Monaghan GAA thread

Yeah Karl was pivotal in a few of those scores near the end, especially the goal. If he comes off we probably don't win

patk (Monaghan) - Posts: 938 - 18/04/2023 13:11:56    2471565

Replying To Farney:  "Just some notes from yesterday.. The ref was poor in my opinion.. His blowing up for Stephen O'Hanlon for over carrying was the peak of his obvious cluelessness , but he allowed Tyrone to repeatedly collide with Monaghan players take them out of the movement of play, they should have gotten black cards this, as well as for pulling players down after a break was on.. plus you had Conor Meyler constantly getting in Stephen O'Hanlon's face giving him the Tyrone commentary on his play. none of these were were addressed.
Brian Dooher in the first half was constantly in linesman's face and the fourth official, When David Gough came over to that side of the pitch he stopped as he knew where Gough would have told him to go..
The team are not reliant solely on Conor McManus, while he is a legend. Many of the Monaghan players burst a gut yesterday.. so many of them were heroes on the day... I just hope that the 13 day turnaround to the Derry game gives them enough time to recover and get patched up..
Vinny got credit for his changes that he made... but he could have taken Karl off sooner. He had ran his legs off and given everything.. but he should have been off 5 minutes earlier than he was.
In the first half Rory Beggan was hitting kickouts long and we lost them to the giant Tyrone midfielders. He ignored the players running short, but in the second half, Kieran Hughes ran short and demanded the ball of Beggan, he didn't ignore him and passed the ball out to him. Maybe other players need to do the same with him. Kieran Hughes was magnificent yesterday!!
finally the Disabled Parking or Wheelchair Access at Healy Park is very poor.. I was with a person who is about to get a knee operation and has the blue badge.. After getting denied access to the ground, I had to leave her at the gates while I drove off to find a parking spot, one kind man helped her get her coat on while I was gone.. the worst part was having to climb the steps in the stand while people queued behind as we slowly made our way up the tight set of stairs, only later I found out that we could have went around the front of the stand. but there is no accommodation here to help or guide."
Good post.
The two faces of Dooher were on show on the line.
And the Tyrone malice was there for all to see.
Hamsey's "hand" on Jones would see a 3-month ban in any other sport

GerryD (Monaghan) - Posts: 338 - 18/04/2023 13:25:15    2471570

Replying To GerryD:  "Good post.
The two faces of Dooher were on show on the line.
And the Tyrone malice was there for all to see.
Hamsey's "hand" on Jones would see a 3-month ban in any other sport"
Agreed, we seen the whole side to them both on and off the pitch on Sunday. There didn't seem to be any sledging from the monaghan players but Meyler, Hampsey and Frank Burns seemed to be at it constantly. How Hamsey got away with a yellow for what he did to Jones was nothing short of a disgrace. There wasn't a bad tackle in the game but they always seem to want to push it to the next level. For that alone the win was bitter sweet.

monaghanmad (Monaghan) - Posts: 410 - 18/04/2023 14:14:09    2471581

Is banty helping out with Monaghan this year? He has a wealth of experience to offer the thing.

Leitrimdivide (Leitrim) - Posts: 84 - 18/04/2023 14:50:11    2471590

I noticed that Jack McCarron's club was listed as An Bhoth at the weekend... It's confirmed then.

MrPBoylan (Monaghan) - Posts: 235 - 18/04/2023 14:56:24    2471593

Replying To MrPBoylan:  "I noticed that Jack McCarron's club was listed as An Bhoth at the weekend... It's confirmed then."
Confirmed weeks ago….

