Monaghan GAA thread

Replying To Bernardo:  "I am born and reared in Monaghan. Due to work commitments I leave in the big smoke"
Never heard of Cavan being described as 'the big smoke ' before !

Shelbourne1 (Monaghan) - Posts: 408 - 05/05/2023 23:44:19    2476010

Replying To Shelbourne1:  "What about your own county Cavan, will they win the Mug competition ?"
The Mug competition which Monaghan will likely be playing in over the next few years when McManus,O Connell and Hughes depart.

FoolsGold (Cavan) - Posts: 2874 - 06/05/2023 16:14:35    2476110

Replying To FoolsGold:  "The Mug competition which Monaghan will likely be playing in over the next few years when McManus,O Connell and Hughes depart."
Yea probably will and no worries about going there can't play at the top table all the time we had some good days out up at the top table

Lad79 (Monaghan) - Posts: 58 - 06/05/2023 18:55:59    2476147

Replying To Lad79:  "Yea probably will and no worries about going there can't play at the top table all the time we had some good days out up at the top table"
Yea probably will and no worries about going there can't play at the top table all the time we had some good days out up at the top table
Lad79 (Monaghan) - Posts: 46 - 06/05/2023 18:55:59 2

The top table lol.

The only All-ireland medals in Monaghan are in handbags.

This is the company ye guys are keeping

London, Laois, Antrim, Waterford, Clare, Fermanagh, Wicklow, Westmeath, Carlow, New York, Sligo, Leitrim, Lonfgord

RHF (Cavan) - Posts: 883 - 08/05/2023 09:57:19    2476615

Replying To Lad79:  "Yea probably will and no worries about going there can't play at the top table all the time we had some good days out up at the top table"
Top table lol!

Talk about deluded. 2 Ulster titles since 1988 and last one was 8 years ago!

Wally (Tyrone) - Posts: 926 - 08/05/2023 11:02:08    2476654

Replying To RHF:  "Yea probably will and no worries about going there can't play at the top table all the time we had some good days out up at the top table

The top table lol.

London, Laois, Antrim, Waterford, Clare, Fermanagh, Wicklow, Westmeath, Carlow, New York, Sligo, Leitrim, Lonfgord"
And all gaa people they are too

Lad79 (Monaghan) - Posts: 58 - 08/05/2023 12:57:01    2476707

Replying To RHF:  "Yea probably will and no worries about going there can't play at the top table all the time we had some good days out up at the top table

The top table lol.

London, Laois, Antrim, Waterford, Clare, Fermanagh, Wicklow, Westmeath, Carlow, New York, Sligo, Leitrim, Lonfgord"
Not really if u throw cavan and down in there thats the tailteann cup teams thats your level today

prideof85 (Monaghan) - Posts: 851 - 08/05/2023 14:19:06    2476743

Replying To prideof85:  "Not really if u throw cavan and down in there thats the tailteann cup teams thats your level today"
Not really if u throw cavan and down in there thats the tailteann cup teams thats your level today
prideof85 (Monaghan) - Posts: 835 - 08/05/2023 14:19:06

No they are the teams that have never won an All-Ireland so ye fit right in with them !

RHF (Cavan) - Posts: 883 - 08/05/2023 15:39:46    2476780

Replying To RHF:  "Not really if u throw cavan and down in there thats the tailteann cup teams thats your level today

No they are the teams that have never won an All-Ireland so ye fit right in with them !"
Yous are great fellas

Lad79 (Monaghan) - Posts: 58 - 08/05/2023 16:38:34    2476801

Replying To RHF:  "Not really if u throw cavan and down in there thats the tailteann cup teams thats your level today

No they are the teams that have never won an All-Ireland so ye fit right in with them !"
How about the teams that will never win an All Ireland again?
You'd fit right in there with your 1950's style of football.

