Cavan Seniors 2022

Replying To Breffni1969:  "Loughduff Lad
I hope you see now the benefits of having a big man in the square and kicking the ball into him. Might sound an outdated tactic but it DOES work!"
2 mishit shots, and a scramble and with lucky goals? Are you actually for real?

Loughduff Lad (Cavan) - Posts: 2380 - 09/05/2022 12:25:02    2415896

Replying To Loughduff Lad:  "2 mishit shots, and a scramble and with lucky goals? Are you actually for real?"
We used the ball well in the 1st half . Went direct . Kicked some lovely scores. Unlucky for a peno .
As regards Donegals 2 goals. They were high balls into the square. 3 backs went for the first one . Ball fell loose and Donegal latched on to it.
2nd one Faulkner dropped. Cardinal sin full back dropping a ball near the square. McBrearty don't need a 2nd chance.
Now you make your own luck in this game.
My point during the eeek and you still fail to see it through your blue blinkered glasses is that if you kick enough high ball into the square something will come off it. We did it in the -st half but not the 2nd half.
Wake up . Inexperience in our own back line cost us the 2 goals. We will learn from it by playing better opposition like Donegal. The more direct style we played yesterday is refreshing and gives hope

Breffni1969 (Cavan) - Posts: 510 - 09/05/2022 13:03:11    2415924

Replying To cavanman47:  "Yeah it's one of the most frustrating losses I can remember as a Cavan fan.

In a strange way, I think a win yesterday would have has more long term benefits than 2020. We'd have put ourselves firmly on a par with anything else in Ulster by backing up the 2 final appearances of 19/20.

But there is a huge amount of belief to be taken from how we performed and as many have mentioned, it was fine margins. They took their goal chances, we didn't."
Yeah a win yesterday was vitally important for us, it would have backed up what we did in 2020 by making it to another final in close succession.

I think ultimately it comes down to playing at a higher standard, Cavan need to be in div 1 / div 2 year on year to ultimately get that know how, that belief, that habit of winning against stronger teams to be able to do it in the Summer time.

Ned_Stormcrow (Cavan) - Posts: 1071 - 09/05/2022 13:04:59    2415927

Replying To [email protected]:  "i have mentioned in an earlier post that we should regroup and go for the tailteann cup at least these lads will get some more games under their belt and maybe try a out a couple more players I think if we were to win it we would qualify for Sam next year automatically so got to be worth a go ,also the boys put in a tremendous performance yesterday and could have got over the line but that bit of know how that the top teams have we haven't got Donegal know how to win tight games and they have that bit of experience you need in championship football but we're heading the right way. County board need to make sure that mickey and his team given every support they need because tactically he's up there with the best."
Yeah perhaps so, if it gives us a crack at Sam next year then it's a worth giving it everything. I think it's just a pity we find ourselves in it because we have enough talent to be competing with the big teams, we just don't have a winning habit or tradition to draw from.

Ned_Stormcrow (Cavan) - Posts: 1071 - 09/05/2022 13:07:09    2415928

I'd also say that the farcical tackle "rule" in Gaelic Football was exposed yet again yesterday.

Can someone please explain what is a foul and what isn't? It's beyond ridiculous that the GAA haven't taken action on this, it drives me mad.

Why did GMc not get a penalty in the 2nd minute, but a similar foul on a Donegal player on the 21 meter line resulted in a free? The BBC even highlighted it.

Ned_Stormcrow (Cavan) - Posts: 1071 - 09/05/2022 13:09:50    2415929

Replying To Ned_Stormcrow:  "I'd also say that the farcical tackle "rule" in Gaelic Football was exposed yet again yesterday.

Can someone please explain what is a foul and what isn't? It's beyond ridiculous that the GAA haven't taken action on this, it drives me mad.

Why did GMc not get a penalty in the 2nd minute, but a similar foul on a Donegal player on the 21 meter line resulted in a free? The BBC even highlighted it."
I'd also say that the farcical tackle "rule" in Gaelic Football was exposed yet again yesterday.

Why did GMc not get a penalty in the 2nd minute, but a similar foul on a Donegal player on the 21 meter line resulted in a free? The BBC even highlighted it.

