Monaghan GAA thread

Has anyone else been watching the Monaghan Minor teams games in UMFC so far? I seen the game against a fancied Donegal team and Monaghan were very impressive. Overall they were as a team comfortable on the ball and looked to have a defined gameplan. I think you'd expect that with coach like O'Connor involved.

Young Carolan in midfield is a leader and with Monaghan down to 14 players he stood tall. He made a great catch in midfield near the end of the game when the game was in the melting pot. McGinnity has that killer instinct like this father had. Finn is a handful at full forward and Mooney in goals is very comfortable on the ball. Good luck to them against Armagh.

The new format is giving the mgmt team lots of competitive game time with team and you'd hope that this developments them a lot. Certainly some excellent prospects coming along.

sleater (Monaghan) - Posts: 151 - 10/05/2023 16:00:57    2477376

Replying To sleater:  "Has anyone else been watching the Monaghan Minor teams games in UMFC so far? I seen the game against a fancied Donegal team and Monaghan were very impressive. Overall they were as a team comfortable on the ball and looked to have a defined gameplan. I think you'd expect that with coach like O'Connor involved.

Young Carolan in midfield is a leader and with Monaghan down to 14 players he stood tall. He made a great catch in midfield near the end of the game when the game was in the melting pot. McGinnity has that killer instinct like this father had. Finn is a handful at full forward and Mooney in goals is very comfortable on the ball. Good luck to them against Armagh.

The new format is giving the mgmt team lots of competitive game time with team and you'd hope that this developments them a lot. Certainly some excellent prospects coming along."
Get your tongue out

veterngaa (Monaghan) - Posts: 387 - 10/05/2023 16:46:35    2477395

Replying To Greengrass:  "So if you win the Ulster championship would your season still be over given that according to you you're not going to win the All Ireland? Would you be better off not playing in the All Ireland and just stop playing in April altogether?"
Ah here. Don't be going trying to apply anything approaching logic to GAA expert's pronouncements. Just assume everything posted here is a transcript from a bar someplace after a feed of pints and it will all make a lot more sense.

TearsIn85 (Monaghan) - Posts: 193 - 10/05/2023 16:55:10    2477400

Replying To TearsIn85:  "Ah here. Don't be going trying to apply anything approaching logic to GAA expert's pronouncements. Just assume everything posted here is a transcript from a bar someplace after a feed of pints and it will all make a lot more sense."
Great advice.

Greengrass (Louth) - Posts: 6031 - 11/05/2023 15:22:26    2477655

Replying To sleater:  "Has anyone else been watching the Monaghan Minor teams games in UMFC so far? I seen the game against a fancied Donegal team and Monaghan were very impressive. Overall they were as a team comfortable on the ball and looked to have a defined gameplan. I think you'd expect that with coach like O'Connor involved.

The new format is giving the mgmt team lots of competitive game time with team and you'd hope that this developments them a lot. Certainly some excellent prospects coming along."
Was at a few league games and in clones last week. Would agree with your comments, looked a good outfit. Derry and Tyrone are extremely strong and Monaghan I think meet one of them in the semifinal stages so they'll be up against it.

Mallon a massive talent also, is highly thought of at club level and from what I've seen is the standout player in most games. Team seems to have a great selection of forwards with some of last years players unable to break into the starting 15.

Was particularly impressed with their athleticism and strength, it's not often we out run a Donegal team at any level.

Blueblood4life (Monaghan) - Posts: 200 - 12/05/2023 10:40:14    2477793

Any word from Corduff?

ryan (Donegal) - Posts: 724 - 13/05/2023 14:29:40    2478057

Replying To ryan:  "Any word from Corduff?"
You mean the Donegal contingent seen around Corvalley all last week

mhunicean_abu (Monaghan) - Posts: 1044 - 13/05/2023 21:56:23    2478180

More room on the sideline for this talented bunch of

stoneygrey (Monaghan) - Posts: 213 - 14/05/2023 12:13:22    2478272

Replying To stoneygrey:  "More room on the sideline for this talented bunch of"
The Pack have fewer people on the sideline in Lambeau Field for a home game.

Eddie the Exile (Monaghan) - Posts: 1057 - 14/05/2023 13:45:34    2478314

Have scotstown got another new transfer in from Donegal?

Edd,South(EU) (Monaghan) - Posts: 35 - 17/05/2023 12:46:52    2479237

Replying To Edd,South(EU):  "Have scotstown got another new transfer in from Donegal?"
Who?

TheRock2121 (Donegal) - Posts: 1142 - 17/05/2023 14:38:57    2479264

Replying To Edd,South(EU):  "Have scotstown got another new transfer in from Donegal?"
Yes, supposedly he's previously represented Donegal at senior level. Scotstown now have FIVE (!!) adult teams, and if they had to field a 6th team tomorrow morning, they'd be able to. Genuinely- is there a club in Ulster with as big a pick? I don't understand how clubs in Monaghan are supposed to compete with this.
Also, is anyone able to shed some light as to why Scotstown do not field a hurling team? For all the stick that Castleblayney and Harps get for having huge populations yet still being in Intermediate, at least they field a hurling team (In Blayney's case, a damn good hurling team).
Scotstown do have a great coaching structure, but at the same time, when you have four u13 teams like they do, you're going to get 15 good footballers regardless of what coaching they're getting!
Really worrying time for the senior club scene.