veterngaa (Monaghan) - Posts: 750 - 18/04/2023 15:14:52    2471597

Replying To Jjoniel79:  "Some big results in the senior league yesterday. Latton got over scotstown and corduff battled past inniskeen. But the eye catching ones are magheracloone only scoring 3 at Clontibret, ballybay pouring it on aughnamullan and Donamoyne stuffing Truagh. Anyone at these games or know how seniors will shape up?"
I got to the Corduff V Inniskeen game and Magheracloone V Clontibret game.
Corduff just keep proving people wrong. There was people on this forum claiming they'd get hammered every time they played in Senior. They're absolutely horrible to play against and they've 4 or 5 players that get into any team in the county. They're a very well coached team. It's been years since we saw a team bring this kind of intensity game after game in Monaghan club football and it's great to see a club with small numbers competing in Senior.
Magheracloone looked poor and I'd be surprised if they aren't relegated. Very poor to only score 3 points against a Clontibret team minus so many of their regulars. I do believe Magheracloone have a good team coming, but (I think) it will be another 3 years before we see it come to fruition. Clontibret were also poor but they just know how to win.

HB245 (Monaghan) - Posts: 251 - 18/04/2023 16:04:51    2471611

Replying To Farney:  "Just some notes from yesterday.. The ref was poor in my opinion.. His blowing up for Stephen O'Hanlon for over carrying was the peak of his obvious cluelessness , but he allowed Tyrone to repeatedly collide with Monaghan players take them out of the movement of play, they should have gotten black cards this, as well as for pulling players down after a break was on.. plus you had Conor Meyler constantly getting in Stephen O'Hanlon's face giving him the Tyrone commentary on his play. none of these were were addressed.
Brian Dooher in the first half was constantly in linesman's face and the fourth official, When David Gough came over to that side of the pitch he stopped as he knew where Gough would have told him to go..
The team are not reliant solely on Conor McManus, while he is a legend. Many of the Monaghan players burst a gut yesterday.. so many of them were heroes on the day... I just hope that the 13 day turnaround to the Derry game gives them enough time to recover and get patched up..
Vinny got credit for his changes that he made... but he could have taken Karl off sooner. He had ran his legs off and given everything.. but he should have been off 5 minutes earlier than he was.
In the first half Rory Beggan was hitting kickouts long and we lost them to the giant Tyrone midfielders. He ignored the players running short, but in the second half, Kieran Hughes ran short and demanded the ball of Beggan, he didn't ignore him and passed the ball out to him. Maybe other players need to do the same with him. Kieran Hughes was magnificent yesterday!!
finally the Disabled Parking or Wheelchair Access at Healy Park is very poor.. I was with a person who is about to get a knee operation and has the blue badge.. After getting denied access to the ground, I had to leave her at the gates while I drove off to find a parking spot, one kind man helped her get her coat on while I was gone.. the worst part was having to climb the steps in the stand while people queued behind as we slowly made our way up the tight set of stairs, only later I found out that we could have went around the front of the stand. but there is no accommodation here to help or guide."
Celebration's all over so it's back to whinge time. Yes ref was brutal, Tyrone couldn't buy a free but Monaghan were getting them very easy in scoreable position's, and if they were outside the range yards were stolen.

Saynothing (Tyrone) - Posts: 2290 - 18/04/2023 19:15:20    2471658

Replying To seanie08:  "Mcamee punched Jones and then walked away v sly one. Hampsey appears to be a tough but clean player to be fair to him. Monaghan stayed v disciplined at weekend which was great to see."
Yeah should of been red card looked like he hit him in the crown jewels, bad act.

McGuirk1985@ (Monaghan) - Posts: 87 - 18/04/2023 19:46:39    2471666

Fantastic performance overall. You aren't going to have things all your own way against tyrone. Thought vinny got his taticts right in second half. Keiran hughes for me changed our midfield. Karl o connell was superb as usual. 5 of our forwards scoring plus sub shane Carey is impressive. Although gallagher didn't score I thought he had an excellent game. I honestly believe we can beat derry and if we do we'll go on and win ulster.