Ned_Stormcrow (Cavan) - Posts: 1031 - 09/05/2022 13:09:50

I don't think you will get anyone to explain it to you it's inconsistent refereeing.

The same referee gave us a penalty in 2019 against Monaghan for a very similar challenge.

RHF (Cavan) - Posts: 845 - 09/05/2022 13:31:56    2415935

Replying To Ned_Stormcrow:  "I'd also say that the farcical tackle "rule" in Gaelic Football was exposed yet again yesterday.

Why did GMc not get a penalty in the 2nd minute, but a similar foul on a Donegal player on the 21 meter line resulted in a free? The BBC even highlighted it."
Seemingly you have to tackle the ball.. not the man. How you do that nobody knows. But you can't pull or drag . And seemingly a hand over the shoulder is a definite no no . It's probably the 1 rule that refs never get 100% right especially on their blind side.

Breffni1969 (Cavan) - Posts: 510 - 09/05/2022 14:07:54    2415949

Replying To Breffni1969:  "Seemingly you have to tackle the ball.. not the man. How you do that nobody knows. But you can't pull or drag . And seemingly a hand over the shoulder is a definite no no . It's probably the 1 rule that refs never get 100% right especially on their blind side."
Yeah that's exactly what I was thought growing up playing the game - "tackle the ball not the player".

It makes absolutely no sense because you clearly can't tackle the ball without impacting on the man carrying it.
A daft rule that needs clarification.
It doesn't matter as much if a game isn't close, but our game yesterday was close (6 pts flattered Donegal) and we were denied a penalty. It reminds me of the u21 game against Dublin back in 2014 when we were irate at some of the referreeing that day.

Ned_Stormcrow (Cavan) - Posts: 1071 - 09/05/2022 14:31:32    2415964

is conor madden injured was not named on the panel yesterday. If we lined out with himself, and mcvitty if he returns in the full forward line we would right up there with anyone bar Dublin and kerry.
I was really suprised how well Mickey and his team had Cavan set up both defensively and in attack yesterday. We looked much better than Donegal in both and the entire team played with their heads up and were looking for the first chance to break the line or kick a long ball it was so refreshing to see and such an improvement on what we had seen in the league. Donegals build up was much slower and more laboured and apart from the first ten minutes after half time when they let a few balls into Murphy they had no idea how to break us down and if the two poxy goals had not of come it was a toss of a coin who would come out on top. The two goals put a false gloss on their performance and i can see Monaghan beating them in the final as their build up play is far too slow and they have gone backwards. Derry as usual are way over hyped.
I was worried about Mickey Grahams managerial nous before this game but he muct be one of the best managers out there and we are lucky to have him and his team.

breffnibluewhite (Cavan) - Posts: 452 - 09/05/2022 14:41:49    2415976

Replying To Breffni1969:  "We used the ball well in the 1st half . Went direct . Kicked some lovely scores. Unlucky for a peno .
As regards Donegals 2 goals. They were high balls into the square. 3 backs went for the first one . Ball fell loose and Donegal latched on to it.
2nd one Faulkner dropped. Cardinal sin full back dropping a ball near the square. McBrearty don't need a 2nd chance.
My point during the eeek and you still fail to see it through your blue blinkered glasses is that if you kick enough high ball into the square something will come off it. We did it in the -st half but not the 2nd half.
Wake up . Inexperience in our own back line cost us the 2 goals. We will learn from it by playing better opposition like Donegal. The more direct style we played yesterday is refreshing and gives hope"
You were saying last week about putting one of our best players on the square, and lump ball into him. That is literal nonsensical tactics, and caveman football from 40 years as I recalled saying. Obviously a high ball in can work at times, but as required, when someone comes into space. Like James Smith did yesterday. it was some catch, and would have been an unreal goal but for Pattons save.