HB245 (Monaghan) - Posts: 206 - 17/05/2023 15:28:45    2479277

Is Gallagher still with Corduff?

ryan (Donegal) - Posts: 724 - 17/05/2023 16:31:20    2479284

Replying To HB245:  "Yes, supposedly he's previously represented Donegal at senior level. Scotstown now have FIVE (!!) adult teams, and if they had to field a 6th team tomorrow morning, they'd be able to. Genuinely- is there a club in Ulster with as big a pick? I don't understand how clubs in Monaghan are supposed to compete with this.
Also, is anyone able to shed some light as to why Scotstown do not field a hurling team? For all the stick that Castleblayney and Harps get for having huge populations yet still being in Intermediate, at least they field a hurling team (In Blayney's case, a damn good hurling team).
Scotstown do have a great coaching structure, but at the same time, when you have four u13 teams like they do, you're going to get 15 good footballers regardless of what coaching they're getting!
Really worrying time for the senior club scene."
One of scotstowns biggest advantages is that somehow someway they've convinced many members of their senior players to look after the juveniles, much like Clontibret - whereas many other clubs have an assembly of mammies and daddy's shouting at the players to pass it to their children, and taking off the other kids that are outshining their own. I've seen it time and again in my own club, jerseys for the boys and outsiders not welcome.

Spoke with a few of the scotstown men and they said as much was typically true of their own club which was why they won nothing of significance for 20 odd years, and once it changed names like Hughes, McCarthy, etc, started appearing on the team sheet and they've been going from strength to strength since.

Clontibret have regularly punched above their relative weight in senior football, but this is no surprise given the work that Marty/Vinny Corey, Dessie/JP Mohan among others do at juvenile level, and they're only doing as was done for them in years gone by.

Children will respect and learn more from the established senior footballers in their club than they will from the mammies and daddies that I see elsewhere. In my own club there's a team with 8 managers, all of whom have a child on the team and these managers fought to get the team put into a lower league to get their Cubs a medal. The sad thing is there's some fantastic young lads not getting looked at and they're falling away already at roughly 16 years old. Meanwhile the selected babies are hopeless and will offer the club absolutely nothing in adult football..

Jjoniel79 (Monaghan) - Posts: 144 - 18/05/2023 18:43:34    2479492

Replying To HB245:  "Yes, supposedly he's previously represented Donegal at senior level. Scotstown now have FIVE (!!) adult teams, and if they had to field a 6th team tomorrow morning, they'd be able to. Genuinely- is there a club in Ulster with as big a pick? I don't understand how clubs in Monaghan are supposed to compete with this.
Really worrying time for the senior club scene."
purely due to numbers they might never be stopped hence why fergus is back and mccaugue has taken over to piggy back a few senior championships out of it before he takes over Monaghan with his "impressive" CV.. heard they've over a 100 adult players registered with the county board which is crazy in a small county with only 29 clubs.. Despite all these numbers they still had to raid Currin for Jack…

mick2007 (Monaghan) - Posts: 449 - 19/05/2023 08:49:46    2479561

Replying To mick2007:  "purely due to numbers they might never be stopped hence why fergus is back and mccaugue has taken over to piggy back a few senior championships out of it before he takes over Monaghan with his "impressive" CV.. heard they've over a 100 adult players registered with the county board which is crazy in a small county with only 29 clubs.. Despite all these numbers they still had to raid Currin for Jack…"
it's a bit like he Dubs, with the size of their population. Its destroying the club scene.

If you are in Senior bar the odd exception, you are never going to win anything, which make it really tough on the clubs, its like a Lenister Championship , its not going to help anyone.

patmouse (Monaghan) - Posts: 111 - 19/05/2023 12:54:39    2479629

Replying To mick2007:  "purely due to numbers they might never be stopped hence why fergus is back and mccaugue has taken over to piggy back a few senior championships out of it before he takes over Monaghan with his "impressive" CV.. heard they've over a 100 adult players registered with the county board which is crazy in a small county with only 29 clubs.. Despite all these numbers they still had to raid Currin for Jack…"
You can have all the numbers you want but you need the structures in place

veterngaa (Monaghan) - Posts: 387 - 19/05/2023 12:58:36    2479633

I'd be more interested in Scotstowns underage numbers. That's where it's starts because if you don't have them there then you won't have them at adult. It's like a pyramid... Only a few from each underage team will play adult with a clubs first team for more than a couple of years.

I'm sure the likes of Toome, Blackhill, Currin all have up to 35 adult playing members, of which probably 10 are late 30's (or more) or 17/18. These guys are probably there for the craic and enjoy training but probably make up the numbers for training in reality and couldn't be compare with Scotowns 100...

MrPBoylan (Monaghan) - Posts: 111 - 19/05/2023 13:33:03    2479646

Replying To patmouse:  "it's a bit like he Dubs, with the size of their population. Its destroying the club scene.

If you are in Senior bar the odd exception, you are never going to win anything, which make it really tough on the clubs, its like a Lenister Championship , its not going to help anyone."
They won f all there for 20 odd years before the old gaurd was ousted and they got their house in order. Every other club (including my own) can cry and moan all they want but at the end of the day it's 15 on 15 out there and each club is responsible for the standard of their 15.

Emyvale, Truagh, Carrick and the harps have a huge pick in comparison with latton, ballybay and Clontibret but these clubs regularly have a big say in the senior championship because their structures and cultures are just better than those I listed first.

Anyway a lot of the times these things are cyclical - good people get involved and make a good fist of things until the glory hunters and bandwagoners come along and push them out, which always brings an end to whatever success clubs are having. I see someone mentioned here that a few of the old gaurd are reading their heads around scotstown again…

Jjoniel79 (Monaghan) - Posts: 144 - 19/05/2023 15:13:39    2479666

Could anyone have a go at grading the clubs in order of how many adult members or overall members they have ? Like where does the Carrick's , Emyvale's, latton's, Toome's and Ballybay's come on the order.
Who is punching over their weight and who is slacking.

farneygael (Monaghan) - Posts: 277 - 19/05/2023 21:09:18    2479715