Monaghan GAA thread

Replying To 222:  "I enjoyed that performance Saturday evening but what is with Monaghan falling at the last hurdle, its seems to be engrained in our culture even going back to Malachys tenure. The game should have been closed out and would have been a massive scalp. I feel it was a point lost. Fair play to Vinnie , good team selection and a good performance. I can only see victory next sunday v clare , donegal game will be touch and go."
Yeah always an element of snatching a draw or a defeat from the jaws of victory. Definitely a mental thing we don't front run well in big games. Fair play to them through for grabbing last min point to level it. Derry had all the momentum at that stage and looked nailed on winners even through we were better side over the course of game. Was a huge physical effort put in on the night by the team. Derry Donegal in donegal will be interesting as derry not the force they were a month back but we can only worry about ourselves and clare is a must win game.

seanie08 (Monaghan) - Posts: 1799 - 29/05/2023 11:57:39    2482506

A point dropped in Derry for sure. The key turning points were the ball to O'Connell played over the sideline when 3 up, and maybe more importantly Bannigan's missed free after the overcarrying free against Derry 40 metres out. That felt like the last marginal call that Monaghan got all night. Mooney to be fair had been picking up on the diving (by both sides) but after that one he seemed to give Derry the tight decisions.
Still, a gutsy performance all round and a real reminder of how important it is to get the tactical side of things right. As was said before the Ulster semi, there's no room for a lack of pace in these games, even at full forward. Better a lesson learned late than not at all.
Clare game takes on a whole new shape now with Monaghan expected to win. This is a classic setup for a flat performance so Vinny and co have work to do. Have to go with pace and intent from the off and don't give Clare an easy route into the game. Resist the idea of restoring some of the big names. Only possible change would be to add Sean Jones to the inside forwards for a goal threat.
Clare match is not on GaaGo so hopefully the core support will return to Clones

Eddie the Exile (Monaghan) - Posts: 1057 - 29/05/2023 12:56:08    2482531

The minors were incredibly unlucky last night. It's a massive shame that a man in charge of a provincial final doesn't understand the Rules.

Only a defender can't collect the ball unless it has travelled outside the 20m line or the D.

shaggylegend (Monaghan) - Posts: 1928 - 29/05/2023 13:05:18    2482535

I felt this game was a coming of age for this team, a new ere, like post Mansy, jack and darren is bright and should be endorsed. It Was a professional performance and one that we seen under malachy O rourke many times. We played the game to win it and played the players that could win it. I thought match ups were on point and i would worry about Mc guigan running the show again, we cant seem to out these killer forwards under a leash or even double up on them.

Our squad depth is increasing week on week and Mc Anespie addition is massive for the team. Not playing Mansy was always going to have its faults with regards the free kick department with bannigan missing that one and honesty he needs to nail them.

Looking forward to Clare games, a bit of a different challenge and maybe its one where we roll out Darren, mansy and jack as they will be well rested,

monaghanmad (Monaghan) - Posts: 378 - 29/05/2023 13:15:40    2482541

Replying To shaggylegend:  "The minors were incredibly unlucky last night. It's a massive shame that a man in charge of a provincial final doesn't understand the Rules.

Only a defender can't collect the ball unless it has travelled outside the 20m line or the D."
Even worse there is 2 umpires, 2 linesmen and a 4th official all wired up to tell him the rule, absolute joke

monaghanmad (Monaghan) - Posts: 378 - 29/05/2023 13:19:33    2482543

Replying To Blueblood4life:  "Let's be very clear, we are very close at underage level NOT senior, they've won back-to-back senior ulster titles, we are miles off.

Our seniors could learn a thing or 2 from our minors, massive character, determination and attitude to not only compete at opposition level BUT challenge. The only players & management should hold their heads high. I was a disappointment but very proud Monaghan man coming outta Armagh Sunday."
Clear as mud what you're saying. The seniors and minors are both doing fantastic work this year and are making us proud. Any notion that the seniors are falling short of some sort of expectations is laughable. The job Vinny is doing is gaining plenty of admirers from around the country and for a team that looked to be struggling to find any sort of manager they managed to uncover an absolute gem!