You say "f you kick enough high ball into the square something will come off it", like it's actually astounding that you say this. Did you even watch the game yesterday. The country was raving at half time of our direct running game, and picking off points on the run, and the way we took on Donegal. But you'd have them lumping the ball in and hooping we get something off it? This is actual joke stuff, come off it. Clear you don't seem to know how to read a game, or what we need to do as a team. We have a cracking young forward who finds space and gets the ball there to take scores. You'd rather start lumping balls in there constantly without any basic plan behind it, or not suiting the players? Unreal...

And the 2 Donegal ones were off mishit point attempts. Fair play to them for making the most of them, but they weren't playing a high ball lumped in game pal. Come back to me when you join this century please.

Loughduff Lad (Cavan) - Posts: 2380 - 09/05/2022 14:58:30    2415984

Replying To Breffni1969:  "We used the ball well in the 1st half . Went direct . Kicked some lovely scores. Unlucky for a peno .
Wake up . Inexperience in our own back line cost us the 2 goals. We will learn from it by playing better opposition like Donegal. The more direct style we played yesterday is refreshing and gives hope"
It wasn't Faulkner who dropped it.

cavanman47 (Cavan) - Posts: 5010 - 09/05/2022 15:08:48    2415992

Replying To blueskies:  "Great performance, I've always said win, lose draw all we ask as Cavan fans is a team that makes us proud.
It reminded me of the Eamon Coleman days in the mid 2000s. A talented fearless team who arrived in Clones with no fear of anyone and who had arrived believing we would win.
I said during the league that this summer was huge for Graham, I have no doubts in my mind now he is the man to take us forward in the long term.
I hope we take this tailteann cup seriously, there is no reason why we should not.. it's a chance for more silverware in Croke park in the middle of summer. The more experience of winning in Croke Park the better .
If we were to throw our **** at it and lose first round, that's a long long winter for everyone. If we go and win it in style that's a super season. Two titles and a brave championship.
We have some fine footballers in that team, Smith, lynch, Georoid and Galligan were just incredible. Without naming names there were some lads yesterday completely out of there depth at that level. If we fill in them blanks we would be a serious outfit."
I think most observers would name the same lads.

We could certainly have done with a fully fit Martin Reilly, Holla and Oisin Kiernan. Get those 3 into the side and backfill their places on the bench with young Lovett, O'Rourke and 1 or 2 other under 20s and we've the makings of a very strong team and panel.

cavanman47 (Cavan) - Posts: 5010 - 09/05/2022 15:13:38    2415996

Replying To cavanman47:  "It wasn't Faulkner who dropped it."
What does it matter who it was?

Breffni1969 (Cavan) - Posts: 510 - 09/05/2022 15:33:32    2416005

Replying To Loughduff Lad:  "You were saying last week about putting one of our best players on the square, and lump ball into him. That is literal nonsensical tactics, and caveman football from 40 years as I recalled saying. Obviously a high ball in can work at times, but as required, when someone comes into space. Like James Smith did yesterday. it was some catch, and would have been an unreal goal but for Pattons save.

You say "f you kick enough high ball into the square something will come off it", like it's actually astounding that you say this. Did you even watch the game yesterday. The country was raving at half time of our direct running game, and picking off points on the run, and the way we took on Donegal. But you'd have them lumping the ball in and hooping we get something off it? This is actual joke stuff, come off it. Clear you don't seem to know how to read a game, or what we need to do as a team. We have a cracking young forward who finds space and gets the ball there to take scores. You'd rather start lumping balls in there constantly without any basic plan behind it, or not suiting the players? Unreal...

And the 2 Donegal ones were off mishit point attempts. Fair play to them for making the most of them, but they weren't playing a high ball lumped in game pal. Come back to me when you join this century please."
They had one of their best players waiting for the break didn't they? McBrearty.
And if you remember 2020 Maddens goal came from a high ball in the square too.
Smith was unlucky yesterday from a high ball so was McKiernan.
At least Mickey went for it yesterday. Playing the long ball into the forwards. Refreshing change from previous and we well able to play that type of game.
The tapping across the back 4 days hopefully over.
Great to see the long foot pass being used again.
The ball travels faster than any player!

Breffni1969 (Cavan) - Posts: 510 - 09/05/2022 15:39:29    2416011

Replying To Ned_Stormcrow:  "Yeah that's exactly what I was thought growing up playing the game - "tackle the ball not the player".

