Monaghan GAA thread

Replying To Bernardo:  "If we do not finish at least second in this group we should turn out the lights

My prediction for the group is Derry, Monaghan, Clare and then Donegal. Monaghan to beat Clare in the play off to get to the all Ireland quarter finals."
I'd assume the preliminary quarter finals are open draw are they not ? so Pot 1 will have group runners up and Pot 2 will have 3rd place teams and then a draw to see who plays who to get to the quarter final. Surely they wouldn't have 2nd play 3rd again in the same group.

SouthMonMan (Monaghan) - Posts: 100 - 02/05/2023 15:00:00    2475119

Replying To SouthMonMan:  "I'd assume the preliminary quarter finals are open draw are they not ? so Pot 1 will have group runners up and Pot 2 will have 3rd place teams and then a draw to see who plays who to get to the quarter final. Surely they wouldn't have 2nd play 3rd again in the same group."
Yeah open draw avoid repeat pairings from same group so realistically if we finished second could be looking at a match in clones v a roscommon/kildare or one v armagh/derry/Tyrone or louth/cork with quarter final following weekend v group winners in the dubs kerry or Galway. Finish 3rd and we'd be away in that game. Wouldn't fancy going to the Hyde or Newbridge drogheda or pairc caoimhe

seanie08 (Monaghan) - Posts: 1799 - 02/05/2023 15:15:48    2475132

Excellent draw for us, no ifs or buts fact is if we can't finish 2nd and beat a Donegal team that's in a complete mess and a Clare team that we're relegated to div 3 well then we've absolutely no business in the last 8….

mick2007 (Monaghan) - Posts: 449 - 02/05/2023 16:38:42    2475174

Replying To Bernardo:  "If we do not finish at least second in this group we should turn out the lights

My prediction for the group is Derry, Monaghan, Clare and then Donegal. Monaghan to beat Clare in the play off to get to the all Ireland quarter finals."
What about your own county Cavan, will they win the Mug competition ?

Shelbourne1 (Monaghan) - Posts: 350 - 02/05/2023 16:42:07    2475176

A few tasty matches in tailteann cup eg cavan v london should be a hummdinger

prideof85 (Monaghan) - Posts: 851 - 02/05/2023 18:15:55    2475224

Happy with the draw.

There is real novelty to playing Clare - the only time I recall playing them was in the league in 2005 a draw 2.2 to 8 points. Funny enough it is the one match I'd be most concerned about- it would be just like Monaghan to turn over Derry/Donegal and then get caught cold.
Clare in many ways are similar to Monaghan in that they have built a solid league team from a modest playing base, but their championship route has been blocked by behemoths in Munster. Serious dedication to keep coming back for more in those circumstances and I'm sure they will be glad to hop off 3 Ulster teams in this round.

Good to get another tilt at Derry though on last Saturday's showing we are a mile off being competitive with them. Its a better fixture for Monaghan at this stage than going in against Armagh. I expect Derry will dismantle Armagh in the final in any case.

Will Donegal try to resurrect their season? It will depend on the order of games possibly - ahs that been announced? If they get a hiding from Derry in R1 it might put them to bed for the year, if they got a chance to post a win against Monaghan first up they might give it a go. It is remarkable how they have fallen back in quality.

Jaysis after last Saturday you would think you'd never want to look a football again, and now the prospect of winnable games would have you back believing your own illogical bullshyte.

We will never learn.

Eddie the Exile (Monaghan) - Posts: 1058 - 02/05/2023 21:16:38    2475264

It's either a feast of famine when it comes to Monaghan. After the euphoria of that magnificent win against Tyrone it's a rude awakening from Derry. That was chastening. You have to hand to Derry, they were superb - very well drilled and in no way complacent. For Corey, the failings from the first half against Tyrone were not learned and on top of that match ups were wrong. In all likelihood, we get another crack against Derry (Armagh have too many flaws from the 4 or 5 times I've seen them this year).

