a huge crowd with the success and future looking goid for this bunch Side note one player also won an all ireland football u20 couple years ago too with offaly and played last night too name eludes me The dual player Is dead in our intercounty set up after u13s
Formertownie (Wexford) - Posts: 360 - 18/05/2023 18:51:23
Replying To uncle_colm: "I work with a Wexford man who said the reason for the lack of support is that the club scene is dead in Wexford as all the hurling and football played over a few weeks in the summer. He said the life has gone out of the club scene and rugby and soccer are cleaning up for 10+ months. True/false?" False...red herring if there ever was one, like the gaago 'debacle'. Club players are much happier with certainty in the calendar for when the championship is on. Might be run off a bit quickly (odd bye week would help) but GAA players whinging about playing once a week is silly anyway. Also it isn't right that football is always second. Participation levels for both sports must be way up since it was brought in. The club leagues without the county players don't seem to be getting much interest but fault maybe more with the clubs there. Others closer to the scene might have a different view but that's my 2c.
Issue with Wexford not being competitive at senior level is nothing to do with the split season or gaago!
Timbertony (Wexford) - Posts: 404 - 18/05/2023 19:39:48
The dust has settled a bit on yesterday's match. It was an absolute cracker with two great teams
Well done to all involved
2nd best in Leinster again is no shame with so many good teams - great job by players and management
The senior round robin will be good next year with Offaly back
Yellow (Wexford) - Posts: 589 - 18/05/2023 20:30:10
Replying To Wexfordgaa: "Firstly well done offaly and best of luck in the final. From a wexford point of view really disappointing. Wides wides and more fupping wides. When will we learn.
I'll ask one question do ye remember an incident and Offaly got a free out of it it was in the second half and I think it was screeny went down. Ref told him to get up he held onto the ball and he was injured should have been a free out for over carrying and then he blows up for a throw ball he consulted with the linesman and gives a free in. It was one of the most bizarre decisions I've ever seen" Yes was seated on opposite side at other end and at first thought I saw him award a free to us for overcharging
Formertownie (Wexford) - Posts: 360 - 18/05/2023 20:55:53
Replying To Doylerwex: "We were done out of that.
For the offaly lads to be that cynical at this grade is quite shocking.
There's the big hope for the year gone." Done what way? I thought some of our lads looked nervous and some didn't play as well as they could. Offaly were marginally better on the night and won a close game.
Viking66 (Wexford) - Posts: 15762 - 18/05/2023 21:30:24
Replying To beano: "As sickening a final defeat as any in recent memory. It was there for the taking when we pulled level and I thought history was repeating itself from last week. In hindsight, we probably should have taken that point chance rather than going for the late goal, and a couple of rookie mistakes (they happen at this level) thereafter sealed our fate.
Without sounding like an old schooler, I don't understand why we didn't go long a few times playing with the extra man. O'Hagan showed his aerial prowess in particular last week, Farrell is a big unit too, and surely Offaly are still spooked by the concession of that late goal in last year's minor final. In the end, the game's only goal chance went their way, and what a finish from Screeney- there is no shame getting picked apart by him as he looks a serious talent.
I thought Simon Roche was immense for us, mopped up a mountain of ball. Cian Byrne was obviously outstanding as well (one of the best losing performances from a Wexford player in ages)- he has to be fast-tracked into the senior set-up now if at all possible. Some of our other more prominent names weren't as good tonight but you can't fault anyone's application either. Felt Offaly got one or two 50-50 calls in their favour as well (was that a free on Screeney in the end? Not sure), but we got one or two softish frees as well.
Disappointing end for an otherwise talented crop of chaps though. Pride is restored in the jersey." Great Post Beano. I thought Cillian Byrne was very good too. And was saying to a friend earlier that we should've took that point to go ahead.
Viking66 (Wexford) - Posts: 15762 - 18/05/2023 21:31:40