Jjoniel79 (Monaghan) - Posts: 144 - 29/05/2023 14:28:46    2482583

Replying To monaghanmad:  "I felt this game was a coming of age for this team, a new ere, like post Mansy, jack and darren is bright and should be endorsed. It Was a professional performance and one that we seen under malachy O rourke many times. We played the game to win it and played the players that could win it. I thought match ups were on point and i would worry about Mc guigan running the show again, we cant seem to out these killer forwards under a leash or even double up on them.

Our squad depth is increasing week on week and Mc Anespie addition is massive for the team. Not playing Mansy was always going to have its faults with regards the free kick department with bannigan missing that one and honesty he needs to nail them.

Looking forward to Clare games, a bit of a different challenge and maybe its one where we roll out Darren, mansy and jack as they will be well rested,"
In fairness as good as McGuigan was, he scored 2 from play. We'd need to stop giving away those sort of frees, but I wouldn't say he gave the defence the runaround in open play or anything

patk (Monaghan) - Posts: 936 - 29/05/2023 14:45:26    2482603

Did anyone else see the way Shane McGuigan reacted to his own young Derry fans that came on to the field? He pushed a few of them away that wanted autographs and it looked like he told them to **** off. I think that's disgraceful behaviour from someone that is supposed to be a role model to these young kids. Who does he think he is? Do you think the likes of David Clifford would get away with the same attitude? And by the way, he would be more respectful of them!!

TaytoFoley (Leitrim) - Posts: 83 - 29/05/2023 15:51:18    2482642

First Monaghan match, i missed in years. This new format is a farce 24 games to lose 4 teams and we all know who they are before a ball is kicked.

Impossible to read into any game. The Mayo / Kerry game was like a challenge match. The lads can only play what is in front of them, but this is not fair on anyone.

patmouse (Monaghan) - Posts: 112 - 29/05/2023 16:10:48    2482652

Replying To patmouse:  "First Monaghan match, i missed in years. This new format is a farce 24 games to lose 4 teams and we all know who they are before a ball is kicked.

Impossible to read into any game. The Mayo / Kerry game was like a challenge match. The lads can only play what is in front of them, but this is not fair on anyone."
Here here, someone told me that Galway beat Tryone in the pub and it dawned on me - for someone that'd consider himself a huge fan of the GAA, I didn't even realise the game was on and whats worse is that I honestly didn't care?

This craic of putting on a hape of meaningless games and putting them behind a paywall is absolutely turning my stomach. They're absolutely flogging the players for financial gain

The worst thing about the whole setup is that Mayo, Dublin and Kerry can be beat 2 or 3 times in the championship and we'll still have to look at one or both of them on All-Ireland day. The whole thing is a hiding to nothing for the likes of ourselves, Kildare, Roscommon, Derry, Armagh, Cork, Westmeath, Down, Meath, Etc... Gone are the days of a team getting on a good run and a big dog getting caught on the hop. The All-Ireland in now just like the champions league in soccer (By Design) where unless something goes drastically wrong, you'll be seeing Madrid v Barca v Bayern v EPL v PSG year in year out..

I personally couldn't care less about an All-Ireland of Kerry v Dublin this year, yeah great footballers but whats the fun in it? It'd be great for the likes of Armagh or Roscommon to win it for a change - they'd actually savour it.

But no, this new money grab setup has killed the whole ethos of the game and has ensured that no matter what - the big money counties will be there on the big day. Puke.