So what can Corey change in 3 weeks before we face Derry again ? Boyle to start on McGuigan would seem like an obvious thing to do. You'd hope Ward will be fully fit by then. It was sad watching him struggle and way of the pace as he's such an inspirational player. McAnespie (if match fit for inter county level) in the half forward line would add workrate ,scoring threat and counter some of the Derry defenders marauding forward. Corey surely would have seen that both Mansy and McCarron can't start against Derry next day out. It'd be madness to go out with an almost identical lineout and expect something different. Maybe start Jones? Maybe start McPhillips in defence too?

The big question though is midfield. Lavelle is more a spoiler like Neil McAdam was in his prime, rather than someone who will dominate the opposition and influence general play. He works hard but that isn't enough against Glass and Rodgers who do a lot more than simply work hard. Darren Hughes who had some fine games in the league simply hasn't had the impact needed. It'd be a big ask to put your faith in Conor Leonard who's never started a competitive game for Monaghan (not counting the McKenna cup in this). He'll have to start a game sometime for Monaghan.

Anyway, the draw does give a lot of optimism. Three more games and a genuine chance of making the quarter finals. If lessons are learned (and that's a big IF) then getting out of the group or winning it is a possibility.

sleater (Monaghan) - Posts: 152 - 03/05/2023 10:43:40    2475338

Agree with lot of posts. Monaghan could turn over Derry and then go down and lose to Clare. To be fair nothing new in that even under malachi we rarely backed up big performances the next day out and we're always at our most vulnerable in that scenario. Midfield remains the biggest problem and does need a bit of a change. Depending on fitness I'd throw Gary mone on Glass in there along with lavelle. Darren Hughes could make for better impact sub at this stage of his career. Actually hope we do play Derry as would give team another go at them after pretty inept display on Saturday. We have nothing to lose and throwing on some younger lads into the team do no harm.

seanie08 (Monaghan) - Posts: 1799 - 03/05/2023 12:11:19    2475370

1 Derry/Armagh...away
2 Clare.....home
3 Donegal....neutral

Nothing easy. In Colm Collins, Clare have one of, if not the best manager in the country.

ORIELMAN85 (Monaghan) - Posts: 116 - 03/05/2023 13:44:14    2475414

Replying To Jjoniel79:  "I've been a massive supporter of the management team and their achievements so far speak for themselves but today they were badly caught out.

They upset what was our strongest asset by breaking up the half forward line in order to crowbar a half fit Dessie ward into the team.

Then playing jack and Conor against that Derry team was always going to cost us, derrys corner backs fly forward at every opportunity and McCauge is one of the best defenders in the country so playing ball into Jack being marked by him is just never going to work, weather jacks fully fit or not - it's a missmatch.

Beggan was way too slow in getting the ball going from the kick outs as it gave derry an opportunity to get set up at the back.

The worst thing about the whole scenario is that none of this should have been surprising, Derry used the exact same gameplan against us last year and similarly embarrassed us!

I think it's long past time we started looking at other options than Ryan Wylie, he's been well off the pace for a year or so now. McPhillips was absolutely excellent in the league and had a rough first half last weekend which didn't deserve the treatment he's gotten since.

I think today Vinny really showed his inexperience as a manager, very little tactical nouse and no new thinking with his subs/gameplan adjustments. Leaving Lavelle, Wylie and Ward for as long as he did was pretty poor management and starting Jack with Conor up front was simply terrible game planning."
I know he's a clubmate of mine but I think that's a disgraceful comment about Ryan Wylie. He must have ran 15, 80 yard shuttles I the 2nd half. He always gets tagged with the best or 2nd best attacker which means he can't take chances. He helped set up the 2nd goal, got very harshly pulled for a textbook turnover late in the game. Ryan isn't flash but we need a few more like him,not less.

FootblockREF (Monaghan) - Posts: 564 - 03/05/2023 14:17:36    2475421

Replying To ORIELMAN85:  "1 Derry/Armagh...away
2 Clare.....home
3 Donegal....neutral

Nothing easy. In Colm Collins, Clare have one of, if not the best manager in the country."
In all fairness, if we can't beat Clare then we have no business being in the All Ireland series.

