Mayo GAA Thread

Replying To CiarraiMick:  "I think Aidan Ó Shea is a fine footballer and gas had some brilliant games for Mayo especially against us but tbf he has never played well against Dublin and everytime he saw the Dublin jersey he seemed more interested in getting Dubs riled up rather than playing football so did nt endear himself to the fans."
And you think phily mcmahon & co didn't try rile up the mayo players every time we played each other? Goes 2 ways you know..!

S1234 (Mayo) - Posts: 40 - 06/06/2023 12:08:04    2484358

Replying To Aibrean:  "Cork could easily beat Mayo and head the group!
Mayo forwards are poor: by the 20th minute the starting forwards had scored 3 points from play; for the remainder of the game only 1 forward (sub Fionn McDonagh) scored from play; and AOS was back to his 'no score from play' mode. At home against Louth!"
Yes we were exposed. Be lucky to make a quarter final. Kerry/David Clifford favs again for Sam ;)

yew_tree (Mayo) - Posts: 11231 - 06/06/2023 12:13:09    2484360

Replying To CiarraiMick:  "Brolly is like us all. We all have opinions. Does nt mean he is right or wrong but I'd take some posters here more seriously than Brolly. I don't think Kerry will win Sam either but not because Brolly said it. You seem to take Brolly s words as gospel. Well one of his most common statements was "Mayo will never win an All Ireland with Aidan Ó Shea"."
Hardly take brolly as gospel not like he's popular down in mayo..ha it was more of joke kind of way about brolly

But Sam won't be going to kerry anyway.

That's exactly why we don't like brolly aido has been a massive servant for mayo doesn't deserve the abuse he gets.

S1234 (Mayo) - Posts: 40 - 06/06/2023 12:16:40    2484362

Replying To Aibrean:  "Cork could easily beat Mayo and head the group!
Mayo forwards are poor: by the 20th minute the starting forwards had scored 3 points from play; for the remainder of the game only 1 forward (sub Fionn McDonagh) scored from play; and AOS was back to his 'no score from play' mode. At home against Louth!"
At least we won our home game.

GreenandRed (Mayo) - Posts: 7346 - 06/06/2023 12:21:32    2484364

Replying To CiarraiMick:  "I think Aidan Ó Shea is a fine footballer and gas had some brilliant games for Mayo especially against us but tbf he has never played well against Dublin and everytime he saw the Dublin jersey he seemed more interested in getting Dubs riled up rather than playing football so did nt endear himself to the fans."
I don't disagree at all CiarriMick - I've been pretty vocal myself in my criticism of AOS - I actually thought he should retire this year before the league ... but given the very good year he has had to date, it is unfair to single him out on Sunday ... I can name plenty of Mayo players that had a below par performance

Cbar (Mayo) - Posts: 308 - 06/06/2023 12:50:08    2484379

Replying To S1234:  "Hardly take brolly as gospel not like he's popular down in mayo..ha it was more of joke kind of way about brolly

But Sam won't be going to kerry anyway.

That's exactly why we don't like brolly aido has been a massive servant for mayo doesn't deserve the abuse he gets."
I like AOS as a player and yes he gets alot of abuse but alot of it comes from Mayo fans. P. S. Sam is in Kerry at the mó and he will indeed be returning again. Probably not this year but he will return again. Anyway who do you think will win this year and I might back them as you seem to be an expert.

CiarraiMick (Dublin) - Posts: 3676 - 06/06/2023 12:53:46    2484384

Replying To Cbar:  "I don't disagree at all CiarriMick - I've been pretty vocal myself in my criticism of AOS - I actually thought he should retire this year before the league ... but given the very good year he has had to date, it is unfair to single him out on Sunday ... I can name plenty of Mayo players that had a below par performance"
I know where you coming from but Aidan is capable of changing a game in a whim. There s life in him yet.