Mickod88 (Monaghan) - Posts: 49 - 29/05/2023 17:19:59    2482679

Replying To TaytoFoley:  "Did anyone else see the way Shane McGuigan reacted to his own young Derry fans that came on to the field? He pushed a few of them away that wanted autographs and it looked like he told them to **** off. I think that's disgraceful behaviour from someone that is supposed to be a role model to these young kids. Who does he think he is? Do you think the likes of David Clifford would get away with the same attitude? And by the way, he would be more respectful of them!!"
I don't think that emotional intelligence is Shane's strong point. Can't seem to handle it, when things don't go his way. You should have seen his reaction when he was sent off against the Rossies in the league last year. Not good enough to treat your young supporters like that, who are only looking up to their idol.
Compare that to the recent "great" Dublin players who have normally stay on the pitch in Parnell Park and elsewhere after club games. Often for 20 - 40 minutes signing autographs and jerseys and talking with the kids. It was part of their culture, enhanced team bonding (does your team really value all your supporters young & old?) and certainly got my respect, unlike Shane McGuigan. Some of the other Derry players like Conor Glass have more class under pressure/after disappointments and can manage their emotions much better.

letsgetgoing (Roscommon) - Posts: 506 - 29/05/2023 18:12:39    2482708

Replying To monaghanmad:  "Even worse there is 2 umpires, 2 linesmen and a 4th official all wired up to tell him the rule, absolute joke"
And Damien McErlaine's interview on TG4 was very disappointing - gave little or no credit to Monaghan - completely lacking in graciousness and humility after being pushed all the way by an excellent Monaghan team.

Seanie71 (Monaghan) - Posts: 3 - 30/05/2023 00:40:05    2482766

I thought Damien McErlaine's interview on TG4 after the Ulster Minor final was very disappointing. He gave little or no credit to a brilliant Monaghan performance. He lacked graciousness and humility in victory after being pushed all the way by a superb Monaghan team.

Seanie71 (Monaghan) - Posts: 3 - 30/05/2023 00:44:03    2482767

Replying To DCFCGAA:  "yeah the songs kept the crowds away alright, i was all I heard about in the pubs after, would have had a good 60k if they had just played some gareth brookes"
He didn't say the songs kept the crowds away - he said they were unwelcoming to protestant families - Monaghan have protestant players and so that also entails protestant families coming to support the team. His point was that the choice of music wasn't very welcoming to protestant families at the game.

Seanie71 (Monaghan) - Posts: 3 - 30/05/2023 00:54:29    2482768

Replying To Mickod88:  "Here here, someone told me that Galway beat Tryone in the pub and it dawned on me - for someone that'd consider himself a huge fan of the GAA, I didn't even realise the game was on and whats worse is that I honestly didn't care?

This craic of putting on a hape of meaningless games and putting them behind a paywall is absolutely turning my stomach. They're absolutely flogging the players for financial gain

The worst thing about the whole setup is that Mayo, Dublin and Kerry can be beat 2 or 3 times in the championship and we'll still have to look at one or both of them on All-Ireland day. The whole thing is a hiding to nothing for the likes of ourselves, Kildare, Roscommon, Derry, Armagh, Cork, Westmeath, Down, Meath, Etc... Gone are the days of a team getting on a good run and a big dog getting caught on the hop. The All-Ireland in now just like the champions league in soccer (By Design) where unless something goes drastically wrong, you'll be seeing Madrid v Barca v Bayern v EPL v PSG year in year out..

I personally couldn't care less about an All-Ireland of Kerry v Dublin this year, yeah great footballers but whats the fun in it? It'd be great for the likes of Armagh or Roscommon to win it for a change - they'd actually savour it.

But no, this new money grab setup has killed the whole ethos of the game and has ensured that no matter what - the big money counties will be there on the big day. Puke."
Such nonsense this format is based on feedback and in response to players and supporters complaining about the previous format some people never happy.

Backheel (Leitrim) - Posts: 133 - 30/05/2023 09:08:23    2482782

Replying To TaytoFoley:  "Did anyone else see the way Shane McGuigan reacted to his own young Derry fans that came on to the field? He pushed a few of them away that wanted autographs and it looked like he told them to **** off. I think that's disgraceful behaviour from someone that is supposed to be a role model to these young kids. Who does he think he is? Do you think the likes of David Clifford would get away with the same attitude? And by the way, he would be more respectful of them!!"
Yes I saw this on the highlights. I think he actually says 'go away' but yeah it's certainly not a very nice thing to do when the kids just want to get something signed. I know if it was my kid I would be very unhappy with him being so dismissive. On the other hand Derry had just conceded a late late equaliser and some people are just supremely competitive and in the moment he reacted in a way he shouldn't have. He probably would acknowledge that I would imagine if he watched it back.

