Monaghan GAA thread

Great performance by the team and manager, All players did their part but Mohan around the middle of the park and Karl Gallagher showing for kickouts made a huge difference to how Monahan were able to play. That midfield is still the key to winning games and Monaghan did well there today. Some great scores too.
Next game is massive.

PolicemanFox (Monaghan) - Posts: 158 - 27/05/2023 22:43:14    2482046

That was a great performance didn't see coming. Should have won it but derry with home crowd had us beat in last min till ever green o connell kicked that equaliser. Credit to Corey got the team selection spot on. O connell was fantastic v Rogers and thought Karl Gallagher and Gary Mone really came of age in the Jersey in displays put in. One caveat through monaghan over the years have always had it in the locker to show up when noone gives them a chance. Big test now next weekend v Clare in clones where well be favourites. We win that then should have match in clones to get to a quarter final at least and kick on.

seanie08 (Monaghan) - Posts: 1798 - 28/05/2023 07:56:41    2482073

Replying To patk:  "Fantastic job by Vinny and the backroom team with the work they've put in over the last month. Some brave calls by Vinny but they all paid off, and the improvement was massive. Was a pity not to get the win, but that was always going to be a tough place to go, so coming away with a point isn't a bad place to be"
Great result. We need forwards with speed. McManus is and always will be class but the years are there. Jack is very skillful but has no speed.

Keep up the speedy forwards please

Bernardo (Monaghan) - Posts: 594 - 28/05/2023 09:17:46    2482076

Mixed emotions coming out of Celtic Park last night. Happy to get a draw with the last kick of the game but disappointed we didn't hold out for a win considering we were 3 points up going down the home stretch.

Credit to Vinny and the team who learned so much from the semi final defeat.

The match ups were superb with Mohan and O'Connell completely nullifying Glass and Rodgers.

Conor McCarthy was brilliant from half back, won both breaks from the throw in and kicked two brilliant scores, Shane Carey, Bannigan, Ward all brilliant and so much more effective than in Omagh a month ago.

Special mention to McAnespie who showed yet again what an important player for Monaghan he been over the years. To do that much work and running and complete the match is a testament to how well he looked after himself when on his travels.

On the substitutions, I don't think Darren or Conor were fit. Darren knee was heavily bandaged and Conor was only strung from the bench when McGuigan had put Derry ahead.

Vinny again last night showed he is not afraid to give youth a chance with Darragh McElerney making his championship bow of the bench..

So much positives to take from the game. I still think Derry will top the group due the fact if Monaghan and Derry do the business next weekend. Clare will be eliminated before the Derry game which means the edge could be taken off the fixture.

Anyway next week will be a tough challenge. Clare were very unlucky to be relegated out of Division two failing the wrong side of 1 point games.

shaggylegend (Monaghan) - Posts: 1928 - 28/05/2023 09:25:39    2482081

Good performance, the youth in the team is starting to gel well with the established players,

stoneygrey (Monaghan) - Posts: 213 - 28/05/2023 10:30:49    2482093

Again and again Vinnys proving his quality and pedigree, he'll be heavily involved on the county scene for years to come.

Jjoniel79 (Monaghan) - Posts: 143 - 28/05/2023 11:00:40    2482098

Strange match to be at yesterday.. The atmosphere was non - existent up until the last 10 mins.. There was no Monaghan support there except for the odd person here an there.. It was the least supported Monaghan game that I have ever been at. There was more in Waterford 5 years ago. Having a band play rebel songs before the match and at half time was very surreal, it was not exactly welcoming to any Protestant families attending the match. It was a game we should have won and were the better team throughout the game.. it was a brave move by Karl in taking the shot on at the death.. but he has been a top performer all season. Their was many outstanding players during the game. McCarthy, Boyle, 2 x Karls, Bannigan. O'Hanlon. Mohan and a special mention to mcAnespie who competed and ran Derry into the ground all game.. I can see Conor coming back in for the start of the next game.. or at least sprang from the bench earlier the next day.. We need some strong performances in the next two games as we need to do better than Derry do. It's vital that we top the group as it gives you such a strong advantage going into the next section of the competition.. It's all to play for..

Farney (Monaghan) - Posts: 801 - 28/05/2023 11:17:55    2482102

Replying To Farney:  "Strange match to be at yesterday.. The atmosphere was non - existent up until the last 10 mins.. There was no Monaghan support there except for the odd person here an there.. It was the least supported Monaghan game that I have ever been at. There was more in Waterford 5 years ago. Having a band play rebel songs before the match and at half time was very surreal, it was not exactly welcoming to any Protestant families attending the match. It was a game we should have won and were the better team throughout the game.. it was a brave move by Karl in taking the shot on at the death.. but he has been a top performer all season. Their was many outstanding players during the game. McCarthy, Boyle, 2 x Karls, Bannigan. O'Hanlon. Mohan and a special mention to mcAnespie who competed and ran Derry into the ground all game.. I can see Conor coming back in for the start of the next game.. or at least sprang from the bench earlier the next day.. We need some strong performances in the next two games as we need to do better than Derry do. It's vital that we top the group as it gives you such a strong advantage going into the next section of the competition.. It's all to play for.."
yeah the songs kept the crowds away alright, i was all I heard about in the pubs after, would have had a good 60k if they had just played some gareth brookes

DCFCGAA (Derry) - Posts: 65 - 28/05/2023 11:36:21    2482106

Was at the game, very poor Monaghan support,
Vinny got all his match ups right, fair play to the
boys, kicked some brilliant scores, ref kept Derry
In it, the booing from the Derry supporters was unreal, not nice, brandywell next door for that