CiarraiMick (Dublin) - Posts: 3676 - 06/06/2023 12:56:24    2484386

Replying To Ryanteam:  "Give Mickey Harte his due. He has turned Louth football around. Cork and Mayo should be an interesting game, obviously Mayo should win, but Cork are slowly but surely coming back, and could be an upset here?"
Anything could happen, Cork were unlucky against Kerry it took a dodgy penalty to beat you. I don't think you will play 15 inside the 45 all the time like Louth did. An effective game plan but brutal to watch, getting a result is what counts and Louth almost pulled it off. I'll be happy with any type of a win or draw, I think having a week off will be vitally important to progressing through the quarterfinals.
Getting back to my original post, we have to figure out how to attack the blanket defense. If Cork employ this tactic (i don't think ye will) then we're in for another low scoring game, not what Mayo want. Maybe a tweak up front with some of the faster lads might work.

cluichethar (Mayo) - Posts: 454 - 06/06/2023 13:10:37    2484396

Replying To Ryanteam:  "Give Mickey Harte his due. He has turned Louth football around. Cork and Mayo should be an interesting game, obviously Mayo should win, but Cork are slowly but surely coming back, and could be an upset here?"
I will not give credit to puke football totally ruins the game that was such an awful boring flat match to watch they knew we would hammer them if they went to open play so they had to put their 15 back into defence so no I won't credit that kind of display but fair play for them for getting the tactics right but it totally ruins the game saw the same against rossies & Dublin puke football at its best .

Cork are on the up but I don't think it will be an upset over mayo. But I they will test us for sure.

S1234 (Mayo) - Posts: 40 - 06/06/2023 13:46:18    2484408

Replying To cluichethar:  "Anything could happen, Cork were unlucky against Kerry it took a dodgy penalty to beat you. I don't think you will play 15 inside the 45 all the time like Louth did. An effective game plan but brutal to watch, getting a result is what counts and Louth almost pulled it off. I'll be happy with any type of a win or draw, I think having a week off will be vitally important to progressing through the quarterfinals.
Getting back to my original post, we have to figure out how to attack the blanket defense. If Cork employ this tactic (i don't think ye will) then we're in for another low scoring game, not what Mayo want. Maybe a tweak up front with some of the faster lads might work."
I would be surpised if Cork, with the Kevin Walsh influence, do not put defence first, especially considering how difficult Mayo find that system to play against.

MachaireConnacht (Roscommon) - Posts: 784 - 06/06/2023 13:49:33    2484410

Replying To Cbar:  "I don't disagree at all CiarriMick - I've been pretty vocal myself in my criticism of AOS - I actually thought he should retire this year before the league ... but given the very good year he has had to date, it is unfair to single him out on Sunday ... I can name plenty of Mayo players that had a below par performance"
I think that McStay is a little slow in making changes involving certain players. when he does make changes its always the same players. I thought Sunday was a perfect time to switch things up when we were bogged down. Too many times we lost the ball to Louth's first line of defense. We need to figure out how to get inside this line and take scores from outside the 21. I know its easy for me to say sitting at home on my couch. Cork should be another tough goaround but they are the games we need.

cluichethar (Mayo) - Posts: 454 - 06/06/2023 14:14:34    2484419

Replying To MachaireConnacht:  "I would be surpised if Cork, with the Kevin Walsh influence, do not put defence first, especially considering how difficult Mayo find that system to play against."
What team doesn't find it difficult exactly?

MayoDan (Mayo) - Posts: 420 - 06/06/2023 14:30:35    2484424

Replying To MayoDan:  "What team doesn't find it difficult exactly?"
Exactly look at the dubs v rossies dubs were really frustrated. Mayo will still beat cork tbh.

S1234 (Mayo) - Posts: 40 - 06/06/2023 14:42:18    2484428

Replying To S1234:  "I will not give credit to puke football totally ruins the game that was such an awful boring flat match to watch they knew we would hammer them if they went to open play so they had to put their 15 back into defence so no I won't credit that kind of display but fair play for them for getting the tactics right but it totally ruins the game saw the same against rossies & Dublin puke football at its best .