McGuirk1985@ (Monaghan) - Posts: 87 - 18/04/2023 19:49:47    2471669

Its funny in last 10 years Monaghan have beaten tyrone 3 times in ulster q/fs but lost 2 AI q/fs and s/f plus ulster final all at croke park so sunday not that great a suprlse. Following on from those 2 previous ulster q/f wins were semi draw and loss to armagh and fermanagh respectively. Rory Gallagher of course fermanagh mger that day. Be no suprise to monaghan in semi final what awaits a well oiled derry side with a system that is v hard to play against. Last year monaghan didnt counter the derry tactics and left themselves with too much of a deficit to chase in second half even through they went v close to doing it kicked huge amount of wides. A lot will depend on midfield and what options we have. Saw derry twice in croke park v galway last year and dublin a few weeks ago. They are formidable team when they have a lead but if they have to chase a game and abandon their well drilled system the wheels come off. Gallagher will know monaghan inside out and be confident but so will monaghan who will love another crack at derry after last year when the concession of three goals meant game was always on derrys terms.

seanie08 (Monaghan) - Posts: 1882 - 18/04/2023 20:37:10    2471677

Replying To HB245:  "I got to the Corduff V Inniskeen game and Magheracloone V Clontibret game.
Corduff just keep proving people wrong. There was people on this forum claiming they'd get hammered every time they played in Senior. They're absolutely horrible to play against and they've 4 or 5 players that get into any team in the county. They're a very well coached team. It's been years since we saw a team bring this kind of intensity game after game in Monaghan club football and it's great to see a club with small numbers competing in Senior.
Magheracloone looked poor and I'd be surprised if they aren't relegated. Very poor to only score 3 points against a Clontibret team minus so many of their regulars. I do believe Magheracloone have a good team coming, but (I think) it will be another 3 years before we see it come to fruition. Clontibret were also poor but they just know how to win."
How come no corduff lads on the county? Surely after year they had be few lads knocking on door

McGuirk1985@ (Monaghan) - Posts: 87 - 18/04/2023 21:32:57    2471687

Replying To shaggylegend:  "Vinny should have taken Karl of 5 minutes before he did?
If he tool Karl off 5 minutes earlier then O'Toole's goal doesn't happen."
Very true Shaggy.. I only saw his involvement in the goal after my post, but he was dead on his legs.. he could barely move at that stage as seen by his attempt to track back on Tyrone's Brian Kennedy - It was a great jink by him before the goal!!

Farney (Monaghan) - Posts: 814 - 18/04/2023 21:39:34    2471689

Replying To Saynothing:  "Celebration's all over so it's back to whinge time. Yes ref was brutal, Tyrone couldn't buy a free but Monaghan were getting them very easy in scoreable position's, and if they were outside the range yards were stolen."
Tyrone had the ref in their pocket for the first 50mins of the game, they got 4 points from bad referee decisions. Helped by the barking of Dooher at the linesman in the first half .. he didn't get his way whe linesmen changed sides in the second half

stoneygrey (Monaghan) - Posts: 232 - 19/04/2023 10:12:53    2471714

Replying To Saynothing:  "Celebration's all over so it's back to whinge time. Yes ref was brutal, Tyrone couldn't buy a free but Monaghan were getting them very easy in scoreable position's, and if they were outside the range yards were stolen."
Watched the game back yesterday. Monaghan got some handy ones in first half but tyrone did also in second half so evened itself out. Morgan should got black card for pull back on gallagher in first half round the middle and tyrone were lucky not to get a red card for clear strike by mcnamee v jones. Look all in all it was a great game and tyrone will still likely be there or there abouts come the business end of the championship. If wed lost again to ye by a point been tough one to recover from.

seanie08 (Monaghan) - Posts: 1882 - 19/04/2023 10:42:34    2471735

Delighted to see Tyrone beaten, great display in the second half.

I think O'Hanlon was MOTM, he is without doubt the main man for Monaghan he has destroyed Mayo and Tyrone in the last 2 weeks , with his pace and ball skills the defenders cannot handle him.