Jazzyjeff (Derry) - Posts: 156 - 30/05/2023 10:50:39    2482802

Replying To patmouse:  "First Monaghan match, i missed in years. This new format is a farce 24 games to lose 4 teams and we all know who they are before a ball is kicked.

Impossible to read into any game. The Mayo / Kerry game was like a challenge match. The lads can only play what is in front of them, but this is not fair on anyone."
It's early days yet and what we may see is that the last game in the groups becomes hugely important as teams can still qualify and those at the top of the table will want to stay there.

Jazzyjeff (Derry) - Posts: 156 - 30/05/2023 10:59:19    2482808

Replying To Mickod88:  "Here here, someone told me that Galway beat Tryone in the pub and it dawned on me - for someone that'd consider himself a huge fan of the GAA, I didn't even realise the game was on and whats worse is that I honestly didn't care?

But no, this new money grab setup has killed the whole ethos of the game and has ensured that no matter what - the big money counties will be there on the big day. Puke."
Would you rather have been out of the whole thing after losing to Derry?

There is some serious contradictory thinking going on around the new format. Sean Cavanagh on the SG was bemoaning the lack of bite in some of the pool games (even though they have been mostly excellent contests), but he was always one that spoke about the need to redress the imbalance between training and games for players.

I cannot see how you can have more games for players and preserve a 'one-bite-of the-cherry' format at the same time. In my opinion its bloody great to have Clare coming to Clones in early June for a championship match. We have had enough years of losing in the rain in May and spending the rest of summer watching on.

I would disagree with 3 teams qualifying though, 2 from each group to the quarters would be spot on, and would indeed move the first 2 rounds to be more intense.

As for the money grab contention, that's a bit of a stretch. More games means a much lower proportion of matches will be shown on RTE. For 70 odd quid a supporter gets a wide range of games to watch. Superb value if matches are your thing.

I was talking to a Ballybay man yesterday who was giving out ***** that the Clare match isn't on GaaGo- he has a family wedding down the country on the weekend and cant make it to Clones. Three weeks ago he was giving out ***** about the whole notion of GaaGo. Some lads just like giving out ***** i suppose.

Eddie the Exile (Monaghan) - Posts: 1057 - 30/05/2023 11:05:45    2482812

Some people just love to give out.

Is the new system perfect? No
Is the new system a hell of a lot better than previous incarnations of the championship? Most definitely

I can't understand how supporters could be opposed to having more games to follow their team in. This season Monaghan will play a minimum of 12 top level games (7 League, 2 Ulster Championship & 3 All-Ireland Series).

I couldn't believe my ears when I heard Sean Cavanagh on the Sunday Game! After 2 weekends in the All-Ireland series we had 8 games:

Draws x3, 1 Point Win x 1, 2 Point Win x 1, 3 Point Win x 1, 5 Point Win x 2 and he had nothing positive to say and unfortunately too many people buy in to the negativity of him and others.

In all but 2 games the result could have changed with a single score by a particular team.

We have the competitive Championship that we've been crying out for years but that still isn't enough for some.

monaghan_ultra (None) - Posts: 211 - 30/05/2023 12:39:40    2482855

I really hope this team can find consistency now. You'd hope that Vinny and his team will have gained enormous confidence from how the tactics and match ups all largely worked against Derry. It's no shame drawing to them even though we gave up a lead - they have 4 or 5 incredible players capable of turning the screw like that. Of course Clare are no pushovers, but if we match the level of performance that we produced against Derry then we should be able to beat them comfortably. However, it's putting in a run of consistent performance that has always hampered our progress in recent years. Hopefully we can move on now and build on the Derry performance - because no county in Ireland has reached levels that we can't compete with at this stage.

SoNearYetSoFarney (Monaghan) - Posts: 50 - 30/05/2023 13:00:31    2482862