Cork are on the up but I don't think it will be an upset over mayo. But I they will test us for sure."
S1234
Don't be a foooollllll! We caught ye cold on Sunday. Mayo took Louth for granted. Louth is not the 1st and won't be the last team to play this way. For us to evolve, we have to start with our defensive system and build from there. We should have had a clear penalty but it wasn't given for some unknown reason. Your beef is that McStay hasn't figured out yet how to play against that system, Louth left that game behind them, and we should have bet ye only for some bad decisions by the ref and our own players in the final third of the pitch. So give it up with your PUKE FOOTBALL' I have been to watch Mayo in McHale park as my relatives are from Mayo, always were my 2nd team. Stop making stupid comments or you risk losing the neutral supporters that Mayo always get in the Championship

joej (Louth) - Posts: 1599 - 06/06/2023 14:52:37    2484433

Replying To MayoDan:  "What team doesn't find it difficult exactly?"
It's difficult for everybody but Galway are very good at playing against it. Take Derry in the AI semi last year and this years Connacht semi as examples.

MachaireConnacht (Roscommon) - Posts: 784 - 06/06/2023 15:22:07    2484451

Replying To MachaireConnacht:  "It's difficult for everybody but Galway are very good at playing against it. Take Derry in the AI semi last year and this years Connacht semi as examples."
Absolutely it's difficult for everyone so Mayo are no different.

Galway started with 7 defenders in the league final and we beat them. In the championship last year Monaghan and Kildare went very defensive and we beat them. We did actually beat Louth deservedly at the weekend too, despite some of the reaction.

Just because Mayo occasionally lose a game to another division 1 county, doesn't mean there is some easy blueprint to beat us.

MayoDan (Mayo) - Posts: 420 - 06/06/2023 15:46:06    2484462

Replying To joej:  "S1234
Don't be a foooollllll! We caught ye cold on Sunday. Mayo took Louth for granted. Louth is not the 1st and won't be the last team to play this way. For us to evolve, we have to start with our defensive system and build from there. We should have had a clear penalty but it wasn't given for some unknown reason. Your beef is that McStay hasn't figured out yet how to play against that system, Louth left that game behind them, and we should have bet ye only for some bad decisions by the ref and our own players in the final third of the pitch. So give it up with your PUKE FOOTBALL' I have been to watch Mayo in McHale park as my relatives are from Mayo, always were my 2nd team. Stop making stupid comments or you risk losing the neutral supporters that Mayo always get in the Championship"
Mayo didn't take ye for granted at all . If ye want to come and play us again and ACTUALLY play real football we will see then how good ye are ye had to put 15 guys in front of the goal cause you didn't think normal play and open game would help ye at all haha least we don't play awful defensive football that ruins the game ... its not a stupid comment that kind of style that louth brought to the game is killing gaa and everyone knows it

S1234 (Mayo) - Posts: 40 - 06/06/2023 15:51:11    2484469

Replying To joej:  "S1234
Don't be a foooollllll! We caught ye cold on Sunday. Mayo took Louth for granted. Louth is not the 1st and won't be the last team to play this way. For us to evolve, we have to start with our defensive system and build from there. We should have had a clear penalty but it wasn't given for some unknown reason. Your beef is that McStay hasn't figured out yet how to play against that system, Louth left that game behind them, and we should have bet ye only for some bad decisions by the ref and our own players in the final third of the pitch. So give it up with your PUKE FOOTBALL' I have been to watch Mayo in McHale park as my relatives are from Mayo, always were my 2nd team. Stop making stupid comments or you risk losing the neutral supporters that Mayo always get in the Championship"
Abd that was in no way a penalty. I have no 'beef' with mcstay he's an great manager and has brought this team back to life you need to get over yourself

S1234 (Mayo) - Posts: 40 - 06/06/2023 15:53:27    2484474

Mayo don't have the footballers to land Sam Maguire.

This has been proven time and time again.

They have decent forwards but they don't have a great like Clifford, Brogan, Connolly, Mugsy Mulligan who will deliver a huge performance to land Sam.

It will always be their downfall.

Past hurler (None) - Posts: 726 - 06/06/2023 16:07:06    2484478

Replying To Past hurler:  "Mayo don't have the footballers to land Sam Maguire.

This has been proven time and time again.

They have decent forwards but they don't have a great like Clifford, Brogan, Connolly, Mugsy Mulligan who will deliver a huge performance to land Sam.

It will always be their downfall."
Same old sad jokes get a life maybe ..bet you never kicked a ball in your life either !

S1234 (Mayo) - Posts: 40 - 06/06/2023 16:11:50    2484481