Wexford Inter County Football

Made it into the park and was a very disappointing display. Laois looked a couple of levels above us in terms of physicality and speed of play. forwards didn't get any room and were well sniffed out by there defence. Only positive was Malone who got a few points from running direct and picking a score. Waters came in at half time and showed he could score with a couple of points. Game petered out in the second half was a shame really as there was a big enough crowd in to see it. To be honest I don't think this team would be able for division three yet. Big gulf going on this display, they were able to cut through with strong runners and pick scores land we couldn't lay a glove on them.

WexMurph (Wexford) - Posts: 166 - 03/02/2024 20:15:29    2524060

Replying To WexMurph:  "Made it into the park and was a very disappointing display. Laois looked a couple of levels above us in terms of physicality and speed of play. forwards didn't get any room and were well sniffed out by there defence. Only positive was Malone who got a few points from running direct and picking a score. Waters came in at half time and showed he could score with a couple of points. Game petered out in the second half was a shame really as there was a big enough crowd in to see it. To be honest I don't think this team would be able for division three yet. Big gulf going on this display, they were able to cut through with strong runners and pick scores land we couldn't lay a glove on them."
Was in there myself. Laois deservedly won they played very well. We had 30 scoring chances to their 32 . But lost by 10. Probably could've lost by 5 or 6 instead but the lads kept overtrying to get goals in the final 15 minutes and ran into cul de sacs and got turned over or kicked it wide, when close in points were on and goals weren't. In general Laois were a little sharper from the 1st minute while we looked a little leggy and slow out of the blocks. Their handing, passing and running into space was just that little bit sharper. They worked their scores better and kicked and fisted less wides. They took care of the ball better. They played with a little more intensity. Fair play to them they were a little better all over the pitch but 10 points probably flattered them a little. Their 13 was excellent.

Viking66 (Wexford) - Posts: 11869 - 03/02/2024 20:38:28    2524064

It was very disappointing this evening all right. I was actually very hopeful on the way into the Park, but truth told, we never really looked like getting anything out of that game once Laois scored the first four or five points.

Realise Laois are probably many people's picks as the strongest team in the Division, and they may very well go on and win all seven matches. But still, to lose that way shows how far off the mark we are (on a bad day, ayway) when compared to even another Div. 4 team.

Despite this evening's disappointment though, I still think we're capable of better, and would like to think we'll still be able to pick up a couple of wins in the next few matches and be there or thereabouts going into the final round.

Pikeman96 (Wexford) - Posts: 2249 - 03/02/2024 21:50:32    2524080

Didn't think the scoreline flattered Laois to be honest, we did hit a good few wides but alot of them were from difficult positions as we couldn't penetrate, they could have got 1 or 2 more goals. It's the worst performance I've seen under Hegarty but hopefully its a bump on the road rather than a sign of things to come, Laois were impressive in fairness to them I suspect McNulty will be an upgrade on the previous management for them.

TerribleFootwork (Wexford) - Posts: 1726 - 03/02/2024 22:19:33    2524090

Replying To Pikeman96:  "It was very disappointing this evening all right. I was actually very hopeful on the way into the Park, but truth told, we never really looked like getting anything out of that game once Laois scored the first four or five points.

Realise Laois are probably many people's picks as the strongest team in the Division, and they may very well go on and win all seven matches. But still, to lose that way shows how far off the mark we are (on a bad day, ayway) when compared to even another Div. 4 team.

Despite this evening's disappointment though, I still think we're capable of better, and would like to think we'll still be able to pick up a couple of wins in the next few matches and be there or thereabouts going into the final round."
I'm sure John, his management team and the players will have learnt alot from tonight.

Viking66 (Wexford) - Posts: 11869 - 03/02/2024 22:26:47    2524095

Dreadful stuff, very passive from the players. Big pity considering the massive crowd at it. Completely out smarted on the line with somehow Bealin ahood attacker ending up wing back for first half and Hughes as a forward. Looking forward to reading stmunnsriver feedback as he will struggle to put a positive spin on it. John doesn't do Dummy teams, that's the 11th Dummy team in his reign. Never lines out according to original team but no county does.

gaapundit13 (Dublin) - Posts: 11 - 03/02/2024 23:28:55    2524107

Replying To gaapundit13:  "Dreadful stuff, very passive from the players. Big pity considering the massive crowd at it. Completely out smarted on the line with somehow Bealin ahood attacker ending up wing back for first half and Hughes as a forward. Looking forward to reading stmunnsriver feedback as he will struggle to put a positive spin on it. John doesn't do Dummy teams, that's the 11th Dummy team in his reign. Never lines out according to original team but no county does."
There are times I think somebody somewhere really should define how many changes there need to be for something to qualify as "a dummy team".

To me, a dummy team means eight, nine, or ten changes, like the hurling teams that Davy Fitz used to sometimes name.

There were two changes to our starting line-up tonight. Personally, I wouldn't call that a dummy team.