SoNearYetSoFarney (Monaghan) - Posts: 50 - 04/05/2023 07:33:18    2475554

Replying To SoNearYetSoFarney:  "In all fairness, if we can't beat Clare then we have no business being in the All Ireland series."
Dubs only bet them in the last kick of the game in croker they bet louth and have had some serious results over the years they have a good midfield which we dont have they are not to be underestimated and a match where we could go missing reminds me of longford in 2016 in clones when we were supposed to march on and colm collins is no cod its a match where monaghan could lie down

prideof85 (Monaghan) - Posts: 851 - 04/05/2023 10:30:38    2475588

Replying To FootblockREF:  "I know he's a clubmate of mine but I think that's a disgraceful comment about Ryan Wylie. He must have ran 15, 80 yard shuttles I the 2nd half. He always gets tagged with the best or 2nd best attacker which means he can't take chances. He helped set up the 2nd goal, got very harshly pulled for a textbook turnover late in the game. Ryan isn't flash but we need a few more like him,not less."
Totally agree, Ryan was one of our best players against derry never stopped running

Farney2022 (Monaghan) - Posts: 21 - 04/05/2023 11:01:21    2475600

Replying To prideof85:  "Dubs only bet them in the last kick of the game in croker they bet louth and have had some serious results over the years they have a good midfield which we dont have they are not to be underestimated and a match where we could go missing reminds me of longford in 2016 in clones when we were supposed to march on and colm collins is no cod its a match where monaghan could lie down"
Be funny with all the talk here about clare if they beat kerry and we ended up with the kingdom in our group. You just never know esp with monaghan. I don't think we are in a position to be dismissive of any other county given our prior record against so called weaker teams.

seanie08 (Monaghan) - Posts: 1799 - 04/05/2023 13:04:10    2475650

Our record against 2, 3, 4 division teams is poor 2016 longford in clones, 2017 down in armagh ,2018 fermanagh in omagh and clare will know that its the one that could make or break our year

prideof85 (Monaghan) - Posts: 851 - 04/05/2023 13:35:24    2475661

Replying To SoNearYetSoFarney:  "In all fairness, if we can't beat Clare then we have no business being in the All Ireland series."
yeah they only got 2 rounds further than ye last year, rubbish side all together

DCFCGAA (Derry) - Posts: 65 - 04/05/2023 13:47:35    2475667

Replying To DCFCGAA:  "yeah they only got 2 rounds further than ye last year, rubbish side all together"
How may different county forums have you visited this year making this type of post?
Can you give it a rest for a while, at least until you win the All Ireland.

PolicemanFox (Monaghan) - Posts: 158 - 04/05/2023 13:56:10    2475672

Replying To prideof85:  "Dubs only bet them in the last kick of the game in croker they bet louth and have had some serious results over the years they have a good midfield which we dont have they are not to be underestimated and a match where we could go missing reminds me of longford in 2016 in clones when we were supposed to march on and colm collins is no cod its a match where monaghan could lie down"
I'm not taking it for granted that we'll win. I'm saying if we don't though, we shouldn't be anywhere near the last 12. Clare are a decent side, not a top side.

SoNearYetSoFarney (Monaghan) - Posts: 50 - 04/05/2023 21:04:26    2475798

Replying To PolicemanFox:  "How may different county forums have you visited this year making this type of post?
Can you give it a rest for a while, at least until you win the All Ireland."
You got to be able to take it on the chin buddy, especially when the truth is spoken.

ORIELMAN85 (Monaghan) - Posts: 116 - 05/05/2023 02:34:53    2475815

Replying To Shelbourne1:  "What about your own county Cavan, will they win the Mug competition ?"
I am born and reared in Monaghan. Due to work commitments I leave in the big smoke

Bernardo (Monaghan) - Posts: 595 - 05/05/2023 07:12:20    2475818