Malstheman (Monaghan) - Posts: 10 - 28/05/2023 12:45:51    2482121

Best thing about yesterday was how we changed our game plan to adapt to a previously superior opposition, let's face it we got tanked in the Ulster championship by Derry. That's twice this year we've done that against Tyrone and now Derry. We were the better team yesterday I thought. Management team deserve great credit, and there is good reason to be optimistic on that front. No huff and puff nonsense but great game plan clarity and execution.
Clare will target us, they have to, and with the extra week off could be a real banana skin, a different challenge for all

mhunicean_abu (Monaghan) - Posts: 1044 - 28/05/2023 13:53:10    2482137

Replying To Malstheman:  "Was at the game, very poor Monaghan support,
Vinny got all his match ups right, fair play to the
boys, kicked some brilliant scores, ref kept Derry
In it, the booing from the Derry supporters was unreal, not nice, brandywell next door for that"
That pitch side video of Beggan's 45 on the right side really showed the extent of the booing. Between the booing in his ears and the difficulty of the 45, what a brilliant kick that was

patk (Monaghan) - Posts: 936 - 28/05/2023 13:59:03    2482139

Great job by all the lads yesterday - McCarthy & Bannigan were excellent but every player put in incredible shifts. It was a very strange place to be. The Derry supporters in their year old jerseys certainly didn't add anything to the atmosphere. The booing and jeering was pathetic. As already mentioned very poor Monaghan support there but hopefully that's a once off due to the time and location. I couldn't get out of the place quick enough. Congrats to Vinny and the team & a huge shout out to Karl for his ballsy kick at the end. Should have won it, This clip sums up the Derry supporters yesterday https://twitter.com/jack_madden2001/status/1662544152469405696?s=20
Anyway onwards and upwards. MUINEACHÁIN ABÚ!

greysoil (Monaghan) - Posts: 965 - 28/05/2023 14:21:57    2482146

Replying To greysoil:  "Great job by all the lads yesterday - McCarthy & Bannigan were excellent but every player put in incredible shifts. It was a very strange place to be. The Derry supporters in their year old jerseys certainly didn't add anything to the atmosphere. The booing and jeering was pathetic. As already mentioned very poor Monaghan support there but hopefully that's a once off due to the time and location. I couldn't get out of the place quick enough. Congrats to Vinny and the team & a huge shout out to Karl for his ballsy kick at the end. Should have won it, This clip sums up the Derry supporters yesterday https://twitter.com/jack_madden2001/status/1662544152469405696?s=20
Anyway onwards and upwards. MUINEACHÁIN ABÚ!"
They must still be all on something up there

mhunicean_abu (Monaghan) - Posts: 1044 - 28/05/2023 15:50:33    2482182

A bit of booing and the moral high ground Brigade is up in arms. Last game of the season to stay up wouldn't have had a wee bit of booing now would it? No sirreee.

Jazzyjeff (Derry) - Posts: 152 - 28/05/2023 19:07:12    2482272

Replying To Jazzyjeff:  "A bit of booing and the moral high ground Brigade is up in arms. Last game of the season to stay up wouldn't have had a wee bit of booing now would it? No sirreee."
Whose were u playing in your last league game?
Sorry don't really follow Derry that much

Malstheman (Monaghan) - Posts: 10 - 28/05/2023 21:01:16    2482351

Replying To Jazzyjeff:  "A bit of booing and the moral high ground Brigade is up in arms. Last game of the season to stay up wouldn't have had a wee bit of booing now would it? No sirreee."
It wouldn't be hard to take the moral high ground against Derry given the recent goings on.

SoNearYetSoFarney (Monaghan) - Posts: 50 - 28/05/2023 21:21:28    2482358

Relax about the booing.
Only reason there was so much of it is because we were so outnumbered due to the bad traveling crowd. The timing of it on a saturday night and dodgy boxes would be a lot of the reason for that.

Well done Monaghan on a great performance and unlucky not to win.

Also hard luck to the Monaghan minors. Fair play on such an improvement on the previous meeting with Derry.
Derry with the senior and minor double l, they are doing something right up there. But we are not that far away when you look at the weekends results.

Hon the Farney

farneygael (Monaghan) - Posts: 277 - 28/05/2023 21:36:26    2482365

Replying To farneygael:  "Relax about the booing.
Only reason there was so much of it is because we were so outnumbered due to the bad traveling crowd. The timing of it on a saturday night and dodgy boxes would be a lot of the reason for that.

Well done Monaghan on a great performance and unlucky not to win.

Also hard luck to the Monaghan minors. Fair play on such an improvement on the previous meeting with Derry.
Derry with the senior and minor double l, they are doing something right up there. But we are not that far away when you look at the weekends results.

Hon the Farney"
Let's be very clear, we are very close at underage level NOT senior, they've won back-to-back senior ulster titles, we are miles off.

Our seniors could learn a thing or 2 from our minors, massive character, determination and attitude to not only compete at opposition level BUT challenge. The only players & management should hold their heads high. I was a disappointment but very proud Monaghan man coming outta Armagh Sunday.

Blueblood4life (Monaghan) - Posts: 200 - 29/05/2023 07:00:42    2482426

Monaghan minors - just want to say how unlucky they were yesterday, put in a tremendous shift - should be proud of their run to the final. Onwards.

conjack76 (Monaghan) - Posts: 84 - 29/05/2023 09:31:37    2482458

I enjoyed that performance Saturday evening but what is with Monaghan falling at the last hurdle, its seems to be engrained in our culture even going back to Malachys tenure. The game should have been closed out and would have been a massive scalp. I feel it was a point lost. Fair play to Vinnie , good team selection and a good performance. I can only see victory next sunday v clare , donegal game will be touch and go.

222 (UK) - Posts: 691 - 29/05/2023 10:32:20    2482474