Pikeman96 (Wexford) - Posts: 2249 - 04/02/2024 01:11:24    2524119

Replying To gaapundit13:  "Dreadful stuff, very passive from the players. Big pity considering the massive crowd at it. Completely out smarted on the line with somehow Bealin ahood attacker ending up wing back for first half and Hughes as a forward. Looking forward to reading stmunnsriver feedback as he will struggle to put a positive spin on it. John doesn't do Dummy teams, that's the 11th Dummy team in his reign. Never lines out according to original team but no county does."
to start with u dont seem to understand the wxpression "dummy teams", it seems to have sailed over your head it does not meam a wing back playing as a forward or a forward playing as a back

Stmunnsriver (Wexford) - Posts: 2842 - 04/02/2024 08:45:02    2524127

Very disappointing.

Just never got going, we looked flat from first minute to last, probably one of the most disappointing performances since Hegarty took over.

Laois are head and shoulders above everyone in the division but we made them look a lot better than they are. We are an awful lot better than what we showed last night which is the annoying part.

tearintom (Wexford) - Posts: 1338 - 04/02/2024 09:05:09    2524129

Are wexford and the KK(k)back playing footie now?

Whestofthewest (Clare) - Posts: 152 - 04/02/2024 10:38:12    2524144

Replying To tearintom:  "Very disappointing.

Just never got going, we looked flat from first minute to last, probably one of the most disappointing performances since Hegarty took over.

Laois are head and shoulders above everyone in the division but we made them look a lot better than they are. We are an awful lot better than what we showed last night which is the annoying part."
Are they and are we?? Time will tell.

Paull (Wexford) - Posts: 171 - 04/02/2024 14:53:12    2524202

Replying To Paull:  "Are they and are we?? Time will tell."
I can't see any results in last 5 years to show wexford are any better than that

Rosscountrt (Wexford) - Posts: 7 - 04/02/2024 16:49:49    2524252

Lads, we need a good coach. We clearly don't have one .

In my opinion young James flood from Castletown in building a serious CV.2 seniors with Castletown, manager of gorey last year and involved with UCD this year with the sigerson.

It's lads like this we need involved . I know the man is wanting to learn and self improve all the time .

sidsnowy (Wexford) - Posts: 16 - 04/02/2024 17:08:47    2524265

Replying To sidsnowy:  "Lads, we need a good coach. We clearly don't have one .

In my opinion young James flood from Castletown in building a serious CV.2 seniors with Castletown, manager of gorey last year and involved with UCD this year with the sigerson.

It's lads like this we need involved . I know the man is wanting to learn and self improve all the time ."
Sids you are having a laugh. Where is Beano to clarify. Masterson and Paul Garrigan from Meath coached Castletown. Hanging around with a UCD sigerson team is not creditable considering he is not named on the coaching team. The only capable coach in wexford is Anthony Masterson are the rest are playing second fiddle including John and Co.

gaapundit13 (Dublin) - Posts: 11 - 04/02/2024 19:26:35    2524317

Replying To gaapundit13:  "Sids you are having a laugh. Where is Beano to clarify. Masterson and Paul Garrigan from Meath coached Castletown. Hanging around with a UCD sigerson team is not creditable considering he is not named on the coaching team. The only capable coach in wexford is Anthony Masterson are the rest are playing second fiddle including John and Co."
Very harsh that young James flood is hanging around the sigerson. If you look up online he is a key member of backroom team.

Get your facts right please

sidsnowy (Wexford) - Posts: 16 - 04/02/2024 22:41:14    2524409

Replying To Rosscountrt:  "I can't see any results in last 5 years to show wexford are any better than that"
I taught last year was probably our most positive year since 2016-17 territory, in the league we only lost 2 out of 7 both on the road and our 2 draws were 2 games we should have won, in championship Meath was a humbling experience but before that we picked up a couple of wins, a draw away to Fermanagh which is very respectable and we were competitive vs Laois down alot through injury. Last night was very concerning even allowing for an impressive Laois performance. It might be our best bet that Laois run away with the division and the race for 2nd is a dogfight . Division still looks open, I think Leitrim are still hard to gauge as they've bet the 2 worst teams in the division, Carlow winning in Thurles looks impressive particularly in light of Tipperary winning in Longford today.

TerribleFootwork (Wexford) - Posts: 1726 - 05/02/2024 00:34:17    2524441

Replying To Stmunnsriver:  "to start with u dont seem to understand the wxpression "dummy teams", it seems to have sailed over your head it does not meam a wing back playing as a forward or a forward playing as a back"
You did not have a "pain in your hoop laughing" on Saturday night then?

StoreysTash (Wexford) - Posts: 1733 - 05/02/2024 03:08:00    2524447

Why do we bother in Wexford anymore with football

Neveronthefence (Wexford) - Posts: 2 - 05/02/2024 10:08:07    2524479

Why do we bother in Wexford anymore with football

Neveronthefence (Wexford) - Posts: 2 - 05/02/2024 10:16:11    2524483

Replying To Neveronthefence:  "Why do we bother in Wexford anymore with football"
To wind fellas like you up :D

WexMurph (Wexford) - Posts: 166 - 05/02/2024 10:58:17    2524492