PolicemanFox (Monaghan) - Posts: 191 - 08/05/2023 21:13:22    2476894

Why are yez discussing the tall tin cup on this forum, can we keep it relevant to what concerns us in the present, let the voyeurs trash talk among themselves

mhunicean_abu (Monaghan) - Posts: 1067 - 08/05/2023 23:49:42    2476912

Please no Tailteann cup talk on a Monaghan forum lads, we only talk about the all Ireland series on here, keep your Mickey Mouse cup conversations on your own forum please.

Farney2022 (Monaghan) - Posts: 44 - 09/05/2023 00:18:04    2476916

Plenty of Cuckoo's trying to lay their eggs here … blesss them and no home of their own

stoneygrey (Monaghan) - Posts: 232 - 09/05/2023 07:38:31    2476920

Think that Clare match be our toughest in the group as despite the defeat to Kerry they aren't a bad outfit and could be coming into it with a win under their belts while we'll likely be without one and under pressure as favourites. I'd rather Armagh than Derry who have our number in spades from last year and few weeks back.

seanie08 (Monaghan) - Posts: 1882 - 09/05/2023 13:21:22    2477019

ah com on cavan lad, spouting on about all ireland, 70 years now since your last. we give the english enough rubbish about always bringing up "66" but hearing cavan folk go on about the 1950s is hilarious

DCFCGAA (Derry) - Posts: 65 - 09/05/2023 14:31:43    2477035

Replying To seanie08:  "Think that Clare match be our toughest in the group as despite the defeat to Kerry they aren't a bad outfit and could be coming into it with a win under their belts while we'll likely be without one and under pressure as favourites. I'd rather Armagh than Derry who have our number in spades from last year and few weeks back."
Ye i expect clare to be sticky, I also expect them to beat donegal in ennis. Its the perfect first game for them. Only thing is that it will be tough for them to go full tilt two weeks in a row given donegal will be the game they will be targeting.

monaghanmad (Monaghan) - Posts: 410 - 09/05/2023 15:07:58    2477047

Replying To DCFCGAA:  "ah com on cavan lad, spouting on about all ireland, 70 years now since your last. we give the english enough rubbish about always bringing up "66" but hearing cavan folk go on about the 1950s is hilarious"
ah com on cavan lad, spouting on about all ireland, 70 years now since your last. we give the english enough rubbish about always bringing up "66" but hearing cavan folk go on about the 1950s is hilarious

DCFCGAA (Derry) - Posts: 30 - 09/05/2023 14:31:43

Ye aren't much better ;)

RHF (Cavan) - Posts: 883 - 09/05/2023 15:13:23    2477049

It's looking like it will be Armagh in our group

Edd,South(EU) (Monaghan) - Posts: 60 - 10/05/2023 12:24:47    2477274

Replying To Farney2022:  "Please no Tailteann cup talk on a Monaghan forum lads, we only talk about the all Ireland series on here, keep your Mickey Mouse cup conversations on your own forum please."
I hope this comment dosen't bite us back some day.

We are not the Real Madrid of football, lets not forgot and never will be.

This new format is a joke with 3 of the 4 teams going thru. as Sean K said alot of meaningless games.

Once we were knock out of Ulster in APRIL, our season is over, we are not going to win the AL - At least with the Mickey Mouse some teams have a hope of sliverware. We will continue on in this farce of the new format and prevent our clubs from getting our county players back.

patmouse (Monaghan) - Posts: 122 - 10/05/2023 13:26:28    2477310

Replying To patmouse:  "I hope this comment dosen't bite us back some day.

We are not the Real Madrid of football, lets not forgot and never will be.

This new format is a joke with 3 of the 4 teams going thru. as Sean K said alot of meaningless games.

Once we were knock out of Ulster in APRIL, our season is over, we are not going to win the AL - At least with the Mickey Mouse some teams have a hope of sliverware. We will continue on in this farce of the new format and prevent our clubs from getting our county players back."
So if you win the Ulster championship would your season still be over given that according to you you're not going to win the All Ireland? Would you be better off not playing in the All Ireland and just stop playing in April altogether?

Greengrass (Louth) - Posts: 6178 - 10/05/2023 14:22:49    2477341