Some weird results in the clubs games, i thought Corduff would really stuggle, but its earlier yet. M'cloone to only score 3 points is very poor.

patmouse (Monaghan) - Posts: 122 - 19/04/2023 11:36:08    2471754

Replying To stoneygrey:  "Tyrone had the ref in their pocket for the first 50mins of the game, they got 4 points from bad referee decisions. Helped by the barking of Dooher at the linesman in the first half .. he didn't get his way whe linesmen changed sides in the second half"
You must have been at a different game, Tyrone got no tap overs unlike Canavan who would needed to have been shot to get a free. Monaghan player shoved Tyrone player in the chest after he scores a point, Tyrone player should have went down, I was one of the first on here to congratulate Monaghan but as usual the usual moaners come out to play, good luck Derry.

Saynothing (Tyrone) - Posts: 2290 - 19/04/2023 11:38:22    2471756

Replying To seanie08:  "Watched the game back yesterday. Monaghan got some handy ones in first half but tyrone did also in second half so evened itself out. Morgan should got black card for pull back on gallagher in first half round the middle and tyrone were lucky not to get a red card for clear strike by mcnamee v jones. Look all in all it was a great game and tyrone will still likely be there or there abouts come the business end of the championship. If wed lost again to ye by a point been tough one to recover from."
Morgan can't get a black card because he pulled no one to the ground.

Saynothing (Tyrone) - Posts: 2290 - 19/04/2023 11:39:40    2471757

Am I the only still watching the BBC highlight of O'Toole's on loop? Man, that moment will live with me a long time. I let such a roar when he scored, I scared the shite out of my 9 year old.

Well done to Mgmt and players . Corey got it right in the end and fair play for him making the changes needed. The players showed great belief in the second half and went for it. The tackle count by Monaghan in the second half was vastly better than Tyrone, (according to former Monaghan stats man Ray Boyne) and that usually translates into higher intensity. The style of football was so good to watch. Purposeful, driving. During the league, at times, it was too ponderous. The question is whether Corey can bottle that drive and intensity and ensure it wasn't the exception (A failing of his predecessor). An away win like that should boost their belief no end. With the age profile of the squad, I think most Monaghan fans want to see new faces and it's great to see Corey give, Gallagher, O'Toole and McPhillips their 1st championship starts. The team and squad badly needs it. More new faces will be needed especially in the group stage after ulster championship is done. The scoring % was very good too , 72% I think which is what they should be hitting if they want to be winning games. Contrast that to the Derry game last year where I think it was 46%.

The ref was dire. No two ways about it. Yeah, Tyrone can rightly grumble about some soft frees to Monaghan in first half and the fact they didn't get a couple of frees in second half. At the same time, Morgan should have been black carded in 1st half, McNameee should have got red carded, Gallagher should have had a penalty and there were some ridiculous frees against Monaghan like O'Hanlon blown for over carrying.

sleater (Monaghan) - Posts: 178 - 19/04/2023 15:31:36    2471800

Replying To Saynothing:  "You must have been at a different game, Tyrone got no tap overs unlike Canavan who would needed to have been shot to get a free. Monaghan player shoved Tyrone player in the chest after he scores a point, Tyrone player should have went down, I was one of the first on here to congratulate Monaghan but as usual the usual moaners come out to play, good luck Derry."
I thought Monaghan got a few handy frees in the first half alright, and Kieran McGeery made an excellent tackle in the second only to be pulled up. On the flip side, the ref pulled O'Hanlon for being too fast at one point, then booked him after he fouled Myler in retaliation for an hours worth of fouls. The second last Tyrone point was a very soft free, and Brian Kennedy clearly overcarried on McCurry's 'winner'. Also, Con Kilpatrick fouled 4 or 5 times around the middle and no yellow which was strange. As regards Canavan, 7 steps followed by a throw ball is a free out on the double. He can have no complaints.

Eddie the Exile (Monaghan) - Posts: 1201 - 19/04/2023 15:56:27    2471806