It makes absolutely no sense because you clearly can't tackle the ball without impacting on the man carrying it.
A daft rule that needs clarification.
It doesn't matter as much if a game isn't close, but our game yesterday was close (6 pts flattered Donegal) and we were denied a penalty. It reminds me of the u21 game against Dublin back in 2014 when we were irate at some of the referreeing that day."
That's where the confusion is. Tackle the ball with an open hand but not the player. Impossible to implement properly in the heat of battle.

Breffni1969 (Cavan) - Posts: 510 - 09/05/2022 15:56:13    2416025

I think the award of a penalty would have been harsh… I certainly wouldn't like to see it given against us…McKiernan never got control of the ball , maybe the pass wasn't all it should have been but if he had held on I'd say Lane would have had no choice but to give it …. Loosing the ball made Lanes choice easier… Apart from the 2 lucky goals Donegal got they passed up 3/4 more good goal scoring chances by taking the wrong options when a player ( Mc Brearty twice) was alone in front of the goals… We really only had the one big goal chance which Patton made a great save from….not been able to score goals is our Achilles heal… Cavan had every chance in this game and could have won as Donegal are a long way from been a top side…Their 1-13 from their named inside forward line was the big difference…. Looking at Martin Reilly on the pitch after the game would suggest he played his last game in Clones but what a great servant he has been… Hopefully in the Taltian cup he throws Mc Vitty and Lovett into the two corner positions….some poor efforts on goal by the two lads in on Sunday but they are young and will learn….I hope they go strong after this Competition

ForeverBlue2 (Cavan) - Posts: 1901 - 09/05/2022 16:34:41    2416038

Well done team tried there best, Div 4 football probably didn't help this year, no Connor Madden off bench for impact was a loss too, but over all the lads went fir it and give it there all. Now for the Tailteann Cup Cavan would have to be one of the favourites for it. Hopefully they give it a go. I think players should be released yo there clubs to play aswell until the cup starts and anyone not playing released for clubs

goonie (Cavan) - Posts: 308 - 09/05/2022 20:09:03    2416072

Why do we have a named panel of 26 on match day and only use 18 players.

I know the 3 subs that came on did not make a significant contribution on this occasion but I would still think that we should have used our 5 subs on the warmest day of the year it was energy sapping in Clones at 20/21 degrees.

Breffnisbest (Cavan) - Posts: 471 - 10/05/2022 07:28:29    2416097

Replying To Breffnisbest:  "Why do we have a named panel of 26 on match day and only use 18 players.

I know the 3 subs that came on did not make a significant contribution on this occasion but I would still think that we should have used our 5 subs on the warmest day of the year it was energy sapping in Clones at 20/21 degrees."
And what was Caoimhin Reilly going to do coming on in the last minute…. You are right 5 subs should have come in and in time too… It's a question for management I guess….!!!

ForeverBlue2 (Cavan) - Posts: 1901 - 10/05/2022 09:59:48    2416123

Replying To ForeverBlue2:  "I think the award of a penalty would have been harsh… I certainly wouldn't like to see it given against us…McKiernan never got control of the ball , maybe the pass wasn't all it should have been but if he had held on I'd say Lane would have had no choice but to give it …. Loosing the ball made Lanes choice easier… Apart from the 2 lucky goals Donegal got they passed up 3/4 more good goal scoring chances by taking the wrong options when a player ( Mc Brearty twice) was alone in front of the goals… We really only had the one big goal chance which Patton made a great save from….not been able to score goals is our Achilles heal… Cavan had every chance in this game and could have won as Donegal are a long way from been a top side…Their 1-13 from their named inside forward line was the big difference…. Looking at Martin Reilly on the pitch after the game would suggest he played his last game in Clones but what a great servant he has been… Hopefully in the Taltian cup he throws Mc Vitty and Lovett into the two corner positions….some poor efforts on goal by the two lads in on Sunday but they are young and will learn….I hope they go strong after this Competition"
I think Mcveety is back in Australia.

blueman1903 (Cavan) - Posts: 882 - 10/05/2022 10:47:13    2416151